A multiple compares the market's price with a filed figure; it says what the market pays, not how the business is doing. The market capitalization is the vendor's as of Sep 12, 2026; every other figure is from the SEC filings on this page. Not financial advice.
Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Aug 5, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the IP SEC filings page.
International Paper Co. (IP) reported $24.2B in revenue over the twelve months to Jun 30, 2026, up 25.4% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
A sharp scale-up lifted gross profit, but heavier reinvestment and non-cash costs left cash conversion disconnected from reported earnings.
Revenue growth rose nearly half while gross margin widened from28.0% to29.6% , suggesting improved revenue economics, though the data does not isolate whether mix or costs drove it. Operating cash flow held near$1.7B despite a net loss of-$3.5B , so reported earnings were pulled far below cash generation by non-cash or non-operating items.
Capital intensity became the cash constraint: capital spending roughly doubled to
Total assets grew
Financial Health Signals
Scored against operating companies for FY2025. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →
Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of International Paper Co.'s business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.
Not available for International Paper Co., and counted as zero in the overall score.
International Paper Co.'s revenue surged 49.3% year-over-year to $23.6B, reflecting rapid business expansion. This strong growth earns a score of 83/100.
International Paper Co. has a moderate D/E ratio of 0.60. This balance of debt and equity financing earns a leverage score of 57/100.
International Paper Co.'s current ratio of 1.28 indicates adequate short-term liquidity, earning a score of 32/100. The company can meet its near-term obligations, though with limited headroom.
While International Paper Co. generated $1.7B in operating cash flow, capex of $1.9B consumed most of it, leaving -$159.0M in free cash flow. This results in a low score of 33/100, reflecting heavy capital investment rather than weak cash generation.
Not available for International Paper Co., and counted as zero in the overall score.
International Paper Co. passes 4 of 9 financial strength tests. 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 3 leverage/liquidity signals pass, 1 of 2 efficiency signals pass.
International Paper Co. reported a net loss of $3.5B while generating $1.7B in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
International Paper Co. generated $6.0B in revenue in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 2.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 0.6%.
International Paper Co. reported -$12.0M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 116.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 120.0%.
International Paper Co. earned -$0.02 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 114.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 118.2%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Cash & Balance Sheet
International Paper Co. recorded an outflow of $7.0M in free cash flow in Q2 2026, representing a cash shortfall after capex. This represents a decrease of 113.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 107.4%.
International Paper Co. held $726.0M in cash against $8.2B in long-term debt as of Q2 2026.
International Paper Co. paid $0.46 per share in dividends in Q2 2026. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.
Margins & Returns
International Paper Co.'s gross margin was 27.7% in Q2 2026, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is down 0.4 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 1.3 percentage points.
International Paper Co.'s net profit margin was -0.2% in Q2 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 1.4 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 1.2 percentage points.
International Paper Co.'s ROE was -0.1% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 0.5 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 0.5 percentage points.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Capital Allocation
International Paper Co. spent $1.0M on share buybacks in Q2 2026, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 96.7%.
International Paper Co. invested $533.0M in capex in Q2 2026, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents an increase of 26.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 3.1%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
IP Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-K | Q3'2510-K | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $6.0B-2.2% | $6.0B+13.4% | $6.0B+53.1% | $6.2B+56.4% | $6.1B+52.8% | $5.3B+34.5% | $3.9B+128.3% | $4.0B-13.7% |
| Cost of Revenue | $4.3B-1.8% | $4.2B+11.5% | N/A | $4.3B+48.9% | $4.4B+31.6% | $3.8B+11.1% | N/A | $2.9B-13.9% |
| Gross Profit | $1.7B-3.5% | $1.7B+18.4% | N/A | $1.9B+76.1% | $1.7B+161.0% | $1.5B+197.1% | N/A | $1.1B-13.3% |
| SG&A Expenses | $564.0M+7.4% | $510.0M+4.7% | N/A | $493.0M+4.2% | $525.0M+15.9% | $487.0M+36.0% | N/A | $473.0M+65.4% |
| Operating Income | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $237.0M-32.7% |
| EBITDA | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $445.0M-27.0% |
| Interest Expense | $131.0M-8.4% | $132.0M-2.2% | N/A | $135.0M+26.2% | $143.0M+33.6% | $135.0M+23.9% | N/A | $107.0M+1.9% |
| Income Tax | -$15.0M-137.5% | $17.0M+153.1% | N/A | -$250.0M-133.6% | $40.0M+113.7% | -$32.0M-218.5% | N/A | -$107.0M-374.4% |
| Net Income | -$12.0M-116.0% | $60.0M+157.1% | -$2.4B-1521.8% | -$1.1B-834.7% | $75.0M-84.9% | -$105.0M-287.5% | -$147.0M+48.2% | $150.0M-9.1% |
| EPS (Basic) | -$0.02-114.3% | $0.11+145.8% | -$4.52-976.2% | -$2.09-586.0% | $0.14-90.2% | -$0.24-250.0% | -$0.42+48.8% | $0.43-8.5% |
| EPS (Diluted) | -$0.02-114.3% | $0.11+145.8% | -$4.52 | -$2.09-597.6% | $0.14 | -$0.24-250.0% | -$0.42+48.8% | $0.42-10.6% |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 530M-0.6% | 532M+21.5% | N/A | 528M+49.4% | 533M | 438M+25.6% | N/A | 353M+1.5% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: R&D Expenses.
IP Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-K | Q3'2510-K | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $36.5B-13.8% | $36.4B-11.5% | $38.0B+66.5% | $40.6B+75.2% | $42.4B+83.7% | $41.2B+78.8% | $22.8B-2.0% | $23.2B-3.3% |
| Current Assets | $8.2B-13.2% | $8.6B-7.6% | $10.1B+57.3% | $10.5B+57.5% | $9.5B+44.9% | $9.3B+43.8% | $6.4B-2.8% | $6.6B-2.0% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $726.0M-36.0% | $1.2B+6.9% | $1.1B+7.8% | $995.0M-14.2% | $1.1B+8.2% | $1.2B+8.0% | $1.1B-4.6% | $1.2B+0.9% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Inventory | $2.0B-26.2% | $1.9B-26.6% | $2.0B+35.4% | $2.2B+21.4% | $2.7B+53.8% | $2.6B+46.2% | $1.5B-21.3% | $1.8B-6.9% |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Goodwill | $5.3B-29.8% | $5.3B-26.9% | $5.3B+75.3% | $7.7B+152.6% | $7.5B+147.7% | $7.2B+138.1% | $3.0B-0.1% | $3.0B-0.1% |
| Total Liabilities | $22.1B-7.1% | $21.6B-6.3% | $23.1B+58.2% | $23.3B+60.0% | $23.8B+64.2% | $23.1B+56.2% | $14.6B-1.9% | $14.5B-3.6% |
| Current Liabilities | $7.5B+5.4% | $7.1B+1.2% | $7.9B+85.5% | $8.0B+83.1% | $7.1B+73.1% | $7.0B+81.3% | $4.3B+7.6% | $4.4B+12.1% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $14.6B-12.5% | $14.6B-9.5% | $15.2B+47.0% | $15.3B+50.1% | $16.6B+60.7% | $16.1B+47.4% | $10.4B-5.3% | $10.2B-9.0% |
| Long-Term Debt | $8.2B-15.3% | $8.2B-10.9% | $8.8B+64.8% | $9.0B+69.4% | $9.7B+81.9% | $9.2B+68.3% | $5.4B-1.7% | $5.3B-4.4% |
| Total Equity | $14.5B-22.4% | $14.8B-18.2% | $14.8B+81.4% | $17.3B+100.7% | $18.6B+116.6% | $18.1B+119.1% | $8.2B-2.2% | $8.6B-2.8% |
| Retained Earnings | $4.4B-49.9% | $4.7B-48.0% | $4.9B-48.0% | $7.5B-22.5% | $8.9B-8.8% | $9.0B-3.7% | $9.4B-1.0% | $9.7B-2.3% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Accounts Receivable.
IP Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-K | Q3'2510-K | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $526.0M+10.5% | $611.0M+312.2% | $905.0M+128.0% | $605.0M+16.1% | $476.0M+30.4% | -$288.0M-172.9% | $397.0M-19.3% | $521.0M+11.3% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $488.0M+13.2% | $489.0M-6.0% | $697.0M+215.4% | $1.1B+428.4% | $431.0M+65.1% | $520.0M+87.1% | $221.0M-45.2% | $208.0M-19.4% |
| Capital Expenditures | $533.0M+26.3% | $517.0M+56.7% | $650.0M+150.0% | $455.0M+114.6% | $422.0M+113.1% | $330.0M+31.5% | $260.0M-14.8% | $212.0M-7.0% |
| Free Cash Flow | -$7.0M-113.0% | $94.0M+115.2% | $255.0M+86.1% | $150.0M-51.5% | $54.0M-67.7% | -$618.0M-529.2% | $137.0M-26.7% | $309.0M+28.7% |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$914.0M-232.4% | $565.0M+138.4% | -$546.0M-213.8% | -$440.0M-134.0% | -$275.0M-38.2% | $237.0M+196.0% | -$174.0M+43.9% | -$188.0M-176.7% |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$193.0M+29.6% | -$1.0B-4952.4% | -$153.0M+18.2% | -$302.0M-35.4% | -$274.0M-57.5% | $21.0M+111.0% | -$187.0M+15.8% | -$223.0M+27.1% |
| Dividends Paid | $247.0M-0.4% | $245.0M+0.4% | $244.0M+51.6% | $246.0M+50.0% | $248.0M+50.3% | $244.0M+51.6% | $161.0M+0.6% | $164.0M-0.6% |
| Share Buybacks | $1.0M0.0% | $30.0M-51.6% | $1.0M0.0% | $1.0M | $1.0M | $62.0M+181.8% | $1.0M | $0 |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Stock-Based Compensation.
IP Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-K | Q3'2510-K | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 27.7%-0.4pp | 28.9%+1.2pp | N/A | 31.1%+3.5pp | 28.0%+11.6pp | 27.7%+15.2pp | N/A | 27.6%+0.1pp |
| Operating Margin | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | 6.0%-1.7pp |
| Net Margin | -0.2%-1.4pp | 1.0%+3.0pp | -39.7%-35.9pp | -17.7%-21.5pp | 1.2%-11.2pp | -2.0%-3.4pp | -3.8%+12.8pp | 3.8%+0.2pp |
| Return on Equity | -0.1%-0.5pp | 0.4%+1.0pp | -16.1%-14.3pp | -6.4%-8.1pp | 0.4%-5.4pp | -0.6%-1.3pp | -1.8%+1.6pp | 1.7%-0.1pp |
| Return on Assets | 0.0%-0.2pp | 0.2%+0.4pp | -6.3%-5.6pp | -2.7%-3.4pp | 0.2%-2.0pp | -0.3%-0.5pp | -0.6%+0.6pp | 0.7%0.0pp |
| Current Ratio | 1.10-0.2x | 1.21-0.1x | 1.28-0.2x | 1.31-0.2x | 1.33-0.3x | 1.33-0.3x | 1.51-0.2x | 1.53-0.2x |
| Debt-to-Equity | 0.570.0x | 0.550.0x | 0.60-0.1x | 0.52-0.1x | 0.52-0.1x | 0.51-0.2x | 0.660.0x | 0.610.0x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.160.0x | 0.160.0x | 0.160.0x | 0.150.0x | 0.140.0x | 0.130.0x | 0.17+0.1x | 0.170.0x |
| FCF Margin | -0.1%-1.0pp | 1.6%+13.3pp | 4.3%+0.8pp | 2.4%-5.4pp | 0.9%-3.3pp | -11.7%-15.4pp | 3.5%-7.4pp | 7.8%+2.6pp |
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Paper Co. IP | FY2025 | $23.6B | -$3.5B | -14.9% | $18.2B | 34/100 |
| Smurfit Westrock plc SW | FY2025 | $31.2B | $699.0M | 2.2% | $22.7B | 50/100 |
| Packaging Corp of America PKG | FY2025 | $9.0B | $774.1M | 8.6% | $20.9B | 64/100 |
| Amcor plc AMCR | FY2026 | $23.5B | $1.1B | 4.7% | $19.6B | 52/100 |
| Ball Corporation BALL | FY2025 | $13.2B | $915.0M | 7.0% | $15.9B | 51/100 |
| Avery Dennison Corp. AVY | FY2025 | $8.9B | $688.0M | 7.8% | $12.8B | 27/100 |
Where International Paper Co. Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is International Paper Co.'s annual revenue?
International Paper Co. (IP) reported $23.6B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 49.3% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is International Paper Co.'s revenue growing?
International Paper Co. (IP) revenue grew by 49.3% year-over-year, from $15.8B to $23.6B in fiscal year 2025.
Is International Paper Co. profitable?
No, International Paper Co. (IP) reported a net income of -$3.5B in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of -14.9%.
How much debt does International Paper Co. have?
As of fiscal year 2025, International Paper Co. (IP) had $1.1B in cash and equivalents against $8.8B in long-term debt.
What is International Paper Co.'s gross margin?
International Paper Co. (IP) had a gross margin of 29.6% in fiscal year 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.
What is International Paper Co.'s net profit margin?
International Paper Co. (IP) had a net profit margin of -14.9% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
Does International Paper Co. pay dividends?
Yes, International Paper Co. (IP) paid $1.85 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.
What is International Paper Co.'s return on equity (ROE)?
International Paper Co. (IP) has a return on equity of -23.7% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is International Paper Co.'s free cash flow?
International Paper Co. (IP) recorded an outflow of $159.0M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2025. This represents a -121.0% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
What is International Paper Co.'s operating cash flow?
International Paper Co. (IP) generated $1.7B in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are International Paper Co.'s total assets?
International Paper Co. (IP) had $38.0B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What are International Paper Co.'s capital expenditures?
International Paper Co. (IP) invested $1.9B in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
What is International Paper Co.'s current ratio?
International Paper Co. (IP) had a current ratio of 1.28 as of fiscal year 2025, which is considered adequate.
What is International Paper Co.'s debt-to-equity ratio?
International Paper Co. (IP) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.60 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is International Paper Co.'s return on assets (ROA)?
International Paper Co. (IP) had a return on assets of -9.3% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is International Paper Co.'s P/E ratio?
International Paper Co. (IP) has no price-to-earnings ratio at the moment: net loss, so no earnings multiple (trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026). The market capitalization is $18.2B as of Sep 12, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is International Paper Co.'s price-to-sales ratio?
International Paper Co. (IP) trades at 0.8x sales, its market capitalization divided by revenue of $24.2B revenue, trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026. The market capitalization is $18.2B as of Sep 12, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is International Paper Co.'s Piotroski F-Score?
International Paper Co. (IP) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 9, indicating neutral financial health. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are International Paper Co.'s earnings high quality?
International Paper Co. (IP) reported a net loss of $3.5B while generating $1.7B in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
How financially healthy is International Paper Co.?
International Paper Co. (IP) scores 34 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating weak standing within its operating companies peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Profitability, Growth, Leverage, Liquidity, Cash Flow, Returns), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.