Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q1 FY2026, filed Apr 30, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the SOJF SEC filings page.
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) reported $30.2B in revenue over the twelve months to Mar 31, 2026, up 8.3% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
A capital-intensive, leveraged model converts operating earnings into cash, but reinvestment routinely consumes that cash.
FY2025's cash conversion weakened: operating cash flow held near$9.8B while capital expenditures jumped to$12.7B . That investment load flipped free cash flow from$833M in FY2024 to-$2.9B in FY2025, showing that reported operating earnings are being absorbed by reinvestment rather than accumulating as discretionary cash.
Operating profitability improved structurally from FY2021 to FY2025: operating margin climbed from
Leverage remains central to the operating model: debt-to-equity was 1.8x and current ratio 0.6x in FY2025, so short-term obligations are not fully matched by current assets. Meanwhile, assets expanded to
Financial Health Signals
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 passes 4 of 8 computable financial strength tests (1 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 3 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution), both operating efficiency signals pass.
For every $1 of reported earnings, The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 generates $2.26 in operating cash flow ($9.8B OCF vs $4.3B net income). This indicates profits are well-supported by actual cash generation, not accounting adjustments.
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 earns $2.25 in operating income for every $1 of interest expense ($7.3B vs $3.2B). This adequate coverage means the company can meet its interest obligations, but has limited cushion if earnings fall.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 generated $8.4B in revenue in Q1 2026. This represents an increase of 8.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 20.3%.
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's EBITDA was $3.6B in Q1 2026, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents an increase of 5.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 42.7%.
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 reported $1.4B in net income in Q1 2026. This represents an increase of 1.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 226.0%.
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 earned $1.20 per diluted share (EPS) in Q1 2026. This represents a decrease of 0.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 215.8%.
Cash & Balance Sheet
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 recorded an outflow of $1.7B in free cash flow in Q1 2026, representing a cash shortfall after capex. This represents a decrease of 44.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 1.8%.
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 held $981.0M in cash against $67.1B in long-term debt as of Q1 2026.
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 paid $0.74 per share in dividends in Q1 2026. This represents an increase of 2.8% from the same quarter a year earlier.
Margins & Returns
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's operating margin was 24.0% in Q1 2026, reflecting core business profitability. This is down 1.8 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 10.9 percentage points.
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's net profit margin was 16.2% in Q1 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 1.0 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 10.2 percentage points.
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's ROE was 3.4% in Q1 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 0.2 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 2.2 percentage points.
Not reported for Q1 2026.
Capital Allocation
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 invested $2.9B in capex in Q1 2026, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents an increase of 20.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 31.3%.
Not reported for Q1 2026.
Not reported for Q1 2026.
SOJF Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $8.4B+8.0% | $7.0B+10.1% | $7.8B+7.5% | $7.0B+7.9% | $7.8B+17.0% | $6.3B+4.9% | $7.3B+4.2% | $6.5B+12.4% |
| Operating Income | $2.0B+0.4% | $917.0M-13.3% | $2.6B+9.5% | $1.8B-9.0% | $2.0B+18.0% | $1.1B-12.4% | $2.4B+12.2% | $1.9B+50.3% |
| EBITDA | $3.6B+5.2% | $2.5B+4.7% | $4.2B+12.0% | $3.2B-1.1% | $3.4B+15.4% | $2.4B-3.5% | $3.7B+10.1% | $3.3B+30.4% |
| Interest Expense | $778.0M+9.0% | $895.0M+29.3% | $755.0M+9.1% | $874.0M+25.9% | $714.0M+7.4% | $692.0M+9.1% | $692.0M+11.6% | $694.0M+13.8% |
| Income Tax | $228.0M-18.6% | -$145.0M-283.5% | $404.0M+7.2% | $289.0M-0.3% | $280.0M+25.6% | $79.0M+1875.0% | $377.0M+26.9% | $290.0M+195.9% |
| Net Income | $1.4B+1.6% | $416.0M-29.7% | $1.7B+11.5% | $880.0M-26.8% | $1.3B+24.6% | $592.0M-35.8% | $1.5B+7.2% | $1.2B+46.2% |
| EPS (Basic) | $1.210.0% | $0.38-22.4% | $1.55+10.7% | $0.80-27.3% | $1.21+17.5% | $0.49-37.2% | $1.40+7.7% | $1.10+42.9% |
| EPS (Diluted) | $1.20-0.8% | $0.38-20.8% | $1.54+10.8% | $0.79-27.5% | $1.21+17.5% | $0.48-38.5% | $1.39+7.8% | $1.09+43.4% |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 1.13B+2.1% | N/A | 1.11B+0.6% | 1.11B+0.5% | 1.10B+0.5% | N/A | 1.10B+0.4% | 1.10B+0.4% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses, SG&A Expenses.
SOJF Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $157.0B+6.0% | $155.7B+7.3% | $153.2B+6.5% | $148.9B+4.9% | $148.1B+5.7% | $145.2B+4.2% | $144.0B+4.1% | $141.9B+3.5% |
| Current Assets | $10.0B-15.7% | $10.9B+2.1% | $12.6B+14.4% | $10.8B-1.7% | $11.8B+12.1% | $10.7B+2.5% | $11.0B-0.4% | $11.0B+0.1% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $981.0M-57.8% | $1.6B+53.2% | $3.3B+228.2% | $1.3B+9.7% | $2.3B+226.4% | $1.1B+43.0% | $1.0B-39.3% | $1.2B-45.7% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Accounts Receivable | $3.1B+2.6% | $3.1B+3.0% | $2.9B-0.1% | $3.1B+0.5% | $3.0B+7.6% | $3.0B+8.1% | $2.9B+9.9% | $3.1B+27.5% |
| Long-Term Investments | $706.0M+2.3% | $714.0M+6.9% | $696.0M+5.9% | $699.0M+2.2% | $690.0M+2.5% | $668.0M+0.5% | $657.0M+0.9% | $684.0M+10.7% |
| Goodwill | $5.2B0.0% | $5.2B0.0% | $5.2B0.0% | $5.2B0.0% | $5.2B0.0% | $5.2B0.0% | $5.2B0.0% | $5.2B0.0% |
| Total Liabilities | $117.1B+5.6% | $116.9B+7.7% | $115.0B+7.4% | $111.5B+5.4% | $110.9B+6.1% | $108.5B+4.2% | $107.1B+3.9% | $105.8B+3.3% |
| Current Liabilities | $15.3B+11.2% | $16.9B+5.6% | $16.7B+37.5% | $14.6B+21.1% | $13.8B+20.2% | $16.0B+18.8% | $12.2B-7.9% | $12.0B-9.2% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $101.8B+4.8% | $100.0B+8.1% | $98.2B+3.5% | $96.9B+3.4% | $97.1B+4.4% | $92.5B+2.1% | $94.9B+5.7% | $93.8B+5.1% |
| Long-Term Debt | $67.1B+6.7% | $65.6B+11.7% | $64.6B+5.5% | $63.0B+5.2% | $62.9B+6.0% | $58.8B+2.7% | $61.3B+9.4% | $59.9B+8.6% |
| Total Equity | $39.9B+7.2% | $36.0B+8.5% | $38.3B+3.7% | $37.3B+3.4% | $37.2B+4.5% | $33.2B+5.6% | $36.9B+4.5% | $36.1B+4.2% |
| Retained Earnings | N/A | $14.9B+8.0% | N/A | N/A | N/A | $13.8B+10.2% | N/A | N/A |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Inventory.
SOJF Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $1.2B-1.9% | $2.6B+19.5% | $3.8B+4.4% | $2.2B-18.9% | $1.3B-4.7% | $2.2B+19.9% | $3.6B+27.3% | $2.7B+30.7% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $1.6B+12.0% | $1.6B+18.9% | $1.6B+16.4% | $1.4B+10.5% | $1.4B+11.9% | $1.4B+4.9% | $1.3B+6.4% | $1.3B+9.0% |
| Capital Expenditures | $2.9B+20.8% | $4.3B+55.9% | $3.2B+39.1% | $2.8B+31.8% | $2.4B+37.7% | $2.7B+8.5% | $2.3B-13.2% | $2.1B+3.8% |
| Free Cash Flow | -$1.7B-44.7% | -$1.7B-193.1% | $559.0M-57.2% | -$619.0M-209.9% | -$1.2B-158.6% | -$576.0M+20.1% | $1.3B+637.3% | $563.0M+6937.5% |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$3.4B-20.7% | -$4.4B-60.2% | -$3.9B-57.4% | -$2.9B-57.9% | -$2.8B-18.8% | -$2.7B+7.6% | -$2.5B-0.9% | -$1.8B+15.3% |
| Financing Cash Flow | $1.5B-45.2% | $61.0M-89.7% | $2.2B+264.7% | -$348.0M+26.3% | $2.8B+185.8% | $595.0M+260.6% | -$1.3B-72.9% | -$472.0M-141.4% |
| Dividends Paid | $776.0M+5.4% | $761.0M+3.7% | $760.0M+3.7% | $758.0M+0.5% | $736.0M+0.4% | $734.0M-3.9% | $733.0M-4.2% | $754.0M-1.3% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Stock-Based Compensation, Share Buybacks.
SOJF Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Margin | 24.0%-1.8pp | 13.1%-3.6pp | 33.2%+0.6pp | 25.3%-4.7pp | 25.9%+0.2pp | 16.7%-3.3pp | 32.6%+2.3pp | 30.0%+7.6pp |
| Net Margin | 16.2%-1.0pp | 6.0%-3.4pp | 21.9%+0.8pp | 12.6%-6.0pp | 17.2%+1.1pp | 9.3%-5.9pp | 21.1%+0.6pp | 18.6%+4.3pp |
| Return on Equity | 3.4%-0.2pp | 1.2%-0.6pp | 4.5%+0.3pp | 2.4%-1.0pp | 3.6%+0.6pp | 1.8%-1.1pp | 4.2%+0.1pp | 3.3%+1.0pp |
| Return on Assets | 0.9%0.0pp | 0.3%-0.1pp | 1.1%+0.1pp | 0.6%-0.3pp | 0.9%+0.1pp | 0.4%-0.2pp | 1.1%0.0pp | 0.9%+0.3pp |
| Current Ratio | 0.65-0.2x | 0.650.0x | 0.75-0.2x | 0.74-0.2x | 0.86-0.1x | 0.67-0.1x | 0.91+0.1x | 0.91+0.1x |
| Debt-to-Equity | 1.680.0x | 1.82+0.1x | 1.690.0x | 1.690.0x | 1.690.0x | 1.770.0x | 1.66+0.1x | 1.66+0.1x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.050.0x | 0.040.0x | 0.050.0x | 0.050.0x | 0.050.0x | 0.040.0x | 0.050.0x | 0.050.0x |
| FCF Margin | -20.5%-5.2pp | -24.2%-15.1pp | 7.1%-10.8pp | -8.9%-17.6pp | -15.3%-8.4pp | -9.1%+2.8pp | 17.9%+15.4pp | 8.7%+8.6pp |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin.
Note: The current ratio is below 1.0 (0.65), indicating current liabilities exceed current assets, which may suggest potential short-term liquidity concerns.
Where The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's annual revenue?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) reported $29.6B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 10.6% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's revenue growing?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) revenue grew by 10.6% year-over-year, from $26.7B to $29.6B in fiscal year 2025.
Is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 profitable?
Yes, The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) reported a net income of $4.3B in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 14.7%.
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's earnings per share (EPS)?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) reported diluted earnings per share of $3.92 for fiscal year 2025. This represents a -1.8% change compared to the previous fiscal year. EPS represents the portion of a company's net income allocated to each outstanding share of common stock and is widely used to evaluate profitability on a per-share basis.
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's EBITDA?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) had EBITDA of $13.3B in fiscal year 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
How much debt does The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 have?
As of fiscal year 2025, The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) had $1.6B in cash and equivalents against $65.6B in long-term debt.
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's operating margin?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) had an operating margin of 24.6% in fiscal year 2025, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's net profit margin?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) had a net profit margin of 14.7% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
Does The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 pay dividends?
Yes, The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) paid $2.94 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's return on equity (ROE)?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) has a return on equity of 12.0% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's free cash flow?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) recorded an outflow of $2.9B in free cash flow during fiscal year 2025. This represents a -452.3% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's operating cash flow?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) generated $9.8B in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's total assets?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) had $155.7B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What are The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's capital expenditures?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) invested $12.7B in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's current ratio?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) had a current ratio of 0.65 as of fiscal year 2025, which is below 1.0, which may suggest potential liquidity concerns.
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's debt-to-equity ratio?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 1.82 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's return on assets (ROA)?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) had a return on assets of 2.8% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's Piotroski F-Score?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 8 computable signals; 1 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085's earnings high quality?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) has an earnings quality ratio of 2.26x, considered cash-backed (high quality). This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Can The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 cover its interest payments?
The Southern Company Series 2025A 6.50% Junior Subordinated Notes due March 15, 2085 (SOJF) has an interest coverage ratio of 2.25x, meaning it can adequately cover its interest obligations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.