STOCK TITAN

Durect (DRRX) Financials

DRRX
FY2024 annual
Revenue $2.0M -21.6% YoY
Net Income -$8.3M n/m YoY
EPS (Diluted) -$0.27 n/m YoY
Free Cash Flow -$19.1M n/m YoY
Source SEC Filings Latest period Q2 FY2025, ended Jun 30, 2025 Reported Currency USD FYE December

Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2025, filed Aug 13, 2025. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the DRRX SEC filings page.

Durect Corp (DRRX) reported $2.0M in revenue for fiscal year 2024, down 21.6% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings.

Rhea AI DRRX FY2024

DURECT’s numbers describe a development-stage business where sales remain small and research spending drives the economic model.

FY2024’s net loss of $8.3M sat beside operating cash flow of -$19.1M; accounting losses understated the cash consumed by ongoing operations. That gap matters because it links reported earnings to funding needs, while the reported 7.4 months of annual outflow measure places the latest balance against recent cash use rather than forecasting future operations.

R&D was $10.4M against revenue of $2.0M in FY2024, making development spending the dominant economic activity. Revenue had fallen 89.5% from FY2022 to FY2024 while R&D spending fell only 71.8%, so development activity contracted more slowly than the commercial base.

Capital expenditures were $0 in FY2024 while free cash flow was -$19.1M, so cash use was operating rather than investment-led. Liquidity also narrowed: current ratio fell from 5.9x in FY2020 to 1.7x in FY2024, leaving a less liquid balance-sheet posture than in the earlier period.

[ NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE ]

Financial Health Signals

Cash Runway Dilution R&DIntensity Revenue Progress BurnTrend BalanceSheet 47 / 100
Financial Health Score 47/100
Scored as: Emerging companies peer group

Scored against emerging companies for FY2024. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group, and the overall is the average of the dimensions that can be computed. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →

Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Durect Corp's business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.

Cash Runway
26

Durect Corp held $11.8M in cash, cash equivalents and investments at the end of fiscal year 2024, and its operations used $19.1M of cash that year. Cash Runway ranks emerging companies on the size of that balance against the outflow behind it, and Durect Corp scores 26/100 among other emerging companies.

Dilution
49

Durect Corp had 31M shares outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2024, against 31M in fiscal year 2023. Dilution ranks emerging companies on how fast that count has grown over three years, where a slower rise is the better one, and Durect Corp scores 49/100 among other emerging companies.

R&D Intensity
76

Durect Corp spent $10.4M on research and development in fiscal year 2024, which was 49.6% of its operating costs that year. R&D Intensity ranks emerging companies on the share of operating costs that goes into research, and Durect Corp scores 76/100 among other emerging companies.

Revenue Progress
1

Durect Corp reported revenue of $2.0M in fiscal year 2024, against $2.6M in fiscal year 2023. Revenue Progress ranks emerging companies on the three-year path of that line, and Durect Corp scores 1/100 among other emerging companies.

Burn Trend
63

Durect Corp's operations used $19.1M of cash in fiscal year 2024, against $34.4M used in fiscal year 2023. Burn Trend ranks emerging companies on which way that figure has moved over three years, and Durect Corp scores 63/100 among other emerging companies.

Balance Sheet
66

Durect Corp's cash, cash equivalents and investments came to $11.8M at the end of fiscal year 2024, against $9.2M of total liabilities. Balance Sheet ranks emerging companies on that comparison, and Durect Corp scores 66/100 among other emerging companies.

Piotroski F-Score Partial
4/8

Durect Corp passes 4 of 8 computable financial strength tests (1 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 1 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 2 leverage/liquidity signals pass, both operating efficiency signals pass.

Earnings Quality No Cash Backing
N/A

Durect Corp reported a net loss of $8.3M while operations used $19.1M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.

Key Financial Metrics

Export CSV

Earnings & Revenue

Revenue
$447K
YoY-30.8%
QoQ+39.3%

Durect Corp generated $447K in revenue in Q2 2025. This represents a decrease of 30.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 39.3%.

EBITDA
-$2.8M
QoQn/m

Durect Corp's EBITDA was -$2.8M in Q2 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.

Net Income
-$2.3M
YoYn/m
QoQn/m

Durect Corp reported a net loss of $2.3M in Q2 2025. The change from the same quarter a year earlier is not meaningful, because that figure was zero or negative. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.

EPS (Diluted)
-$0.07
YoYn/m
QoQn/m

Durect Corp earned -$0.07 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2025. The change from the same quarter a year earlier is not meaningful, because that figure was zero or negative. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.

Cash & Balance Sheet

Free Cash Flow
-$1.8M
QoQn/m

Durect Corp recorded an outflow of $1.8M in free cash flow in Q2 2025, representing a cash shortfall after capex. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.

Cash & Debt
$6.5M
YoY-58.4%
QoQ-18.3%
5Y CAGR-18.8%
10Y CAGR+0.8%

Durect Corp held $6.5M in cash as of Q2 2025; no long-term debt figure is on record for that period.

Shares Outstanding
31M
YoY0.0%
QoQ0.0%

Durect Corp had 31M shares outstanding in Q2 2025. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.

Dividends Per Share

Not reported for Q2 2025.

Margins & Returns

Gross Margin
98.4%
YoY+2.6pp

Durect Corp's gross margin was 98.4% in Q2 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is up 2.6 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier.

Return on Equity
-65.0%
YoY+8.4pp
QoQ+14.1pp

Durect Corp's quarterly ROE was -65.0% in Q2 2025: one quarter's net income over shareholder equity, not annualized. This is up 8.4 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 14.1 percentage points.

Operating Margin

Not shown for Q2 2025: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.

Net Margin

Not shown for Q2 2025: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.

Capital Allocation

R&D Spending
$1.2M
YoY-47.7%
QoQ-37.5%

Durect Corp invested $1.2M in research and development in Q2 2025. This represents a decrease of 47.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 37.5%.

Capital Expenditures
$0
QoQ-100.0%

Durect Corp reported no capital expenditure in Q2 2025. Against the prior quarter it is down 100.0%.

Share Buybacks

Not reported for Q2 2025.

DRRX Income Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

DRRX quarterly income statement
MetricQ2'2510-QQ1'25FilingQ4'2410-QQ3'24FilingQ2'2410-QQ1'24FilingQ4'23FilingQ3'23Filing
Revenue$447K-30.8%$321K-35.3%N/A$1.9M+10.5%$646K-69.0%$496K-75.9%$2.7M-19.5%$1.7M-85.4%
Cost of Revenue$7K-74.1%N/AN/A$513K+64.4%$27K-92.5%$289K-25.5%N/A$312K-9.6%
Gross Profit$440K-28.9%N/AN/A$1.4M-1.3%$619K-64.1%$207K-87.6%N/A$1.4M-87.7%
R&D Expenses$1.2M-47.7%$1.9M-54.3%N/A$2.2M-69.9%$2.2M-71.7%$4.1M-52.1%$5.6M-43.6%$7.2M-27.1%
SG&A Expenses$2.1M-19.4%$2.6M-3.9%N/A$3.2M-15.1%$2.6M-33.0%$2.7M-34.5%$2.7M-39.0%$3.8M-2.4%
Operating Income-$2.8Mn/m-$4.1Mn/mN/A-$4.0Mn/m-$4.2Mn/m-$6.3Mn/m-$6.3Mn/m-$9.6Mn/m
EBITDA-$2.8M-$4.1Mn/mN/A-$3.9Mn/mN/A-$6.3Mn/mN/A-$9.5Mn/m
Net Income-$2.3Mn/m-$4.2Mn/mN/A-$4.3Mn/m-$3.7Mn/m-$7.6Mn/m-$1.4Mn/m-$3.0Mn/m
EPS (Basic)-$0.07n/m-$0.13n/m$0.24n/m-$0.14n/m-$0.12n/m-$0.25n/m-$0.01-$0.11
EPS (Diluted)-$0.07n/m-$0.13n/m$0.24n/m-$0.14n/m-$0.12n/m-$0.25n/m-$0.13-$0.14
Diluted Shares (Avg)31M+0.4%31M+1.3%N/A31M+12.8%31M+26.6%31M+28.0%N/A28M

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Interest Expense, Income Tax.

DRRX Balance Sheet

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

DRRX quarterly balance sheet
MetricQ2'2510-QQ1'25FilingQ4'2410-QQ3'24FilingQ2'2410-QQ1'24FilingQ4'23FilingQ3'23Filing
Total Assets$12.5M-58.2%$14.4M-60.4%$18.3M-59.4%$24.1M-56.0%$29.9M-38.6%$36.2M-37.9%$45.2M-24.8%$54.7M-20.1%
Current Assets$7.8M-61.0%$9.4M-63.9%$13.2M-62.0%$14.4M-67.1%$19.9M-50.5%$26.1M-48.4%$34.7M-32.5%$43.8M-26.2%
Cash & Equivalents$6.5M-58.4%$8.0M-58.6%$11.0M-61.2%$9.1M-76.7%$15.6M-50.7%$19.3M-51.0%$28.4M-34.7%$39.0M-22.6%
Short-Term Investments$0n/m$297K-86.4%$792K-38.1%$1.3Mn/m$0-100.0%$2.2M-55.6%$1.3Mn/m$0-100.0%
Inventory$291K-88.2%$85K-96.5%$106K-19.7%$2.4M-5.8%$2.5M+9.4%$2.4M+8.5%$132K-93.8%$2.5M+11.1%
Accounts Receivable$511K-49.5%$330K-67.6%$453K-26.7%$1.0M+15.1%$1.0M-22.4%$1.0M-27.2%$618K-81.9%$883K-72.7%
Long-Term Investments$0n/m$0n/m$0n/m$0n/m$0n/m$0n/m$0n/m$0n/m
Goodwill$2.7M-55.8%$2.7M-55.8%$2.7M-55.8%$6.2M0.0%$6.2M0.0%$6.2M0.0%$6.2M0.0%$6.2M0.0%
Total Liabilities$9.0M-63.7%$9.0M-67.7%$9.2M-69.7%$22.8M-43.3%$24.8M-42.5%$27.9M-35.1%$30.4M-13.4%$40.3M+19.9%
Current Liabilities$7.9M-64.0%$7.7M-69.0%$7.7M-71.5%$20.2M-45.0%$21.9M-47.1%$24.7M-41.2%$27.0M-20.6%$36.8M+175.2%
Non-Current Liabilities$1.1M-61.7%$1.3M-58.0%$1.5M-55.6%$2.6M-26.0%$2.9M+67.3%$3.2M+245.5%$3.4M+205.6%$3.6M-82.4%
Long-Term DebtN/AN/AN/A$10.5M-44.0%$12.5M-39.5%$14.6M-31.4%$16.7M-21.3%$18.7M+4.3%
Total Equity$3.5M-30.9%$5.4M-35.5%$9.1M-38.2%$1.2M-91.6%$5.0M-8.4%$8.3M-45.9%$14.8M-40.8%$14.4M-58.7%
Retained Earnings-$603.8Mn/m-$601.6Mn/m-$597.3Mn/m-$604.6Mn/m-$600.3Mn/m-$596.6Mn/m-$589.0Mn/m-$587.6Mn/m

DRRX Cash Flow Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

DRRX quarterly cash flow statement
MetricQ2'2510-QQ1'25FilingQ4'2410-QQ3'24FilingQ2'2410-QQ1'24FilingQ4'23FilingQ3'23Filing
Operating Cash Flow-$1.8Mn/m-$3.5Mn/m-$5.5Mn/m-$3.1Mn/m-$3.7Mn/m-$6.8Mn/m-$8.3Mn/m-$7.5Mn/m
Depreciation & Amortization$20K$69K+35.3%$12K$23K-69.7%N/A$51K+15.9%N/A$76K+90.0%
Stock-Based Compensation$397K-6.4%$452K-11.2%N/A$458K-30.7%$424K-35.7%$509K-15.4%N/A$661K+14.4%
Capital Expenditures$0$7KN/AN/AN/AN/A$0-100.0%$13K-55.2%
Free Cash Flow-$1.8M-$3.6MN/AN/AN/AN/A-$8.3Mn/m-$7.5Mn/m
Investing Cash Flow$300K-86.4%$496Kn/m$18.0Mn/m-$1.3M-143.3%$2.2M+19.5%-$887Kn/m-$1.0M-170.1%$3.0M-46.0%
Financing Cash FlowN/AN/A-$10.6Mn/m-$2.1M-118.2%-$2.1Mn/m-$1.5M-115.0%-$1.2M-5208.3%$11.8M+46928.0%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Dividends Paid, Share Buybacks.

DRRX Financial Ratios

Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

DRRX quarterly financial ratios
MetricQ2'2510-QQ1'25FilingQ4'2410-QQ3'24FilingQ2'2410-QQ1'24FilingQ4'23FilingQ3'23Filing
Gross Margin98.4%+2.6ppN/AN/A73.4%-8.7pp95.8%+13.1pp41.7%-39.4ppN/A82.1%-15.0pp
Operating Margin-627.1%-1289.4%N/A-205.9%-649.2%-1271.0%-234.3%-548.0%
Net Margin-506.7%-1318.4%N/A-222.4%-572.8%-1540.9%-54.0%-172.9%
Return on Equity-65.0%+8.4pp-79.1%+13.0ppN/A-352.1%-331.2pp-73.5%+129.8pp-92.1%-13.9pp-9.7%+32.2pp-20.9%-13.8pp
Return on Assets-18.1%-5.8pp-29.5%-8.4ppN/A-17.8%-12.3pp-12.4%+10.6pp-21.1%-0.6pp-3.2%+14.2pp-5.5%-1.9pp
Current Ratio0.98+0.1x1.23+0.2x1.71+0.4x0.71-0.5x0.91-0.1x1.05-0.1x1.28-0.2x1.19-3.3x
Debt-to-EquityN/AN/AN/A8.60+7.3x2.49-1.3x1.76+0.4x1.13+0.3x1.30+0.8x
Liabilities-to-Equity2.58-2.3x1.68-1.7x1.01-1.0x18.77+16.0x4.93-2.9x3.36+0.6x2.06+0.7x2.80+1.8x
Asset Turnover0.040.0x0.020.0xN/A0.080.0x0.020.0x0.010.0x0.060.0x0.03-0.1x
FCF Margin-394.0%-1106.2%N/AN/AN/AN/A-311.9%-429.8%

Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Operating Margin, Net Margin, FCF Margin.

Similar Companies

Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it. Market cap is stated at each company's latest close.

Company Fiscal year Revenue Net income Net margin Market cap Health score
Durect Corp DRRX FY2024 $2.0M -$8.3M N/A N/A 47/100
Neurocrine Biosciences Inc NBIX FY2025 $2.9B $478.6M 16.7% $14.8B 79/100
Liquidia Corporation LQDA FY2025 $158.3M -$68.9M -43.5% $3.7B 64/100
Amylyx Pharmaceuticals, Inc. AMLX FY2025 $0 -$144.7M N/A $3.5B —
Supernus Pharmaceuticals, Inc. SUPN FY2025 $719.0M -$38.5M -5.4% $2.4B 53/100
BioCryst Pharmaceuticals Inc BCRX FY2025 $874.8M $263.9M 30.2% $2.1B 73/100

Frequently Asked Questions

Durect Corp (DRRX) reported $2.0M in total revenue for fiscal year 2024. This represents a -21.6% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.

Durect Corp (DRRX) revenue declined by 21.6% year-over-year, from $2.6M to $2.0M in fiscal year 2024.

No, Durect Corp (DRRX) reported a net loss of $8.3M in fiscal year 2024.

Durect Corp (DRRX) reported diluted earnings per share of -$0.27 for fiscal year 2024. The change from the previous fiscal year is not meaningful, because that year’s figure was zero or negative. EPS represents the portion of a company's net income allocated to each outstanding share of common stock and is widely used to evaluate profitability on a per-share basis.

Durect Corp (DRRX) had EBITDA of -$18.8M in fiscal year 2024, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.

Durect Corp (DRRX) had a gross margin of 96.2% in fiscal year 2024, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.

Durect Corp (DRRX) has a return on equity of -91.2% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.

Durect Corp (DRRX) recorded an outflow of $19.1M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2024. The change from the previous fiscal year is not meaningful, because that year’s figure was zero or negative. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.

Durect Corp (DRRX) recorded an outflow of $19.1M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2024, representing cash used by core business activities.

Durect Corp (DRRX) had $18.3M in total assets as of fiscal year 2024, including both current and long-term assets.

Durect Corp (DRRX) reported no capital expenditure during fiscal year 2024.

Durect Corp (DRRX) invested $10.4M in research and development during fiscal year 2024.

Durect Corp (DRRX) had 31M shares outstanding as of fiscal year 2024.

Durect Corp (DRRX) had a current ratio of 1.71 as of fiscal year 2024, which is generally considered healthy.

Durect Corp (DRRX) had a liabilities-to-equity ratio of 1.01 as of fiscal year 2024, which is total liabilities divided by total shareholder equity. Total liabilities counts every obligation on the balance sheet (payables, deposits, insurance reserves and deferred taxes as well as borrowings), so this ratio usually runs well above debt-to-equity. No debt-to-equity ratio is shown for fiscal year 2024, because the filing data we hold for that year carries no long-term debt figure.

Durect Corp (DRRX) had a return on assets of -45.4% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.

At the end of fiscal year 2024, Durect Corp (DRRX) held $11.8M in cash, cash equivalents and investments, and reported an operating cash outflow of $19.1M over that year. Dividing the one by the other, the reported balance equals about 7 months of the outflow reported that year. This is arithmetic over figures already filed, not a projection: it assumes nothing about future spending, financing or operations.

Durect Corp (DRRX) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 8 computable signals; 1 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Durect Corp (DRRX) reported a net loss of $8.3M while operations used $19.1M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Durect Corp (DRRX) scores 47 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating moderate standing within its emerging companies peer group. The score is the average of six dimensions (Cash Runway, Dilution, R&D Intensity, Revenue Progress, Burn Trend, Balance Sheet), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Back to top