Newest figures come from the 20-F for FY2025, filed Feb 24, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the AZNCF SEC filings page.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) reported $58.7B in revenue for fiscal year 2025, up 8.6% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 11 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (20-F and 6-K reports).
Profit growth is accelerating, cash generation exceeds accounting earnings, while rising investment and working-capital needs make expansion more resource-intensive.
From FY2023 to FY2025, operating cash flow increased40.9% while net income increased71.7% , showing that earnings still convert into cash but are growing faster than cash generation. Free cash flow increased only31.0% as capital expenditures rose106.5% , so reinvestment is absorbing a larger share of internally generated cash.
Net margin expanded by
Current assets of
Financial Health Signals
We do not publish a peer-relative financial health score for AstraZeneca PLC, because the score only covers companies whose filings and listing give us what it needs to compare them with their peers. The signals and metrics below are current.
AstraZeneca PLC passes 5 of 7 computable financial strength tests (2 of the nine could not be computed from available data). All 4 profitability signals pass (positive income, cash flow, and earnings quality), 1 of 2 leverage/liquidity signals pass, the one computable operating efficiency signal (asset turnover improving) does not pass.
For every $1 of reported earnings, AstraZeneca PLC generates $1.42 in operating cash flow ($14.6B OCF vs $10.2B net income). This indicates profits are well-supported by actual cash generation, not accounting adjustments.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
AstraZeneca PLC generated $58.7B in revenue in fiscal year 2025. This represents an increase of 8.6% from the prior year.
AstraZeneca PLC reported $10.2B in net income in fiscal year 2025. This represents an increase of 45.3% from the prior year.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
Cash & Balance Sheet
AstraZeneca PLC generated $11.8B in free cash flow in fiscal year 2025, representing cash available after capex. This represents an increase of 18.4% from the prior year.
AstraZeneca PLC held $5.7B in cash against $1.4B in long-term debt as of fiscal year 2025, with $30.6B of liabilities due within a year.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
Margins & Returns
AstraZeneca PLC's net profit margin was 17.4% in fiscal year 2025, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is up 4.4 percentage points from the prior year.
AstraZeneca PLC's ROE was 21.0% in fiscal year 2025, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 3.8 percentage points from the prior year.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
Capital Allocation
AstraZeneca PLC invested $2.8B in capex in fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents an increase of 46.0% from the prior year.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
AZNCF Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY22 | FY21 | FY20 | FY19 | FY18 | FY17 | FY16 | FY15 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $58.7B+8.6% | $54.1B+18.0% | $45.8B+3.3% | $44.4B+18.5% | $37.4B+40.6% | $26.6B+9.2% | $24.4B+10.4% | $22.1B-1.7% | $22.5B-2.3% | $23.0B-6.9% | $24.7B |
| Interest Expense | $80.0M+31.1% | $61.0M+84.8% | $33.0M+37.5% | $24.0M+9.1% | $22.0M+4.8% | $21.0M-4.5% | $22.0Mn/m | -$1.3Bn/m | -$1.4Bn/m | -$1.3Bn/m | -$1.0B |
| Income Tax | $2.2B+31.5% | $1.6B+75.9% | $938.0Mn/m | -$792.0Mn/m | -$380.0M-149.2% | $772.0M+140.5% | $321.0Mn/m | -$57.0Mn/m | -$641.0M-539.0% | $146.0M-39.9% | $243.0M |
| Net Income | $10.2B+45.3% | $7.0B+18.1% | $6.0B+81.0% | $3.3B+2763.5% | $115.0M-96.3% | $3.1B+156.2% | $1.2B-40.1% | $2.0B-28.5% | $2.9B-15.8% | $3.4B+20.5% | $2.8B |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 1.56B-0.1% | 1.56B+0.1% | 1.56B+0.1% | 1.56B+9.3% | 1.43B+8.7% | 1.31B+0.9% | 1.30B+2.7% | 1.27B0.0% | 1.27B+0.1% | 1.27B+0.1% | 1.26B |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses, SG&A Expenses, Operating Income, EBITDA, EPS (Basic), EPS (Diluted).
AZNCF Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY22 | FY21 | FY20 | FY19 | FY18 | FY17 | FY16 | FY15 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $114.1B+9.6% | $104.0B+2.9% | $101.1B+4.8% | $96.5B-8.4% | $105.4B+57.9% | $66.7B+8.7% | $61.4B+1.2% | $60.7B-4.3% | $63.4B+1.3% | $62.5B+4.1% | $60.1B |
| Current Assets | $28.7B+11.2% | $25.8B+3.1% | $25.1B+10.9% | $22.6B-13.9% | $26.2B+34.3% | $19.5B+25.6% | $15.6B-0.2% | $15.6B+18.6% | $13.2B-0.8% | $13.3B-17.1% | $16.0B |
| Cash & Equivalents | $5.7B+4.1% | $5.5B-6.0% | $5.8B-5.3% | $6.2B-2.6% | $6.3B-19.2% | $7.8B+45.9% | $5.4B+11.1% | $4.8B+45.3% | $3.3B-33.8% | $5.0B-19.6% | $6.2B |
| Inventory | $6.6B+24.0% | $5.3B-2.5% | $5.4B+15.4% | $4.7B-47.7% | $9.0B+123.2% | $4.0B+26.0% | $3.2B+10.5% | $2.9B-4.8% | $3.0B+30.0% | $2.3B+8.9% | $2.1B |
| Accounts Receivable | $15.2B+17.0% | $13.0B+7.0% | $12.1B+15.3% | $10.5B+9.1% | $9.6B+37.3% | $7.0B+21.9% | $5.8B+3.4% | $5.6B+11.3% | $5.0B+9.5% | $4.6B-30.9% | $6.6B |
| Goodwill | $21.2B+1.0% | $21.0B+4.9% | $20.0B+1.2% | $19.8B-0.9% | $20.0B+68.8% | $11.8B+1.5% | $11.7B-0.3% | $11.7B-1.0% | $11.8B+1.4% | $11.7B-1.2% | $11.8B |
| Total Liabilities | $65.4B+3.5% | $63.2B+2.0% | $62.0B+4.3% | $59.4B-10.1% | $66.1B+29.3% | $51.1B+9.2% | $46.8B+0.4% | $46.6B-0.2% | $46.7B+1.9% | $45.9B+10.4% | $41.5B |
| Current Liabilities | $30.6B+9.9% | $27.9B-8.8% | $30.5B+16.2% | $26.3B+16.4% | $22.6B+11.3% | $20.3B+12.1% | $18.1B+11.2% | $16.3B-0.6% | $16.4B+7.4% | $15.3B+2.6% | $14.9B |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $34.7B-1.6% | $35.3B+12.4% | $31.4B-5.2% | $33.1B-23.8% | $43.5B+41.2% | $30.8B+7.4% | $28.7B-5.4% | $30.3B0.0% | $30.3B-0.9% | $30.6B+14.7% | $26.7B |
| Long-Term Debt | $1.4B+27.7% | $1.1B+29.9% | $857.0M+18.2% | $725.0M-3.8% | $754.0M+54.2% | $489.0M+0.4% | $487.0M-97.5% | $19.1B+7.3% | $17.8B | N/A | N/A |
| Total Equity | $48.7B+19.2% | $40.9B+4.4% | $39.2B+5.7% | $37.1B-5.7% | $39.3B+151.2% | $15.6B+7.1% | $14.6B+3.9% | $14.0B-15.6% | $16.6B-0.2% | $16.7B-9.9% | $18.5B |
| Retained Earnings | $11.0B+247.2% | $3.2B+110.4% | $1.5Bn/m | -$574.0M-133.6% | $1.7B-67.7% | $5.3B+88.4% | $2.8B-50.5% | $5.7B-30.9% | $8.2B+1.0% | $8.1B-31.2% | $11.8B |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Short-Term Investments, Long-Term Investments.
AZNCF Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY22 | FY21 | FY20 | FY19 | FY18 | FY17 | FY16 | FY15 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $14.6B+22.9% | $11.9B+14.7% | $10.3B+5.5% | $9.8B+64.5% | $6.0B+24.3% | $4.8B+61.6% | $3.0B+13.4% | $2.6B-26.8% | $3.6B-13.7% | $4.1B+24.7% | $3.3B |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $5.7B-14.3% | $6.7B+24.2% | $5.4B-1.7% | $5.5B-16.1% | $6.5B+107.4% | $3.1B-16.3% | $3.8B+0.2% | $3.8B+23.6% | $3.0B+28.8% | $2.4B-17.4% | $2.9B |
| Capital Expenditures | $2.8B+46.0% | $1.9B+41.4% | $1.4B+24.7% | $1.1B0.0% | $1.1B+13.5% | $961.0M-1.8% | $979.0M-6.1% | $1.0B-21.3% | $1.3B-8.3% | $1.4B+8.9% | $1.3B |
| Free Cash Flow | $11.8B+18.4% | $9.9B+10.6% | $9.0B+3.1% | $8.7B+78.9% | $4.9B+26.9% | $3.8B+92.9% | $2.0B+26.3% | $1.6B-30.1% | $2.3B-16.6% | $2.7B+35.2% | $2.0B |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$6.8Bn/m | -$8.0Bn/m | -$4.1Bn/m | -$3.0Bn/m | -$11.1Bn/m | -$285.0Mn/m | -$657.0M-168.2% | $963.0Mn/m | -$2.3Bn/m | -$4.0Bn/m | -$4.2B |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$7.5Bn/m | -$4.0Bn/m | -$6.6Bn/m | -$6.8B-287.0% | $3.6Bn/m | -$2.2Bn/m | -$1.8Bn/m | -$2.0Bn/m | -$2.9Bn/m | -$1.3B-250.8% | $878.0M |
| Dividends Paid | $5.0B+7.4% | $4.6B+3.3% | $4.5B+2.7% | $4.4B+13.2% | $3.9B+8.0% | $3.6B-0.6% | $3.6B+3.1% | $3.5B-1.0% | $3.5B-1.2% | $3.6B+2.2% | $3.5B |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Stock-Based Compensation, Share Buybacks.
AZNCF Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY22 | FY21 | FY20 | FY19 | FY18 | FY17 | FY16 | FY15 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net Margin | 17.4%+4.4pp | 13.0%0.0pp | 13.0%+5.6pp | 7.4%+7.1pp | 0.3%-11.5pp | 11.8%+6.8pp | 5.0%-4.3pp | 9.3%-3.5pp | 12.8%-2.0pp | 14.8%+3.4pp | 11.4% |
| Return on Equity | 21.0%+3.8pp | 17.2%+2.0pp | 15.2%+6.3pp | 8.9%+8.6pp | 0.3%-19.8pp | 20.1%+11.7pp | 8.4%-6.2pp | 14.6%-2.6pp | 17.2%-3.2pp | 20.4%+5.2pp | 15.3% |
| Return on Assets | 9.0%+2.2pp | 6.8%+0.9pp | 5.9%+2.5pp | 3.4%+3.3pp | 0.1%-4.6pp | 4.7%+2.7pp | 2.0%-1.4pp | 3.4%-1.2pp | 4.5%-0.9pp | 5.5%+0.7pp | 4.7% |
| Current Ratio | 0.940.0x | 0.93+0.1x | 0.820.0x | 0.86-0.3x | 1.16+0.2x | 0.96+0.1x | 0.86-0.1x | 0.96+0.2x | 0.80-0.1x | 0.87-0.2x | 1.08 |
| Debt-to-Equity | 0.030.0x | 0.030.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.030.0x | 0.03-1.3x | 1.36+0.3x | 1.07 | N/A | N/A |
| Liabilities-to-Equity | 1.34-0.2x | 1.550.0x | 1.580.0x | 1.60-0.1x | 1.68-1.6x | 3.27+0.1x | 3.21-0.1x | 3.32+0.5x | 2.81+0.1x | 2.75+0.5x | 2.24 |
| Asset Turnover | 0.510.0x | 0.52+0.1x | 0.450.0x | 0.46+0.1x | 0.360.0x | 0.400.0x | 0.400.0x | 0.360.0x | 0.350.0x | 0.370.0x | 0.41 |
| FCF Margin | 20.0%+1.7pp | 18.4%-1.2pp | 19.6%0.0pp | 19.7%+6.6pp | 13.0%-1.4pp | 14.4%+6.3pp | 8.2%+1.0pp | 7.1%-2.9pp | 10.0%-1.7pp | 11.7%+3.7pp | 8.1% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, Operating Margin.
Note: The current ratio is below 1.0 (0.94), indicating current liabilities exceed current assets, which may suggest potential short-term liquidity concerns.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it. Market cap is stated at each company's latest close.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AstraZeneca PLC AZNCF | FY2025 | $58.7B | $10.2B | 17.4% | N/A | — |
| GSK plc GLAXF | FY2025 | $43.9B | $7.7B | 17.5% | $100.7B | — |
| Novo Nordisk A/S B New NONOF | FY2025 | $48.6B | $16.1B | 33.1% | $177.8B | — |
| Sanofi SNYNF | FY2025 | $54.8B | $9.2B | 16.7% | $113.7B | — |
Where AstraZeneca PLC Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) reported $58.7B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 8.6% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) revenue grew by 8.6% year-over-year, from $54.1B to $58.7B in fiscal year 2025.
Yes, AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) reported a net income of $10.2B in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 17.4%.
As of fiscal year 2025, AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) had $5.7B in cash and equivalents against $1.4B in long-term debt.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) had a net profit margin of 17.4% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) has a return on equity of 21.0% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) generated $11.8B in free cash flow during fiscal year 2025. This represents a 18.4% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) generated $14.6B in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) had $114.1B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) invested $2.8B in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) had a current ratio of 0.94 as of fiscal year 2025, which is below 1.0, which may suggest potential liquidity concerns.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.03 as of fiscal year 2025. We compute it as long-term debt divided by total shareholder equity, where long-term debt is the noncurrent part of the company's borrowings, so debt due within the next twelve months is not counted.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) had a liabilities-to-equity ratio of 1.34 as of fiscal year 2025, which is total liabilities divided by total shareholder equity. Total liabilities counts every obligation on the balance sheet (payables, deposits, insurance reserves and deferred taxes as well as borrowings), so this ratio usually runs well above debt-to-equity.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) had a return on assets of 9.0% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) has a Piotroski F-Score of 5 out of 7 computable signals; 2 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
AstraZeneca PLC (AZNCF) has an earnings quality ratio of 1.42x, considered cash-backed (high quality). This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.