A multiple compares the market's price with a filed figure; it says what the market pays, not how the business is doing. The market capitalization is the vendor's as of Sep 12, 2026; every other figure is from the SEC filings on this page. Not financial advice.
Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Jul 31, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the NWL SEC filings page.
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) reported $7.2B in revenue over the twelve months to Jun 30, 2026, down 2.0% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Newell's dominant mechanic is margin recovery without profit conversion, leaving a shrinking revenue base increasingly burdened by debt.
Across FY2023-FY2025, gross margin widened from28.9% to33.8% even as operating margin remained near zero, showing gross-profit improvement was absorbed below that line. Positive operating cash flow of$264M converted into only$17M of FCF in FY2025, so internal cash generation was largely consumed by reinvestment rather than debt reduction.
Debt-to-equity rose from 1.2x in FY2021 to 1.9x in FY2025, making the capital structure more debt-dependent. The current ratio narrowed from 1.3x to 1.1x over the same span, leaving less short-term balance-sheet cushion.
Revenue declined from
Financial Health Signals
Scored against operating companies for FY2025. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →
Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Newell Brands Inc.'s business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.
Newell Brands Inc. has an operating margin of 0.5%, meaning the company retains $1 of operating profit per $100 of revenue. This results in a moderate score of 31/100, indicating healthy but not exceptional operating efficiency. This is down from 0.9% the prior year.
Newell Brands Inc.'s revenue declined 5.0% year-over-year, from $7.6B to $7.2B. This contraction results in a growth score of 14/100.
Newell Brands Inc. has elevated debt relative to equity (D/E of 1.90), meaning the company relies heavily on borrowed funds. This high leverage results in a low score of 3/100, reflecting increased financial risk.
Newell Brands Inc.'s current ratio of 1.07 is below the typical benchmark, resulting in a score of 22/100. This tight liquidity could limit financial flexibility if cash inflows slow.
While Newell Brands Inc. generated $264.0M in operating cash flow, capex of $247.0M consumed most of it, leaving $17.0M in free cash flow. This results in a low score of 35/100, reflecting heavy capital investment rather than weak cash generation.
Newell Brands Inc. posts a -11.9% return on equity (ROE), meaning it loses $12 for every $100 of shareholders' equity. This results in a returns score of 31/100. This is down from -7.8% the prior year.
Newell Brands Inc. scores 0.46, below the 1.81 distress threshold. This indicates elevated financial distress risk and warrants close attention to liquidity and debt levels.
Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.
Newell Brands Inc. passes 3 of 9 financial strength tests. 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution), 1 of 2 efficiency signals pass.
Newell Brands Inc. reported a net loss of $285.0M while generating $264.0M in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
Newell Brands Inc. earns $0.12 in operating income for every $1 of interest expense ($39.0M vs $321.0M). This narrow margin raises concern about the company's ability to service its debt if operating income declines.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Newell Brands Inc. generated $2.0B in revenue in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 3.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 28.7%.
Newell Brands Inc.'s EBITDA was $361.0M in Q2 2026, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents an increase of 44.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 219.5%.
Newell Brands Inc. reported $106.0M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 130.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 421.2%.
Newell Brands Inc. earned $0.25 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 127.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 412.5%.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Newell Brands Inc. recorded an outflow of $18.0M in free cash flow in Q2 2026, representing a cash shortfall after capex. This represents an increase of 84.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 93.3%.
Newell Brands Inc. held $209.0M in cash against $4.5B in long-term debt as of Q2 2026.
Newell Brands Inc. paid $0.07 per share in dividends in Q2 2026. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.
Margins & Returns
Newell Brands Inc.'s gross margin was 40.7% in Q2 2026, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is up 5.3 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 7.6 percentage points.
Newell Brands Inc.'s operating margin was 14.2% in Q2 2026, reflecting core business profitability. This is up 5.3 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 12.0 percentage points.
Newell Brands Inc.'s net profit margin was 5.3% in Q2 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is up 2.9 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 7.4 percentage points.
Newell Brands Inc.'s ROE was 4.3% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 2.6 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 5.7 percentage points.
Capital Allocation
Newell Brands Inc. invested $47.0M in capex in Q2 2026, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents a decrease of 20.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 27.0%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
NWL Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $2.0B+3.0% | $1.5B-1.1% | $1.9B-2.7% | $1.8B-7.2% | $1.9B-4.8% | $1.6B-5.3% | $1.9B-6.1% | $1.9B-4.9% |
| Cost of Revenue | $1.2B-5.4% | $1.0B-2.5% | $1.3B-1.1% | $1.2B-6.2% | $1.3B-6.3% | $1.1B-7.5% | $1.3B-11.8% | $1.3B-11.1% |
| Gross Profit | $812.0M+18.5% | $513.0M+2.0% | $628.0M-5.7% | $616.0M-9.3% | $685.0M-2.0% | $503.0M-0.2% | $666.0M+7.2% | $679.0M+9.3% |
| SG&A Expenses | $519.0M+2.2% | $472.0M+0.2% | $514.0M-9.0% | $492.0M-8.2% | $508.0M-2.3% | $471.0M+1.9% | $565.0M+3.9% | $536.0M+7.0% |
| Operating Income | $283.0M+65.5% | $34.0M+61.9% | -$272.0M-3122.2% | $119.0M+198.3% | $171.0M+4.9% | $21.0M+31.3% | $9.0M+190.0% | -$121.0M+23.9% |
| EBITDA | $361.0M+44.4% | $113.0M+17.7% | -$192.0M-320.7% | $196.0M+590.0% | $250.0M+3.3% | $96.0M-5.0% | $87.0M+3.6% | -$40.0M+48.7% |
| Interest Expense | $87.0M+6.1% | $84.0M+16.7% | $84.0M+16.7% | $83.0M+10.7% | $82.0M+5.1% | $72.0M+2.9% | $72.0M+2.9% | $75.0M+8.7% |
| Income Tax | $89.0M+256.0% | -$28.0M-55.6% | -$44.0M-76.0% | $21.0M+400.0% | $25.0M-35.9% | -$18.0M+64.7% | -$25.0M+67.9% | -$7.0M+91.3% |
| Net Income | $106.0M+130.4% | -$33.0M+10.8% | -$315.0M-483.3% | $21.0M+110.6% | $46.0M+2.2% | -$37.0M-311.1% | -$54.0M+37.2% | -$198.0M+9.2% |
| EPS (Basic) | $0.25+127.3% | -$0.08+11.1% | -$0.75-476.9% | $0.05+110.4% | $0.110.0% | -$0.09-350.0% | -$0.13+38.1% | -$0.48+9.4% |
| EPS (Diluted) | $0.25+127.3% | -$0.08+11.1% | -$0.75-476.9% | $0.05+110.4% | $0.110.0% | -$0.09-350.0% | -$0.13+38.1% | -$0.48+9.4% |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 430M+2.2% | 422M+1.2% | N/A | 424M+1.8% | 421M+0.6% | 417M+0.5% | N/A | 416M+0.4% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: R&D Expenses.
NWL Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $11.1B-3.9% | $10.9B-3.7% | $10.7B-2.6% | $11.3B-4.1% | $11.5B-4.5% | $11.3B-6.8% | $11.0B-9.5% | $11.8B-6.4% |
| Current Assets | $3.2B+3.1% | $2.9B-4.4% | $2.7B-2.4% | $2.9B-12.6% | $3.1B-9.2% | $3.0B-10.4% | $2.8B-17.3% | $3.4B-10.3% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $209.0M-4.6% | $201.0M-13.7% | $203.0M+2.5% | $229.0M-53.6% | $219.0M-42.7% | $233.0M-37.4% | $198.0M-40.4% | $494.0M+24.7% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Inventory | $1.5B-1.6% | $1.5B-5.9% | $1.3B-8.5% | $1.5B-11.9% | $1.5B-7.6% | $1.6B-6.4% | $1.4B-8.6% | $1.7B-7.1% |
| Accounts Receivable | $1.0B-5.2% | $893.0M+0.1% | $987.0M+12.4% | $943.0M+1.3% | $1.1B+0.8% | $892.0M-6.9% | $878.0M-26.5% | $931.0M-23.2% |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Goodwill | $3.1B-0.5% | $3.1B+1.1% | $3.1B+2.1% | $3.1B+0.8% | $3.1B+1.6% | $3.1B0.0% | $3.0B-1.1% | $3.1B+0.8% |
| Total Liabilities | $8.6B-2.3% | $8.5B-0.8% | $8.3B+0.9% | $8.6B-3.6% | $8.8B-1.7% | $8.6B-4.8% | $8.3B-8.8% | $8.9B-5.6% |
| Current Liabilities | $2.9B+3.9% | $2.8B+4.0% | $2.5B+3.6% | $2.6B-23.9% | $2.8B-20.6% | $2.7B-9.1% | $2.4B-15.9% | $3.4B+12.7% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $5.7B-5.2% | $5.7B-3.0% | $5.8B-0.3% | $6.0B+8.9% | $6.0B+10.4% | $5.9B-2.7% | $5.8B-5.5% | $5.5B-14.3% |
| Long-Term Debt | $4.5B0.0% | $4.5B+0.4% | $4.5B+0.8% | $4.5B+10.9% | $4.5B+11.7% | $4.5B-0.8% | $4.5B-1.5% | $4.1B-13.6% |
| Total Equity | $2.5B-9.0% | $2.3B-12.9% | $2.4B-13.1% | $2.7B-5.7% | $2.7B-12.6% | $2.7B-12.5% | $2.8B-11.6% | $2.9B-8.5% |
| Retained Earnings | -$3.2B-7.5% | -$3.3B-9.4% | -$3.2B-9.7% | -$2.9B-0.8% | -$2.9B-9.0% | -$3.0B-8.9% | -$2.9B-7.9% | -$2.9B-9.4% |
NWL Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $29.0M+150.0% | -$233.0M-9.4% | $161.0M+7.3% | $374.0M+32.6% | -$58.0M-281.3% | -$213.0M-765.6% | $150.0M-40.2% | $282.0M-29.9% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $78.0M-1.3% | $79.0M+5.3% | $80.0M+2.6% | $77.0M-4.9% | $79.0M0.0% | $75.0M-11.8% | $78.0M-17.0% | $81.0M0.0% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | N/A | $17.0M+6.3% | N/A | N/A | N/A | $16.0M0.0% | N/A | N/A |
| Capital Expenditures | $47.0M-20.3% | $37.0M-37.3% | $70.0M-27.1% | $59.0M+15.7% | $59.0M+11.3% | $59.0M0.0% | $96.0M+28.0% | $51.0M-23.9% |
| Free Cash Flow | -$18.0M+84.6% | -$270.0M+0.7% | $91.0M+68.5% | $315.0M+36.4% | -$117.0M-457.1% | -$272.0M-907.4% | $54.0M-69.3% | $231.0M-31.0% |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$37.0M+43.1% | -$29.0M-7.4% | -$49.0M-11.4% | -$23.0M0.0% | -$65.0M-91.2% | -$27.0M+46.0% | -$44.0M+15.4% | -$23.0M+56.6% |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$3.0M-102.7% | $286.0M+5.9% | -$160.0M+58.7% | -$323.0M-127.5% | $112.0M+522.2% | $270.0M+350.0% | -$387.0M-49.4% | -$142.0M+42.5% |
| Dividends Paid | $30.0M+3.4% | $36.0M+16.1% | $30.0M+3.4% | $30.0M+3.4% | $29.0M0.0% | $31.0M0.0% | $29.0M0.0% | $29.0M0.0% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Share Buybacks.
NWL Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 40.7%+5.3pp | 33.1%+1.0pp | 33.1%-1.1pp | 34.1%-0.8pp | 35.4%+1.0pp | 32.1%+1.6pp | 34.2%+4.3pp | 34.9%+4.5pp |
| Operating Margin | 14.2%+5.3pp | 2.2%+0.8pp | -14.3%-14.8pp | 6.6%+12.8pp | 8.8%+0.8pp | 1.3%+0.4pp | 0.5%+0.9pp | -6.2%+1.6pp |
| Net Margin | 5.3%+2.9pp | -2.1%+0.2pp | -16.6%-13.8pp | 1.2%+11.3pp | 2.4%+0.2pp | -2.4%-1.8pp | -2.8%+1.4pp | -10.2%+0.5pp |
| Return on Equity | 4.3%+2.6pp | -1.4%0.0pp | -13.2%-11.2pp | 0.8%+7.7pp | 1.7%+0.3pp | -1.4%-1.1pp | -2.0%+0.8pp | -6.9%+0.1pp |
| Return on Assets | 1.0%+0.6pp | -0.3%0.0pp | -2.9%-2.5pp | 0.2%+1.9pp | 0.4%0.0pp | -0.3%-0.3pp | -0.5%+0.2pp | -1.7%+0.1pp |
| Current Ratio | 1.110.0x | 1.04-0.1x | 1.07-0.1x | 1.14+0.1x | 1.12+0.1x | 1.130.0x | 1.140.0x | 0.99-0.3x |
| Debt-to-Equity | 1.85+0.2x | 1.94+0.3x | 1.90+0.3x | 1.68+0.3x | 1.68+0.4x | 1.68+0.2x | 1.64+0.2x | 1.43-0.1x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.180.0x | 0.140.0x | 0.180.0x | 0.160.0x | 0.170.0x | 0.140.0x | 0.180.0x | 0.170.0x |
| FCF Margin | -0.9%+5.1pp | -17.4%-0.1pp | 4.8%+2.0pp | 17.4%+5.6pp | -6.0%-5.0pp | -17.4%-15.7pp | 2.8%-5.7pp | 11.9%-4.5pp |
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newell Brands Inc. NWL | FY2025 | $7.2B | -$285.0M | -4.0% | $2.5B | 23/100 |
| Interparfums, Inc. IPAR | FY2025 | $1.5B | $208.0M | 14.0% | $3.6B | 77/100 |
| COTY INC COTY | FY2026 | $5.8B | -$604.8M | -10.4% | $2.4B | 28/100 |
| e.l.f. Beauty, Inc. ELF | FY2026 | $1.6B | $26.3M | 1.6% | $5.7B | 61/100 |
| Spectrum Brands Holdings, Inc. SPB | FY2025 | $2.8B | $99.9M | 3.6% | $2.0B | 36/100 |
| Edgewell Personal Care Company EPC | FY2025 | $2.2B | $25.4M | 1.1% | $1.2B | 37/100 |
Where Newell Brands Inc. Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s annual revenue?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) reported $7.2B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a -5.0% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is Newell Brands Inc.'s revenue growing?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) revenue declined by 5.0% year-over-year, from $7.6B to $7.2B in fiscal year 2025.
Is Newell Brands Inc. profitable?
No, Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) reported a net income of -$285.0M in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of -4.0%.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s EBITDA?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) had EBITDA of $350.0M in fiscal year 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
How much debt does Newell Brands Inc. have?
As of fiscal year 2025, Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) had $203.0M in cash and equivalents against $4.5B in long-term debt.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s gross margin?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) had a gross margin of 33.8% in fiscal year 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s operating margin?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) had an operating margin of 0.5% in fiscal year 2025, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s net profit margin?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) had a net profit margin of -4.0% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
Does Newell Brands Inc. pay dividends?
Yes, Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) paid $0.28 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s return on equity (ROE)?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) has a return on equity of -11.9% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s free cash flow?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) generated $17.0M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2025. This represents a -92.8% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s operating cash flow?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) generated $264.0M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are Newell Brands Inc.'s total assets?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) had $10.7B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What are Newell Brands Inc.'s capital expenditures?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) invested $247.0M in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
How much does Newell Brands Inc. spend on research and development?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) invested $114.0M in research and development during fiscal year 2025.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s current ratio?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) had a current ratio of 1.07 as of fiscal year 2025, which is considered adequate.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s debt-to-equity ratio?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 1.90 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s return on assets (ROA)?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) had a return on assets of -2.7% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s P/E ratio?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) has no price-to-earnings ratio at the moment: net loss, so no earnings multiple (trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026). The market capitalization is $2.5B as of Sep 12, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s price-to-sales ratio?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) trades at 0.3x sales, its market capitalization divided by revenue of $7.2B revenue, trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026. The market capitalization is $2.5B as of Sep 12, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s Altman Z-Score?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) has an Altman Z-Score of 0.46, placing it in the Distress Zone (elevated bankruptcy risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
What is Newell Brands Inc.'s Piotroski F-Score?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) has a Piotroski F-Score of 3 out of 9, indicating weak financial health. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Newell Brands Inc.'s earnings high quality?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) reported a net loss of $285.0M while generating $264.0M in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Can Newell Brands Inc. cover its interest payments?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) has an interest coverage ratio of 0.12x, meaning it can struggle to cover its interest obligations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
How financially healthy is Newell Brands Inc.?
Newell Brands Inc. (NWL) scores 23 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating weak standing within its operating companies peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Profitability, Growth, Leverage, Liquidity, Cash Flow, Returns), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.