Newest figures come from the 20-F for FY2025, filed Mar 30, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the GFIOF SEC filings page.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) reported $8.8B in revenue for fiscal year 2025, up 68.2% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (20-F and 6-K reports).
Financial Health Signals
We do not publish a peer-relative financial health score for Gold Fields Ltd, because the score only covers companies whose filings and listing give us what it needs to compare them with their peers. The signals and metrics below are current.
Gold Fields Ltd passes 9 of 9 financial strength tests. All 4 profitability signals pass (positive income, cash flow, and earnings quality), all 3 leverage/liquidity signals pass, both operating efficiency signals pass.
For every $1 of reported earnings, Gold Fields Ltd generates $1.06 in operating cash flow ($3.8B OCF vs $3.6B net income). This indicates profits are well-supported by actual cash generation, not accounting adjustments.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Gold Fields Ltd generated $8.8B in revenue in fiscal year 2025. This represents an increase of 68.2% from the prior year.
Gold Fields Ltd reported $3.6B in net income in fiscal year 2025. This represents an increase of 186.5% from the prior year.
Gold Fields Ltd earned $3.94 per diluted share (EPS) in fiscal year 2025. This represents an increase of 185.5% from the prior year.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Gold Fields Ltd generated $2.4B in free cash flow in fiscal year 2025, representing cash available after capex. This represents an increase of 460.4% from the prior year.
Gold Fields Ltd held $1.8B in cash against $2.6B in long-term debt as of fiscal year 2025.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
Margins & Returns
Gold Fields Ltd's gross margin was 57.9% in fiscal year 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is up 12.6 percentage points from the prior year.
Gold Fields Ltd's net profit margin was 40.8% in fiscal year 2025, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is up 16.8 percentage points from the prior year.
Gold Fields Ltd's ROE was 42.3% in fiscal year 2025, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 18.4 percentage points from the prior year.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
Capital Allocation
Gold Fields Ltd spent $36.3M on share buybacks in fiscal year 2025, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding.
Gold Fields Ltd invested $1.4B in capex in fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents an increase of 18.2% from the prior year.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
GFIOF Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY2220-F | FY2120-F | FY2020-F | FY1920-F | FY1820-F | FY1720-F | FY1620-F | FY1520-F | FY1420-F | FY1320-F | FY1220-F | FY1120-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $8.8B+68.2% | $5.2B+15.6% | $4.5B+5.0% | $4.3B+2.2% | $4.2B+7.8% | $3.9B+31.2% | $3.0B+15.1% | $2.6B-6.7% | $2.8B+3.6% | $2.7B+8.7% | $2.5B | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Cost of Revenue | $3.7B+29.4% | $2.8B+3.5% | $2.7B+5.3% | $2.6B+9.8% | $2.4B+10.4% | $2.2B+5.7% | $2.0B-0.5% | $2.0B-2.9% | $2.1B+5.2% | $2.0B+0.6% | $2.0B | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Gross Profit | $5.1B+115.0% | $2.4B+34.5% | $1.8B+4.4% | $1.7B-7.8% | $1.8B+4.5% | $1.7B+86.6% | $933.6M+74.6% | $534.8M-18.6% | $656.7M-1.3% | $665.2M+42.9% | $465.6M | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Interest Expense | $159.9M+22.6% | $130.4M+24.4% | $104.8M+7.8% | $97.2M-5.8% | $103.2M-18.9% | $127.2M+24.5% | $102.2M+16.1% | $88.0M+8.2% | $81.3M+4.1% | $78.1M-5.8% | $82.9M+2.6% | $80.8M+11.6% | $72.4M+30.2% | $55.6M+6.3% | $52.3M |
| Income Tax | $1.6B+136.6% | $697.1M+49.9% | $465.1M+5.2% | $442.1M+4.0% | $424.9M-1.8% | $432.5M+146.3% | $175.6Mn/m | -$65.9M-138.0% | $173.2M-8.6% | $189.5M-23.7% | $248.5M+104.4% | $121.6M+15.0% | $105.7M-70.6% | $359.4M-6.5% | $384.5M |
| Net Income | $3.6B+186.5% | $1.2B+77.0% | $703.3M-1.1% | $711.0M-9.9% | $789.3M+9.2% | $723.0M+347.4% | $161.6Mn/m | -$348.2Mn/m | -$18.7M-111.8% | $158.2Mn/m | -$247.3Mn/m | -$27.2Mn/m | -$247.9M-137.9% | $654.3M-25.8% | $881.5M |
| EPS (Basic) | $3.99+187.1% | $1.39+75.9% | $0.79-1.3% | $0.80-10.1% | $0.89+8.5% | $0.82+310.0% | $0.20n/m | -$0.42 | -$0.04 | $0.19n/m | -$0.31n/m | -$0.04n/m | -$0.36-140.0% | $0.90-26.2% | $1.22 |
| EPS (Diluted) | $3.94+185.5% | $1.38+79.2% | $0.77-1.3% | $0.78-11.4% | $0.88+8.6% | $0.81+326.3% | $0.19n/m | -$0.42 | -$0.04 | $0.19n/m | -$0.31n/m | -$0.04n/m | -$0.36-140.0% | $0.90-25.6% | $1.21 |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 897M+0.2% | 896M+0.1% | 895M+0.1% | 894M0.0% | 893M+0.4% | 890M+6.0% | 839M+0.8% | 832M | 827M | 810M+4.6% | 775M | N/A | 743M+1.6% | 731M0.0% | 731M |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: R&D Expenses, SG&A Expenses, Operating Income, EBITDA.
GFIOF Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY2220-F | FY2120-F | FY2020-F | FY1920-F | FY1820-F | FY1720-F | FY1620-F | FY1520-F | FY1420-F | FY1320-F | FY1220-F | FY1120-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $15.2B+50.1% | $10.1B+23.3% | $8.2B+12.1% | $7.3B-0.1% | $7.3B-1.7% | $7.5B+13.9% | $6.6B+11.0% | $5.9B-9.1% | $6.5B+3.1% | $6.3B+7.7% | $5.9B-13.2% | $6.8B-7.0% | $7.3B-31.9% | $10.6B+5.7% | $10.1B |
| Current Assets | $3.0B+54.2% | $1.9B+11.1% | $1.7B-3.8% | $1.8B+26.8% | $1.4B-17.9% | $1.7B+61.7% | $1.1B+47.3% | $726.5M-34.8% | $1.1B+5.9% | $1.1B | N/A | $1.1B+1.2% | $1.1B-34.6% | $1.6B-3.9% | $1.7B |
| Cash & Equivalents | $1.8B+106.8% | $860.2M+32.6% | $648.7M-15.7% | $769.4M+46.6% | $524.7M-40.8% | $886.8M+72.2% | $515.0M+134.4% | $219.7M-44.2% | $393.8M-16.4% | $471.0M+7.0% | $440.0M-3.9% | $458.0M+40.9% | $325.0M-50.4% | $655.6M-11.9% | $744.0M |
| Short-Term Investments | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0 |
| Inventory | $782.6M+11.9% | $699.3M-15.5% | $827.9M+9.1% | $759.0M+20.9% | $627.6M+20.3% | $521.6M+24.8% | $417.8M+13.5% | $368.2M-6.4% | $393.5M+19.5% | $329.4M | N/A | $373.3M-7.3% | $402.7M+0.1% | $402.1M+35.1% | $297.7M |
| Accounts Receivable | $380.7M+12.7% | $337.8M+34.4% | $251.4M+27.0% | $198.0M-24.9% | $263.7M+9.8% | $240.1M+76.5% | $136.0M-1.9% | $138.6M-19.3% | $171.8M+0.9% | $170.2M | N/A | $86.4M-22.1% | $110.9M-53.9% | $240.6M+41.8% | $169.7M |
| Long-Term Investments | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $4.4M+37.5% | $3.2M-91.2% | $36.2M-53.2% | $77.3M |
| Goodwill | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0n/m | $0-100.0% | $76.6M-75.9% | $317.8M+7.6% | $295.3M-61.0% | $756.3M-10.5% | $845.5M-17.1% | $1.0B-5.1% | $1.1B |
| Total Liabilities | $6.6B+37.2% | $4.8B+32.4% | $3.6B+20.3% | $3.0B-6.8% | $3.2B-11.7% | $3.6B-0.2% | $3.7B+14.0% | $3.2B+3.3% | $3.1B-1.2% | $3.1B+1.1% | $3.1B+1.5% | $3.1B-3.1% | $3.2B-31.5% | $4.6B+9.1% | $4.2B |
| Current Liabilities | $1.7B-0.6% | $1.7B+13.6% | $1.5B+91.7% | $785.4M-4.5% | $822.4M-10.3% | $916.5M-33.0% | $1.4B+157.2% | $531.9M-37.7% | $854.0M-0.6% | $859.4M | N/A | $708.1M+12.5% | $629.5M-36.7% | $995.0M-33.3% | $1.5B |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $4.9B+58.3% | $3.1B+45.9% | $2.1B-5.1% | $2.2B-7.6% | $2.4B-12.2% | $2.7B+19.4% | $2.3B-14.5% | $2.7B+13.0% | $2.4B+3.7% | $2.3B | N/A | $2.4B-7.0% | $2.5B-30.0% | $3.6B+32.2% | $2.7B |
| Long-Term Debt | $2.6B+44.1% | $1.8B+171.9% | $653.4M-39.5% | $1.1B+0.1% | $1.1B-25.3% | $1.4B+24.3% | $1.2B-36.0% | $1.8B+14.3% | $1.6B+5.5% | $1.5B | N/A | $1.8B-8.7% | $1.9B-16.5% | $2.3B+70.6% | $1.4B |
| Total Equity | $8.4B+62.1% | $5.2B+16.2% | $4.5B+6.4% | $4.2B+5.8% | $4.0B+8.5% | $3.7B+32.0% | $2.8B+7.4% | $2.6B-21.1% | $3.3B+7.4% | $3.1B+10.7% | $2.8B-23.3% | $3.6B-10.0% | $4.0B-32.5% | $5.9B+2.3% | $5.8B |
| Retained Earnings | $6.7B+73.1% | $3.9B+30.2% | $3.0B+12.7% | $2.6B+18.3% | $2.2B+26.6% | $1.8B+47.5% | $1.2B+10.8% | $1.1B-27.0% | $1.5B-5.2% | $1.6B+8.3% | $1.4B+109.6% | $684.1M-7.7% | $741.1M-29.7% | $1.1B+36.5% | $772.5M |
GFIOF Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY2220-F | FY2120-F | FY2020-F | FY1920-F | FY1820-F | FY1720-F | FY1620-F | FY1520-F | FY1420-F | FY1320-F | FY1220-F | FY1120-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $3.8B+134.7% | $1.6B+34.7% | $1.2B-13.5% | $1.4B+12.1% | $1.2B+10.7% | $1.1B+31.5% | $845.0M+48.6% | $568.7M-22.3% | $732.0M-20.2% | $917.5M-11.1% | $1.0B+38.7% | $743.8M+103.7% | $365.2M-68.5% | $1.2B-39.2% | $1.9B |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $920.4M+46.7% | $627.4M-21.1% | $795.3M-5.8% | $844.3M+18.4% | $713.2M+7.8% | $661.3M+8.4% | $610.0M-8.7% | $668.4M-10.7% | $748.1M+11.4% | $671.4M+13.5% | $591.5M | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Stock-Based Compensation | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $26.0M-35.8% | $40.5M-11.0% | $45.5M+36.2% | $33.4M |
| Capital Expenditures | $1.4B+18.2% | $1.2B+12.2% | $1.1B-1.4% | $1.1B-1.8% | $1.1B+86.5% | $583.7M-4.7% | $612.5M-24.8% | $814.2M-2.3% | $833.6M+32.6% | $628.5M+2.3% | $614.1M+27.8% | $480.5M-11.6% | $543.7M-42.4% | $943.4M+26.1% | $748.2M |
| Free Cash Flow | $2.4B+460.4% | $423.6M+206.7% | $138.1M-55.4% | $309.9M+119.0% | $141.5M-73.2% | $527.7M+127.0% | $232.5Mn/m | -$245.5Mn/m | -$101.6M-135.2% | $289.0M-30.8% | $417.7M+58.6% | $263.3Mn/m | -$178.5M-182.4% | $216.5M-81.3% | $1.2B |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$2.8Bn/m | -$2.6Bn/m | -$1.4Bn/m | -$1.1Bn/m | -$1.1Bn/m | -$607.4Mn/m | -$446.8Mn/m | -$886.8Mn/m | -$908.6Mn/m | -$867.9Mn/m | -$651.5Mn/m | -$423.9Mn/m | -$735.4Mn/m | -$1.4Bn/m | -$1.2B |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$173.3M-114.3% | $1.2B+1371.6% | $82.4Mn/m | -$56.9Mn/m | -$510.5Mn/m | -$139.8Mn/m | -$104.6M-169.0% | $151.6M+78.1% | $85.1M+130.0% | $37.0Mn/m | -$88.3Mn/m | -$168.2M-342.7% | $69.3M-40.2% | $115.8Mn/m | -$724.6M |
| Dividends Paid | N/A | $350.9M-4.8% | $368.6M+21.1% | $304.4M-5.6% | $322.3M+134.1% | $137.7M+202.6% | $45.5M0.0% | $45.5M-27.5% | $62.8M | N/A | N/A | $29.8M-51.3% | $61.2M-83.2% | $364.2M+108.2% | $174.9M |
| Share Buybacks | $36.3M | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
GFIOF Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY2220-F | FY2120-F | FY2020-F | FY1920-F | FY1820-F | FY1720-F | FY1620-F | FY1520-F | FY1420-F | FY1320-F | FY1220-F | FY1120-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 57.9%+12.6pp | 45.3%+6.4pp | 39.0%-0.2pp | 39.2%-4.2pp | 43.4%-1.4pp | 44.8%+13.3pp | 31.5%+10.7pp | 20.8%-3.0pp | 23.8%-1.2pp | 24.9%+6.0pp | 19.0% | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Net Margin | 40.8%+16.8pp | 23.9%+8.3pp | 15.6%-1.0pp | 16.6%-2.2pp | 18.8%+0.2pp | 18.6%+13.1pp | 5.5%+19.0pp | -13.5%-12.8pp | -0.7%-6.6pp | 5.9%+16.0pp | -10.1% | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Return on Equity | 42.3%+18.4pp | 23.9%+8.2pp | 15.7%-1.2pp | 16.9%-2.9pp | 19.8%+0.1pp | 19.7%+13.9pp | 5.8%+19.3pp | -13.5%-12.9pp | -0.6%-5.8pp | 5.2%+14.2pp | -9.0%-8.2pp | -0.8%+5.5pp | -6.2%-17.3pp | 11.1%-4.2pp | 15.2% |
| Return on Assets | 23.4%+11.2pp | 12.3%+3.7pp | 8.6%-1.1pp | 9.7%-1.0pp | 10.7%+1.1pp | 9.7%+7.2pp | 2.5%+8.3pp | -5.9%-5.6pp | -0.3%-2.8pp | 2.5%+6.7pp | -4.2%-3.8pp | -0.4%+3.0pp | -3.4%-9.6pp | 6.1%-2.6pp | 8.8% |
| Current Ratio | 1.75+0.6x | 1.130.0x | 1.15-1.1x | 2.29+0.6x | 1.73-0.2x | 1.89+1.1x | 0.78-0.6x | 1.37+0.1x | 1.30+0.1x | 1.22 | N/A | 1.54-0.2x | 1.71+0.1x | 1.65+0.5x | 1.15 |
| Debt-to-Equity | 0.300.0x | 0.34+0.2x | 0.15-0.1x | 0.260.0x | 0.27-0.1x | 0.390.0x | 0.42-0.3x | 0.70+0.2x | 0.480.0x | 0.49 | N/A | 0.490.0x | 0.49+0.1x | 0.39+0.2x | 0.24 |
| Liabilities-to-Equity | 0.78-0.1x | 0.92+0.1x | 0.81+0.1x | 0.71-0.1x | 0.81-0.2x | 0.99-0.3x | 1.32+0.1x | 1.24+0.3x | 0.95-0.1x | 1.03-0.1x | 1.13+0.3x | 0.85+0.1x | 0.790.0x | 0.780.0x | 0.73 |
| Asset Turnover | 0.57+0.1x | 0.510.0x | 0.550.0x | 0.580.0x | 0.57+0.1x | 0.52+0.1x | 0.450.0x | 0.440.0x | 0.420.0x | 0.420.0x | 0.42 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| FCF Margin | 27.1%+19.0pp | 8.1%+5.1pp | 3.1%-4.2pp | 7.2%+3.9pp | 3.4%-10.2pp | 13.6%+5.7pp | 7.8%+17.4pp | -9.5%-5.8pp | -3.7%-14.5pp | 10.8%-6.2pp | 17.0% | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Operating Margin.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it. Market cap is stated at each company's latest close.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gold Fields Ltd GFIOF | FY2025 | $8.8B | $3.6B | 40.8% | $31.7B | — |
| Newmont Corp CDI NEMCL | FY2025 | $22.7B | $7.1B | 31.3% | $114.3B | — |
Where Gold Fields Ltd Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) reported $8.8B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 68.2% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) revenue grew by 68.2% year-over-year, from $5.2B to $8.8B in fiscal year 2025.
Yes, Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) reported a net income of $3.6B in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 40.8%.
As of fiscal year 2025, Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) had $1.8B in cash and equivalents against $2.6B in long-term debt.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) had a gross margin of 57.9% in fiscal year 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) had a net profit margin of 40.8% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) has a return on equity of 42.3% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) generated $2.4B in free cash flow during fiscal year 2025. This represents a 460.4% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) generated $3.8B in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) had $15.2B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) invested $1.4B in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) had a current ratio of 1.75 as of fiscal year 2025, which is generally considered healthy.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.30 as of fiscal year 2025. We compute it as long-term debt divided by total shareholder equity, where long-term debt is the noncurrent part of the company's borrowings, so debt due within the next twelve months is not counted.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) had a liabilities-to-equity ratio of 0.78 as of fiscal year 2025, which is total liabilities divided by total shareholder equity. Total liabilities counts every obligation on the balance sheet (payables, deposits, insurance reserves and deferred taxes as well as borrowings), so this ratio usually runs well above debt-to-equity.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) had a return on assets of 23.4% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) has a Piotroski F-Score of 9 out of 9, indicating strong financial health. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Gold Fields Ltd (GFIOF) has an earnings quality ratio of 1.06x, considered cash-backed (high quality). This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.