STOCK TITAN

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) Financials

SOJC
Trailing 12 months to March 31, 2026
Revenue $30.2B +8.3% YoY
Net Income $4.4B -6.5% YoY
EPS (Diluted) $3.91 -6.2% YoY
Free Cash Flow -$3.5B -3401.0% YoY
Source SEC Filings (10-K/10-Q) Latest period Q1 FY2026, ended Mar 31, 2026 Reported Currency USD FYE December

Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q1 FY2026, filed Apr 30, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the SOJC SEC filings page.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) reported $30.2B in revenue over the twelve months to Mar 31, 2026, up 8.3% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).

Rhea AI SOJC FY2025

The dominant mechanic is a capital-intensive, debt-supported model where rising investment absorbs operating cash despite reported earnings.

Revenue expanded in FY2025, but operating margin compressed from 26.5% to 24.7%, indicating growth was not converting cleanly into additional operating profitability. Cash conversion weakened as capital expenditures reached $12.7B and exceeded operating cash flow, reversing free cash flow from positive in FY2024 to -$2.9B in FY2025.

The balance sheet is structurally leveraged: debt-to-equity was 1.8x in FY2025, while the current ratio fell to 0.6x, indicating near-term obligations exceed current assets even as equity increased. This combination means financing structure, not just profitability, shapes cash flexibility.

The 2025 reinvestment step-up was not funded by internally generated free cash flow; financing cash flow was $4.7B while dividends were $3.0B. Interest expense also reached $3.2B, so cash demands extend beyond capital investment to ongoing financing commitments.

[ NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE ]

Financial Health Signals

Financial health score not available

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.

Piotroski F-Score Partial
4/8

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 passes 4 of 8 computable financial strength tests (1 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 3 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution), both operating efficiency signals pass.

Earnings Quality Cash-Backed
2.26x

For every $1 of reported earnings, The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 generates $2.26 in operating cash flow ($9.8B OCF vs $4.3B net income). This indicates profits are well-supported by actual cash generation, not accounting adjustments.

Interest Coverage Adequate
2.25x

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 earns $2.25 in operating income for every $1 of interest expense ($7.3B vs $3.2B). This adequate coverage means the company can meet its interest obligations, but has limited cushion if earnings fall.

Key Financial Metrics

Export CSV

Earnings & Revenue

Revenue
$8.4B
YoY+8.0%
QoQ+20.3%
5Y CAGR+7.3%
10Y CAGR+7.7%

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 generated $8.4B in revenue in Q1 2026. This represents an increase of 8.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 20.3%.

EBITDA
$3.6B
YoY+5.2%
QoQ+42.7%
5Y CAGR+7.0%
10Y CAGR+8.6%

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077's EBITDA was $3.6B in Q1 2026, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents an increase of 5.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 42.7%.

Net Income
$1.4B
YoY+1.6%
QoQ+226.0%
5Y CAGR+4.1%
10Y CAGR+10.5%

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 reported $1.4B in net income in Q1 2026. This represents an increase of 1.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 226.0%.

EPS (Diluted)
$1.20
YoY-0.8%
QoQ+215.8%
5Y CAGR+2.5%
10Y CAGR+8.5%

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 earned $1.20 per diluted share (EPS) in Q1 2026. This represents a decrease of 0.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 215.8%.

Cash & Balance Sheet

Free Cash Flow
-$1.7B
YoY-44.7%
QoQ-1.8%

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 recorded an outflow of $1.7B in free cash flow in Q1 2026, representing a cash shortfall after capex. This represents a decrease of 44.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 1.8%.

Cash & Debt
$981.0M
YoY-57.8%
QoQ-40.1%
5Y CAGR-11.1%
10Y CAGR+2.7%

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 held $981.0M in cash against $67.1B in long-term debt as of Q1 2026.

Dividends Per Share
$0.74
YoY+2.8%

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 paid $0.74 per share in dividends in Q1 2026. This represents an increase of 2.8% from the same quarter a year earlier.

Shares Outstanding
1.13B
YoY+2.6%
QoQ+0.7%
5Y CAGR+1.3%
10Y CAGR+2.1%

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 had 1.13B shares outstanding in Q1 2026. This represents an increase of 2.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 0.7%.

Margins & Returns

Operating Margin
24.0%
YoY-1.8pp
QoQ+10.9pp
5Y change-3.0pp
10Y change+0.5pp

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077's operating margin was 24.0% in Q1 2026, reflecting core business profitability. This is down 1.8 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 10.9 percentage points.

Net Margin
16.2%
YoY-1.0pp
QoQ+10.2pp
5Y change-2.6pp
10Y change+3.6pp

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077's net profit margin was 16.2% in Q1 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 1.0 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 10.2 percentage points.

Return on Equity
3.4%
YoY-0.2pp
QoQ+2.2pp
5Y change+0.1pp
10Y change+1.0pp

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077's ROE was 3.4% in Q1 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 0.2 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 2.2 percentage points.

Gross Margin

Not reported for Q1 2026.

Capital Allocation

Capital Expenditures
$2.9B
YoY+20.8%
QoQ-31.3%
5Y CAGR+11.9%
10Y CAGR+4.6%

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 invested $2.9B in capex in Q1 2026, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents an increase of 20.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 31.3%.

R&D Spending

Not reported for Q1 2026.

Share Buybacks

Not reported for Q1 2026.

SOJC Income Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SOJC quarterly income statement
MetricQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-Q
Revenue$8.4B+8.0%$7.0B+10.1%$7.8B+7.5%$7.0B+7.9%$7.8B+17.0%$6.3B+4.9%$7.3B+4.2%$6.5B+12.4%
Operating Income$2.0B+0.4%$917.0M-13.3%$2.6B+9.5%$1.8B-9.0%$2.0B+18.0%$1.1B-12.4%$2.4B+12.2%$1.9B+50.3%
EBITDA$3.6B+5.2%$2.5B+4.7%$4.2B+12.0%$3.2B-1.1%$3.4B+15.4%$2.4B-3.5%$3.7B+10.1%$3.3B+30.4%
Interest Expense$778.0M+9.0%$895.0M+29.3%$755.0M+9.1%$874.0M+25.9%$714.0M+7.4%$692.0M+9.1%$692.0M+11.6%$694.0M+13.8%
Income Tax$228.0M-18.6%-$145.0M-283.5%$404.0M+7.2%$289.0M-0.3%$280.0M+25.6%$79.0M+1875.0%$377.0M+26.9%$290.0M+195.9%
Net Income$1.4B+1.6%$416.0M-29.7%$1.7B+11.5%$880.0M-26.8%$1.3B+24.6%$592.0M-35.8%$1.5B+7.2%$1.2B+46.2%
EPS (Basic)$1.210.0%$0.38-22.4%$1.55+10.7%$0.80-27.3%$1.21+17.5%$0.49-37.2%$1.40+7.7%$1.10+42.9%
EPS (Diluted)$1.20-0.8%$0.38-20.8%$1.54+10.8%$0.79-27.5%$1.21+17.5%$0.48-38.5%$1.39+7.8%$1.09+43.4%
Diluted Shares (Avg)1.13B+2.1%N/A1.11B+0.6%1.11B+0.5%1.10B+0.5%N/A1.10B+0.4%1.10B+0.4%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses, SG&A Expenses.

SOJC Balance Sheet

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SOJC quarterly balance sheet
MetricQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-Q
Total Assets$157.0B+6.0%$155.7B+7.3%$153.2B+6.5%$148.9B+4.9%$148.1B+5.7%$145.2B+4.2%$144.0B+4.1%$141.9B+3.5%
Current Assets$10.0B-15.7%$10.9B+2.1%$12.6B+14.4%$10.8B-1.7%$11.8B+12.1%$10.7B+2.5%$11.0B-0.4%$11.0B+0.1%
Cash & Equivalents$981.0M-57.8%$1.6B+53.2%$3.3B+228.2%$1.3B+9.7%$2.3B+226.4%$1.1B+43.0%$1.0B-39.3%$1.2B-45.7%
Short-Term Investments$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0
Accounts Receivable$3.1B+2.6%$3.1B+3.0%$2.9B-0.1%$3.1B+0.5%$3.0B+7.6%$3.0B+8.1%$2.9B+9.9%$3.1B+27.5%
Long-Term Investments$706.0M+2.3%$714.0M+6.9%$696.0M+5.9%$699.0M+2.2%$690.0M+2.5%$668.0M+0.5%$657.0M+0.9%$684.0M+10.7%
Goodwill$5.2B0.0%$5.2B0.0%$5.2B0.0%$5.2B0.0%$5.2B0.0%$5.2B0.0%$5.2B0.0%$5.2B0.0%
Total Liabilities$117.1B+5.6%$116.9B+7.7%$115.0B+7.4%$111.5B+5.4%$110.9B+6.1%$108.5B+4.2%$107.1B+3.9%$105.8B+3.3%
Current Liabilities$15.3B+11.2%$16.9B+5.6%$16.7B+37.5%$14.6B+21.1%$13.8B+20.2%$16.0B+18.8%$12.2B-7.9%$12.0B-9.2%
Non-Current Liabilities$101.8B+4.8%$100.0B+8.1%$98.2B+3.5%$96.9B+3.4%$97.1B+4.4%$92.5B+2.1%$94.9B+5.7%$93.8B+5.1%
Long-Term Debt$67.1B+6.7%$65.6B+11.7%$64.6B+5.5%$63.0B+5.2%$62.9B+6.0%$58.8B+2.7%$61.3B+9.4%$59.9B+8.6%
Total Equity$39.9B+7.2%$36.0B+8.5%$38.3B+3.7%$37.3B+3.4%$37.2B+4.5%$33.2B+5.6%$36.9B+4.5%$36.1B+4.2%
Retained EarningsN/A$14.9B+8.0%N/AN/AN/A$13.8B+10.2%N/AN/A

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Inventory.

SOJC Cash Flow Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SOJC quarterly cash flow statement
MetricQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-Q
Operating Cash Flow$1.2B-1.9%$2.6B+19.5%$3.8B+4.4%$2.2B-18.9%$1.3B-4.7%$2.2B+19.9%$3.6B+27.3%$2.7B+30.7%
Depreciation & Amortization$1.6B+12.0%$1.6B+18.9%$1.6B+16.4%$1.4B+10.5%$1.4B+11.9%$1.4B+4.9%$1.3B+6.4%$1.3B+9.0%
Capital Expenditures$2.9B+20.8%$4.3B+55.9%$3.2B+39.1%$2.8B+31.8%$2.4B+37.7%$2.7B+8.5%$2.3B-13.2%$2.1B+3.8%
Free Cash Flow-$1.7B-44.7%-$1.7B-193.1%$559.0M-57.2%-$619.0M-209.9%-$1.2B-158.6%-$576.0M+20.1%$1.3B+637.3%$563.0M+6937.5%
Investing Cash Flow-$3.4B-20.7%-$4.4B-60.2%-$3.9B-57.4%-$2.9B-57.9%-$2.8B-18.8%-$2.7B+7.6%-$2.5B-0.9%-$1.8B+15.3%
Financing Cash Flow$1.5B-45.2%$61.0M-89.7%$2.2B+264.7%-$348.0M+26.3%$2.8B+185.8%$595.0M+260.6%-$1.3B-72.9%-$472.0M-141.4%
Dividends Paid$776.0M+5.4%$761.0M+3.7%$760.0M+3.7%$758.0M+0.5%$736.0M+0.4%$734.0M-3.9%$733.0M-4.2%$754.0M-1.3%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Stock-Based Compensation, Share Buybacks.

SOJC Financial Ratios

Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SOJC quarterly financial ratios
MetricQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-Q
Operating Margin24.0%-1.8pp13.1%-3.6pp33.2%+0.6pp25.3%-4.7pp25.9%+0.2pp16.7%-3.3pp32.6%+2.3pp30.0%+7.6pp
Net Margin16.2%-1.0pp6.0%-3.4pp21.9%+0.8pp12.6%-6.0pp17.2%+1.1pp9.3%-5.9pp21.1%+0.6pp18.6%+4.3pp
Return on Equity3.4%-0.2pp1.2%-0.6pp4.5%+0.3pp2.4%-1.0pp3.6%+0.6pp1.8%-1.1pp4.2%+0.1pp3.3%+1.0pp
Return on Assets0.9%0.0pp0.3%-0.1pp1.1%+0.1pp0.6%-0.3pp0.9%+0.1pp0.4%-0.2pp1.1%0.0pp0.9%+0.3pp
Current Ratio0.65-0.2x0.650.0x0.75-0.2x0.74-0.2x0.86-0.1x0.67-0.1x0.91+0.1x0.91+0.1x
Debt-to-Equity1.680.0x1.82+0.1x1.690.0x1.690.0x1.690.0x1.770.0x1.66+0.1x1.66+0.1x
Asset Turnover0.050.0x0.040.0x0.050.0x0.050.0x0.050.0x0.040.0x0.050.0x0.050.0x
FCF Margin-20.5%-5.2pp-24.2%-15.1pp7.1%-10.8pp-8.9%-17.6pp-15.3%-8.4pp-9.1%+2.8pp17.9%+15.4pp8.7%+8.6pp

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin.

Note: The current ratio is below 1.0 (0.65), indicating current liabilities exceed current assets, which may suggest potential short-term liquidity concerns.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077's annual revenue?

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) reported $29.6B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 10.6% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.

How fast is The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077's revenue growing?

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) revenue grew by 10.6% year-over-year, from $26.7B to $29.6B in fiscal year 2025.

Is The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 profitable?

Yes, The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) reported a net income of $4.3B in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 14.7%.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) reported diluted earnings per share of $3.92 for fiscal year 2025. This represents a -1.8% change compared to the previous fiscal year. EPS represents the portion of a company's net income allocated to each outstanding share of common stock and is widely used to evaluate profitability on a per-share basis.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) had EBITDA of $13.3B in fiscal year 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.

As of fiscal year 2025, The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) had $1.6B in cash and equivalents against $65.6B in long-term debt.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) had an operating margin of 24.6% in fiscal year 2025, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) had a net profit margin of 14.7% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.

Yes, The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) paid $2.94 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) has a return on equity of 12.0% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) recorded an outflow of $2.9B in free cash flow during fiscal year 2025. This represents a -452.3% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) generated $9.8B in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) had $155.7B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) invested $12.7B in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) had 1.12B shares outstanding as of fiscal year 2025.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) had a current ratio of 0.65 as of fiscal year 2025, which is below 1.0, which may suggest potential liquidity concerns.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 1.82 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) had a return on assets of 2.8% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 8 computable signals; 1 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) has an earnings quality ratio of 2.26x, considered cash-backed (high quality). This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

The Southern Company Series 2017B 5.25% Junior Subordinated Notes due December 1, 2077 (SOJC) has an interest coverage ratio of 2.25x, meaning it can adequately cover its interest obligations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Back to top