STOCK TITAN

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) Financials

BFIN NASDAQ
Trailing 12 months to September 30, 2025
Revenue $52.9M -3.8% YoY
Net Income $2.3M -70.7% YoY
EPS (Diluted) Not reported for the trailing 12 months
Operating Cash Flow $3.4M -52.9% YoY
Source SEC Filings (10-K/10-Q) Latest period Q3 FY2025, ended Sep 30, 2025 Reported Currency USD FYE December

Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q3 FY2025, filed Oct 30, 2025. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the BFIN SEC filings page.

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) reported $52.9M in revenue over the twelve months to Sep 30, 2025, down 3.8% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).

Rhea AI BFIN FY2024

FY2024 shows a bank absorbing higher funding costs while shrinking its balance sheet and preserving reported equity.

The less obvious signal is cash conversion: operating cash flow of $7.6M exceeded net income of $4.1M even as both declined from FY2023, so cash generation held up better than accounting earnings rather than reflecting stable profitability.

Funding costs rose 40.5% in FY2024 while revenue fell 3.6%, indicating that the earnings squeeze was concentrated in financing economics rather than a major top-line collapse. Net profit margin fell 9.2 percentage points to 7.5%, making that pressure visible in both earnings and profitability.

Assets contracted 3.5% while liabilities contracted 4.0%; equity still increased 0.6%, indicating balance-sheet shrinkage without a corresponding reduction in reported capital. Yet liabilities remained 8.2x equity, and ROA fell from 0.6% to 0.3%, showing that the smaller asset base was not producing better returns.

[ NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE ]

Financial Health Signals

Earnings Growth Capital Efficiency CreditQuality Stability 27 / 100
Financial Health Score 27/100
Scored as: Banks peer group

Scored against banks for FY2024. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group, and the overall is the average of the dimensions that can be computed. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →

Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of BankFinancial Corporation's business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.

Earnings
23

BankFinancial Corporation earned a return on assets of 0.3% in fiscal year 2024, which is the profit it made on every dollar of assets on its books. This is down from 0.6% the prior year. Earnings ranks banks on that return over three years, and BankFinancial Corporation scores 23/100 among other banks.

Growth
12

BankFinancial Corporation reported revenue of $54.2M in fiscal year 2024, against $56.2M in fiscal year 2023. Growth ranks banks on the three-year path of their net revenue, which is interest income and fee income less the interest they pay out, and BankFinancial Corporation scores 12/100 among other banks.

Capital
46

BankFinancial Corporation funded 10.9% of its assets with shareholders' equity at the end of fiscal year 2024, holding $156.4M of equity against $1.4B of assets. Capital ranks banks on that cushion, and BankFinancial Corporation scores 46/100 among other banks.

Efficiency
17

Efficiency measures what a bank spends running itself against the revenue that spending brings in, so a lower ratio is the better one. BankFinancial Corporation scores 17/100 on it among other banks.

Credit Quality
16

Credit Quality measures the money a bank set aside for loans it expects to go bad, against the size of the loan book it set that money aside for. BankFinancial Corporation scores 16/100 on it among other banks.

Stability
45

BankFinancial Corporation reported net income of $4.1M in fiscal year 2024, against $9.4M in fiscal year 2023. Stability ranks banks on how steady net income has been across five years, and BankFinancial Corporation scores 45/100 among other banks.

Piotroski F-Score Partial
4/6

BankFinancial Corporation passes 4 of 6 computable financial strength tests (3 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 3 of 4 profitability signals pass, all 1 leverage/liquidity signals pass, the one computable operating efficiency signal (asset turnover improving) does not pass.

Key Financial Metrics

Export CSV

Earnings & Revenue

Revenue
$13.3M
YoY+1.5%
QoQ+0.9%
5Y CAGR+1.7%
10Y CAGR+0.1%

BankFinancial Corporation generated $13.3M in revenue in Q3 2025. This represents an increase of 1.5% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 0.9%.

Net Income
$2.4M
YoY+18.4%
QoQn/m
5Y CAGR+3.9%
10Y CAGR0.0%

BankFinancial Corporation reported $2.4M in net income in Q3 2025. This represents an increase of 18.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.

EBITDA

Not reported for Q3 2025.

EPS (Diluted)

Not reported for Q3 2025.

Cash & Balance Sheet

Cash & Debt
$82.7M
YoY-40.2%
QoQ-26.3%
5Y CAGR-28.1%
10Y CAGR+3.0%

BankFinancial Corporation held $82.7M in cash as of Q3 2025; no long-term debt figure is on record for that period.

Dividends Per Share
$0.10
YoY0.0%
QoQ0.0%
5Y CAGR0.0%

BankFinancial Corporation paid $0.10 per share in dividends in Q3 2025. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.

Shares Outstanding
12M
YoY0.0%
QoQ0.0%
5Y CAGR-3.4%
10Y CAGR-4.9%

BankFinancial Corporation had 12M shares outstanding in Q3 2025. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.

Free Cash Flow

Not reported for Q3 2025.

Margins & Returns

Net Margin
17.7%
YoY+2.5pp
QoQ+20.4pp
5Y change+1.8pp
10Y change-0.2pp

BankFinancial Corporation's net profit margin was 17.7% in Q3 2025, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is up 2.5 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 20.4 percentage points.

Return on Equity
1.5%
YoY+0.2pp
QoQ+1.7pp
5Y change+0.4pp
10Y change+0.4pp

BankFinancial Corporation's quarterly ROE was 1.5% in Q3 2025: one quarter's net income over shareholder equity, not annualized. This is up 0.2 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 1.7 percentage points.

Gross Margin

Not reported for Q3 2025.

Operating Margin

Not reported for Q3 2025.

Capital Allocation

Share Buybacks
$0
YoYn/m
QoQn/m
10Y CAGRn/m

BankFinancial Corporation repurchased no shares in Q3 2025. The change from the same quarter a year earlier is not meaningful, because that figure was zero or negative. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.

R&D Spending

Not reported for Q3 2025.

Capital Expenditures

Not reported for Q3 2025.

BFIN Income Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

BFIN quarterly income statement
MetricQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-K
Revenue$13.3M+1.5%$13.2M-4.5%$13.1M-6.1%$13.2M-5.8%$13.1M-7.4%$13.9M-2.3%$14.0M+1.3%$14.1M-8.7%
Interest Expense$5.1M-3.0%$4.9M-4.2%$4.8M0.0%$5.0M+11.6%$5.2M+32.6%$5.1M+57.0%$4.8M+81.1%$4.5M+116.3%
Income Tax$471K-18.9%-$517K-173.3%$432K-13.6%-$838K-207.2%$581K-35.4%$705K-15.9%$500K-40.5%$782K-33.4%
Net Income$2.4M+18.4%-$359K-116.8%$2.1M+21.7%-$1.8M-184.8%$2.0M-15.9%$2.1M-7.7%$1.7M-35.1%$2.1M-39.5%
EPS (Basic)$0.19+18.8%-$0.03-117.6%$0.17+21.4%-$0.14-187.5%$0.16-15.8%$0.17-5.6%$0.14-33.3%$0.16-38.5%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses, SG&A Expenses, Operating Income, EBITDA, EPS (Diluted), Diluted Shares (Avg).

BFIN Balance Sheet

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

BFIN quarterly balance sheet
MetricQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-K
Total Assets$1.5B+2.6%$1.4B-3.3%$1.4B-2.6%$1.4B-3.5%$1.4B-5.8%$1.5B-3.2%$1.5B-4.1%$1.5B-5.6%
Cash & Equivalents$82.7M-40.2%$112.2M-26.1%$144.4M+9.0%$84.8M-52.5%$138.3M-19.4%$151.8M+31.6%$132.4M+72.0%$178.5M+167.3%
Short-Term Investments$11.8M-46.2%$20.3M-41.9%$33.9M+10.1%$34.2M+15.7%$22.0M$34.9M$30.7M$29.5M
Total Liabilities$1.3B+3.1%$1.3B-3.6%$1.3B-3.0%$1.3B-4.0%$1.3B-6.9%$1.3B-3.9%$1.3B-4.9%$1.3B-6.4%
Total Equity$157.4M-1.1%$156.0M-0.9%$157.5M+0.9%$156.4M+0.6%$159.1M+3.5%$157.5M+3.4%$156.0M+2.4%$155.4M+2.4%
Retained Earnings$73.9M-3.5%$72.7M-4.0%$74.3M-0.7%$73.5M-1.2%$76.5M+4.0%$75.8M+4.5%$74.9M+4.8%$74.4M+3.6%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Current Assets, Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Long-Term Investments, Goodwill, Current Liabilities, Non-Current Liabilities, Long-Term Debt.

BFIN Cash Flow Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

BFIN quarterly cash flow statement
MetricQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-K
Operating Cash Flow-$2.6M-186.7%$2.4M+714.3%-$617K-6955.6%$4.3M+6.6%$3.0M-38.8%$293K-88.7%$9Kn/m$4.0M-54.5%
Depreciation & AmortizationN/AN/AN/A-$623K-239.1%-$24K-105.3%$392K-8.4%$418K+93.5%$448K+148.9%
Investing Cash Flow-$50.8M-225.5%-$19.6M-244.4%$53.5Mn/m-$52.4M-307.5%$40.5M-47.3%$13.6M-75.5%-$47.9M-218.6%$25.2Mn/m
Financing Cash Flow$23.9Mn/m-$14.9Mn/m$6.7Mn/m$17.7Mn/m-$61.2Mn/m-$5.0Mn/m-$6.6Mn/m-$22.3Mn/m
Dividends Paid$1.2M0.0%$1.2M0.0%$1.2M-0.1%$1.2M-0.6%$1.2M-1.0%$1.2M-1.8%$1.2M-2.0%$1.3M-2.5%
Share Buybacks$0n/m$0n/m$0-100.0%$0-100.0%$0-100.0%$0-100.0%$156K-68.9%$676K-61.6%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Stock-Based Compensation, Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow.

BFIN Financial Ratios

Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

BFIN quarterly financial ratios
MetricQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-K
Net Margin17.7%+2.5pp-2.7%-18.1pp15.8%+3.6pp-13.3%-28.1pp15.2%-1.5pp15.4%-0.9pp12.2%-6.8pp14.8%-7.5pp
Return on Equity1.5%+0.2pp-0.2%-1.6pp1.3%+0.2pp-1.1%-2.5pp1.3%-0.3pp1.4%-0.2pp1.1%-0.6pp1.3%-0.9pp
Return on Assets0.2%0.0pp0.0%-0.2pp0.1%0.0pp-0.1%-0.3pp0.1%0.0pp0.1%0.0pp0.1%-0.1pp0.1%-0.1pp
Liabilities-to-Equity8.24+0.3x8.16-0.2x8.16-0.3x8.18-0.4x7.91-0.9x8.38-0.6x8.49-0.6x8.57-0.8x
Asset Turnover0.010.0x0.010.0x0.010.0x0.010.0x0.010.0x0.010.0x0.010.0x0.010.0x

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, Operating Margin, Current Ratio, Debt-to-Equity, FCF Margin.

Similar Companies

Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.

Company Fiscal year Revenue Net income Net margin Market cap Health score
BankFinancial Corporation BFIN FY2024 $54.2M $4.1M 7.5% $149.5M 27/100
BCB Bancorp Inc (NJ) BCBP FY2025 $101.6M -$12.5M -12.3% $262.3M 22/100
Landmark Bancorp Inc LARK FY2025 $70.6M $18.8M 26.6% $195.9M 48/100
Meridian Corporation MRBK FY2025 $126.9M $21.8M 17.2% $223.3M 33/100
MainStreet Bancshares, Inc. MNSB FY2025 $135.6M $15.6M 11.5% $153.0M 49/100

Frequently Asked Questions

What is BankFinancial Corporation's annual revenue?

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) reported $54.2M in total revenue for fiscal year 2024. This represents a -3.6% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.

How fast is BankFinancial Corporation's revenue growing?

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) revenue declined by 3.6% year-over-year, from $56.2M to $54.2M in fiscal year 2024.

Is BankFinancial Corporation profitable?

Yes, BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) reported a net income of $2.3M over the trailing 12 months to September 30, 2025. In fiscal year 2024 it reported a net income of $4.1M, with a net profit margin of 7.5%.

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) had a net profit margin of 7.5% in fiscal year 2024, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.

Yes, BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) paid $0.40 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2024.

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) has a return on equity of 2.6% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) generated $7.6M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2024, representing cash generated from core business activities.

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) had $1.4B in total assets as of fiscal year 2024, including both current and long-term assets.

Yes, BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) spent $156K on share buybacks during fiscal year 2024, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding.

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) had 12M shares outstanding as of fiscal year 2024.

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) had a liabilities-to-equity ratio of 8.18 as of fiscal year 2024, which is total liabilities divided by total shareholder equity. Total liabilities counts every obligation on the balance sheet (payables, deposits, insurance reserves and deferred taxes as well as borrowings), so this ratio usually runs well above debt-to-equity. No debt-to-equity ratio is shown for fiscal year 2024, because the filing data we hold for that year carries no long-term debt figure.

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) had a return on assets of 0.3% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 6 computable signals; 3 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

BankFinancial Corporation (BFIN) scores 27 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating weak standing within its banks peer group. The score is the average of six dimensions (Earnings, Growth, Capital, Efficiency, Credit Quality, Stability), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Back to top