A multiple compares the market's price with a filed figure; it says what the market pays, not how the business is doing. The market capitalization is the vendor's as of Sep 11, 2026; every other figure is from the SEC filings on this page. Not financial advice.
Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Aug 5, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the CIM SEC filings page.
This page shows Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) financial statements, including the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Positive earnings coexist with negative operating cash flow as asset growth is financed predominantly through expanding liabilities.
In FY2025, net income reached$230M while operating cash flow was-$249M ; earnings therefore did not translate into cash, and the period’s expansion was not internally funded. The combination of$2.1B in financing inflows and-$1.7B in investing cash flow points to balance-sheet repositioning or asset accumulation supported by external funding rather than operations.
Total assets increased from
Profitability has recovered from the
Financial Health Signals
Chimera Investment Corporation does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.
Chimera Investment Corporation passes 2 of 6 computable financial strength tests (3 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution).
For every $1 of reported earnings, Chimera Investment Corporation used $1.08 of operating cash (-$248.9M OCF vs $230.5M net income). Earnings that no cash stands behind rest on accounting accruals, which cannot be repeated indefinitely.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Chimera Investment Corporation reported $17.4M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 51.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 139.6%.
Chimera Investment Corporation earned -$0.05 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 129.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 93.6%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Chimera Investment Corporation held $444.0M in cash against $252.6M in long-term debt as of Q2 2026.
Chimera Investment Corporation paid $0.45 per share in dividends in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 21.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Margins & Returns
Chimera Investment Corporation's ROE was 0.7% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 0.6 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 2.5 percentage points.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Capital Allocation
None of these metrics is reported for Q2 2026.
CIM Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SG&A Expenses | $11.5M+68.4% | $12.2M+76.1% | $9.3M+66.8% | $6.9M+23.6% | $6.8M+8.6% | $6.9M+20.8% | $5.6M-24.8% | $5.6M+3.4% |
| Interest Expense | $151.1M+11.7% | $144.3M+18.9% | $154.2M+21.8% | $144.1M+11.8% | $135.3M+13.3% | $121.4M-0.1% | $126.5M0.0% | $128.8M-2.5% |
| Income Tax | -$301K-173.6% | -$2.1M-217.6% | N/A | $251K+1468.8% | $409K+1219.4% | $1.8M+21837.5% | N/A | $16K-78.7% |
| Net Income | $17.4M-51.0% | -$43.9M-126.2% | $28.3M+119.3% | -$580K-100.4% | $35.5M-37.4% | $167.3M+29.2% | -$146.5M-579.7% | $136.5M+6188.4% |
| EPS (Basic) | -$0.05-129.4% | -$0.78-143.6% | $0.08+103.9% | -$0.27-119.1% | $0.17-59.5% | $1.79+30.7% | -$2.07-1393.8% | $1.41+740.9% |
| EPS (Diluted) | -$0.05-129.4% | -$0.78 | $0.05 | -$0.27 | $0.17 | $1.77 | -$2.06 | $1.39 |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 84M+1.5% | 84M | N/A | 82M | 83M | 82M | N/A | 82M |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Revenue, Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses, Operating Income, EBITDA.
CIM Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $16.0B+8.0% | $16.0B+21.0% | $15.8B+20.5% | $15.1B+10.3% | $14.9B+13.2% | $13.2B+5.3% | $13.1B+1.5% | $13.7B+6.3% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $444.0M+77.5% | $476.2M+88.0% | $278.6M+231.7% | $491.5M+405.0% | $250.2M+54.2% | $253.3M+49.9% | $84.0M-62.1% | $97.3M-29.8% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Total Liabilities | $13.6B+11.4% | $13.5B+28.0% | $13.2B+25.0% | $12.5B+14.4% | $12.2B+16.7% | $10.6B+6.7% | $10.6B+2.1% | $11.0B+5.5% |
| Long-Term Debt | $252.6M+86.8% | $252.0M+86.8% | $251.5M+86.8% | $251.0M+86.7% | $135.2M+116.6% | $134.9M | $134.6M | $134.4M |
| Total Equity | $2.4B-8.0% | $2.5B-6.8% | $2.6B+1.8% | $2.6B-6.1% | $2.6B-0.6% | $2.6B-0.1% | $2.5B-1.3% | $2.7B+9.7% |
| Retained Earnings | $4.5B0.0% | $4.5B+0.4% | $4.6B+5.3% | $4.5B+1.2% | $4.5B+4.4% | $4.5B+5.0% | $4.3B+4.2% | $4.5B+8.5% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Current Assets, Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Goodwill, Current Liabilities, Non-Current Liabilities.
CIM Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | -$339.2M-4466.2% | $243.3M+398.6% | -$152.8M-502.6% | -$137.5M-431.9% | -$7.4M-110.8% | $48.8M-14.8% | $38.0M+21.1% | $41.4M-7.3% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | N/A | N/A | $4.3M+1249.5% | $948K | $949K | $951K | $321K | $0 |
| Stock-Based Compensation | $3.0M+50.0% | $2.7M-27.2% | N/A | $2.0M0.0% | $2.0M0.0% | $3.7M+25.5% | N/A | $2.0M0.0% |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$357.4M+70.3% | $355.7M+302.9% | -$337.0M-148.9% | $58.1M+109.0% | -$1.2B-959.4% | -$175.3M-170.6% | $689.7M+83.0% | -$646.2M-275.7% |
| Financing Cash Flow | $664.9M-44.9% | -$400.5M-235.4% | $282.8M+138.2% | $320.6M-40.6% | $1.2B+3088.6% | $295.9M+182.6% | -$740.9M-128.0% | $539.8M+213.7% |
| Dividends Paid | $37.7M+24.7% | $32.4M+5.8% | $31.9M+5.9% | $30.0M-14.1% | $30.2M+11.0% | $30.6M+14.1% | $30.1M-29.5% | $34.9M-20.6% |
| Share Buybacks | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0 | $0-100.0% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow.
CIM Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Return on Equity | 0.7%-0.6pp | -1.8%-8.1pp | 1.1%+6.9pp | 0.0%-5.0pp | 1.4%-0.8pp | 6.3%+1.4pp | -5.8%-7.0pp | 5.0%+4.9pp |
| Return on Assets | 0.1%-0.1pp | -0.3%-1.5pp | 0.2%+1.3pp | 0.0%-1.0pp | 0.2%-0.2pp | 1.3%+0.2pp | -1.1%-1.4pp | 1.0%+1.0pp |
| Debt-to-Equity | 0.10+0.1x | 0.10+0.1x | 0.100.0x | 0.100.0x | 0.050.0x | 0.05-3.7x | 0.05+0.1x | 0.05-4.1x |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, Operating Margin, Net Margin, Current Ratio, Asset Turnover, FCF Margin.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chimera Investment Corporation CIM | FY2025 | N/A | $230.5M | N/A | $935.9M | — |
| Orchid Island Capital, Inc. ORC | FY2025 | $414.0M | $159.3M | 38.5% | $1.3B | 0/100 |
| PennyMac Mortgage Investment Trust PMT | FY2025 | $307.5M | $86.1M | 28.0% | $799.6M | 0/100 |
| MFA Financial, Inc. MFA | FY2025 | $745.1M | $176.8M | 23.7% | $865.3M | 0/100 |
| Two Hbrs Invt Corp TWO | FY2025 | $412.0M | -$454.3M | N/A | $1.3B | 0/100 |
| Apollo Commercial Real Estate Finance, Inc. ARI | FY2025 | $271.6M | $126.7M | 46.7% | $858.7M | 33/100 |
Where Chimera Investment Corporation Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Chimera Investment Corporation profitable?
Yes, Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) reported a net income of $230.5M in fiscal year 2025.
How much debt does Chimera Investment Corporation have?
As of fiscal year 2025, Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) had $278.6M in cash and equivalents against $251.5M in long-term debt.
Does Chimera Investment Corporation pay dividends?
Yes, Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) paid $1.48 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.
What is Chimera Investment Corporation's return on equity (ROE)?
Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) has a return on equity of 9.0% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Chimera Investment Corporation's operating cash flow?
Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) recorded an outflow of $248.9M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash used by core business activities.
What are Chimera Investment Corporation's total assets?
Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) had $15.8B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What is Chimera Investment Corporation's debt-to-equity ratio?
Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.10 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Chimera Investment Corporation's return on assets (ROA)?
Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) had a return on assets of 1.5% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is Chimera Investment Corporation's P/E ratio?
Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) trades at 773x earnings, its market capitalization divided by net income of $1.2M net income, trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026. The market capitalization is $935.9M as of Sep 11, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Chimera Investment Corporation's price-to-sales ratio?
Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) has no price-to-sales ratio at the moment: no revenue reported. The market capitalization is $935.9M as of Sep 11, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Chimera Investment Corporation's Piotroski F-Score?
Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) has a Piotroski F-Score of 2 out of 6 computable signals; 3 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Chimera Investment Corporation's earnings high quality?
For every $1 of reported earnings, Chimera Investment Corporation (CIM) used $1.08 of operating cash (-$248.9M OCF vs $230.5M net income). Earnings that no cash stands behind rest on accounting accruals, which cannot be repeated indefinitely. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.