Newest figures come from the 20-F for FY2026, filed May 20, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the BBAAY SEC filings page.
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) reported $148.4B in revenue for fiscal year 2026, up 8.1% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 12 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Revenue expanded to $148.4B in FY2026, but operating profit and cash generation weakened, revealing growth that did not translate cleanly into earnings.
Gross margin held near40.0% while operating margin nearly halved to4.9% in FY2026, so the pressure appeared below gross profit rather than in core production economics. Operating cash flow also nearly halved, from$22.5B to$11.0B , while net income declined less severely, making earnings less cash-backed.
Assets expanded to
Dividends and buybacks totaled
Financial Health Signals
ALIBABA GRP does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.
ALIBABA GRP passes 3 of 8 computable financial strength tests (1 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 2 leverage/liquidity signals pass, neither operating efficiency signal passes.
For every $1 of reported earnings, ALIBABA GRP generates $0.74 in operating cash flow ($11.0B OCF vs $15.0B net income). This mixed ratio suggests some earnings may rely on non-cash accounting items.
ALIBABA GRP earns $5.12 in operating income for every $1 of interest expense ($7.3B vs $1.4B). This wide margin provides strong safety for debt servicing, even if earnings decline temporarily.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
ALIBABA GRP generated $148.4B in revenue in fiscal year 2026. This represents an increase of 8.1% from the prior year.
ALIBABA GRP reported $15.0B in net income in fiscal year 2026. This represents a decrease of 16.2% from the prior year.
Not reported for fiscal year 2026.
Cash & Balance Sheet
ALIBABA GRP held $19.1B in cash as of fiscal year 2026; no long-term debt figure is on record for that period.
Not reported for fiscal year 2026.
Not reported for fiscal year 2026.
Margins & Returns
ALIBABA GRP's gross margin was 39.8% in fiscal year 2026, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is down 0.1 percentage points from the prior year.
ALIBABA GRP's operating margin was 4.9% in fiscal year 2026, reflecting core business profitability. This is down 9.2 percentage points from the prior year.
ALIBABA GRP's net profit margin was 10.1% in fiscal year 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 2.9 percentage points from the prior year.
ALIBABA GRP's ROE was 9.8% in fiscal year 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 3.1 percentage points from the prior year.
Capital Allocation
ALIBABA GRP invested $9.6B in research and development in fiscal year 2026. This represents an increase of 22.5% from the prior year.
ALIBABA GRP spent $1.1B on share buybacks in fiscal year 2026, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding. This represents a decrease of 90.7% from the prior year.
Not reported for fiscal year 2026.
BBAAY Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2620-F | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY2220-F | FY2120-F | FY2020-F | FY1920-F | FY1820-F | FY1720-F | FY1620-F | FY1520-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $148.4B+8.1% | $137.3B+5.3% | $130.3B+3.1% | $126.5B-6.0% | $134.6B+22.9% | $109.5B+52.1% | $72.0B+28.2% | $56.2B+40.7% | $39.9B+73.5% | $23.0B+46.6% | $15.7B+27.6% | $12.3B |
| Cost of Revenue | $89.3B+8.3% | $82.4B+1.5% | $81.2B+1.5% | $80.0B-5.9% | $85.1B+32.4% | $64.3B+61.2% | $39.9B+29.3% | $30.8B+80.7% | $17.1B+97.5% | $8.6B+62.2% | $5.3B+38.6% | $3.8B |
| Gross Profit | $59.1B+7.7% | $54.9B+11.6% | $49.1B+5.8% | $46.4B-6.1% | $49.5B+9.5% | $45.2B+40.8% | $32.1B+26.8% | $25.3B+10.9% | $22.8B+59.1% | $14.4B+38.6% | $10.4B+22.6% | $8.4B |
| R&D Expenses | $9.6B+22.5% | $7.9B+8.8% | $7.2B-12.4% | $8.3B-5.6% | $8.7B+0.1% | $8.7B+43.6% | $6.1B+9.1% | $5.6B+53.7% | $3.6B+46.3% | $2.5B+15.9% | $2.1B+24.3% | $1.7B |
| SG&A Expenses | $4.8B-21.3% | $6.1B+4.8% | $5.8B-5.3% | $6.1B+22.0% | $5.0B-40.3% | $8.4B+111.7% | $4.0B+7.4% | $3.7B+43.2% | $2.6B+45.6% | $1.8B+24.5% | $1.4B+13.5% | $1.3B |
| Operating Income | $7.3B-62.6% | $19.4B+23.7% | $15.7B+7.4% | $14.6B+33.0% | $11.0B-19.7% | $13.7B+6.0% | $12.9B+51.8% | $8.5B-23.0% | $11.1B+58.3% | $7.0B+54.7% | $4.5B+20.9% | $3.7B |
| Interest Expense | $1.4B+7.3% | $1.3B+20.2% | $1.1B+27.7% | $862.0M+11.4% | $774.0M+13.3% | $683.0M-6.6% | $731.0M-5.4% | $773.0M+36.1% | $568.0M+46.4% | $388.0M+28.9% | $301.0M-32.1% | $443.0M |
| Income Tax | $4.4B-10.8% | $4.9B+56.5% | $3.1B+37.8% | $2.3B-46.5% | $4.2B-5.3% | $4.5B+53.9% | $2.9B+17.8% | $2.5B-15.0% | $2.9B+44.9% | $2.0B+52.8% | $1.3B+26.6% | $1.0B |
| Net Income | $15.0B-16.2% | $17.9B+61.8% | $11.1B+4.6% | $10.6B+7.9% | $9.8B-57.3% | $23.0B+8.9% | $21.1B+61.2% | $13.1B+28.2% | $10.2B+61.0% | $6.3B-42.8% | $11.1B+183.2% | $3.9B |
| EPS (Basic) | $0.83 | $0.95+72.7% | $0.55+10.0% | $0.50+11.1% | $0.45-57.5% | $1.06+6.0% | $1.00 | $0.63 | $4.00+56.9% | $2.55 | $4.51+170.1% | $1.67 |
| EPS (Diluted) | $0.80 | $0.92+70.4% | $0.54+8.0% | $0.50+11.1% | $0.45-56.7% | $1.04+5.1% | $0.99 | $0.62 | $3.91+58.3% | $2.47 | $4.33+177.6% | $1.56 |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 19.23B | 19.32B-5.1% | 20.36B-3.6% | 21.11B-3.1% | 21.79B-0.9% | 21.98B+3.0% | 21.35B | 20.99B | 20.88B+1.5% | 20.58B | 2.56B+2.5% | 2.50B |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: EBITDA.
BBAAY Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2620-F | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY2220-F | FY2120-F | FY2020-F | FY1920-F | FY1820-F | FY1720-F | FY1620-F | FY1520-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $276.8B+11.3% | $248.6B+1.7% | $244.4B-4.2% | $255.3B-4.6% | $267.5B+3.7% | $258.0B+39.1% | $185.4B+28.9% | $143.8B+25.8% | $114.3B+55.3% | $73.6B+30.3% | $56.5B+37.2% | $41.2B |
| Current Assets | $88.5B-4.7% | $92.9B-10.9% | $104.3B+2.6% | $101.6B+0.9% | $100.7B+2.6% | $98.2B+50.2% | $65.4B+62.3% | $40.3B-1.7% | $40.9B+55.0% | $26.4B+27.1% | $20.8B-9.3% | $22.9B |
| Cash & Equivalents | $19.1B-4.9% | $20.0B-41.7% | $34.4B+22.2% | $28.1B-6.1% | $30.0B-38.9% | $49.0B+5.1% | $46.7B+64.9% | $28.3B-10.9% | $31.8B+38.7% | $22.9B+47.7% | $15.5B-7.5% | $16.8B |
| Short-Term Investments | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0-100.0% | $768.0M+30.4% | $589.0M-9.1% | $648.0M+9.8% | $590.0M |
| Long-Term Investments | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0-100.0% | $6.1B+33.3% | $4.6B+0.2% | $4.6B+93.4% | $2.4B |
| Goodwill | $35.9B+1.9% | $35.2B-2.1% | $36.0B-7.9% | $39.0B-8.2% | $42.5B-4.8% | $44.7B+14.3% | $39.1B-1.0% | $39.5B+52.7% | $25.9B+41.9% | $18.2B+43.9% | $12.7B+87.2% | $6.8B |
| Total Liabilities | $113.6B+15.4% | $98.4B+8.9% | $90.3B-1.5% | $91.8B-5.2% | $96.8B+4.5% | $92.6B+51.3% | $61.2B+17.5% | $52.1B+17.7% | $44.3B+66.8% | $26.5B+49.4% | $17.8B+13.1% | $15.7B |
| Current Liabilities | $69.1B+15.1% | $60.0B+2.8% | $58.4B+4.0% | $56.1B-7.3% | $60.5B+5.1% | $57.6B+68.6% | $34.2B+10.4% | $30.9B+42.9% | $21.7B+59.3% | $13.6B+68.4% | $8.1B+26.1% | $6.4B |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $44.5B+15.8% | $38.4B+20.2% | $32.0B-10.3% | $35.6B-1.6% | $36.2B+3.5% | $35.0B+29.4% | $27.0B+27.8% | $21.2B-6.5% | $22.6B+74.7% | $12.9B+33.5% | $9.7B+4.2% | $9.3B |
| Total Equity | $153.8B+10.5% | $139.2B+1.8% | $136.6B-5.2% | $144.1B-3.7% | $149.6B+4.6% | $143.1B+34.1% | $106.7B+45.4% | $73.3B+25.8% | $58.3B+44.0% | $40.5B+20.4% | $33.7B+43.4% | $23.5B |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Long-Term Debt, Retained Earnings.
BBAAY Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2620-F | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY2220-F | FY2120-F | FY2020-F | FY1920-F | FY1820-F | FY1720-F | FY1620-F | FY1520-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $11.0B-51.0% | $22.5B-10.9% | $25.3B-13.1% | $29.1B+29.2% | $22.5B-36.3% | $35.4B+38.7% | $25.5B+13.4% | $22.5B+12.7% | $20.0B+71.0% | $11.7B+32.4% | $8.8B+32.6% | $6.6B |
| Stock-Based Compensation | $1.6B-15.8% | $1.9B-25.1% | $2.6B-42.8% | $4.5B+18.7% | $3.8B-50.6% | $7.7B+70.6% | $4.5B-19.7% | $5.6B+74.5% | $3.2B+37.7% | $2.3B-6.8% | $2.5B+18.6% | $2.1B |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$9.8Bn/m | -$25.6Bn/m | -$3.0Bn/m | -$19.7Bn/m | -$31.3Bn/m | -$37.3Bn/m | -$15.3Bn/m | -$22.5Bn/m | -$13.4Bn/m | -$11.4B | N/A | N/A |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$3.0Bn/m | -$10.5Bn/m | -$15.0Bn/m | -$9.6Bn/m | -$10.2B-321.5% | $4.6B-54.1% | $10.0Bn/m | -$1.1B-133.9% | $3.2B-32.1% | $4.8B | N/A | N/A |
| Dividends Paid | $4.9B+22.0% | $4.0B+61.2% | $2.5B | N/A | $0 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Share Buybacks | $1.1B-90.7% | $11.9B-2.8% | $12.3B+12.9% | $10.9B+12.7% | $9.7B+8084.7% | $118.0M | N/A | $1.6B | N/A | $1.9B-37.6% | $3.1B+6877.3% | $44.0M |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Depreciation & Amortization, Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow.
BBAAY Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2620-F | FY2520-F | FY2420-F | FY2320-F | FY2220-F | FY2120-F | FY2020-F | FY1920-F | FY1820-F | FY1720-F | FY1620-F | FY1520-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 39.8%-0.1pp | 40.0%+2.3pp | 37.7%+1.0pp | 36.7%0.0pp | 36.8%-4.5pp | 41.3%-3.3pp | 44.6%-0.5pp | 45.1%-12.1pp | 57.2%-5.2pp | 62.4%-3.6pp | 66.0%-2.7pp | 68.7% |
| Operating Margin | 4.9%-9.2pp | 14.1%+2.1pp | 12.0%+0.5pp | 11.6%+3.4pp | 8.2%-4.3pp | 12.5%-5.4pp | 17.9%+2.8pp | 15.2%-12.6pp | 27.7%-2.7pp | 30.4%+1.6pp | 28.8%-1.6pp | 30.4% |
| Net Margin | 10.1%-2.9pp | 13.1%+4.6pp | 8.5%+0.1pp | 8.4%+1.1pp | 7.3%-13.7pp | 21.0%-8.3pp | 29.3%+6.0pp | 23.3%-2.3pp | 25.6%-2.0pp | 27.6%-43.1pp | 70.7%+38.8pp | 31.8% |
| Return on Equity | 9.8%-3.1pp | 12.9%+4.8pp | 8.1%+0.8pp | 7.3%+0.8pp | 6.6%-9.5pp | 16.1%-3.7pp | 19.8%+1.9pp | 17.8%+0.3pp | 17.5%+1.8pp | 15.7%-17.3pp | 32.9%+16.2pp | 16.7% |
| Return on Assets | 5.4%-1.8pp | 7.2%+2.7pp | 4.5%+0.4pp | 4.2%+0.5pp | 3.7%-5.2pp | 8.9%-2.5pp | 11.4%+2.3pp | 9.1%+0.2pp | 8.9%+0.3pp | 8.6%-11.0pp | 19.6%+10.1pp | 9.5% |
| Current Ratio | 1.28-0.3x | 1.55-0.2x | 1.790.0x | 1.81+0.1x | 1.660.0x | 1.70-0.2x | 1.91+0.6x | 1.30-0.6x | 1.89-0.1x | 1.94-0.6x | 2.58-1.0x | 3.58 |
| Liabilities-to-Equity | 0.740.0x | 0.710.0x | 0.660.0x | 0.640.0x | 0.650.0x | 0.65+0.1x | 0.57-0.1x | 0.710.0x | 0.76+0.1x | 0.66+0.1x | 0.53-0.1x | 0.67 |
| Asset Turnover | 0.540.0x | 0.550.0x | 0.530.0x | 0.500.0x | 0.50+0.1x | 0.420.0x | 0.390.0x | 0.390.0x | 0.350.0x | 0.310.0x | 0.280.0x | 0.30 |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Debt-to-Equity, FCF Margin.
Where ALIBABA GRP Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is ALIBABA GRP's annual revenue?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) reported $148.4B in total revenue for fiscal year 2026. This represents a 8.1% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is ALIBABA GRP's revenue growing?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) revenue grew by 8.1% year-over-year, from $137.3B to $148.4B in fiscal year 2026.
Is ALIBABA GRP profitable?
Yes, ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) reported a net income of $15.0B in fiscal year 2026, with a net profit margin of 10.1%.
What is ALIBABA GRP's gross margin?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) had a gross margin of 39.8% in fiscal year 2026, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.
What is ALIBABA GRP's operating margin?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) had an operating margin of 4.9% in fiscal year 2026, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.
What is ALIBABA GRP's net profit margin?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) had a net profit margin of 10.1% in fiscal year 2026, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
What is ALIBABA GRP's return on equity (ROE)?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) has a return on equity of 9.8% for fiscal year 2026, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is ALIBABA GRP's operating cash flow?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) generated $11.0B in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2026, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are ALIBABA GRP's total assets?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) had $276.8B in total assets as of fiscal year 2026, including both current and long-term assets.
How much does ALIBABA GRP spend on research and development?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) invested $9.6B in research and development during fiscal year 2026.
What is ALIBABA GRP's current ratio?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) had a current ratio of 1.28 as of fiscal year 2026, which is considered adequate.
What is ALIBABA GRP's liabilities-to-equity ratio?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) had a liabilities-to-equity ratio of 0.74 as of fiscal year 2026, which is total liabilities divided by total shareholder equity. Total liabilities counts every obligation on the balance sheet (payables, deposits, insurance reserves and deferred taxes as well as borrowings), so this ratio usually runs well above debt-to-equity. No debt-to-equity ratio is shown for fiscal year 2026, because the filing data we hold for that year carries no long-term debt figure.
What is ALIBABA GRP's return on assets (ROA)?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) had a return on assets of 5.4% for fiscal year 2026, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is ALIBABA GRP's Piotroski F-Score?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) has a Piotroski F-Score of 3 out of 8 computable signals; 1 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are ALIBABA GRP's earnings high quality?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) has an earnings quality ratio of 0.74x, considered mixed quality. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Can ALIBABA GRP cover its interest payments?
ALIBABA GRP (BBAAY) has an interest coverage ratio of 5.12x, meaning it can comfortably cover its interest obligations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.