STOCK TITAN

Sotherly Hotels (SOHO) Financials

SOHO
FY2025 annual
Revenue $176.4M -3.0% YoY
Net Income -$7.7M -690.2% YoY
EPS (Diluted) -$0.77 n/m YoY
Operating Cash Flow $10.3M -60.2% YoY
Source SEC Filings (10-K/10-Q) Latest period FY2025, ended Dec 31, 2025 Reported Currency USD FYE December

Newest figures come from the 10-K for FY2025, filed Apr 15, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the SOHO SEC filings page.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) reported $176.4M in revenue for fiscal year 2025, down 3.0% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).

Rhea AI SOHO FY2025

Sotherly’s asset-heavy hotel business faces weaker operations while high financing costs rapidly compress already-thin equity.

In FY2025, operating cash flow of $10.3M stayed positive despite a net loss of $7.7M, indicating accounting earnings were pulled below cash generation. With depreciation at $19.7M and interest expense at $24.8M, the divergence reflects a capital-heavy asset base plus financing burden, rather than a cash-neutral profit engine.

Revenue fell 3.0%, yet gross profit fell 9.3%, showing that the weaker top line carried disproportionate margin damage. Operating income fell 38.5% while SG&A rose 29.4%, so overhead grew as earnings capacity contracted.

Liabilities were 93.1% of assets in FY2025 and debt-to-equity reached 11.2x, leaving little balance-sheet cushion. Equity fell 34.4% even as long-term debt fell 0.4%, so weaker earnings translated into a thinner ownership buffer rather than broad deleveraging.

[ NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE ]

Financial Health Signals

FFO Margin FFOGrowth Leverage Interest Cov. AFFOMargin DividendCov. 22 / 100
Financial Health Score (5 of 6 dimensions) 22/100
Scored as: REITs peer group

Scored against REITs for FY2025. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group, and the overall is the average of the dimensions that can be computed: here 5 of 6, with the others left out rather than counted as zero. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →

Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Sotherly Hotels Inc.'s business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.

FFO Margin
20

FFO Margin measures funds from operations against revenue, and funds from operations is net income with property depreciation added back, since a building written down a little further every year on paper is often worth more rather than less. Sotherly Hotels Inc. scores 20/100 on it among other REITs.

FFO Growth
12

FFO Growth follows the three-year path of funds from operations, which is net income with property depreciation added back. Sotherly Hotels Inc. scores 12/100 on it among other REITs.

Leverage
18

Sotherly Hotels Inc.'s net debt of $308.2M, being $315.2M of long-term debt less $7.0M of cash, came to 9.53 times its EBITDA in fiscal year 2025. REITs are ranked here on that debt against their EBITDA, where a lower multiple is the safer one, and Sotherly Hotels Inc. scores 18/100 among other REITs.

Interest Cov.
31

Sotherly Hotels Inc.'s operating income of $12.7M covered its interest expense of $24.8M 0.51 times over in fiscal year 2025. The interest coverage axis ranks REITs on operating income against interest owed, and Sotherly Hotels Inc. scores 31/100 among other REITs.

AFFO Margin
31

AFFO Margin takes funds from operations, subtracts the spending a REIT needs just to keep its properties in working order, and measures what is left against revenue. Sotherly Hotels Inc. scores 31/100 on it among other REITs.

Dividend Cov.
n/a

Not available for Sotherly Hotels Inc., so it is left out of the overall score, which averages the 5 of 6 dimensions that can be computed.

Piotroski F-Score Partial
2/8

Sotherly Hotels Inc. passes 2 of 8 computable financial strength tests (1 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution), neither operating efficiency signal passes.

Earnings Quality Mixed
N/A

Sotherly Hotels Inc. reported a net loss of $7.7M while generating $10.3M in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.

Interest Coverage At Risk
0.51x

Sotherly Hotels Inc. earns $0.51 in operating income for every $1 of interest expense ($12.7M vs $24.8M). This narrow margin raises concern about the company's ability to service its debt if operating income declines.

Key Financial Metrics

Export CSV

Earnings & Revenue

Revenue
$41.3M
YoY-6.1%
QoQ+8.6%
5Y CAGR+23.1%
10Y CAGR+1.2%

Sotherly Hotels Inc. generated $41.3M in revenue in Q4 2025. This represents a decrease of 6.1% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 8.6%.

Net Income
-$8.5M
YoYn/m
QoQn/m
5Y CAGRn/m
10Y CAGRn/m

Sotherly Hotels Inc. reported a net loss of $8.5M in Q4 2025. The change from the same quarter a year earlier is not meaningful, because that figure was zero or negative. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.

EPS (Diluted)
-$0.51
QoQn/m

Sotherly Hotels Inc. earned -$0.51 per diluted share (EPS) in Q4 2025. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.

EBITDA

Not reported for Q4 2025.

Cash & Balance Sheet

Cash & Debt
$7.0M
YoY-4.3%
QoQ-25.7%
5Y CAGR-22.6%
10Y CAGR-4.8%

Sotherly Hotels Inc. held $7.0M in cash against $315.2M in long-term debt as of Q4 2025.

Shares Outstanding
20M
QoQ0.0%

Sotherly Hotels Inc. had 20M shares outstanding in Q4 2025. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.

Free Cash Flow

Not reported for Q4 2025.

Dividends Per Share

Not reported for Q4 2025.

Margins & Returns

Operating Margin
-1.2%
YoY-10.2pp
QoQ-2.6pp
5Y change+61.2pp
10Y change-8.4pp

Sotherly Hotels Inc.'s operating margin was -1.2% in Q4 2025, reflecting core business profitability. This is down 10.2 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 2.6 percentage points.

Net Margin
-20.6%
YoY-18.1pp
QoQ-6.2pp
5Y change+68.6pp
10Y change-18.7pp

Sotherly Hotels Inc.'s net profit margin was -20.6% in Q4 2025, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 18.1 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 6.2 percentage points.

Return on Equity
-30.1%
YoY-27.5pp
QoQ-15.2pp
5Y change-3.8pp
10Y change-28.7pp

Sotherly Hotels Inc.'s quarterly ROE was -30.1% in Q4 2025: one quarter's net income over shareholder equity, not annualized. This is down 27.5 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 15.2 percentage points.

Gross Margin

Not reported for Q4 2025.

Capital Allocation

None of these metrics is reported for Q4 2025.

SOHO Income Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SOHO quarterly income statement
MetricQ4'2510-KQ3'2510-KQ2'2510-KQ1'2510-KQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-KQ2'2410-KQ1'2410-K
Revenue$41.3M-6.1%$38.0M-6.6%$48.8M-3.7%$48.3M+3.8%$44.0M+4.3%$40.7M+3.9%$50.7M+3.4%$46.5M+7.0%
Cost of RevenueN/A$31.2M-4.3%$34.9M-0.3%$35.4M+3.5%N/A$32.6M+3.2%$35.0M+2.4%$34.2M+8.8%
Gross ProfitN/A$6.8M-16.1%$13.9M-11.5%$12.9M+4.5%N/A$8.1M+6.9%$15.7M+5.8%$12.4M+2.3%
SG&A ExpensesN/A$1.4M-5.8%$2.3M+45.4%$1.9M-1.4%N/A$1.5M-12.8%$1.6M-11.7%$1.9M-3.2%
Operating Income-$506K-112.9%$515K-70.7%$6.6M-29.3%$6.1M+7.7%$3.9M-0.7%$1.8M+50.3%$9.3M+12.2%$5.7M+2.8%
EBITDAN/A$5.4M-18.3%$11.6M-17.9%$11.0M+5.6%N/A$6.6M+12.5%$14.1M+8.2%$10.4M+3.4%
Interest ExpenseN/A$5.6M+4.3%$5.5M+9.9%$5.4M+11.4%N/A$5.3M+19.6%$5.0M+16.6%$4.9M+18.8%
Income TaxN/A$12K-82.0%$15K-13.5%$3K-80.9%N/A$67Kn/m$17K+3.9%$18K+19.2%
Net Income-$8.5Mn/m-$5.5Mn/m$1.6M-65.8%$4.7M+250.9%-$1.1Mn/m-$3.6Mn/m$4.6M-10.0%$1.3M-5.5%
EPS (Basic)-$0.51-$0.37n/m-$0.02-115.4%$0.13n/m-$0.15n/m-$0.29n/m$0.13-18.8%-$0.03n/m
EPS (Diluted)-$0.51-$0.37n/m-$0.02-115.4%$0.13n/m-$0.15n/m-$0.29n/m$0.13-18.8%-$0.03n/m
Diluted Shares (Avg)N/A20M+4.9%20M+4.3%20M+2.3%N/A19M+2.8%19M+3.8%19M+3.9%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: R&D Expenses.

SOHO Balance Sheet

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SOHO quarterly balance sheet
MetricQ4'2510-KQ3'2510-KQ2'2510-KQ1'2510-KQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-KQ2'2410-KQ1'2410-K
Total Assets$407.9M-1.6%$411.4M-0.9%$411.1M+2.3%$418.1M+3.3%$414.4M+5.3%$415.0M+3.5%$401.7M-1.5%$404.7M-0.6%
Cash & Equivalents$7.0M-4.3%$9.4M-32.7%$10.6M-44.2%$11.5M-60.7%$7.3M-57.2%$14.0M-27.0%$18.9M-22.0%$29.3M+25.0%
Accounts Receivable$4.8M+3.8%$6.7M+109.2%$6.0M+6.7%$6.7M-4.6%$4.7M-21.5%$3.2M-33.3%$5.6M+7.0%$7.0M+61.4%
Total Liabilities$379.7M+1.8%$374.6M+1.1%$366.8M+4.4%$373.4M+4.5%$372.8M+7.9%$370.4M+5.7%$351.5M-0.6%$357.2M+0.9%
Long-Term Debt$315.2M-0.4%$320.5M+0.8%$313.9M-2.0%$315.3M-3.0%$316.5M+0.2%$318.1M+0.1%$320.2M+0.3%$325.1M+2.1%
Total Equity$28.3M-34.4%$36.8M-20.0%$44.3M-14.0%$46.1M-5.7%$43.1M-12.5%$45.9M-11.2%$51.5M-7.3%$48.8M-9.5%
Retained Earnings-$145.4Mn/m-$136.9Mn/m-$129.4Mn/m-$129.0Mn/m-$131.7Mn/m-$128.7Mn/m-$123.1Mn/m-$125.7Mn/m

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Current Assets, Short-Term Investments, Inventory, Long-Term Investments, Goodwill, Current Liabilities, Non-Current Liabilities.

SOHO Cash Flow Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SOHO quarterly cash flow statement
MetricQ4'2510-KQ3'2510-KQ2'2510-KQ1'2510-KQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-KQ2'2410-KQ1'2410-K
Operating Cash Flow$555K-87.6%-$374K-107.9%$1.9M-77.3%$8.2M+1.4%$4.5M+53.6%$4.8M+2.2%$8.6M+122.1%$8.1M-19.0%
Depreciation & AmortizationN/A$4.9M+0.6%$5.0M+4.2%$4.9M+3.1%N/A$4.9M+3.1%$4.8M+1.1%$4.8M+4.2%
Stock-Based CompensationN/AN/AN/A$322K+25.9%N/AN/AN/A$256K-1.7%
Investing Cash Flow-$3.2Mn/m-$2.7Mn/m-$4.4Mn/m-$387Kn/m-$4.3Mn/m-$4.8Mn/m-$2.7Mn/m-$2.3Mn/m
Financing Cash Flow$1.6Mn/m$6.2Mn/m-$3.8Mn/m-$3.7M-148.7%-$4.0Mn/m-$4.7Mn/m-$8.2Mn/m$7.6Mn/m

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow, Dividends Paid, Share Buybacks.

SOHO Financial Ratios

Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SOHO quarterly financial ratios
MetricQ4'2510-KQ3'2510-KQ2'2510-KQ1'2510-KQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-KQ2'2410-KQ1'2410-K
Gross MarginN/A17.9%-2.0pp28.5%-2.5pp26.7%+0.2ppN/A19.9%+0.6pp31.0%+0.7pp26.6%-1.2pp
Operating Margin-1.2%-10.2pp1.4%-3.0pp13.5%-4.9pp12.7%+0.5pp8.9%-0.5pp4.3%+1.3pp18.3%+1.4pp12.2%-0.5pp
Net Margin-20.6%-18.1pp-14.4%-5.6pp3.2%-5.9pp9.7%+6.8pp-2.5%-0.7pp-8.9%-4.0pp9.1%-1.3pp2.9%-0.4pp
Return on Equity-30.1%-27.5pp-14.9%-7.1pp3.6%-5.4pp10.2%+7.4pp-2.6%-1.0pp-7.9%-4.2pp9.0%-0.3pp2.7%+0.1pp
Return on Assets-2.1%-1.8pp-1.3%-0.5pp0.4%-0.8pp1.1%+0.8pp-0.3%-0.1pp-0.9%-0.4pp1.1%-0.1pp0.3%0.0pp
Debt-to-Equity11.15+3.8x8.72+1.8x7.09+0.9x6.84+0.2x7.35+0.9x6.92+0.8x6.22+0.5x6.66+0.8x
Liabilities-to-Equity13.43+4.8x10.19+2.1x8.28+1.5x8.11+0.8x8.66+1.6x8.06+1.3x6.83+0.5x7.32+0.8x
Asset Turnover0.100.0x0.090.0x0.120.0x0.120.0x0.110.0x0.100.0x0.130.0x0.120.0x

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Current Ratio, FCF Margin.

Similar Companies

Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it. Market cap is stated at each company's latest close.

Company Fiscal year Revenue Net income Net margin Market cap Health score
Sotherly Hotels Inc. SOHO FY2025 $176.4M -$7.7M -4.4% N/A 22/100
Diamondrock Hospitality Company DRH FY2025 $1.1B $101.4M 9.0% $2.9B —
Pebblebrook Hotel Trust PEB FY2025 $1.5B -$65.8M -4.5% $2.4B 25/100
RLJ Lodging Trust RLJ FY2025 $1.3B $28.5M 2.1% $1.9B 40/100
Summit Hotel Properties, Inc. INN FY2025 $729.5M -$5.1M -0.7% $767.9M 46/100
Braemar Hotels & Resorts Inc. BHR FY2025 $704.0M -$22.3M -3.2% $89.3M 50/100

Frequently Asked Questions

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) reported $176.4M in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a -3.0% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) revenue declined by 3.0% year-over-year, from $181.9M to $176.4M in fiscal year 2025.

No, Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) reported a net loss of $7.7M in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of -4.4%.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) reported diluted earnings per share of -$0.77 for fiscal year 2025. The change from the previous fiscal year is not meaningful, because that year’s figure was zero or negative. EPS represents the portion of a company's net income allocated to each outstanding share of common stock and is widely used to evaluate profitability on a per-share basis.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) had EBITDA of $32.4M in fiscal year 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.

As of fiscal year 2025, Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) had $7.0M in cash and equivalents against $315.2M in long-term debt.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) had a gross margin of 24.1% in fiscal year 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) had an operating margin of 7.2% in fiscal year 2025, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) had a net profit margin of -4.4% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) has a return on equity of -27.2% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) generated $10.3M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) had $407.9M in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) had 20M shares outstanding as of fiscal year 2025.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 11.15 as of fiscal year 2025. We compute it as long-term debt divided by total shareholder equity, where long-term debt is the noncurrent part of the company's borrowings, so debt due within the next twelve months is not counted.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) had a liabilities-to-equity ratio of 13.43 as of fiscal year 2025, which is total liabilities divided by total shareholder equity. Total liabilities counts every obligation on the balance sheet (payables, deposits, insurance reserves and deferred taxes as well as borrowings), so this ratio usually runs well above debt-to-equity.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) had a return on assets of -1.9% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) has a Piotroski F-Score of 2 out of 8 computable signals; 1 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) reported a net loss of $7.7M while generating $10.3M in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) has an interest coverage ratio of 0.51x, meaning it can struggle to cover its interest obligations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Sotherly Hotels Inc. (SOHO) scores 22 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating weak standing within its REITs peer group. The score is the average of six dimensions (FFO Margin, FFO Growth, Leverage, Interest Cov., AFFO Margin, Dividend Cov.), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. For Sotherly Hotels Inc. it averages the 5 of 6 dimensions that can be computed; the others are left out rather than counted as zero. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Back to top