Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Jul 30, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the NTRSO SEC filings page.
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) reported $9.1B in revenue over the twelve months to Jun 30, 2026, up 15.1% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
A liability-funded balance sheet turns volatile cash flows and investment funding into the central operating mechanic.
The earnings-to-cash relationship is unusually swingy: FY2024 net income of$2.0B coincided with operating cash flow of-$486M , then FY2025 net income of$1.7B was accompanied by operating cash flow of$5.5B . That reversal means reported profit alone does not describe period economics; cash timing or operating balance-sheet movements materially shape results.
At FY2025, liabilities of
The business appears less capital-intensive in maintenance spending than its financing flows suggest: FY2025 capex was only
Financial Health Signals
Northern Trust Corporation does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.
Northern Trust Corporation passes 4 of 6 computable financial strength tests (3 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 3 of 4 profitability signals pass, all 1 leverage/liquidity signals pass, neither operating efficiency signal passes.
For every $1 of reported earnings, Northern Trust Corporation generates $3.19 in operating cash flow ($5.5B OCF vs $1.7B net income). This indicates profits are well-supported by actual cash generation, not accounting adjustments.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Northern Trust Corporation generated $2.7B in revenue in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 35.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 22.3%.
Northern Trust Corporation reported $792.2M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 88.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 50.8%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Northern Trust Corporation recorded an outflow of $90.3M in free cash flow in Q2 2026, representing a cash shortfall after capex. This represents a decrease of 104.9% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 72.6%.
Northern Trust Corporation held $5.7B in cash as of Q2 2026; long-term debt is not reported for that period.
Northern Trust Corporation paid $0.80 per share in dividends in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 6.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.
Margins & Returns
Northern Trust Corporation's net profit margin was 29.4% in Q2 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is up 8.3 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 5.5 percentage points.
Northern Trust Corporation's ROE was 5.9% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 2.6 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 1.9 percentage points.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Capital Allocation
Northern Trust Corporation spent $350.6M on share buybacks in Q2 2026, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding. This represents an increase of 3.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 2.3%.
Northern Trust Corporation invested $25.4M in capex in Q2 2026, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents an increase of 104.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 170.2%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
NTRSO Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $2.7B+35.0% | $2.2B+13.7% | $2.1B+8.3% | $2.0B+2.9% | $2.0B-26.4% | $1.9B+17.8% | $2.0B+26.8% | $2.0B+14.0% |
| SG&A Expenses | $868.0M+18.5% | $822.2M+9.0% | $2.8B+106.8% | $1.4B+4.7% | $732.5M-52.2% | $754.1M-44.7% | $1.4B-0.9% | $1.4B+6.4% |
| Interest Expense | $1.5B-5.5% | $1.6B+0.5% | $1.5B-13.5% | $1.6B-21.1% | $1.6B-19.2% | $1.6B-18.0% | $1.7B0.0% | $2.0B+33.1% |
| Income Tax | $272.5M+89.9% | $175.1M+35.3% | $167.8M+20.9% | $161.9M+18.9% | $143.5M-48.3% | $129.4M+70.5% | $138.8M+324.5% | $136.2M+27.9% |
| Net Income | $792.2M+88.0% | $525.5M+34.1% | $466.0M+2.3% | $457.6M-1.6% | $421.3M-53.0% | $392.0M+82.6% | $455.4M+302.7% | $464.9M+41.8% |
| EPS (Basic) | N/A | $2.72+42.4% | $2.44+7.5% | $2.30+3.1% | $2.14-50.8% | $1.91+99.0% | $2.27+328.3% | $2.23+49.7% |
| EPS (Diluted) | N/A | $2.71+42.6% | $2.42+7.1% | $2.29+3.2% | $2.13-50.9% | $1.90+97.9% | $2.26+334.6% | $2.22+49.0% |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 185M-4.4% | 187M-4.9% | N/A | 191M-4.8% | 193M-5.1% | 196M-4.4% | N/A | 201M-3.2% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses, Operating Income, EBITDA.
NTRSO Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $179.3B+4.3% | $174.6B+5.8% | $177.1B+13.9% | $170.3B+9.3% | $171.9B+9.6% | $165.1B+5.7% | $155.5B+3.1% | $155.8B+6.4% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $5.7B-10.7% | $5.8B+33.1% | $5.9B+25.6% | $5.3B-22.2% | $6.4B-2.2% | $4.4B-17.7% | $4.7B-2.4% | $6.9B+38.7% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Goodwill | $709.6M-0.7% | $709.5M+1.3% | $712.9M+2.6% | $712.9M+0.7% | $714.6M+2.5% | $700.5M+0.4% | $694.9M-1.1% | $707.8M+2.2% |
| Total Liabilities | $165.9B+4.3% | $161.6B+6.2% | $164.2B+15.0% | $157.3B+10.0% | $159.0B+10.3% | $152.2B+5.7% | $142.7B+2.8% | $143.0B+6.3% |
| Total Equity | $13.4B+4.2% | $13.0B+0.8% | $13.0B+1.3% | $13.0B+1.6% | $12.9B+1.7% | $12.9B+6.4% | $12.8B+7.5% | $12.7B+7.6% |
| Retained Earnings | $17.7B+9.9% | $17.1B+7.7% | $16.7B+7.0% | $16.4B+7.1% | $16.1B+7.3% | $15.8B+10.9% | $15.6B+9.7% | $15.3B+7.2% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Current Assets, Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Current Liabilities, Non-Current Liabilities, Long-Term Debt.
NTRSO Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | -$64.9M-103.5% | -$320.0M-111.6% | $388.4M+114.7% | $525.8M-14.0% | $1.9B-37.5% | $2.7B+289.3% | -$2.6B-194.0% | $611.1M+604.8% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $198.4M+1.4% | $197.1M+3.4% | $196.9M+7.7% | $195.8M+6.9% | $195.7M+8.4% | $190.7M+12.0% | $182.9M+8.2% | $183.1M+16.3% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | $52.8M+190.1% | $74.3M+3.3% | N/A | $17.6M+19.7% | $18.2M+7.1% | $71.9M+8.3% | N/A | $14.7M-10.9% |
| Capital Expenditures | $25.4M+104.8% | $9.4M-24.2% | $32.8M-19.4% | $16.4M-36.2% | $12.4M-40.4% | $12.4M-13.3% | $40.7M-36.2% | $25.7M+21.8% |
| Free Cash Flow | -$90.3M-104.9% | -$329.4M-112.0% | $355.6M+113.3% | $509.4M-13.0% | $1.9B-37.5% | $2.7B+286.6% | -$2.7B-197.7% | $585.4M+792.4% |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$4.8B-33.8% | $3.5B+133.9% | -$7.1B-220.3% | $807.7M-76.8% | -$3.6B-481.0% | -$10.3B-114.6% | -$2.2B+54.6% | $3.5B-65.4% |
| Financing Cash Flow | $4.8B+35.7% | -$3.1B-145.8% | $7.1B+126.4% | -$2.3B+42.6% | $3.5B+233.3% | $6.8B-1.6% | $3.2B+84.5% | -$4.0B+59.7% |
| Dividends Paid | $146.9M+2.0% | $148.5M+1.6% | $149.6M+1.4% | $151.9M+1.8% | $144.0M-5.2% | $146.1M-4.9% | $147.6M-4.3% | $149.2M-4.0% |
| Share Buybacks | $350.6M+3.3% | $358.9M+25.0% | $369.9M+45.9% | $277.0M-8.1% | $339.4M+35.3% | $287.2M+117.6% | $253.6M+73.5% | $301.4M+27300.0% |
NTRSO Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net Margin | 29.4%+8.3pp | 23.8%+3.6pp | 21.9%-1.3pp | 22.6%-1.0pp | 21.1%-11.9pp | 20.2%+7.2pp | 23.2%+15.9pp | 23.6%+4.6pp |
| Return on Equity | 5.9%+2.6pp | 4.0%+1.0pp | 3.6%0.0pp | 3.5%-0.1pp | 3.3%-3.8pp | 3.0%+1.3pp | 3.6%+2.6pp | 3.6%+0.9pp |
| Return on Assets | 0.4%+0.2pp | 0.3%+0.1pp | 0.3%0.0pp | 0.3%0.0pp | 0.3%-0.3pp | 0.2%+0.1pp | 0.3%+0.2pp | 0.3%+0.1pp |
| Debt-to-Equity | 12.380.0x | 12.44+0.6x | 12.67+1.5x | 12.14+0.9x | 12.36+1.0x | 11.82-0.1x | 11.16-0.5x | 11.22-0.1x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.010.0x | 0.010.0x | 0.010.0x | 0.010.0x | 0.010.0x | 0.010.0x | 0.010.0x | 0.010.0x |
| FCF Margin | -3.4%-96.3pp | -14.9% | 16.8% | 25.1%-4.6pp | 93.0% | 141.1% | -136.5% | 29.7%+25.9pp |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, Operating Margin, Current Ratio.
Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: FCF Margin.
Where Northern Trust Corporation Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Northern Trust Corporation's annual revenue?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) reported $8.1B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a -2.5% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is Northern Trust Corporation's revenue growing?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) revenue declined by 2.5% year-over-year, from $8.3B to $8.1B in fiscal year 2025.
Is Northern Trust Corporation profitable?
Yes, Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) reported a net income of $1.7B in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 21.5%.
What is Northern Trust Corporation's net profit margin?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) had a net profit margin of 21.5% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
Does Northern Trust Corporation pay dividends?
Yes, Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) paid $3.10 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.
What is Northern Trust Corporation's return on equity (ROE)?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) has a return on equity of 13.4% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Northern Trust Corporation's free cash flow?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) generated $5.5B in free cash flow during fiscal year 2025. This represents a 1029.3% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
What is Northern Trust Corporation's operating cash flow?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) generated $5.5B in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are Northern Trust Corporation's total assets?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) had $177.1B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What are Northern Trust Corporation's capital expenditures?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) invested $74.0M in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
What is Northern Trust Corporation's debt-to-equity ratio?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 12.67 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Northern Trust Corporation's return on assets (ROA)?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) had a return on assets of 1.0% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is Northern Trust Corporation's Piotroski F-Score?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 6 computable signals; 3 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Northern Trust Corporation's earnings high quality?
Northern Trust Corporation (NTRSO) has an earnings quality ratio of 3.19x, considered cash-backed (high quality). This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.