STOCK TITAN

Northern O & G (NOG) Financials

NOG
Trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026
Revenue $1.9B -25.6% YoY
Net Income -$486.0M -179.8% YoY
EPS (Diluted) -$5.16 -185.0% YoY
Operating Cash Flow $1.4B -4.5% YoY
Market Cap $2.8B as of Sep 3, 2026
Price / Sales 1.4x on $1.9B revenue, trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026
Price / Earnings n/m net loss, so no earnings multiple, trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026
Price / Book 1.4x on $2.0B equity, Q2 FY2026

A multiple compares the market's price with a filed figure; it says what the market pays, not how the business is doing. The market capitalization is the vendor's as of Sep 3, 2026; every other figure is from the SEC filings on this page. Not financial advice.

Source SEC Filings (10-K/10-Q) Latest period Q2 FY2026, ended Jun 30, 2026 Reported Currency USD FYE December

Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Aug 7, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the NOG SEC filings page.

Northern O & G (NOG) reported $1.9B in revenue over the twelve months to Jun 30, 2026, down 25.6% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).

Rhea AI NOG FY2025

Northern Oil and Gas converts operating activity into cash, but rising reinvestment and financing commitments leave reported profit unusually thin.

Gross margin stayed broadly stable from FY2024 to FY2025, yet operating margin fell from 37.6% to 9.9%; the issue was therefore below the gross-profit line, not simply weaker sales volume. Operating cash flow reached $1.5B against net income of only $38.8M, pointing to substantial noncash charges and/or working-capital effects that make accounting earnings and cash generation describe different timing.

The capital-intensive cash profile is clear: FY2025 operating cash flow of $1.5B was paired with investing outflows of -$1.3B. Cash generation is consequently being recycled into asset investment rather than appearing as readily distributable excess.

Balance-sheet flexibility narrowed compared with FY2023. Debt-to-equity rose from 0.9x to 1.1x, while the current ratio fell from 1.3x to 1.1x, leaving the company more dependent on continued operating cash generation to support its financing structure.

[ NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE ]

Financial Health Signals

Profitability Growth Leverage Liquidity CashFlow Returns 48 / 100
Financial Health Score 48/100
Scored as: Energy peer group

Scored against energy companies for FY2025. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →

Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Northern O & G's business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.

Profitability
69

Northern O & G has an operating margin of 9.9%, meaning the company retains $10 of operating profit per $100 of revenue. This strong profitability earns a score of 69/100, reflecting efficient cost management and pricing power. This is down from 37.6% the prior year.

Growth
65

Northern O & G's revenue grew 11.2% year-over-year to $2.5B, a solid pace of expansion. This earns a growth score of 65/100.

Leverage
42

Northern O & G has a moderate D/E ratio of 1.13. This balance of debt and equity financing earns a leverage score of 42/100.

Liquidity
38

Northern O & G's current ratio of 1.09 indicates adequate short-term liquidity, earning a score of 38/100. The company can meet its near-term obligations, though with limited headroom.

Cash Flow
0

Not available for Northern O & G, and counted as zero in the overall score.

Returns
73

Northern O & G earns a strong 1.8% return on equity (ROE), meaning it generates $2 of profit for every $100 of shareholders' equity. This efficient capital use earns a returns score of 73/100. This is down from 22.4% the prior year.

Altman Z-Score Distress
1.25

Northern O & G scores 1.25, below the 1.81 distress threshold. This indicates elevated financial distress risk and warrants close attention to liquidity and debt levels.

Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.

Piotroski F-Score Strong
7/9

Northern O & G passes 7 of 9 financial strength tests. 3 of 4 profitability signals pass, 2 of 3 leverage/liquidity signals pass, both operating efficiency signals pass.

Earnings Quality Cash-Backed
N/A

Northern O & G reported $38.8M of net income while generating $1.5B in operating cash flow. The ratio between the two is outside the range this page publishes as a per-dollar figure, so both figures are given instead.

Interest Coverage At Risk
1.43x

Northern O & G earns $1.43 in operating income for every $1 of interest expense ($245.8M vs $172.4M). This narrow margin raises concern about the company's ability to service its debt if operating income declines.

Key Financial Metrics

Export CSV

Earnings & Revenue

Revenue
$745.2M
YoY+5.4%
QoQ+14718.8%

Northern O & G generated $745.2M in revenue in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 5.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 14718.8%.

Net Income
$236.6M
YoY+137.6%
QoQ+145.3%

Northern O & G reported $236.6M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 137.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 145.3%.

EPS (Diluted)
$2.19
YoY+119.0%
QoQ+141.2%

Northern O & G earned $2.19 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 119.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 141.2%.

EBITDA

Not reported for Q2 2026.

Cash & Balance Sheet

Cash & Debt
$47.6M
YoY+84.1%
QoQ+28.5%
5Y CAGR+57.9%
10Y CAGR+29.2%

Northern O & G held $47.6M in cash against $2.7B in long-term debt as of Q2 2026.

Dividends Per Share
$0.45
YoY0.0%
QoQ0.0%

Northern O & G paid $0.45 per share in dividends in Q2 2026. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.

Shares Outstanding
107M
YoY+9.2%
QoQ+0.7%
5Y CAGR+10.0%
10Y CAGR+5.1%

Northern O & G had 107M shares outstanding in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 9.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 0.7%.

Free Cash Flow

Not reported for Q2 2026.

Margins & Returns

Gross Margin
83.0%
YoY+0.1pp

Northern O & G's gross margin was 83.0% in Q2 2026, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is up 0.1 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier.

Operating Margin
47.3%
YoY+22.4pp

Northern O & G's operating margin was 47.3% in Q2 2026, reflecting core business profitability. This is up 22.4 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier.

Net Margin
31.8%
YoY+17.7pp

Northern O & G's net profit margin was 31.8% in Q2 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is up 17.7 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier.

Return on Equity
11.9%
YoY+7.7pp
QoQ+41.2pp

Northern O & G's ROE was 11.9% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 7.7 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 41.2 percentage points.

Capital Allocation

Share Buybacks
$50.0M
YoY+43.0%

Northern O & G spent $50.0M on share buybacks in Q2 2026, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding. This represents an increase of 43.0% from the same quarter a year earlier.

R&D Spending

Not reported for Q2 2026.

Capital Expenditures

Not reported for Q2 2026.

NOG Income Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

NOG quarterly income statement
MetricQ2'2610-QQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-Q
Revenue$745.2M+5.4%$5.0M-99.2%$610.2M+18.5%$556.6M-26.1%$706.8M+26.0%$602.1M+51.9%$515.0M-35.1%$753.6M+140.0%
Cost of Revenue$127.1M+4.7%$129.7M+13.8%$119.9M+2.8%$118.3M+10.7%$121.4M+20.4%$114.0M+8.1%$116.6M+14.2%$106.9M+29.6%
Gross Profit$618.1M+5.6%-$124.7M-125.6%$490.3M+23.1%$438.3M-32.2%$585.4M+27.3%$488.1M+67.8%$398.4M-42.4%$646.7M+179.4%
SG&A Expenses$24.5M+57.0%$23.2M+60.0%$17.1M+10.3%$14.1M+40.9%$15.6M+15.4%$14.5M+27.1%$15.5M+62.5%$10.0M-15.5%
Operating Income$352.5M+100.1%-$654.9M-385.6%-$33.8M-125.5%-$125.8M-129.0%$176.2M-19.5%$229.3M+338.2%$132.6M-72.6%$433.9M+922.5%
Interest Expense$41.4M-6.6%$42.6M-1.8%$41.7M-7.9%$43.0M+16.7%$44.4M+17.8%$43.4M+14.3%$45.3M+24.0%$36.8M-0.5%
Income Tax$74.0M+129.8%-$173.1M-469.8%-$15.3M-195.0%-$39.7M-140.2%$32.2M-24.7%$46.8M+1544.6%$16.1M-72.5%$98.8M+577.4%
Net Income$236.6M+137.6%-$522.8M-476.2%-$70.7M-198.6%-$129.1M-143.2%$99.6M-28.1%$139.0M+1097.5%$71.7M-81.6%$298.4M+1043.0%
EPS (Basic)$2.24+119.6%-$5.31-476.6%-$0.72-198.6%-$1.33-144.3%$1.02-26.1%$1.41+1075.0%$0.73-82.1%$3.00+971.4%
EPS (Diluted)$2.19+119.0%-$5.31-482.0%-$0.71-198.6%-$1.33-144.9%$1.00-26.5%$1.39+1163.6%$0.72-82.3%$2.96+957.1%
Diluted Shares (Avg)108M+8.7%99M-1.5%N/A97M-3.6%99M-2.5%100M-1.6%N/A101M+7.4%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: R&D Expenses, EBITDA.

NOG Balance Sheet

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

NOG quarterly balance sheet
MetricQ2'2610-QQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-Q
Total Assets$5.8B+2.2%$5.5B-2.8%$5.4B-3.5%$5.5B+8.7%$5.7B+20.7%$5.7B+22.5%$5.6B+25.0%$5.1B+17.4%
Current Assets$502.1M-14.7%$472.9M-9.3%$586.0M+17.0%$542.5M+4.5%$588.4M+42.2%$521.6M+26.4%$500.7M-1.7%$518.9M+10.5%
Cash & Equivalents$47.6M+84.1%$37.0M+10.3%$14.3M+60.1%$31.6M-7.9%$25.9M+232.4%$33.6M+3.4%$8.9M+9.0%$34.4M+165.3%
Short-Term Investments$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0
Accounts Receivable$377.8M-7.9%$395.3M-3.5%$349.9M-10.2%$334.0M+5.4%$410.2M+14.1%$409.6M+23.7%$389.7M+5.2%$316.9M-12.8%
Long-Term Investments$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0
Total Liabilities$3.8B+16.5%$3.7B+14.0%$3.3B0.0%$3.2B+18.5%$3.3B+23.8%$3.3B+24.3%$3.3B+34.8%$2.7B-5.4%
Current Liabilities$630.5M+29.1%$899.4M+59.4%$539.3M-0.9%$495.3M+17.9%$488.2M+4.9%$564.3M+31.8%$544.3M+41.1%$420.3M-30.2%
Non-Current Liabilities$3.2B+14.3%$2.8B+4.5%$2.7B+0.2%$2.8B+18.6%$2.8B+27.9%$2.7B+22.9%$2.7B+33.6%$2.3B+1.2%
Long-Term Debt$2.7B+15.2%$2.6B+10.4%$2.4B+1.1%$2.3B+20.1%$2.4B+26.2%$2.3B+19.2%$2.4B+29.1%$2.0B-5.1%
Total Equity$2.0B-17.3%$1.8B-25.7%$2.1B-8.4%$2.2B-3.0%$2.4B+16.7%$2.4B+20.0%$2.3B+13.3%$2.3B+64.3%
Retained Earnings$195.1M-71.4%-$41.6M-107.1%$481.3M+8.8%$552.0M+48.9%$681.1M+841.1%$581.5M+978.6%$442.5M+668.9%$370.8M+179.5%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Inventory, Goodwill.

NOG Cash Flow Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

NOG quarterly cash flow statement
MetricQ2'2610-QQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-Q
Operating Cash Flow$321.6M-11.2%$323.6M-20.6%$312.6M+7.7%$423.1M+9.7%$362.1M+6.4%$407.4M+3.9%$290.3M-15.2%$385.8M+46.2%
Stock-Based Compensation$4.4M+16.8%$3.7M+3.7%N/AN/A$3.8M$3.6M+57.3%N/AN/A
Investing Cash Flow-$379.8M-16.1%-$634.7M-139.9%-$308.1M+53.5%-$352.6M+7.7%-$327.3M-46.6%-$264.6M+35.0%-$662.6M-75.2%-$381.9M+37.7%
Financing Cash Flow$74.2M+274.3%$333.8M+382.3%-$21.9M-106.3%-$64.8M-385.5%-$42.6M+70.0%-$118.2M-401.7%$346.9M+1018.3%$22.7M-93.5%
Dividends Paid$47.4M+7.0%$44.5M+6.6%$43.7M+4.6%$43.7M+9.6%$44.3M+10.1%$41.7M+4.1%$41.8M+18.5%$39.9M+16.2%
Share Buybacks$50.0M+43.0%$0-100.0%$7.0M-72.2%$0-100.0%$35.0M+0.4%$15.0M-25.0%$25.2M$14.5M

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Depreciation & Amortization, Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow.

NOG Financial Ratios

Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

NOG quarterly financial ratios
MetricQ2'2610-QQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-Q
Gross Margin83.0%+0.1pp-2480.0%80.3%+3.0pp78.7%-7.1pp82.8%+0.8pp81.1%+7.7pp77.4%-9.8pp85.8%+12.1pp
Operating Margin47.3%+22.4pp-13022.1%-5.5%-31.3pp-22.6%-80.2pp24.9%-14.1pp38.1%+24.9pp25.8%-35.2pp57.6%+44.1pp
Net Margin31.8%+17.7pp-10396.6%-11.6%-25.5pp-23.2%-62.8pp14.1%-10.6pp23.1%+20.2pp13.9%-35.1pp39.6%+31.3pp
Return on Equity11.9%+7.7pp-29.3%-35.1pp-3.3%-6.4pp-5.8%-18.6pp4.1%-2.6pp5.8%+5.2pp3.1%-15.9pp12.9%+11.1pp
Return on Assets4.1%+2.3pp-9.5%-11.9pp-1.3%-2.6pp-2.4%-8.2pp1.8%-1.2pp2.5%+2.2pp1.3%-7.4pp5.9%+5.3pp
Current Ratio0.80-0.4x0.53-0.4x1.09+0.2x1.10-0.1x1.21+0.3x0.920.0x0.92-0.4x1.23+0.5x
Debt-to-Equity1.37+0.4x1.43+0.5x1.13+0.1x1.05+0.2x0.98+0.1x0.960.0x1.02+0.1x0.84-0.6x
Asset Turnover0.130.0x0.00-0.1x0.110.0x0.100.0x0.120.0x0.110.0x0.09-0.1x0.15+0.1x

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: FCF Margin.

Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Gross Margin, Operating Margin, Net Margin.

Similar Companies

Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.

Company Fiscal year Revenue Net income Net margin Market cap Health score
Northern O & G NOG FY2025 $2.5B $38.8M 1.6% $2.8B 48/100
Sitio Royalties STR FY2024 $624.4M $40.9M 6.6% $1.4B 53/100
Gulfport Energy Corp GPOR FY2025 $1.4B $428.0M 30.1% $3.2B 36/100
Sm Energy SM FY2025 $3.2B $648.0M 20.5% $9.1B 51/100
Black Stone Minerals L P BSM FY2025 $469.9M $299.9M 63.8% $3.2B 61/100
Murphy Oil MUR FY2025 $2.7B $104.2M 3.8% $5.4B 32/100

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Northern O & G's annual revenue?

Northern O & G (NOG) reported $2.5B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 11.2% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.

How fast is Northern O & G's revenue growing?

Northern O & G (NOG) revenue grew by 11.2% year-over-year, from $2.2B to $2.5B in fiscal year 2025.

Is Northern O & G profitable?

Yes, Northern O & G (NOG) reported a net income of $38.8M in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 1.6%.

Northern O & G (NOG) reported diluted earnings per share of $0.39 for fiscal year 2025. This represents a -92.4% change compared to the previous fiscal year. EPS represents the portion of a company's net income allocated to each outstanding share of common stock and is widely used to evaluate profitability on a per-share basis.

As of fiscal year 2025, Northern O & G (NOG) had $14.3M in cash and equivalents against $2.4B in long-term debt.

Northern O & G (NOG) had a gross margin of 80.9% in fiscal year 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.

Northern O & G (NOG) had an operating margin of 9.9% in fiscal year 2025, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.

Northern O & G (NOG) had a net profit margin of 1.6% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.

Northern O & G (NOG) has a return on equity of 1.8% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.

Northern O & G (NOG) generated $1.5B in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.

Northern O & G (NOG) had $5.4B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.

Yes, Northern O & G (NOG) spent $57.0M on share buybacks during fiscal year 2025, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding.

Northern O & G (NOG) had 97M shares outstanding as of fiscal year 2025.

Northern O & G (NOG) had a current ratio of 1.09 as of fiscal year 2025, which is considered adequate.

Northern O & G (NOG) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 1.13 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.

Northern O & G (NOG) had a return on assets of 0.7% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.

Northern O & G (NOG) has no price-to-earnings ratio at the moment: net loss, so no earnings multiple (trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026). The market capitalization is $2.8B as of Sep 3, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.

Northern O & G (NOG) trades at 1.4x sales, its market capitalization divided by revenue of $1.9B revenue, trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026. The market capitalization is $2.8B as of Sep 3, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.

Northern O & G (NOG) has an Altman Z-Score of 1.25, placing it in the Distress Zone (elevated bankruptcy risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Northern O & G (NOG) has a Piotroski F-Score of 7 out of 9, indicating strong financial health. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Northern O & G (NOG) reported $38.8M of net income while generating $1.5B in operating cash flow. The ratio between the two is outside the range this page publishes as a per-dollar figure, so both figures are given instead. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Northern O & G (NOG) has an interest coverage ratio of 1.43x, meaning it can struggle to cover its interest obligations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Northern O & G (NOG) scores 48 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating moderate standing within its energy companies peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Profitability, Growth, Leverage, Liquidity, Cash Flow, Returns), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Back to top