Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q3 FY2025, filed Dec 19, 2025. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the SSUP SEC filings page.
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) reported $1.0B in revenue over the twelve months to Sep 30, 2025, down 19.6% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Margin recovery is being overwhelmed by financing costs and weaker cash conversion, leaving a smaller asset base with deeper negative equity.
The return to positive operating profit in FY2024 did not restore earnings: operating income was$29.3M while net income was-$78.2M , showing that financing and below-operating charges still absorb the operating result. Earnings quality weakened further: EBITDA reached$115.7M , but operating cash flow was only$18.3M , and reinvestment pushed free cash flow negative.
The operating rebound appears tied more to overhead reduction than volume or scale: selling, general and administrative expense fell to
FY2024 liabilities of
Financial Health Signals
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC scores 1.46, below the 1.81 distress threshold. This indicates elevated financial distress risk and warrants close attention to liquidity and debt levels.
Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC passes 4 of 9 financial strength tests. 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution), both operating efficiency signals pass.
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC reported a net loss of $78.2M while generating $18.3M in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC earns $0.44 in operating income for every $1 of interest expense ($29.3M vs $67.1M). This narrow margin raises concern about the company's ability to service its debt if operating income declines.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC generated $178.2M in revenue in Q3 2025. This represents a decrease of 44.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 14.3%.
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's EBITDA was -$43.1M in Q3 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents a decrease of 263.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 54.4%.
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC reported -$85.0M in net income in Q3 2025. This represents a decrease of 243.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 53.1%.
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC earned -$3.03 per diluted share (EPS) in Q3 2025. This represents a decrease of 144.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 54.5%.
Cash & Balance Sheet
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC recorded an outflow of $85.1M in free cash flow in Q3 2025, representing a cash shortfall after capex. This represents a decrease of 800.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 263.4%.
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC held $60.6M in cash against $524K in long-term debt as of Q3 2025, with $762.1M of liabilities due within a year.
Not reported for Q3 2025.
Margins & Returns
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's gross margin was -16.4% in Q3 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is down 25.3 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 6.1 percentage points.
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's operating margin was -31.2% in Q3 2025, reflecting core business profitability. This is down 32.6 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 23.3 percentage points.
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's net profit margin was -47.7% in Q3 2025, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 40.0 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 39.4 percentage points.
Not reported for Q3 2025.
Capital Allocation
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC invested $7.0M in capex in Q3 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents an increase of 14.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 18.1%.
Not reported for Q3 2025.
Not reported for Q3 2025.
SSUP Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $178.2M-44.6% | $207.9M-34.8% | $321.6M+1.7% | $310.3M+0.6% | $321.8M-0.4% | $319.0M-14.4% | $316.3M-17.0% | $308.6M-23.2% |
| Cost of Revenue | $207.4M-29.3% | $229.3M-20.2% | $305.5M+3.5% | $281.2M-4.3% | $293.1M-1.6% | $287.3M-13.3% | $295.1M-14.8% | $293.8M-15.4% |
| Gross Profit | -$29.2M-201.9% | -$21.4M-167.8% | $16.1M-23.9% | $29.1M+96.2% | $28.6M+13.2% | $31.6M-22.9% | $21.1M-38.8% | $14.8M-72.9% |
| SG&A Expenses | $26.4M+10.3% | $24.9M+16.3% | $15.5M-25.7% | $15.2M-55.7% | $23.9M+41.8% | $21.4M+25.6% | $20.8M+7.1% | $34.3M+84.4% |
| Operating Income | -$55.5M-1273.2% | -$113.2M-1205.2% | $622K+98.1% | $14.0M+171.9% | $4.7M+106.6% | $10.2M-57.3% | $314K-97.9% | -$19.4M-153.5% |
| EBITDA | -$43.1M-263.0% | -$94.6M-394.4% | $20.2M-9.4% | $34.8M+853.8% | $26.4M+155.6% | $32.1M-32.3% | $22.3M-41.4% | $3.7M-93.7% |
| Interest Expense | $21.4M+20.1% | $18.1M+14.6% | $17.0M+7.3% | $17.5M+16.4% | $17.9M+13.9% | $15.8M+0.8% | $15.9M+1.1% | $15.1M-3.4% |
| Income Tax | $4.9M+455.0% | $45.5M+608.3% | -$5.4M-132.7% | $1.6M+104.8% | $875K+330.9% | $6.4M+10.8% | $16.6M+404.8% | -$32.7M-1115.8% |
| Net Income | -$85.0M-243.3% | -$181.1M-1527.6% | -$12.9M+60.5% | -$9.6M-294.7% | -$24.8M+71.3% | -$11.1M-16503.0% | -$32.7M-709.2% | -$2.4M-114.7% |
| EPS (Basic) | -$3.03-144.4% | -$6.66-788.0% | -$0.92+39.5% | -$0.75-70.5% | -$1.24+63.7% | -$0.75-114.3% | -$1.52-210.2% | -$0.44-263.0% |
| EPS (Diluted) | -$3.03-144.4% | -$6.66 | -$0.92 | -$0.75 | -$1.24+63.7% | -$0.75 | -$1.52 | -$0.44 |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 33,664+16.5% | 29,570 | 29,062 | N/A | 28,886+2.8% | 28,732 | 28,254 | N/A |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: R&D Expenses.
SSUP Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $592.0M-26.2% | $630.3M-33.9% | $763.8M-24.0% | $740.1M-28.2% | $801.7M-22.8% | $953.8M-17.8% | $1.0B-15.9% | $1.0B-9.1% |
| Current Assets | $284.0M-12.0% | $320.7M-29.6% | $335.1M-29.2% | $308.8M-32.9% | $322.6M-35.2% | $455.6M-13.1% | $473.5M-14.9% | $459.9M-9.6% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $60.6M+149.7% | $85.3M-50.5% | $54.5M-71.5% | $40.1M-80.1% | $24.3M-86.2% | $172.3M-4.9% | $191.1M-16.4% | $201.6M-5.4% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Inventory | $124.2M-14.8% | $128.3M-12.9% | $145.6M-2.3% | $145.7M+0.8% | $145.7M-10.1% | $147.4M-19.0% | $149.0M-21.3% | $144.6M-19.1% |
| Accounts Receivable | $74.3M-28.3% | $73.0M-7.6% | $72.7M+9.9% | $69.5M+23.2% | $103.6M-6.5% | $79.0M-21.8% | $66.2M-25.2% | $56.4M-22.5% |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Total Liabilities | $1.1B+10.3% | $1.1B-4.9% | $1.1B-6.7% | $1.0B-9.0% | $1.0B-8.4% | $1.1B-0.6% | $1.1B-6.3% | $1.1B-3.7% |
| Current Liabilities | $762.1M+247.2% | $181.2M-59.0% | $224.5M+5.8% | $195.9M-1.5% | $219.5M-2.8% | $441.8M+91.4% | $212.2M-28.1% | $198.9M-20.9% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $378.1M-53.5% | $893.8M+29.8% | $827.9M-9.6% | $820.4M-10.6% | $814.0M-9.8% | $688.4M-24.1% | $916.3M+0.8% | $917.6M+1.1% |
| Long-Term Debt | $524K-99.9% | $537.5M+44.6% | $481.8M-20.4% | $481.4M-21.2% | $483.3M-19.5% | $371.7M-38.9% | $605.0M-1.7% | $610.6M-0.9% |
| Total Equity | -$548.3M-136.5% | -$444.7M-152.0% | -$288.7M-134.9% | -$276.2M-221.4% | -$231.8M-157.4% | -$176.4M-873.3% | -$122.9M-1338.3% | -$85.9M-239.7% |
| Retained Earnings | -$626.5M-124.4% | -$524.5M-115.5% | -$327.6M-47.6% | -$300.8M-68.0% | -$279.2M-67.7% | -$243.4M-246.0% | -$221.9M-266.0% | -$179.0M-279.8% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Goodwill.
SSUP Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | -$78.1M-2257.4% | -$17.5M-118.0% | $23.5M+577.4% | $26.2M-41.0% | -$3.3M-137.1% | -$8.0M+70.9% | $3.5M-91.0% | $44.3M-43.3% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $12.4M-42.6% | $18.6M-14.9% | $19.5M-11.0% | $20.9M-9.4% | $21.7M-8.2% | $21.9M-6.7% | $21.9M-3.9% | $23.1M+4.3% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | $503K-75.0% | $111K-95.3% | $910K-47.1% | N/A | $2.0M+48.4% | $2.4M+7.4% | $1.7M+114.7% | N/A |
| Capital Expenditures | $7.0M+14.3% | $5.9M-27.7% | $6.0M-9.9% | $7.3M-37.5% | $6.1M-20.6% | $8.2M+33.5% | $6.6M-57.5% | $11.7M+2.0% |
| Free Cash Flow | -$85.1M-800.4% | -$23.4M-44.2% | $17.5M+657.3% | $18.9M-42.2% | -$9.5M-891.8% | -$16.2M+51.9% | -$3.1M-113.6% | $32.7M-51.0% |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$7.0M-14.3% | -$5.9M+27.7% | -$6.0M+9.9% | -$7.3M+37.5% | -$6.1M+49.6% | -$8.2M-33.5% | -$6.6M+57.5% | -$11.7M-2.0% |
| Financing Cash Flow | $60.3M+143.4% | $51.2M+3412.7% | -$4.4M+33.5% | -$1.5M+84.1% | -$138.7M-7787.4% | -$1.5M+88.8% | -$6.5M+28.6% | -$9.5M-145.3% |
| Dividends Paid | N/A | N/A | N/A | $3K-100.0% | $30K-45.5% | $45K-98.7% | $3.3M+0.2% | $6.8M+100.1% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Share Buybacks.
SSUP Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | -16.4%-25.3pp | -10.3%-20.2pp | 5.0%-1.7pp | 9.4%+4.6pp | 8.9%+1.1pp | 9.9%-1.1pp | 6.7%-2.4pp | 4.8%-8.8pp |
| Operating Margin | -31.2%-32.6pp | -54.5%-57.7pp | 0.2%+0.1pp | 4.5%+10.8pp | 1.5%+23.5pp | 3.2%-3.2pp | 0.1%-3.9pp | -6.3%-15.3pp |
| Net Margin | -47.7%-40.0pp | -87.1%-83.6pp | -4.0%+6.3pp | -3.1%-2.3pp | -7.7%+19.0pp | -3.5%-3.5pp | -10.3%-9.3pp | -0.8%-4.9pp |
| Return on Assets | -14.4%-11.3pp | -28.7%-27.6pp | -1.7%+1.6pp | -1.3%-1.1pp | -3.1%+5.2pp | -1.2%-1.2pp | -3.3%-2.9pp | -0.2%-1.7pp |
| Current Ratio | 0.37-1.1x | 1.77+0.7x | 1.49-0.7x | 1.58-0.7x | 1.47-0.7x | 1.03-1.2x | 2.23+0.3x | 2.31+0.3x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.30-0.1x | 0.330.0x | 0.42+0.1x | 0.42+0.1x | 0.40+0.1x | 0.330.0x | 0.310.0x | 0.30-0.1x |
| FCF Margin | -47.8%-44.8pp | -11.3%-6.2pp | 5.5%+6.5pp | 6.1%-4.5pp | -2.9%-3.3pp | -5.1%+4.0pp | -1.0%-7.1pp | 10.6%-6.0pp |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Return on Equity, Debt-to-Equity.
Note: Shareholder equity is negative (-$276.2M), which causes debt-to-equity and return on equity ratios to appear negative or not meaningful. This can occur from accumulated losses or large share buyback programs.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUPERIOR IND INTL INC SSUP | FY2024 | $1.3B | -$78.2M | -6.2% | $3.1M | — |
| FREE FLOW INC FFLO | FY2025 | $30K | -$192K | N/A | $9.3M | — |
Where SUPERIOR IND INTL INC Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's annual revenue?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) reported $1.3B in total revenue for fiscal year 2024. This represents a -8.5% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's revenue growing?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) revenue declined by 8.5% year-over-year, from $1.4B to $1.3B in fiscal year 2024.
Is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC profitable?
No, SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) reported a net income of -$78.2M in fiscal year 2024, with a net profit margin of -6.2%.
What is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's EBITDA?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) had EBITDA of $115.7M in fiscal year 2024, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
How much debt does SUPERIOR IND INTL INC have?
As of fiscal year 2024, SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) had $40.1M in cash and equivalents against $481.4M in long-term debt.
What is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's gross margin?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) had a gross margin of 8.7% in fiscal year 2024, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.
What is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's operating margin?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) had an operating margin of 2.3% in fiscal year 2024, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.
What is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's net profit margin?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) had a net profit margin of -6.2% in fiscal year 2024, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
What is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's free cash flow?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) recorded an outflow of $10.0M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2024. This represents a -142.8% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
What is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's operating cash flow?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) generated $18.3M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2024, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's total assets?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) had $740.1M in total assets as of fiscal year 2024, including both current and long-term assets.
What are SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's capital expenditures?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) invested $28.3M in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2024, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
What is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's current ratio?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) had a current ratio of 1.58 as of fiscal year 2024, which is generally considered healthy.
What is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's return on assets (ROA)?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) had a return on assets of -10.6% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
Why is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's debt-to-equity ratio negative or not reported?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) has negative shareholder equity of -$276.2M as of fiscal year 2024, so no debt-to-equity ratio is reported: dividing debt by equity that is not positive produces a number that cannot be read as leverage. This can occur when accumulated losses exceed invested capital, or after large share buyback programs. Other solvency metrics like the current ratio or interest coverage may be more informative.
What is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's Altman Z-Score?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) has an Altman Z-Score of 1.46, placing it in the Distress Zone (elevated bankruptcy risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
What is SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's Piotroski F-Score?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 9, indicating neutral financial health. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are SUPERIOR IND INTL INC's earnings high quality?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) reported a net loss of $78.2M while generating $18.3M in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Can SUPERIOR IND INTL INC cover its interest payments?
SUPERIOR IND INTL INC (SSUP) has an interest coverage ratio of 0.44x, meaning it can struggle to cover its interest obligations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.