Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Sep 26, 2025. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the SCS SEC filings page.
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) reported $3.3B in revenue over the twelve months to Aug 29, 2025, up 3.9% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Steelcase is turning nearly flat sales into better profits, while weaker cash conversion and tighter short-term liquidity temper that improvement.
Between FY2024 and FY2025, sales were nearly flat while gross margin rose to33.1% ; the improvement therefore came without top-line expansion and points to cost or mix effects. Free cash flow fell from$261.6M to$101.4M despite stable capital spending, indicating that the profit improvement translated less cleanly into cash through operations or working capital.
Revenue stayed near
Operating cash flow reached
Financial Health Signals
Scored against operating companies for FY2025. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →
Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Steelcase, Inc.'s business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.
Steelcase, Inc. has an operating margin of 5.0%, meaning the company retains $5 of operating profit per $100 of revenue. This results in a moderate score of 45/100, indicating healthy but not exceptional operating efficiency. This is up from 3.7% the prior year.
Steelcase, Inc.'s revenue grew a modest 0.2% year-over-year to $3.2B. This slow but positive growth earns a score of 27/100.
Steelcase, Inc. has a moderate D/E ratio of 0.47. This balance of debt and equity financing earns a leverage score of 63/100.
Steelcase, Inc.'s current ratio of 1.54 indicates adequate short-term liquidity, earning a score of 43/100. The company can meet its near-term obligations, though with limited headroom.
Steelcase, Inc. has a free cash flow margin of 3.2%, earning a moderate score of 42/100. The company generates positive cash flow after capital investments, but with room for improvement.
Steelcase, Inc.'s ROE of 12.7% shows moderate profitability relative to equity, earning a score of 56/100. This is up from 9.1% the prior year.
Steelcase, Inc. scores 3.17, well above the 2.99 safe threshold. This indicates low bankruptcy risk based on profitability, leverage, and asset efficiency.
Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.
Steelcase, Inc. passes 7 of 9 financial strength tests. All 4 profitability signals pass (positive income, cash flow, and earnings quality), 2 of 3 leverage/liquidity signals pass, 1 of 2 efficiency signals pass.
For every $1 of reported earnings, Steelcase, Inc. generates $1.23 in operating cash flow ($148.5M OCF vs $120.7M net income). This indicates profits are well-supported by actual cash generation, not accounting adjustments.
Steelcase, Inc. earns $6.15 in operating income for every $1 of interest expense ($158.1M vs $25.7M). This wide margin provides strong safety for debt servicing, even if earnings decline temporarily.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Steelcase, Inc. generated $897.1M in revenue in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 4.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 15.2%.
Steelcase, Inc.'s EBITDA was $72.4M in Q2 2026, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents a decrease of 34.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 68.0%.
Steelcase, Inc. reported $35.0M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 44.5% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 157.4%.
Steelcase, Inc. earned $0.29 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 45.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 163.6%.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Steelcase, Inc. generated $40.8M in free cash flow in Q2 2026, representing cash available after capex. This represents a decrease of 57.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 126.3%.
Steelcase, Inc. held $216.8M in cash against $447.4M in long-term debt as of Q2 2026.
Steelcase, Inc. paid $0.10 per share in dividends in Q2 2026. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.
Margins & Returns
Steelcase, Inc.'s gross margin was 34.4% in Q2 2026, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is down 0.1 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 0.5 percentage points.
Steelcase, Inc.'s operating margin was 5.9% in Q2 2026, reflecting core business profitability. This is down 4.6 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 2.7 percentage points.
Steelcase, Inc.'s net profit margin was 3.9% in Q2 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 3.5 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 2.1 percentage points.
Steelcase, Inc.'s ROE was 3.4% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 3.3 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 2.1 percentage points.
Capital Allocation
Steelcase, Inc. spent $200K on share buybacks in Q2 2026, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding. This represents a decrease of 92.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 96.0%.
Steelcase, Inc. invested $18.1M in capex in Q2 2026, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents an increase of 44.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 29.3%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
SCS Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-K | Q3'2510-K | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $897.1M+4.8% | $779.0M+7.1% | $788.0M+1.7% | $794.9M+2.2% | $855.8M+0.1% | $727.3M-3.3% | $775.2M-3.3% | $777.9M-5.9% |
| Cost of Revenue | $585.0M+4.7% | $514.2M+5.8% | N/A | $528.1M+0.5% | $558.5M-2.0% | $485.9M-5.8% | N/A | $525.5M-10.6% |
| Gross Profit | $308.5M+4.4% | $263.8M+12.5% | $251.3M+3.8% | $265.4M+5.2% | $295.4M+4.2% | $234.4M-0.1% | $242.1M+1.2% | $252.3M+6.1% |
| Operating Income | $53.1M-41.0% | $25.5M+44.9% | $9.5M-63.0% | $41.0M-6.4% | $90.0M+119.5% | $17.6M+141.1% | $25.7M-10.5% | $43.8M+113.7% |
| EBITDA | $72.4M-34.2% | $43.1M+14.0% | $30.1M-35.3% | $61.0M-6.0% | $110.0M+76.6% | $37.8M+36.5% | $46.5M-9.7% | $64.9M+47.5% |
| Interest Expense | $6.3M-1.6% | $6.3M+1.6% | N/A | $6.3M-1.6% | $6.4M-3.0% | $6.2M-6.1% | N/A | $6.4M-15.8% |
| Income Tax | $17.1M-25.0% | $5.2M+62.5% | N/A | $7.0M-28.6% | $22.8M+140.0% | $3.2M+128.6% | N/A | $9.8M+88.5% |
| Net Income | $35.0M-44.5% | $13.6M+24.8% | $27.6M+29.6% | $19.1M-38.0% | $63.1M+129.5% | $10.9M+626.7% | $21.3M+35.7% | $30.8M+170.2% |
| EPS (Basic) | $0.29-45.3% | $0.11+22.2% | $0.23+27.8% | $0.16-38.5% | $0.53+130.4% | $0.09+800.0% | $0.18+38.5% | $0.26+160.0% |
| EPS (Diluted) | $0.29-45.3% | $0.11+22.2% | $0.23+27.8% | $0.16-38.5% | $0.53+130.4% | $0.09+800.0% | $0.18+38.5% | $0.26+160.0% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: R&D Expenses, SG&A Expenses, Diluted Shares (Avg).
SCS Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-K | Q3'2510-K | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $2.4B+3.6% | $2.3B+6.0% | $2.3B+4.2% | $2.3B+3.3% | $2.3B+3.3% | $2.1B+0.1% | $2.2B+1.5% | $2.2B-0.9% |
| Current Assets | $1.0B+0.7% | $938.7M+8.9% | $1.0B+7.3% | $1.1B+9.9% | $1.0B+11.0% | $862.2M+5.7% | $959.4M+8.5% | $968.8M+5.9% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $216.8M-26.9% | $183.9M+6.2% | $346.3M+8.7% | $365.2M+39.4% | $296.6M+93.1% | $173.2M+330.8% | $318.6M+252.4% | $262.0M+376.4% |
| Short-Term Investments | $41.1M+4.8% | $42.1M+17.9% | $41.6M | $41.1M | $39.2M | $35.7M | $0 | $0 |
| Inventory | $288.0M+19.1% | $286.6M+15.8% | $245.7M+6.4% | $246.0M-5.3% | $241.9M-10.7% | $247.6M-19.4% | $231.0M-27.7% | $259.8M-31.4% |
| Accounts Receivable | $369.8M+4.3% | $340.1M+4.8% | $323.1M-4.5% | $340.3M-4.0% | $354.4M-5.0% | $324.5M-10.7% | $338.3M-9.4% | $354.5M-11.4% |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Goodwill | $276.5M+0.4% | $275.7M+0.4% | $273.5M-0.5% | $273.8M-0.4% | $275.4M-0.7% | $274.7M-0.8% | $274.8M-0.7% | $274.9M-1.1% |
| Total Liabilities | $1.3B-0.2% | $1.3B+1.5% | $1.4B+2.2% | $1.4B+1.3% | $1.3B-0.5% | $1.3B-3.2% | $1.3B-2.0% | $1.4B-6.0% |
| Current Liabilities | $607.1M-1.7% | $568.5M+6.2% | $669.1M+10.2% | $677.6M+7.5% | $617.6M+4.7% | $535.1M+0.3% | $607.1M+0.6% | $630.6M-7.1% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $728.5M+1.1% | $704.2M-2.1% | $709.6M-4.4% | $710.9M-4.0% | $720.5M-4.6% | $719.2M-5.7% | $742.5M-4.0% | $740.4M-5.0% |
| Long-Term Debt | $447.4M+0.2% | $447.3M+0.2% | $447.1M+0.2% | $446.9M+0.2% | $446.7M+0.2% | $446.5M+0.2% | $446.3M+0.2% | $446.1M+0.1% |
| Total Equity | $1.0B+8.9% | $982.7M+12.6% | $951.7M+7.3% | $932.6M+6.5% | $933.0M+9.4% | $873.1M+5.3% | $887.1M+7.4% | $875.9M+8.2% |
| Retained Earnings | $1.0B+4.9% | $987.3M+8.3% | $985.9M+8.0% | $970.1M+7.4% | $962.8M+8.9% | $911.4M+4.9% | $912.8M+3.8% | $903.4M+3.2% |
SCS Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-K | Q3'2510-K | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $58.9M-45.5% | -$141.1M-138.7% | $600K-99.0% | $98.9M-17.7% | $108.1M-9.8% | -$59.1M-623.0% | $57.4M-34.8% | $120.1M+58.4% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $19.3M-3.5% | $17.6M-12.9% | $20.6M-1.0% | $20.0M-5.2% | $20.0M-6.1% | $20.2M-1.0% | $20.8M-8.8% | $21.1M-10.2% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | N/A | $13.1M-11.5% | N/A | N/A | N/A | $14.8M+5.7% | N/A | N/A |
| Capital Expenditures | $18.1M+44.8% | $14.0M+15.7% | $11.5M+18.6% | $11.0M-16.0% | $12.5M-0.8% | $12.1M+3.4% | $9.7M-40.5% | $13.1M-5.8% |
| Free Cash Flow | $40.8M-57.3% | -$155.1M-117.8% | -$10.9M-122.9% | $87.9M-17.9% | $95.6M-10.9% | -$71.2M-17700.0% | $47.7M-33.5% | $107.0M+72.9% |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$13.5M-144.0% | -$5.9M+87.3% | -$6.8M-160.2% | -$12.1M-357.4% | $30.7M+2261.5% | -$46.6M-316.1% | $11.3M+254.8% | $4.7M+138.5% |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$12.1M+15.4% | -$17.2M+57.0% | -$11.9M0.0% | -$17.8M-9.2% | -$14.3M-93.2% | -$40.0M+20.5% | -$11.9M+74.3% | -$16.3M+72.8% |
| Dividends Paid | $11.9M+1.7% | $12.2M-0.8% | $11.8M-0.8% | $11.8M0.0% | $11.7M-0.8% | $12.3M+1.7% | $11.9M+1.7% | $11.8M+1.7% |
| Share Buybacks | $200K-92.3% | $5.0M-81.9% | $100K | $6.0M+566.7% | $2.6M | $27.7M+739.4% | $0 | $900K+80.0% |
SCS Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-K | Q3'2510-K | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 34.4%-0.1pp | 33.9%+1.6pp | 31.9%+0.7pp | 33.4%+1.0pp | 34.5%+1.4pp | 32.2%+1.0pp | 31.2%+1.4pp | 32.4%+3.7pp |
| Operating Margin | 5.9%-4.6pp | 3.3%+0.9pp | 1.2%-2.1pp | 5.2%-0.5pp | 10.5%+5.7pp | 2.4%+1.4pp | 3.3%-0.3pp | 5.6%+3.1pp |
| Net Margin | 3.9%-3.5pp | 1.8%+0.3pp | 3.5%+0.8pp | 2.4%-1.6pp | 7.4%+4.2pp | 1.5%+1.3pp | 2.8%+0.8pp | 4.0%+2.6pp |
| Return on Equity | 3.4%-3.3pp | 1.4%+0.1pp | 2.9%+0.5pp | 2.1%-1.5pp | 6.8%+3.5pp | 1.3%+1.1pp | 2.4%+0.5pp | 3.5%+2.1pp |
| Return on Assets | 1.5%-1.3pp | 0.6%+0.1pp | 1.2%+0.2pp | 0.8%-0.5pp | 2.8%+1.5pp | 0.5%+0.4pp | 0.9%+0.2pp | 1.4%+0.9pp |
| Current Ratio | 1.660.0x | 1.650.0x | 1.540.0x | 1.570.0x | 1.62+0.1x | 1.61+0.1x | 1.58+0.1x | 1.54+0.2x |
| Debt-to-Equity | 0.440.0x | 0.46-0.1x | 0.470.0x | 0.480.0x | 0.480.0x | 0.510.0x | 0.500.0x | 0.510.0x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.380.0x | 0.350.0x | 0.340.0x | 0.340.0x | 0.380.0x | 0.340.0x | 0.350.0x | 0.350.0x |
| FCF Margin | 4.5%-6.6pp | -19.9%-10.1pp | -1.4%-7.5pp | 11.1%-2.7pp | 11.2%-1.4pp | -9.8%-9.7pp | 6.2%-2.8pp | 13.8%+6.3pp |
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Steelcase, Inc. SCS | FY2025 | $3.2B | $120.7M | 3.8% | $1.9B | 46/100 |
| MasterBrand, Inc. MBC | FY2025 | $2.7B | $26.7M | 1.0% | $1.4B | 46/100 |
| Interface Inc TILE | FY2025 | $1.4B | $116.1M | 8.4% | $2.1B | 65/100 |
| La-Z-Boy Incorporated LZB | FY2026 | $2.1B | $102.0M | 4.8% | $1.2B | 52/100 |
| MillerKnoll, Inc. MLKN | FY2026 | $3.8B | $91.5M | 2.4% | $1.4B | 40/100 |
| Leggett & Platt, Inc. LEG | FY2025 | $4.1B | $235.4M | 5.8% | $1.3B | 28/100 |
Where Steelcase, Inc. Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s annual revenue?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) reported $3.2B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 0.2% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is Steelcase, Inc.'s revenue growing?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) revenue grew by 0.2% year-over-year, from $3.2B to $3.2B in fiscal year 2025.
Is Steelcase, Inc. profitable?
Yes, Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) reported a net income of $120.7M in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 3.8%.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s EBITDA?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) had EBITDA of $238.9M in fiscal year 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
How much debt does Steelcase, Inc. have?
As of fiscal year 2025, Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) had $346.3M in cash and equivalents against $447.1M in long-term debt.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s gross margin?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) had a gross margin of 33.1% in fiscal year 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s operating margin?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) had an operating margin of 5.0% in fiscal year 2025, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s net profit margin?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) had a net profit margin of 3.8% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
Does Steelcase, Inc. pay dividends?
Yes, Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) paid $0.40 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s return on equity (ROE)?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) has a return on equity of 12.7% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s free cash flow?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) generated $101.4M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2025. This represents a -61.2% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s operating cash flow?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) generated $148.5M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are Steelcase, Inc.'s total assets?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) had $2.3B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What are Steelcase, Inc.'s capital expenditures?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) invested $47.1M in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
How much does Steelcase, Inc. spend on research and development?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) invested $50.4M in research and development during fiscal year 2025.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s current ratio?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) had a current ratio of 1.54 as of fiscal year 2025, which is generally considered healthy.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s debt-to-equity ratio?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.47 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s return on assets (ROA)?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) had a return on assets of 5.2% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s Altman Z-Score?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) has an Altman Z-Score of 3.17, placing it in the Safe Zone (low bankruptcy risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
What is Steelcase, Inc.'s Piotroski F-Score?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) has a Piotroski F-Score of 7 out of 9, indicating strong financial health. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Steelcase, Inc.'s earnings high quality?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) has an earnings quality ratio of 1.23x, considered cash-backed (high quality). This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Can Steelcase, Inc. cover its interest payments?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) has an interest coverage ratio of 6.15x, meaning it can comfortably cover its interest obligations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
How financially healthy is Steelcase, Inc.?
Steelcase, Inc. (SCS) scores 46 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating moderate standing within its operating companies peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Profitability, Growth, Leverage, Liquidity, Cash Flow, Returns), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.