Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q1 FY2026, filed May 5, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the NSA SEC filings page.
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) reported $750.0M in revenue over the twelve months to Mar 31, 2026, down 1.6% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 12 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
The numbers show a property-heavy business whose cash generation remains positive while leverage rises and earnings weaken.
From FY2023 to FY2025, revenue declined12.2% while operating cash flow declined23.4% , showing that cash conversion weakened faster than the top line. Net margin nearly halved to9.8% while operating cash flow remained positive, so earnings weakened more sharply than the cash-producing operation.
Debt-to-equity rose from 2.7x to 3.7x as the asset base contracted. Gross margin also slipped from
FY2025 operating cash flow was
Financial Health Signals
Scored against REITs for FY2025. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →
Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of National Storage Affiliates Trust's business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.
FFO Margin measures funds from operations against revenue, and funds from operations is net income with property depreciation added back, since a building written down a little further every year on paper is often worth more rather than less. National Storage Affiliates Trust scores 57/100 on it among other REITs.
FFO Growth follows the three-year path of funds from operations, which is net income with property depreciation added back. National Storage Affiliates Trust scores 22/100 on it among other REITs.
Not available for National Storage Affiliates Trust, and counted as zero in the overall score.
Not available for National Storage Affiliates Trust, and counted as zero in the overall score.
AFFO Margin takes funds from operations, subtracts the spending a REIT needs just to keep its properties in working order, and measures what is left against revenue. National Storage Affiliates Trust scores 61/100 on it among other REITs.
Dividend coverage measures funds from operations against the dividends actually paid, and a figure above 1 means the payout came out of operations. National Storage Affiliates Trust scores 48/100 on it among other REITs.
National Storage Affiliates Trust passes 4 of 7 computable financial strength tests (2 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 3 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution), 1 of 2 efficiency signals pass.
For every $1 of reported earnings, National Storage Affiliates Trust generates $4.59 in operating cash flow ($338.5M OCF vs $73.8M net income). This indicates profits are well-supported by actual cash generation, not accounting adjustments.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
National Storage Affiliates Trust generated $185.4M in revenue in Q1 2026. This represents a decrease of 1.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 0.9%.
National Storage Affiliates Trust reported $17.8M in net income in Q1 2026. This represents an increase of 36.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 22.3%.
National Storage Affiliates Trust earned $0.16 per diluted share (EPS) in Q1 2026. This represents an increase of 60.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 30.4%.
Not reported for Q1 2026.
Cash & Balance Sheet
National Storage Affiliates Trust held $27.6M in cash as of Q1 2026; long-term debt is not reported for that period.
National Storage Affiliates Trust paid $0.57 per share in dividends in Q1 2026. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.
Not reported for Q1 2026.
Margins & Returns
National Storage Affiliates Trust's gross margin was 71.9% in Q1 2026, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is up 1.2 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 0.5 percentage points.
National Storage Affiliates Trust's net profit margin was 9.6% in Q1 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is up 2.7 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 2.6 percentage points.
National Storage Affiliates Trust's ROE was 1.9% in Q1 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 0.7 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 0.5 percentage points.
Not reported for Q1 2026.
Capital Allocation
None of these metrics is reported for Q1 2026.
NSA Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $185.4M-1.6% | $187.0M-1.6% | $188.7M-2.5% | $188.8M-0.8% | $188.4M-4.0% | $190.1M-11.7% | $193.6M-11.6% | $190.4M-11.6% |
| Cost of Revenue | $52.0M-5.6% | $51.5M-1.5% | $55.3M+5.0% | $55.6M+6.6% | $55.1M+0.7% | $52.2M-8.1% | $52.7M-10.0% | $52.2M-8.6% |
| Gross Profit | $133.4M+0.1% | $135.6M-1.7% | $133.4M-5.4% | $133.2M-3.6% | $133.3M-5.8% | $137.9M-13.1% | $140.9M-12.2% | $138.2M-12.7% |
| SG&A Expenses | $13.2M+0.7% | $13.7M+8.6% | $11.5M-12.6% | $12.8M-20.9% | $13.1M-16.1% | $12.6M-15.6% | $13.1M-13.2% | $16.2M+12.4% |
| Interest Expense | $39.3M-3.0% | $40.2M+2.1% | $40.5M+2.5% | $41.3M+10.9% | $40.5M+6.2% | $39.3M-13.4% | $39.6M-8.1% | $37.2M-6.2% |
| Income Tax | $479K-57.2% | $991K-32.9% | $871K+0.9% | $120K-77.8% | $1.1M+26.4% | $1.5M+216.8% | $863K-6.4% | $541K-26.6% |
| Net Income | $17.8M+36.8% | $22.9M+36.8% | $18.4M-1.5% | $19.5M+14.1% | $13.0M-78.0% | $16.7M-75.8% | $18.7M-36.0% | $17.1M-42.1% |
| EPS (Basic) | $0.16+60.0% | $0.23+53.3% | $0.17-5.6% | $0.19+18.8% | $0.10-85.1% | $0.15-80.0% | $0.18-35.7% | $0.16-42.9% |
| EPS (Diluted) | $0.16+60.0% | $0.23+53.3% | $0.17-5.6% | $0.19+18.8% | $0.10-84.6% | $0.15-78.9% | $0.18-30.8% | $0.16-42.9% |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 77M+0.9% | N/A | 77M+1.3% | 76M+1.7% | 76M-44.7% | N/A | 76M-48.2% | 75M-14.9% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: R&D Expenses, Operating Income, EBITDA.
NSA Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $5.0B-4.2% | $5.1B-5.1% | $5.1B-4.6% | $5.2B-2.6% | $5.3B-2.1% | $5.4B-9.7% | $5.4B-12.6% | $5.3B-13.6% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $27.6M+43.5% | $23.3M-53.7% | $26.3M-62.4% | $26.1M-55.7% | $19.3M-70.0% | $50.4M-22.4% | $69.9M+18.8% | $59.0M+34.0% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Accounts Receivable | $6.0M-12.1% | $6.3M-27.0% | $6.7M-30.1% | $8.2M-12.8% | $6.8M-21.8% | $8.7M-11.7% | $9.6M-28.2% | $9.4M-28.9% |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Goodwill | $8.2M0.0% | $8.2M0.0% | $8.2M0.0% | $8.2M0.0% | $8.2M0.0% | $8.2M0.0% | $8.2M0.0% | $8.2M0.0% |
| Total Liabilities | $3.6B-0.1% | $3.5B-1.2% | $3.6B-0.8% | $3.5B+1.1% | $3.6B+4.2% | $3.6B-5.6% | $3.6B-10.5% | $3.5B-7.2% |
| Total Equity | $912.8M-11.7% | $946.0M-12.1% | $973.1M-1.4% | $1.0B-15.9% | $1.0B-19.0% | $1.1B-24.3% | $986.9M-32.2% | $1.2B-26.7% |
| Retained Earnings | -$683.6M-20.7% | -$652.2M-22.9% | -$626.1M-25.5% | -$595.6M-26.8% | -$566.3M-28.8% | -$530.7M-17.9% | -$498.8M-6.4% | -$469.8M-5.4% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Current Assets, Inventory, Current Liabilities, Non-Current Liabilities, Long-Term Debt.
NSA Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $87.4M+2.1% | $72.8M-9.1% | $100.2M-5.2% | $79.9M-4.0% | $85.6M-8.9% | $80.1M-14.7% | $105.7M-18.3% | $83.2M-23.3% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $46.1M-4.1% | $46.7M-3.0% | $46.9M-1.6% | $47.6M+1.9% | $48.1M+1.7% | $48.2M-10.8% | $47.7M-14.7% | $46.7M-17.6% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | $2.4M-21.4% | N/A | N/A | N/A | $3.1M+66.0% | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$1.4M+85.1% | $9.0M+119.8% | -$14.7M+80.0% | $35.2M+254.9% | -$9.7M-101.7% | -$45.5M-119.2% | -$73.7M-230.5% | -$22.7M-30.3% |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$81.3M+23.7% | -$86.1M-38.1% | -$85.6M-315.9% | -$107.3M-30.1% | -$106.5M+83.9% | -$62.3M+79.5% | -$20.6M+78.1% | -$82.5M+13.6% |
| Dividends Paid | $44.0M+0.9% | $43.9M+0.9% | $43.8M+2.8% | $43.6M+4.0% | $43.6M-0.4% | $43.5M-5.6% | $42.6M-8.6% | $42.0M-15.1% |
| Share Buybacks | N/A | $0 | $0 | $0-100.0% | $0-100.0% | $0-100.0% | $0-100.0% | $71.7M |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow.
NSA Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 71.9%+1.2pp | 72.5%0.0pp | 70.7%-2.1pp | 70.5%-2.0pp | 70.7%-1.4pp | 72.5%-1.1pp | 72.8%-0.5pp | 72.6%-0.9pp |
| Net Margin | 9.6%+2.7pp | 12.2%+3.4pp | 9.8%+0.1pp | 10.3%+1.3pp | 6.9%-23.2pp | 8.8%-23.2pp | 9.7%-3.7pp | 9.0%-4.7pp |
| Return on Equity | 1.9%+0.7pp | 2.4%+0.9pp | 1.9%0.0pp | 1.9%+0.5pp | 1.3%-3.4pp | 1.6%-3.3pp | 1.9%-0.1pp | 1.4%-0.4pp |
| Return on Assets | 0.4%+0.1pp | 0.4%+0.1pp | 0.4%0.0pp | 0.4%+0.1pp | 0.3%-0.8pp | 0.3%-0.8pp | 0.4%-0.1pp | 0.3%-0.2pp |
| Debt-to-Equity | 3.90+0.5x | 3.75+0.4x | 3.660.0x | 3.54+0.6x | 3.45+0.8x | 3.34+0.7x | 3.64+0.9x | 2.94+0.6x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.040.0x | 0.040.0x | 0.040.0x | 0.040.0x | 0.040.0x | 0.040.0x | 0.040.0x | 0.040.0x |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Operating Margin, Current Ratio, FCF Margin.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| National Storage Affiliates Trust NSA | FY2025 | $752.9M | $73.8M | 9.8% | $6.4B | 31/100 |
| Terreno Realty Corporation TRNO | FY2025 | $476.4M | $403.0M | 84.6% | $7.0B | 51/100 |
| First Industrial Realty Trust, Inc. FR | FY2025 | $727.1M | $247.4M | 34.0% | $7.9B | 48/100 |
| Americold Realty Trust, Inc. COLD | FY2025 | $2.6B | -$115.3M | -4.4% | $4.0B | 32/100 |
| STAG INDUSTRIAL, INC. STAG | FY2025 | $845.2M | $273.5M | 32.4% | $7.0B | 54/100 |
| LXP Industrial Trust LXP | FY2025 | $350.2M | $113.2M | 32.3% | $3.6B | 37/100 |
Where National Storage Affiliates Trust Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is National Storage Affiliates Trust's annual revenue?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) reported $752.9M in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a -2.3% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is National Storage Affiliates Trust's revenue growing?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) revenue declined by 2.3% year-over-year, from $770.3M to $752.9M in fiscal year 2025.
Is National Storage Affiliates Trust profitable?
Yes, National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) reported a net income of $73.8M in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 9.8%.
What is National Storage Affiliates Trust's gross margin?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) had a gross margin of 71.1% in fiscal year 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.
What is National Storage Affiliates Trust's net profit margin?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) had a net profit margin of 9.8% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
Does National Storage Affiliates Trust pay dividends?
Yes, National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) paid $2.28 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.
What is National Storage Affiliates Trust's return on equity (ROE)?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) has a return on equity of 7.8% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is National Storage Affiliates Trust's operating cash flow?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) generated $338.5M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are National Storage Affiliates Trust's total assets?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) had $5.1B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What is National Storage Affiliates Trust's debt-to-equity ratio?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 3.75 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is National Storage Affiliates Trust's return on assets (ROA)?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) had a return on assets of 1.5% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is National Storage Affiliates Trust's Piotroski F-Score?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 7 computable signals; 2 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are National Storage Affiliates Trust's earnings high quality?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) has an earnings quality ratio of 4.59x, considered cash-backed (high quality). This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
How financially healthy is National Storage Affiliates Trust?
National Storage Affiliates Trust (NSA) scores 31 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating weak standing within its REITs peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (FFO Margin, FFO Growth, Leverage, Interest Cov., AFFO Margin, Dividend Cov.), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.