A multiple compares the market's price with a filed figure; it says what the market pays, not how the business is doing. The market capitalization is the vendor's as of Sep 3, 2026; every other figure is from the SEC filings on this page. Not financial advice.
Newest figures come from the 20-F for FY2025, filed Feb 18, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the NTB SEC filings page.
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) reported $606.8M in revenue for fiscal year 2025, up 4.6% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 12 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Share reduction and low formal debt shape a bank whose per-share growth outpaces modest earnings growth
From FY2023 to FY2025, net income increased2.9% while diluted shares declined16.0% . That shrinking denominator helped diluted EPS rise19.4% , showing per-share performance was amplified by capital returns rather than earnings growth alone.
Operating cash flow exceeded net income in both FY2023 and FY2025, supporting a pattern of earnings accompanied by cash generation. The excess narrowed from
FY2025 liabilities were
Financial Health Signals
Scored against banks for FY2025. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →
Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son earned a return on assets of 1.7% in fiscal year 2025, which is the profit it made on every dollar of assets on its books. This is up from 1.5% the prior year. Earnings ranks banks on that return over three years, and Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son scores 88/100 among other banks.
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son reported revenue of $606.8M in fiscal year 2025, against $579.9M in fiscal year 2024. Growth ranks banks on the three-year path of their net revenue, which is interest income and fee income less the interest they pay out, and Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son scores 19/100 among other banks.
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son funded 8.1% of its assets with shareholders' equity at the end of fiscal year 2025, holding $1.1B of equity against $14.1B of assets. Capital ranks banks on that cushion, and Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son scores 10/100 among other banks.
Efficiency measures what a bank spends running itself against the revenue that spending brings in, so a lower ratio is the better one. Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son scores 37/100 on it among other banks.
Not available for Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son, and counted as zero in the overall score.
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son reported net income of $231.9M in fiscal year 2025, against $216.3M in fiscal year 2024. Stability ranks banks on how steady net income has been across five years, and Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son scores 84/100 among other banks.
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son passes 7 of 7 computable financial strength tests (2 of the nine could not be computed from available data). All 4 profitability signals pass (positive income, cash flow, and earnings quality), all 2 leverage/liquidity signals pass, both operating efficiency signals pass.
For every $1 of reported earnings, Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son generates $1.21 in operating cash flow ($279.6M OCF vs $231.9M net income). This indicates profits are well-supported by actual cash generation, not accounting adjustments.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
None of these metrics is reported for Q4 2025.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son held $1.7B in cash against $0 in long-term debt as of Q4 2025.
Not reported for Q4 2025.
Not reported for Q4 2025.
Margins & Returns
None of these metrics is reported for Q4 2025.
Capital Allocation
None of these metrics is reported for Q4 2025.
NTB Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Revenue, Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses, SG&A Expenses, Operating Income, EBITDA, Interest Expense, Income Tax, Net Income, EPS (Basic), EPS (Diluted), Diluted Shares (Avg).
NTB Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q4'2520-F | Q4'2420-F | Q4'2310-K | Q4'2210-K | Q4'2110-K | Q4'2010-K | Q4'1910-K | Q4'1810-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $14.1B-1.0% | $14.2B+6.4% | $13.4B-6.5% | $14.3B-6.7% | $15.3B+4.0% | $14.7B+5.9% | $13.9B+29.2% | $10.8B-0.1% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $1.7B-14.5% | $2.0B+21.3% | $1.6B-21.6% | $2.1B-3.6% | $2.2B-33.7% | $3.3B+29.0% | $2.6B+24.2% | $2.1B+33.8% |
| Short-Term Investments | $756.5M+30.4% | $580.0M-44.1% | $1.0B+17.4% | $884.5M-26.2% | $1.2B+45.7% | $823.0M-32.4% | $1.2B+2228.0% | $52.3M-79.1% |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Goodwill | $25.4M+7.5% | $23.6M-2.0% | $24.1M+5.3% | $22.9M-9.7% | $25.4M-1.1% | $25.6M+3.2% | $24.8M+3.5% | $24.0M+11.4% |
| Total Liabilities | $13.0B-1.9% | $13.2B+6.8% | $12.4B-8.0% | $13.4B-6.4% | $14.4B+4.4% | $13.8B+6.2% | $13.0B+31.0% | $9.9B-0.7% |
| Long-Term Debt | $0-100.0% | $98.7M+0.2% | $98.5M-42.8% | $172.3M+0.2% | $171.9M+0.2% | $171.5M+19.5% | $143.5M+0.1% | $143.3M+22.5% |
| Total Equity | $1.1B+11.9% | $1.0B+1.7% | $1.0B+16.0% | $864.8M-11.5% | $977.5M-0.5% | $981.9M+1.9% | $963.7M+9.2% | $882.3M+7.2% |
| Retained Earnings | $494.4M+17.0% | $422.5M+23.3% | $342.5M+49.1% | $229.7M+120.2% | $104.3M+207.6% | $33.9M+467.2% | -$9.2M+90.0% | -$92.7M+54.6% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Current Assets, Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Current Liabilities, Non-Current Liabilities.
NTB Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Operating Cash Flow, Depreciation & Amortization, Stock-Based Compensation, Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow, Investing Cash Flow, Financing Cash Flow, Dividends Paid, Share Buybacks.
NTB Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, Operating Margin, Net Margin, Return on Equity, Return on Assets, Current Ratio, Asset Turnover, FCF Margin.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son NTB | FY2025 | $606.8M | $231.9M | 38.2% | $2.4B | 40/100 |
| First Commonwealth Financial FCF | FY2025 | $632.7M | $152.3M | 24.1% | $2.1B | 64/100 |
| OFG Bancorp OFG | FY2025 | $780.9M | $205.1M | 26.3% | $2.2B | 56/100 |
| Northwest Bancshares Inc Md NWBI | FY2025 | $749.7M | $126.0M | 16.8% | $2.3B | 50/100 |
| City Hldg Co CHCO | FY2025 | $314.2M | $130.5M | 41.5% | $2.0B | 53/100 |
| Veritex Holdings VBTX | FY2024 | $757.2M | $107.2M | 14.2% | $1.7B | 62/100 |
Where Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's annual revenue?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) reported $606.8M in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 4.6% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's revenue growing?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) revenue grew by 4.6% year-over-year, from $579.9M to $606.8M in fiscal year 2025.
Is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son profitable?
Yes, Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) reported a net income of $231.9M in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 38.2%.
How much debt does Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son have?
As of fiscal year 2025, Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) had $1.7B in cash and equivalents against $0 in long-term debt.
What is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's net profit margin?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) had a net profit margin of 38.2% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
Does Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son pay dividends?
Yes, Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) paid $1.88 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.
What is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's return on equity (ROE)?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) has a return on equity of 20.3% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's operating cash flow?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) generated $279.6M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's total assets?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) had $14.1B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's debt-to-equity ratio?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.00 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's return on assets (ROA)?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) had a return on assets of 1.7% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's P/E ratio?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) trades at 10.3x earnings, its market capitalization divided by net income of $231.9M net income, FY2025. The market capitalization is $2.4B as of Sep 3, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's price-to-sales ratio?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) trades at 4.0x sales, its market capitalization divided by revenue of $606.8M revenue, FY2025. The market capitalization is $2.4B as of Sep 3, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's Piotroski F-Score?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) has a Piotroski F-Score of 7 out of 7 computable signals; 2 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son's earnings high quality?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) has an earnings quality ratio of 1.21x, considered cash-backed (high quality). This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
How financially healthy is Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son?
Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NTB) scores 40 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating moderate standing within its banks peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Earnings, Growth, Capital, Efficiency, Credit Quality, Stability), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.