Newest figures come from the 10-K for FY2023, filed Aug 9, 2024. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from.
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) reported $4.0M in revenue for fiscal year 2023, up 2.0% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 3 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Hempacco's dominant mechanic is deteriorating unit economics, where rising operating costs and cash needs increasingly outrun its sales base.
Revenue stayed roughly flat across FY2022 and FY2023, yet gross margin swung from6.0% to-30.1% ; the business therefore moved from thin product-level economics to selling below reported cost before overhead. That pattern points to a cost or product-mix problem, not simply slower demand.
The 2023 operating loss of
A financing inflow of
Financial Health Signals
HEMPACCO CO INC does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.
HEMPACCO CO INC passes 3 of 8 computable financial strength tests (1 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 2 leverage/liquidity signals pass, neither operating efficiency signal passes.
HEMPACCO CO INC reported a net loss of $13.4M while operations used $5.8M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
HEMPACCO CO INC reported an operating loss of $13.2M against $270K in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
HEMPACCO CO INC generated $2.0M in revenue in Q4 2023. This represents an increase of 285.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 53.9%.
HEMPACCO CO INC's EBITDA was -$6.8M in Q4 2023, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents a decrease of 34.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 231.8%.
HEMPACCO CO INC reported -$7.2M in net income in Q4 2023. This represents a decrease of 40.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 218.0%.
Not reported for Q4 2023.
Cash & Balance Sheet
HEMPACCO CO INC recorded an outflow of $889K in free cash flow in Q4 2023, representing a cash shortfall after capex. This represents an increase of 27.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 23.7%.
HEMPACCO CO INC held $110K in cash against $0 in long-term debt as of Q4 2023, with $12.9M of liabilities due within a year.
Not reported for Q4 2023.
Margins & Returns
HEMPACCO CO INC's gross margin was -24.6% in Q4 2023, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is up 51.7 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 8.4 percentage points.
Not shown for Q4 2023: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.
Not shown for Q4 2023: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.
Not reported for Q4 2023.
Capital Allocation
HEMPACCO CO INC invested $16K in capex in Q4 2023, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents a decrease of 75.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 8.1%.
Not reported for Q4 2023.
Not reported for Q4 2023.
HPCO Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K | Q3'2210-Q | Q2'2210-Q | Q1'2210-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $2.0M+285.8% | $1.3M+123.9% | $255K-86.4% | $424K-56.3% | $529K | $592K+39.3% | $1.9M | $971K |
| Cost of Revenue | $2.4M+157.8% | $1.8M+194.7% | $432K-69.1% | $460K-42.4% | $929K | $599K+89.9% | $1.4M | $799K |
| Gross Profit | -$503K-24.6% | -$438K-6752.2% | -$177K-137.2% | -$97K-156.6% | -$404K | -$6K-105.8% | $477K | $172K |
| R&D Expenses | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0 | N/A | N/A |
| SG&A Expenses | $2.9M+230.8% | $1.0M+31.1% | $947K+301.6% | $737K+0.8% | $881K | $792K+633.7% | $236K | $731K |
| Operating Income | -$7.1M-39.9% | -$2.1M-102.5% | -$1.6M-1677.8% | -$2.4M-176.4% | -$5.1M | -$1.0M-232.7% | -$92K | -$860K |
| EBITDA | -$6.8M-34.8% | -$2.1M-104.8% | -$1.6M-2217.9% | -$2.3M-180.1% | -$5.1M | -$1.0M | -$69K | -$838K |
| Interest Expense | $333K+529.2% | -$82K-2328.8% | $20K+445.5% | -$1K+64.2% | $53K | $4K+4.9% | -$6K | -$4K |
| Income Tax | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0 | N/A | N/A |
| Net Income | -$7.2M-40.7% | -$2.3M-115.5% | -$1.6M-1555.2% | -$2.4M-171.2% | -$5.1M | -$1.0M-185.7% | -$97K | -$877K |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: EPS (Basic), EPS (Diluted), Diluted Shares (Avg).
HPCO Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K | Q3'2210-Q | Q2'2210-Q | Q1'2210-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $18.0M+90.3% | $14.4M-1.5% | $12.6M | $13.8M | $9.5M+25.3% | $14.7M | N/A | N/A |
| Current Assets | $3.3M+71.9% | $3.2M-38.9% | $4.4M | $6.0M | $1.9M-9.9% | $5.2M | N/A | N/A |
| Cash & Equivalents | $110K-80.0% | $17K-99.4% | $1.4M+1947.9% | $4.0M+57172.0% | $548K-41.3% | $3.0M+6529.7% | $68K | $7K |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Inventory | $2.5M+294.1% | $910K+13.9% | $1.2M | $813K | $645K+224.3% | $799K | N/A | N/A |
| Accounts Receivable | $226K-2.2% | $554K+82.5% | $230K | $396K | $231K+60.3% | $304K | N/A | N/A |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Goodwill | $2.6M | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0 | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Total Liabilities | $18.8M+879.3% | $5.7M+171.4% | $2.0M | $1.7M | $1.9M-59.1% | $2.1M | N/A | N/A |
| Current Liabilities | $12.9M+747.9% | $5.5M+234.7% | $1.8M | $1.4M | $1.5M-63.5% | $1.6M | N/A | N/A |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $5.9M+1377.0% | $171K-61.6% | $0 | $230K | $402K-24.9% | $445K | N/A | N/A |
| Long-Term Debt | $0-100.0% | $0-100.0% | $0 | $0 | $143K-15.2% | $158K | N/A | N/A |
| Total Equity | -$368K-104.8% | $9.0M-28.9% | $10.7M+294.0% | $12.3M+409.5% | $7.7M+165.6% | $12.6M+438.9% | $2.7M | $2.4M |
| Retained Earnings | -$23.6M-125.4% | -$16.6M-203.1% | -$14.4M | -$12.8M | -$10.5M-202.5% | -$5.5M | N/A | N/A |
HPCO Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K | Q3'2210-Q | Q2'2210-Q | Q1'2210-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | -$873K+24.3% | -$1.2M+45.1% | -$1.9M-15651.2% | -$2.0M-72.5% | -$1.2M-590.0% | -$2.1M | $12K | -$1.1M |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $282K+480.4% | $53K+40.8% | $33K+45.5% | $31K+36.8% | -$74K-650.7% | $38K | $23K | $22K |
| Stock-Based Compensation | N/A | N/A | N/A | $13K | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0 |
| Capital Expenditures | $16K-75.3% | $15K-90.8% | $112K+3634.5% | $36K+802.0% | -$66K+4.6% | $162K | $3K | $4K |
| Free Cash Flow | -$889K+27.0% | -$1.2M+48.4% | -$2.0M-22081.2% | -$2.0M-75.0% | -$1.2M-805.8% | -$2.3M | $9K | -$1.1M |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$3.4M-1681.0% | -$15K+95.2% | -$112K-3634.5% | -$36K-200.6% | $218K+448.1% | -$315K | -$3K | $36K |
| Financing Cash Flow | $4.4M+396.1% | -$204K-103.8% | -$673K-1403.6% | $5.5M+3085.5% | -$1.5M-308.2% | $5.3M | $52K | $172K |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Dividends Paid, Share Buybacks.
HPCO Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K | Q3'2210-Q | Q2'2210-Q | Q1'2210-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | -24.6%+51.7pp | -33.0%-31.9pp | -69.7%-95.1pp | -22.9%-40.7pp | -76.3% | -1.1%-26.9pp | 25.4% | 17.7% |
| Operating Margin | -348.9% | -159.4% | -640.8% | -560.2% | -962.1% | -176.3% | -4.9% | -88.6% |
| Net Margin | -352.4% | -170.6% | -632.9% | -560.5% | -966.4% | -177.2% | -5.2% | -90.3% |
| Return on Equity | N/A | -25.3%-16.9pp | -15.0%-11.4pp | -19.4%+17.0pp | -66.8% | -8.3%+7.4pp | -3.6% | -36.4% |
| Return on Assets | -39.9%+14.1pp | -15.7%-8.5pp | -12.8% | -17.2% | -53.9% | -7.2% | N/A | N/A |
| Current Ratio | 0.25-1.0x | 0.58-2.6x | 2.46 | 4.19 | 1.25+0.7x | 3.17 | N/A | N/A |
| Debt-to-Equity | N/A | 0.000.0x | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.020.0x | 0.01 | N/A | N/A |
| Asset Turnover | 0.11+0.1x | 0.09+0.1x | 0.02 | 0.03 | 0.06 | 0.04 | N/A | N/A |
| FCF Margin | -43.5% | -87.9% | -776.6% | -469.6% | -230.4% | -381.2% | 0.5% | -117.2% |
Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Operating Margin, Net Margin, FCF Margin.
Note: Shareholder equity is negative (-$368K), which causes debt-to-equity and return on equity ratios to appear negative or not meaningful. This can occur from accumulated losses or large share buyback programs.
Note: The current ratio is below 1.0 (0.25), indicating current liabilities exceed current assets, which may suggest potential short-term liquidity concerns.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HEMPACCO CO INC HPCO | FY2023 | $4.0M | -$13.4M | N/A | N/A | — |
| VPR BRANDS LP VPRB | FY2025 | $3.6M | -$1.2M | -33.1% | $9.3M | — |
| HEALTHIER CHOICES MGMT HCMC | FY2025 | $3K | -$7.0M | N/A | $52.7M | — |
Where HEMPACCO CO INC Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is HEMPACCO CO INC's annual revenue?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) reported $4.0M in total revenue for fiscal year 2023. This represents a 2.0% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is HEMPACCO CO INC's revenue growing?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) revenue grew by 2.0% year-over-year, from $4.0M to $4.0M in fiscal year 2023.
Is HEMPACCO CO INC profitable?
No, HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) reported a net income of -$13.4M in fiscal year 2023.
What is HEMPACCO CO INC's EBITDA?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) had EBITDA of -$12.8M in fiscal year 2023, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
How much debt does HEMPACCO CO INC have?
As of fiscal year 2023, HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) had $110K in cash and equivalents against $0 in long-term debt.
What is HEMPACCO CO INC's gross margin?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) had a gross margin of -30.0% in fiscal year 2023, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.
What is HEMPACCO CO INC's free cash flow?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) recorded an outflow of $6.0M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2023. This represents a -34.6% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
What is HEMPACCO CO INC's operating cash flow?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) recorded an outflow of $5.8M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2023, representing cash used by core business activities.
What are HEMPACCO CO INC's total assets?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) had $18.0M in total assets as of fiscal year 2023, including both current and long-term assets.
What are HEMPACCO CO INC's capital expenditures?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) invested $179K in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2023, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
What is HEMPACCO CO INC's current ratio?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) had a current ratio of 0.25 as of fiscal year 2023, which is below 1.0, which may suggest potential liquidity concerns.
What is HEMPACCO CO INC's return on assets (ROA)?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) had a return on assets of -74.5% for fiscal year 2023, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
How does HEMPACCO CO INC's liquidity compare with its operating cash outflow?
At the end of fiscal year 2023, HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) held $110K in cash, cash equivalents and investments, and reported an operating cash outflow of $5.8M over that year. Dividing the one by the other, the reported balance equals about 0 months of the outflow reported that year. This is arithmetic over figures already filed, not a projection: it assumes nothing about future spending, financing or operations.
Why is HEMPACCO CO INC's debt-to-equity ratio negative or not reported?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) has negative shareholder equity of -$368K as of fiscal year 2023, so no debt-to-equity ratio is reported: dividing debt by equity that is not positive produces a number that cannot be read as leverage. This can occur when accumulated losses exceed invested capital, or after large share buyback programs. Other solvency metrics like the current ratio or interest coverage may be more informative.
What is HEMPACCO CO INC's Piotroski F-Score?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) has a Piotroski F-Score of 3 out of 8 computable signals; 1 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are HEMPACCO CO INC's earnings high quality?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) reported a net loss of $13.4M while operations used $5.8M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Can HEMPACCO CO INC cover its interest payments?
HEMPACCO CO INC (HPCO) reported an operating loss of $13.2M against $270K in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.