STOCK TITAN

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) Financials

AUVI
FY2023 annual
Revenue $40.7M +102.2% YoY
Net Income -$13.2M +20.3% YoY
EPS (Diluted) -$40.00 YoY not available
Operating Cash Flow -$8.2M +5.9% YoY
Source SEC Filings (10-K/10-Q) Latest period FY2023, ended Dec 31, 2023 Reported Currency USD FYE December

Newest figures come from the 10-K for FY2023, filed Apr 16, 2024. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) reported $40.7M in revenue for fiscal year 2023, up 102.2% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 6 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).

Rhea AI AUVI FY2023

Revenue expansion is being absorbed by operating costs, while recurring cash losses and tighter liquidity increase reliance on financing.

The key earnings-quality split is that net loss narrowed 20.3% from FY2022 to FY2023, while operating cash outflow narrowed only 5.9%. That mismatch means the accounting recovery was not matched by a comparable improvement in cash economics, leaving the business dependent on external funding.

Gross margin slipped from 20.1% in FY2022 to 19.2% in FY2023, yet operating margin improved from -89.8% to -48.1%. The pattern points to operating-expense absorption as revenue scaled, not stronger gross economics; overhead still consumed the gross profit.

Liquidity tightened structurally: the current ratio fell from 1.1x to 0.6x, placing current liabilities above current assets by FY2023. FY2023 financing cash flow of $11.5M was larger than operating cash outflow of $8.2M, indicating that operations did not fund the period's cash needs and the balance sheet increasingly relied on financing.

[ NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE ]

Financial Health Signals

Financial health score not available

Applied Uv Inc does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.

Piotroski F-Score Neutral
4/9

Applied Uv Inc passes 4 of 9 financial strength tests. 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 3 leverage/liquidity signals pass, 1 of 2 efficiency signals pass.

Earnings Quality No Cash Backing
N/A

Applied Uv Inc reported a net loss of $13.2M while operations used $8.2M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.

Interest Coverage At Risk
N/A

Applied Uv Inc reported an operating loss of $19.6M against $1.7M in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations.

Key Financial Metrics

Export CSV

Earnings & Revenue

Revenue
$7.8M
YoY+55.5%
QoQ-32.1%

Applied Uv Inc generated $7.8M in revenue in Q4 2023. This represents an increase of 55.5% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 32.1%.

EBITDA
-$10.4M
YoY-8.0%
QoQ-716.0%

Applied Uv Inc's EBITDA was -$10.4M in Q4 2023, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents a decrease of 8.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 716.0%.

Net Income
-$3.1M
YoY+66.8%
QoQ-20.4%

Applied Uv Inc reported -$3.1M in net income in Q4 2023. This represents an increase of 66.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 20.4%.

EPS (Diluted)
-$38.05

Applied Uv Inc earned -$38.05 per diluted share (EPS) in Q4 2023.

Cash & Balance Sheet

Cash & Debt
$1.1M
YoY-58.6%
QoQ-26.9%

Applied Uv Inc held $1.1M in cash against $4.4M in long-term debt as of Q4 2023.

Shares Outstanding
4M

Applied Uv Inc had 4M shares outstanding in Q4 2023.

Free Cash Flow

Not reported for Q4 2023.

Dividends Per Share

Not reported for Q4 2023.

Margins & Returns

Gross Margin
10.8%
YoY-4.1pp
QoQ-12.4pp

Applied Uv Inc's gross margin was 10.8% in Q4 2023, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is down 4.1 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 12.4 percentage points.

Net Margin
-39.9%
QoQ-17.4pp

Applied Uv Inc's net profit margin was -39.9% in Q4 2023, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. Against the prior quarter it is down 17.4 percentage points. No change is given against Q4 2022: its reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.

Return on Equity
-15.4%
YoY+38.8pp
QoQ-1.1pp

Applied Uv Inc's ROE was -15.4% in Q4 2023, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 38.8 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 1.1 percentage points.

Operating Margin

Not shown for Q4 2023: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.

Capital Allocation

R&D Spending
$92K
YoY+8.7%
QoQ+0.6%

Applied Uv Inc invested $92K in research and development in Q4 2023. This represents an increase of 8.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 0.6%.

Share Buybacks

Not reported for Q4 2023.

Capital Expenditures

Not reported for Q4 2023.

AUVI Income Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

AUVI quarterly income statement
MetricQ4'2310-KQ3'2310-QQ2'2310-QQ1'2310-QQ4'2210-KQ3'2210-QQ2'2210-QQ1'2210-Q
Revenue$7.8M+55.5%$11.4M+94.8%$10.8M+83.6%$10.7M+217.5%$5.0M+27.6%$5.9M+65.4%$5.9M+213.5%$3.4M+45.1%
Cost of Revenue$6.9M+63.0%$8.8M+74.5%$8.4M+83.2%$8.7M+295.7%$4.3M+82.6%$5.0M+101.5%$4.6M+240.8%$2.2M+59.0%
Gross Profit$839K+12.4%$2.7M+216.6%$2.4M+84.8%$1.9M+67.3%$747K-53.0%$839K-20.2%$1.3M+144.5%$1.1M+24.3%
R&D Expenses$92K+8.7%$91K-2.6%$180K+119.7%$189K+219.0%$84K$94K$82K+740.4%$59K+35.9%
SG&A Expenses$5.2M+24.1%$5.0M+43.0%$4.9M+22.1%$5.3M+69.8%$4.2M-4.4%$3.5M+30.6%$4.0M+49.4%$3.1M+93.6%
Operating Income-$10.9M-16.4%-$2.4M+11.2%-$2.7M+4.2%-$3.5M-12.1%-$9.4M-238.0%-$2.8M-69.2%-$2.8M-29.2%-$3.1M-336.9%
EBITDA-$10.4M-8.0%-$1.3M+32.5%-$2.1M-8.3%-$2.9M-7.0%-$9.6M-318.0%-$1.9M-28.0%-$1.9M+1.6%-$2.7M-332.0%
Interest Expense$308K+58.4%$558K+1197.2%$483K+885.6%$393K+9587.8%$194K$43K$49K$4K
Income TaxN/A$0$0$0$0-100.0%$0+100.0%$0$0
Net Income-$3.1M+66.8%-$2.6M+4.7%-$3.0M-3.6%-$4.5M-175.3%-$9.3M-197.5%-$2.7M-149.9%-$2.9M-35.1%-$1.6M-59.7%
EPS (Basic)-$38.05+78.1%-$0.32+73.6%-$0.77+39.8%N/A-$173.38-$1.21-$1.28N/A
EPS (Diluted)-$38.05-$0.32-$0.77N/A-$173.38-$1.21-$1.28N/A
Diluted Shares (Avg)N/A9M4MN/AN/A3M3MN/A

AUVI Balance Sheet

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

AUVI quarterly balance sheet
MetricQ4'2310-KQ3'2310-QQ2'2310-QQ1'2310-QQ4'2210-KQ3'2210-QQ2'2210-QQ1'2210-Q
Total Assets$58.4M+78.4%$71.6M+113.3%$73.0M+97.2%$73.0M+87.2%$32.7M-15.1%$33.6M+3.9%$37.0M+100.7%$39.0M+91.6%
Current Assets$17.0M+38.2%$21.4M+144.6%$22.2M+96.1%$21.1M+52.7%$12.3M-3.8%$8.7M-48.7%$11.3M+14.0%$13.8M+19.2%
Cash & Equivalents$1.1M-58.6%$1.5M+46.5%$3.3M+2.8%$2.1M-72.7%$2.7M-68.8%$1.1M-91.8%$3.2M-53.8%$7.6M-14.5%
Short-Term Investments$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0
Inventory$7.2M+30.2%$7.6M+70.7%$8.2M+75.5%$8.6M+149.8%$5.5M+234.6%$4.4M+245.4%$4.7M+690.0%$3.4M+972.2%
Accounts Receivable$3.9M+158.3%$6.1M+275.5%$5.0M+156.3%$4.8M+206.1%$1.5M+52.9%$1.6M+71.8%$2.0M+412.3%$1.6M+77.5%
Long-Term Investments$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0
Goodwill$14.7M+293.7%$17.8M+378.5%$17.8M+378.5%$17.8M+378.5%$3.7M-22.6%$3.7M+1.4%$3.7M+36.4%$3.7M+36.4%
Total Liabilities$33.5M+116.2%$48.8M+532.1%$48.0M+481.0%$49.4M+612.4%$15.5M+164.4%$7.7M+64.4%$8.3M+98.1%$6.9M+57.8%
Current Liabilities$27.9M+141.9%$42.0M+579.4%$40.0M+510.9%$40.8M+707.0%$11.5M+158.7%$6.2M+96.6%$6.5M+73.5%$5.1M+27.9%
Non-Current Liabilities$5.6M+41.8%$6.9M+343.4%$8.0M+366.7%$8.6M+357.0%$4.0M+182.4%$1.5M-0.6%$1.7M+332.6%$1.9M+327.2%
Long-Term Debt$4.4M+2684.5%$10.2M+6347.9%$10.7M+6703.1%$10.4M+6494.9%$158K0.0%$158K0.0%$158K0.0%$158K0.0%
Total Equity$20.1M+16.7%$18.0M-30.4%$20.2M-29.7%$18.8M-41.3%$17.2M-47.2%$25.8M-6.4%$28.7M+101.4%$32.0M+100.9%
Retained Earnings-$43.1M-52.5%-$39.5M-113.3%-$36.5M-136.1%-$33.1M-171.1%-$28.2M-176.5%-$18.5M-176.2%-$15.5M-187.1%-$12.2M-275.9%

AUVI Cash Flow Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

AUVI quarterly cash flow statement
MetricQ4'2310-KQ3'2310-QQ2'2310-QQ1'2310-QQ4'2210-KQ3'2210-QQ2'2210-QQ1'2210-Q
Operating Cash Flow-$374K+70.4%-$1.3M+28.1%-$3.3M+14.2%-$3.3M-75.9%-$1.3M+30.3%-$1.8M+1.5%-$3.9M-111.1%-$1.9M-18.2%
Depreciation & Amortization$536K+5.8%$1.2M+34.3%$598K-31.8%$661K+41.2%$507K+8.8%$879K+443.3%$876K+317.6%$468K+367.2%
Stock-Based CompensationN/AN/AN/A$192K-33.3%N/AN/AN/A$288K+36.7%
Investing Cash Flow-$245K-179.8%-$187K-202.7%-$134K-1249.9%-$4.3M-25355.8%-$88K+99.0%-$62K+98.6%-$10K-$17K+98.7%
Financing Cash Flow$203K-93.3%-$333K+8.5%$4.7M+1013.6%$6.9M+846.7%$3.0M-54.4%-$364K-103.0%-$514K-670.6%$728K+166693.1%
Dividends Paid$0-100.0%$0-100.0%$407K+12.4%$362K0.0%$362K0.0%$362K$362K$362K
Share BuybacksN/AN/AN/AN/A$0$0N/AN/A

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow.

AUVI Financial Ratios

Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

AUVI quarterly financial ratios
MetricQ4'2310-KQ3'2310-QQ2'2310-QQ1'2310-QQ4'2210-KQ3'2210-QQ2'2210-QQ1'2210-Q
Gross Margin10.8%-4.1pp23.2%+8.9pp22.2%+0.2pp18.0%-16.2pp14.9%-25.6pp14.3%-15.3pp22.1%-6.2pp34.2%-5.7pp
Operating Margin-140.2%-21.4%+25.6pp-24.8%+22.7pp-33.1%+60.7pp-187.2%-47.0%-1.0pp-47.6%-93.8%-62.7pp
Net Margin-39.9%-22.5%+23.5pp-27.6%+21.3pp-42.6%+6.5pp-186.7%-46.0%-15.5pp-48.9%-49.2%-4.5pp
Return on Equity-15.4%+38.8pp-14.3%-3.9pp-14.8%-4.8pp-24.2%-19.0pp-54.2%-44.6pp-10.4%-6.5pp-10.1%+4.9pp-5.1%+1.3pp
Return on Assets-5.3%+23.2pp-3.6%+4.5pp-4.1%+3.7pp-6.2%-2.0pp-28.5%-20.4pp-8.0%-4.7pp-7.8%+3.8pp-4.2%+0.9pp
Current Ratio0.61-0.5x0.51-0.9x0.55-1.2x0.52-2.2x1.07-1.8x1.41-4.0x1.73-0.9x2.73-0.2x
Debt-to-Equity0.22+0.2x0.56+0.6x0.53+0.5x0.55+0.5x0.010.0x0.010.0x0.010.0x0.000.0x
Asset Turnover0.130.0x0.160.0x0.150.0x0.15+0.1x0.15+0.1x0.17+0.1x0.16+0.1x0.090.0x

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: FCF Margin.

Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Operating Margin, Net Margin.

Note: The current ratio is below 1.0 (0.61), indicating current liabilities exceed current assets, which may suggest potential short-term liquidity concerns.

Similar Companies

Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.

Company Fiscal year Revenue Net income Net margin Market cap Health score
Applied Uv Inc AUVI FY2023 $40.7M -$13.2M -32.4% N/A
Luvu Brands LUVU FY2025 $24.7M -$448K -1.8% $2.3M
Summit Networks SNTW FY2025 $12K -$331K N/A $9.0M

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Applied Uv Inc's annual revenue?

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) reported $40.7M in total revenue for fiscal year 2023. This represents a 102.2% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.

How fast is Applied Uv Inc's revenue growing?

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) revenue grew by 102.2% year-over-year, from $20.1M to $40.7M in fiscal year 2023.

Is Applied Uv Inc profitable?

No, Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) reported a net income of -$13.2M in fiscal year 2023, with a net profit margin of -32.4%.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) reported diluted earnings per share of -$40.00 for fiscal year 2023. EPS represents the portion of a company's net income allocated to each outstanding share of common stock and is widely used to evaluate profitability on a per-share basis.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) had EBITDA of -$16.6M in fiscal year 2023, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.

As of fiscal year 2023, Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) had $1.1M in cash and equivalents against $4.4M in long-term debt.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) had a gross margin of 19.2% in fiscal year 2023, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) had an operating margin of -48.1% in fiscal year 2023, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) had a net profit margin of -32.4% in fiscal year 2023, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) has a return on equity of -65.7% for fiscal year 2023, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) recorded an outflow of $8.2M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2023, representing cash used by core business activities.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) had $58.4M in total assets as of fiscal year 2023, including both current and long-term assets.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) invested $552K in research and development during fiscal year 2023.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) had 4M shares outstanding as of fiscal year 2023.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) had a current ratio of 0.61 as of fiscal year 2023, which is below 1.0, which may suggest potential liquidity concerns.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.22 as of fiscal year 2023, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) had a return on assets of -22.6% for fiscal year 2023, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.

At the end of fiscal year 2023, Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) held $1.1M in cash, cash equivalents and investments, and reported an operating cash outflow of $8.2M over that year. Dividing the one by the other, the reported balance equals about 2 months of the outflow reported that year. This is arithmetic over figures already filed, not a projection: it assumes nothing about future spending, financing or operations.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 9, indicating neutral financial health. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) reported a net loss of $13.2M while operations used $8.2M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Applied Uv Inc (AUVI) reported an operating loss of $19.6M against $1.7M in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Back to top