Newest figures come from the filing for Q1 FY2025, filed Apr 22, 2025. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the UNBX SEC filings page.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) reported $0 in revenue for fiscal year 2024. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 9 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings.
The business is shrinking its operating footprint faster than it is reducing obligations, leaving a thinner equity cushion in FY2024.
In FY2024, operating cash flow of-$20.9M nearly matched the net loss of$26.0M , while free cash flow was also-$20.9M . Accounting losses therefore translated into cash consumption rather than being dominated by non-cash charges.
The balance sheet has become more encumbered: liabilities were
Short-term flexibility narrowed even though current assets still exceeded current liabilities: the current ratio fell from 5.9x in FY2023 to 2.6x in FY2024. Current assets fell
Financial Health Signals
We do not publish a peer-relative financial health score for Unity Biotechnology Inc, because the score only covers companies whose filings and listing give us what it needs to compare them with their peers. The signals and metrics below are current.
Unity Biotechnology Inc passes 1 of 7 computable financial strength tests (2 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 1 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution), the one computable operating efficiency signal (asset turnover improving) does not pass.
Unity Biotechnology Inc reported a net loss of $26.0M while operations used $20.9M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Unity Biotechnology Inc generated $0 in revenue in Q1 2025. The change from the same quarter a year earlier is not meaningful, because that figure was zero or negative.
Unity Biotechnology Inc's EBITDA was -$6.7M in Q1 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. The change from the same quarter a year earlier is not meaningful, because that figure was zero or negative.
Unity Biotechnology Inc reported a net loss of $7.3M in Q1 2025. The change from the same quarter a year earlier is not meaningful, because that figure was zero or negative. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.
Unity Biotechnology Inc earned -$0.43 per diluted share (EPS) in Q1 2025. The change from the same quarter a year earlier is not meaningful, because that figure was zero or negative. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Unity Biotechnology Inc held $8.0M in cash as of Q1 2025; no long-term debt figure is on record for that period.
Not reported for Q1 2025.
Not reported for Q1 2025.
Margins & Returns
None of these metrics is reported for Q1 2025.
Capital Allocation
Unity Biotechnology Inc invested $2.8M in research and development in Q1 2025. This represents a decrease of 25.5% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 8.7%.
Not reported for Q1 2025.
Not reported for Q1 2025.
UNBX Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'25Filing | Q4'24Filing | Q3'24Filing | Q2'24Filing | Q1'24Filing | Q4'23Filing | Q3'23Filing | Q2'23Filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $0n/m | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0n/m | N/A | N/A | $0-100.0% |
| R&D Expenses | $2.8M-25.5% | $3.0M-7.2% | $2.8M-39.8% | $3.5M-46.2% | $3.7M-35.4% | $3.3M-57.8% | $4.6M-49.0% | $6.4M-14.8% |
| SG&A Expenses | $4.1M+6.2% | $4.3M-3.6% | $3.8M-12.2% | $3.5M-35.0% | $3.9M-19.2% | $4.4M-16.5% | $4.3M-11.7% | $5.4M+9.6% |
| Operating Income | -$6.9Mn/m | -$10.0Mn/m | -$6.6Mn/m | -$7.0Mn/m | -$7.6Mn/m | -$7.7Mn/m | -$14.6Mn/m | -$11.8Mn/m |
| EBITDA | -$6.7Mn/m | N/A | -$6.4Mn/m | -$6.8Mn/m | -$7.4Mn/m | N/A | -$14.3Mn/m | -$11.5Mn/m |
| Interest Expense | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0-100.0% | N/A | $566K-34.6% | $883K-1.2% |
| Net Income | -$7.3Mn/m | -$8.4Mn/m | -$6.5Mn/m | -$5.3Mn/m | -$5.8Mn/m | -$4.3M | -$14.8Mn/m | -$15.5Mn/m |
| EPS (Basic) | -$0.43n/m | -$0.50n/m | -$0.38n/m | -$0.31n/m | -$0.34n/m | -$0.24n/m | -$1.01n/m | -$1.07 |
| EPS (Diluted) | -$0.43n/m | -$0.50n/m | -$0.38n/m | -$0.31n/m | -$0.34n/m | -$0.24n/m | -$1.01n/m | -$1.07 |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 17M+0.5% | N/A | 17M+15.4% | 17M+16.6% | 17M+17.3% | N/A | 15M+44.9% | 14M |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, Income Tax.
UNBX Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'25Filing | Q4'24Filing | Q3'24Filing | Q2'24Filing | Q1'24Filing | Q4'23Filing | Q3'23Filing | Q2'23Filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $30.3M-48.4% | $37.7M-42.7% | $47.1M-32.0% | $53.5M-47.0% | $58.9M-48.5% | $65.7M-47.2% | $69.3M-49.2% | $101.0M+3.5% |
| Current Assets | $17.6M-54.2% | $24.3M-47.9% | $30.3M-38.9% | $35.8M-50.9% | $38.5M-55.4% | $46.6M-51.7% | $49.5M-51.7% | $73.0M+7.6% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $8.0M+7.7% | $7.6M-61.7% | $8.9M+13.0% | $7.6M-60.3% | $7.4M-67.7% | $19.8M+55.5% | $7.9M-65.1% | $19.1M-1.7% |
| Short-Term Investments | $8.9M-69.1% | $15.7M-33.1% | $20.1M-47.1% | $26.4M-47.2% | $28.9M-52.2% | $23.4M-71.5% | $38.1M-50.2% | $50.0M+10.9% |
| Long-Term Investments | $0-100.0% | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0-100.0% | $2.0Mn/m | $0n/m | $0-100.0% | $1.9Mn/m |
| Total Liabilities | $30.6M-12.4% | $31.2M-16.4% | $33.0M-20.6% | $33.8M-43.9% | $34.9M-42.7% | $37.3M-45.4% | $41.5M-44.7% | $60.2M+4.5% |
| Current Liabilities | $9.1M+17.3% | $9.3M+18.1% | $8.8M+1.7% | $8.8M-60.2% | $7.7M-64.6% | $7.8M-60.0% | $8.6M-50.7% | $22.1M+34.8% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $21.5M-20.8% | $21.9M-25.6% | $24.2M-26.5% | $24.9M-34.5% | $27.1M-30.5% | $29.5M-39.5% | $32.9M-42.9% | $38.1M-7.6% |
| Long-Term Debt | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0-100.0% | $0-100.0% | $4.1M-67.9% |
| Total Equity | -$205K-100.9% | $6.5M-77.1% | $14.1M-49.0% | $19.8M-51.5% | $24.0M-55.0% | $28.4M-49.4% | $27.7M-54.6% | $40.8M+2.1% |
| Retained Earnings | -$517.6Mn/m | -$510.3Mn/m | -$501.9Mn/m | -$495.4Mn/m | -$490.1Mn/m | -$484.4Mn/m | -$480.0Mn/m | -$465.2Mn/m |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Goodwill.
UNBX Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'25Filing | Q4'24Filing | Q3'24Filing | Q2'24Filing | Q1'24Filing | Q4'23Filing | Q3'23Filing | Q2'23Filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | -$6.4Mn/m | -$5.9Mn/m | -$5.2Mn/m | -$4.6Mn/m | -$5.2Mn/m | -$7.6Mn/m | -$7.1Mn/m | -$11.1Mn/m |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $178K-21.6% | $203K-12.1% | $216K-29.9% | $221K-29.6% | $227K-31.0% | $231K-43.5% | $308K-42.4% | $314K-48.4% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | $617K-55.7% | N/A | $797K-53.3% | $974K-56.7% | $1.4M-35.9% | N/A | $1.7M-22.9% | $2.2M-0.1% |
| Capital Expenditures | N/A | $0n/m | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0-100.0% | $11K-77.1% | N/A |
| Free Cash Flow | N/A | -$5.9Mn/m | N/A | N/A | N/A | -$7.6Mn/m | -$7.1Mn/m | N/A |
| Investing Cash Flow | $6.8Mn/m | $4.6M-69.7% | $6.5M-54.3% | $4.7M-52.6% | -$7.2M-133.8% | $15.1Mn/m | $14.2Mn/m | $9.9M-44.3% |
| Financing Cash Flow | N/A | $9K-99.8% | $0n/m | $68Kn/m | $0-100.0% | $4.4M+2527.5% | -$18.4M-135.6% | -$2.6M-2002.2% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Dividends Paid, Share Buybacks.
UNBX Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q1'25Filing | Q4'24Filing | Q3'24Filing | Q2'24Filing | Q1'24Filing | Q4'23Filing | Q3'23Filing | Q2'23Filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Return on Equity | N/A | -130.0%-114.7pp | -45.8%+7.5pp | -26.7%+11.2pp | -24.1%-14.3pp | -15.3% | -53.3%-45.1pp | -37.9%-5.0pp |
| Return on Assets | -24.1%-14.2pp | -22.4%-15.8pp | -13.8%+7.6pp | -9.9%+5.4pp | -9.8%-5.2pp | -6.6% | -21.3%-17.7pp | -15.3%-1.8pp |
| Current Ratio | 1.95-3.0x | 2.62-3.3x | 3.45-2.3x | 4.07+0.8x | 4.98+1.0x | 5.94+1.0x | 5.74-0.1x | 3.30-0.8x |
| Debt-to-Equity | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | 0.00-0.2x | 0.00-0.2x | 0.10-0.2x |
| Liabilities-to-Equity | N/A | 4.80+3.5x | 2.33+0.8x | 1.71+0.2x | 1.45+0.3x | 1.31+0.1x | 1.50+0.3x | 1.480.0x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.000.0x | N/A | N/A | N/A | 0.000.0x | N/A | N/A | 0.000.0x |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, Operating Margin, Net Margin, FCF Margin.
Where Unity Biotechnology Inc Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) reported $0 in total revenue for fiscal year 2024. The change from the previous fiscal year is not meaningful, because that year’s figure was zero or negative. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
No, Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) reported a net loss of $26.0M in fiscal year 2024.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) had EBITDA of -$30.3M in fiscal year 2024, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) has a return on equity of -400.2% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) recorded an outflow of $20.9M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2024. The change from the previous fiscal year is not meaningful, because that year’s figure was zero or negative. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) recorded an outflow of $20.9M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2024, representing cash used by core business activities.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) had $37.7M in total assets as of fiscal year 2024, including both current and long-term assets.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) reported no capital expenditure during fiscal year 2024.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) invested $13.0M in research and development during fiscal year 2024.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) had a current ratio of 2.62 as of fiscal year 2024, which is generally considered healthy.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) had a liabilities-to-equity ratio of 4.80 as of fiscal year 2024, which is total liabilities divided by total shareholder equity. Total liabilities counts every obligation on the balance sheet (payables, deposits, insurance reserves and deferred taxes as well as borrowings), so this ratio usually runs well above debt-to-equity. No debt-to-equity ratio is shown for fiscal year 2024, because the filing data we hold for that year carries no long-term debt figure.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) had a return on assets of -69.0% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) has a Piotroski F-Score of 1 out of 7 computable signals; 2 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Unity Biotechnology Inc (UNBX) reported a net loss of $26.0M while operations used $20.9M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.