Newest figures come from the 40-F for FY2025, filed Feb 27, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the TSLTF SEC filings page.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) reported $1.8B in revenue for fiscal year 2025, down 11.2% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 11 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (40-F and 6-K reports).
Financial Health Signals
We do not publish a peer-relative financial health score for TransAlta Corp PFD E, because the score only covers companies whose filings and listing give us what it needs to compare them with their peers. The signals and metrics below are current.
TransAlta Corp PFD E passes 4 of 9 financial strength tests. 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, 2 of 3 leverage/liquidity signals pass, neither operating efficiency signal passes.
TransAlta Corp PFD E reported a net loss of $100.6M while generating $471.1M in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
TransAlta Corp PFD E earns $0.40 in operating income for every $1 of interest expense ($102.1M vs $253.1M). This narrow margin raises concern about the company's ability to service its debt if operating income declines.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
TransAlta Corp PFD E generated $1.8B in revenue in fiscal year 2025. This represents a decrease of 11.2% from the prior year.
TransAlta Corp PFD E's EBITDA was $524.4M in fiscal year 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents a decrease of 32.3% from the prior year.
TransAlta Corp PFD E reported a net loss of $100.6M in fiscal year 2025. This represents a decrease of 163.3% from the prior year.
TransAlta Corp PFD E earned -$0.47 per diluted share (EPS) in fiscal year 2025.
Cash & Balance Sheet
TransAlta Corp PFD E generated $289.5M in free cash flow in fiscal year 2025, representing cash available after capex. This represents a decrease of 14.0% from the prior year.
TransAlta Corp PFD E held $149.5M in cash against $2.5B in long-term debt as of fiscal year 2025.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
Margins & Returns
TransAlta Corp PFD E's gross margin was 59.0% in fiscal year 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is down 4.0 percentage points from the prior year.
TransAlta Corp PFD E's operating margin was 5.8% in fiscal year 2025, reflecting core business profitability. This is down 14.7 percentage points from the prior year.
TransAlta Corp PFD E's net profit margin was -5.7% in fiscal year 2025, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 13.8 percentage points from the prior year.
TransAlta Corp PFD E's ROE was -9.9% in fiscal year 2025, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 23.0 percentage points from the prior year.
Capital Allocation
TransAlta Corp PFD E invested $181.6M in capex in fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents a decrease of 15.9% from the prior year.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
Not reported for fiscal year 2025.
TSLTF Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2540-F | FY2440-F | FY2340-F | FY2240-F | FY2140-F | FY2040-F | FY1940-F | FY1840-F | FY1740-F | FY1640-F | FY1540-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $1.8B-11.2% | $2.0B-22.3% | $2.5B+15.6% | $2.2B+3.3% | $2.1B+29.3% | $1.6B-9.0% | $1.8B+9.8% | $1.6B-10.6% | $1.8B+3.2% | $1.8B+9.0% | $1.6B |
| Cost of Revenue | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $759.0M-9.4% | $837.8M+3.9% | $806.2M-0.7% | $811.7M+13.2% | $717.3M-1.5% | $728.4M |
| Gross Profit | $1.0B-16.9% | $1.2B-24.7% | $1.7B+36.9% | $1.2B+3.7% | $1.2B+31.2% | $888.4M-8.7% | $972.8M+15.5% | $842.1M-18.4% | $1.0B-3.4% | $1.1B+17.4% | $909.7M |
| Operating Income | $102.1M-74.9% | $406.3M-50.8% | $824.9M+110.2% | $392.4Mn/m | -$187.1Mn/m | -$77.6M-130.0% | $258.4M+120.4% | $117.3M+6.4% | $110.3M-69.0% | $356.0M+232.9% | $106.9M |
| EBITDA | $524.4M-32.3% | $775.0M-40.2% | $1.3B+55.1% | $835.1M+122.3% | $375.7M-31.5% | $548.1M-31.9% | $805.4M+26.3% | $637.6M-5.7% | $675.9M-20.5% | $850.6M+56.3% | $544.1M |
| Interest Expense | $253.1M+12.5% | $225.0M+5.7% | $212.8M+0.7% | $211.4M+3757.8% | $5.5M-12.7% | $6.3M-95.5% | $138.1M-24.6% | $183.2M-7.1% | $197.3M+15.7% | $170.6M-6.0% | $181.4M |
| Income Tax | $12.4M-77.7% | $55.6M-12.7% | $63.6M-55.2% | $141.9M+302.9% | $35.2Mn/m | -$39.2M-398.9% | $13.1Mn/m | -$4.4M-108.6% | $51.1M+80.7% | $28.3M-62.7% | $75.9M |
| Net Income | -$100.6M-163.3% | $159.0M-69.8% | $526.4M+1324.7% | $36.9Mn/m | -$420.3Mn/m | -$225.0M-455.7% | $63.3Mn/m | -$145.1Mn/m | -$127.8M-201.5% | $125.9M+691.8% | $15.9M |
| EPS (Basic) | -$0.47 | $0.41-76.8% | $1.76 | $0.01 | -$1.67n/m | -$0.96 | $0.14 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| EPS (Diluted) | -$0.47 | $0.41-76.8% | $1.76 | $0.01 | -$1.67n/m | -$0.96 | $0.14 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 297M | 302M+9.4% | 276M | 271M | 271M-1.5% | 275M | 283M | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: R&D Expenses, SG&A Expenses.
TSLTF Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2540-F | FY2440-F | FY2340-F | FY2240-F | FY2140-F | FY2040-F | FY1940-F | FY1840-F | FY1740-F | FY1640-F | FY1540-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $6.3B-4.2% | $6.6B+0.6% | $6.6B-17.4% | $7.9B+9.9% | $7.2B-5.5% | $7.6B+4.2% | $7.3B+6.2% | $6.9B-16.1% | $8.2B+0.5% | $8.2B | N/A |
| Current Assets | $974.3M-20.9% | $1.2B+2.9% | $1.2B-56.4% | $2.7B+59.6% | $1.7B+15.3% | $1.5B+44.2% | $1.0B+7.6% | $961.6M-29.6% | $1.4B+18.0% | $1.2B | N/A |
| Cash & Equivalents | $149.5M-36.1% | $234.0M-11.2% | $263.6M-68.5% | $838.0M+13.1% | $741.2M+34.5% | $551.2M+73.8% | $317.1M+386.1% | $65.2M-74.0% | $250.9M+10.4% | $227.2M+482.2% | $39.0M |
| Inventory | $81.0M-13.0% | $93.1M-21.8% | $118.9M+2.5% | $116.0M-11.2% | $130.7M-30.0% | $186.6M-3.6% | $193.6M+9.2% | $177.4M+1.4% | $175.0M+10.3% | $158.6M+0.3% | $158.2M |
| Accounts Receivable | $509.8M-4.3% | $532.6M-12.9% | $611.3M-47.9% | $1.2B+130.5% | $509.5M+11.5% | $457.1M+28.3% | $356.4M-35.7% | $554.1M-25.7% | $745.4M+42.4% | $523.6M | N/A |
| Goodwill | $376.3M+4.8% | $359.0M+2.2% | $351.5M+2.5% | $342.9M-5.4% | $362.4M-0.2% | $363.1M+1.4% | $358.0M+5.3% | $340.1M-8.1% | $369.9M+7.0% | $345.6M | N/A |
| Total Liabilities | $5.2B-1.3% | $5.3B-1.4% | $5.4B-24.2% | $7.1B+19.0% | $6.0B+26.1% | $4.7B+29.3% | $3.7B-14.7% | $4.3B+9.0% | $3.9B-29.2% | $5.6B | N/A |
| Current Liabilities | $1.3B-25.2% | $1.8B+35.2% | $1.3B-38.2% | $2.1B+41.2% | $1.5B+106.1% | $733.2M-14.9% | $861.7M+33.6% | $645.0M-49.8% | $1.3B+41.7% | $906.5M | N/A |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $3.9B+10.8% | $3.5B-13.3% | $4.1B-18.2% | $5.0B+11.4% | $4.5B+11.5% | $4.0B+42.9% | $2.8B-23.3% | $3.7B+37.3% | $2.7B-42.9% | $4.7B | N/A |
| Long-Term Debt | $2.5B+10.9% | $2.2B+1.1% | $2.2B-13.5% | $2.6B+35.4% | $1.9B-25.7% | $2.6B+22.6% | $2.1B-8.9% | $2.3B-3.3% | $2.4B-14.7% | $2.8B | N/A |
| Total Equity | $1.0B-15.9% | $1.2B+4.1% | $1.2B+41.9% | $820.3M-33.8% | $1.2B-32.9% | $1.8B-19.3% | $2.3B+4.0% | $2.2B-17.3% | $2.7B+1.6% | $2.6B-17.6% | $3.2B |
| Retained Earnings | -$2.0Bn/m | -$1.7Bn/m | -$1.9Bn/m | -$1.9Bn/m | -$1.9Bn/m | -$1.4Bn/m | -$1.1Bn/m | -$1.1Bn/m | -$965.9Mn/m | -$694.9M | N/A |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Short-Term Investments, Long-Term Investments.
TSLTF Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2540-F | FY2440-F | FY2340-F | FY2240-F | FY2140-F | FY2040-F | FY1940-F | FY1840-F | FY1740-F | FY1640-F | FY1540-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $471.1M-14.8% | $552.8M-50.2% | $1.1B+71.1% | $648.1M-17.3% | $783.4M+42.3% | $550.5M-16.0% | $655.0M+9.0% | $601.0M+20.2% | $500.1M-9.7% | $554.1M+77.5% | $312.2M |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $422.3M+14.5% | $368.8M-21.6% | $470.4M+6.3% | $442.7M-21.3% | $562.7M-10.1% | $625.7M+14.4% | $547.0M+5.1% | $520.4M-8.0% | $565.6M+14.4% | $494.6M+13.1% | $437.2M |
| Capital Expenditures | $181.6M-15.9% | $216.0M-67.4% | $662.8M-2.3% | $678.4M+80.6% | $375.7M-1.4% | $381.1M+18.5% | $321.7M+58.5% | $203.0M-24.8% | $270.0M+1.3% | $266.6M-22.5% | $344.0M |
| Free Cash Flow | $289.5M-14.0% | $336.8M-24.5% | $446.1Mn/m | -$30.3M-107.4% | $407.8M+140.8% | $169.4M-49.2% | $333.3M-16.3% | $398.0M+73.0% | $230.1M-20.0% | $287.5Mn/m | -$31.8M |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$304.8Mn/m | -$361.1Mn/m | -$616.6Mn/m | -$547.6Mn/m | -$369.4Mn/m | -$538.7Mn/m | -$395.0Mn/m | -$288.8M-515.5% | $69.5Mn/m | -$243.6Mn/m | -$414.0M |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$264.0Mn/m | -$202.1Mn/m | -$1.1B-3361.8% | $33.3Mn/m | -$220.7M-203.5% | $213.3Mn/m | -$10.8Mn/m | -$477.1Mn/m | -$561.6Mn/m | -$121.4M-212.8% | $107.7M |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Stock-Based Compensation, Dividends Paid, Share Buybacks.
TSLTF Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | FY2540-F | FY2440-F | FY2340-F | FY2240-F | FY2140-F | FY2040-F | FY1940-F | FY1840-F | FY1740-F | FY1640-F | FY1540-F |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 59.0%-4.0pp | 63.1%-2.0pp | 65.1%+10.1pp | 54.9%+0.2pp | 54.7%+0.8pp | 53.9%+0.2pp | 53.7%+2.6pp | 51.1%-4.9pp | 56.0%-3.9pp | 59.8%+4.3pp | 55.5% |
| Operating Margin | 5.8%-14.7pp | 20.6%-11.9pp | 32.5%+14.6pp | 17.8%+26.6pp | -8.8%-4.1pp | -4.7%-19.0pp | 14.3%+7.2pp | 7.1%+1.1pp | 6.0%-14.0pp | 19.9%+13.4pp | 6.5% |
| Net Margin | -5.7%-13.8pp | 8.1%-12.7pp | 20.7%+19.0pp | 1.7%+21.4pp | -19.7%-6.1pp | -13.7%-17.1pp | 3.5%+12.3pp | -8.8%-1.9pp | -6.9%-14.0pp | 7.0%+6.1pp | 1.0% |
| Return on Equity | -9.9%-23.0pp | 13.1%-32.1pp | 45.2%+40.7pp | 4.5%+38.4pp | -33.9%-21.7pp | -12.2%-15.0pp | 2.8%+9.4pp | -6.6%-1.8pp | -4.8%-9.6pp | 4.8%+4.3pp | 0.5% |
| Return on Assets | -1.6%-4.0pp | 2.4%-5.6pp | 8.0%+7.6pp | 0.5%+6.3pp | -5.8%-2.9pp | -2.9%-3.8pp | 0.9%+3.0pp | -2.1%-0.6pp | -1.6%-3.1pp | 1.5% | N/A |
| Current Ratio | 0.730.0x | 0.69-0.2x | 0.91-0.4x | 1.29+0.1x | 1.14-0.9x | 2.03+0.8x | 1.20-0.3x | 1.49+0.4x | 1.06-0.2x | 1.28 | N/A |
| Debt-to-Equity | 2.44+0.6x | 1.85-0.1x | 1.91-1.2x | 3.13+1.6x | 1.53+0.1x | 1.38+0.5x | 0.91-0.1x | 1.04+0.2x | 0.89-0.2x | 1.06 | N/A |
| Liabilities-to-Equity | 5.14+0.8x | 4.38-0.2x | 4.63-4.0x | 8.68+3.8x | 4.83+2.3x | 2.57+1.0x | 1.61-0.4x | 1.96+0.5x | 1.49-0.6x | 2.13 | N/A |
| Asset Turnover | 0.280.0x | 0.30-0.1x | 0.39+0.1x | 0.280.0x | 0.29+0.1x | 0.220.0x | 0.250.0x | 0.240.0x | 0.220.0x | 0.22 | N/A |
| FCF Margin | 16.5%-0.5pp | 17.1%-0.5pp | 17.6%+18.9pp | -1.4%-20.5pp | 19.1%+8.9pp | 10.3%-8.1pp | 18.4%-5.7pp | 24.1%+11.7pp | 12.5%-3.6pp | 16.1%+18.0pp | -1.9% |
Note: The current ratio is below 1.0 (0.73), indicating current liabilities exceed current assets, which may suggest potential short-term liquidity concerns.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it. Market cap is stated at each company's latest close.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TransAlta Corp PFD E TSLTF | FY2025 | $1.8B | -$100.6M | -5.7% | N/A | — |
| Fortis Inc PFD F FORFF | FY2025 | $8.9B | $1.3B | 14.8% | N/A | — |
| Hydro One Ltd HRNNF | FY2025 | $6.6B | $976.5M | 14.8% | $24.6B | — |
| Greenbriar Susble Living GEBRF | FY2025 | N/A | -$1.1M | N/A | $13.4M | — |
| Wisc Elec PWR 6 PR WELPM | FY2025 | $4.5B | $626.8M | 14.0% | N/A | — |
Where TransAlta Corp PFD E Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) reported $1.8B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a -11.2% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) revenue declined by 11.2% year-over-year, from $2.0B to $1.8B in fiscal year 2025.
No, TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) reported a net loss of $100.6M in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of -5.7%.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) had EBITDA of $524.4M in fiscal year 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
As of fiscal year 2025, TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) had $149.5M in cash and equivalents against $2.5B in long-term debt.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) had a gross margin of 59.0% in fiscal year 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) had an operating margin of 5.8% in fiscal year 2025, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) had a net profit margin of -5.7% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) has a return on equity of -9.9% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) generated $289.5M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2025. This represents a -14.0% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) generated $471.1M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) had $6.3B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) invested $181.6M in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) had a current ratio of 0.73 as of fiscal year 2025, which is below 1.0, which may suggest potential liquidity concerns.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 2.44 as of fiscal year 2025. We compute it as long-term debt divided by total shareholder equity, where long-term debt is the noncurrent part of the company's borrowings, so debt due within the next twelve months is not counted.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) had a liabilities-to-equity ratio of 5.14 as of fiscal year 2025, which is total liabilities divided by total shareholder equity. Total liabilities counts every obligation on the balance sheet (payables, deposits, insurance reserves and deferred taxes as well as borrowings), so this ratio usually runs well above debt-to-equity.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) had a return on assets of -1.6% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 9, indicating neutral financial health. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) reported a net loss of $100.6M while generating $471.1M in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
TransAlta Corp PFD E (TSLTF) has an interest coverage ratio of 0.40x, meaning it can struggle to cover its interest obligations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.