STOCK TITAN

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) Financials

SCPH
FY2024 annual
Revenue $36.3M +167.3% YoY
Net Income -$85.1M -55.4% YoY
EPS (Diluted) -$1.91 -34.5% YoY
Free Cash Flow -$70.6M -19.0% YoY
Source SEC Filings (10-K/10-Q) Latest period Q2 FY2025, ended Jun 30, 2025 Reported Currency USD FYE December

Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2025, filed Aug 7, 2025. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the SCPH SEC filings page.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) reported $36.3M in revenue for fiscal year 2024, up 167.3% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 9 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).

Rhea AI SCPH FY2024

Revenue expansion is being absorbed by selling costs, leaving commercialization dependent on external financing and a thinner equity cushion.

Revenue more than doubled by FY2024, while gross margin compressed from 72.0% to 68.7%, indicating growth came with some unit-economics dilution. SG&A reached $77.6M—about 3.1x gross profit—keeping operating cash flow at -$70.5M despite the larger revenue base.

Leverage intensified as debt-to-equity climbed from 1.0x in FY2023 to 3.9x in FY2024 while equity fell, meaning losses are being financed with a much thinner balance-sheet cushion. The current ratio remained 7.1x, so short-term liquidity did not translate into stronger overall solvency.

Cash conversion is tightly linked to operating spending: operating cash flow of -$70.5M nearly matched free cash flow of -$70.6M, showing the cash requirement is overwhelmingly operating rather than capital investment. Reported liquidity equaled 12.9 months of the latest annual outflow, a balance comparison rather than evidence of internally funded operations.

[ NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE ]

Financial Health Signals

Cash Runway Dilution R&DIntensity Revenue Progress BurnTrend BalanceSheet 45 / 100
Financial Health Score 45/100
Scored as: Emerging companies peer group

Scored against emerging companies for FY2024. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →

Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of scPharmaceuticals Inc.'s business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.

Cash Runway
34

scPharmaceuticals Inc. held $75.7M in cash, cash equivalents and investments at the end of fiscal year 2024, and its operations used $70.5M of cash that year. Cash Runway ranks emerging companies on the size of that balance against the outflow behind it, and scPharmaceuticals Inc. scores 34/100 among other emerging companies.

Dilution
36

scPharmaceuticals Inc. had 50M shares outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2024, against 36M in fiscal year 2023. Dilution ranks emerging companies on how fast that count has grown over three years, where a slower rise is the better one, and scPharmaceuticals Inc. scores 36/100 among other emerging companies.

R&D Intensity
39

scPharmaceuticals Inc. spent $12.1M on research and development in fiscal year 2024, which was 12.0% of its operating costs that year. R&D Intensity ranks emerging companies on the share of operating costs that goes into research, and scPharmaceuticals Inc. scores 39/100 among other emerging companies.

Revenue Progress
90

scPharmaceuticals Inc. reported revenue of $36.3M in fiscal year 2024, against $13.6M in fiscal year 2023. Revenue Progress ranks emerging companies on the three-year path of that line, and scPharmaceuticals Inc. scores 90/100 among other emerging companies.

Burn Trend
18

scPharmaceuticals Inc.'s operations used $70.5M of cash in fiscal year 2024, against $59.2M used in fiscal year 2023. Burn Trend ranks emerging companies on which way that figure has moved over three years, and scPharmaceuticals Inc. scores 18/100 among other emerging companies.

Balance Sheet
53

scPharmaceuticals Inc.'s cash, cash equivalents and investments came to $75.7M at the end of fiscal year 2024, against $94.2M of total liabilities. Balance Sheet ranks emerging companies on that comparison, and scPharmaceuticals Inc. scores 53/100 among other emerging companies.

Altman Z-Score Distress
-3.47

scPharmaceuticals Inc. scores -3.47, below the 1.81 distress threshold. The score is driven primarily by a large market capitalization ($304.4M) relative to total liabilities ($94.2M). This indicates elevated financial distress risk and warrants close attention to liquidity and debt levels.

Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.

Piotroski F-Score Weak
3/9

scPharmaceuticals Inc. passes 3 of 9 financial strength tests. 1 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 3 leverage/liquidity signals pass, 1 of 2 efficiency signals pass.

Earnings Quality No Cash Backing
N/A

scPharmaceuticals Inc. reported a net loss of $85.1M while operations used $70.5M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.

Interest Coverage At Risk
N/A

scPharmaceuticals Inc. reported an operating loss of $64.8M against $7.6M in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations.

Key Financial Metrics

Export CSV

Earnings & Revenue

Revenue
$16.0M
YoY+99.2%
QoQ+36.5%

scPharmaceuticals Inc. generated $16.0M in revenue in Q2 2025. This represents an increase of 99.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 36.5%.

EBITDA
-$14.3M
YoY+0.9%
QoQ+19.5%

scPharmaceuticals Inc.'s EBITDA was -$14.3M in Q2 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents an increase of 0.9% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 19.5%.

Net Income
-$18.0M
YoY-5.5%
QoQ+8.7%

scPharmaceuticals Inc. reported -$18.0M in net income in Q2 2025. This represents a decrease of 5.5% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 8.7%.

EPS (Diluted)
-$0.34
YoY+22.7%
QoQ+8.1%

scPharmaceuticals Inc. earned -$0.34 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2025. This represents an increase of 22.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 8.1%.

Cash & Balance Sheet

Cash & Debt
$40.8M
YoY+6.0%
QoQ-29.1%
5Y CAGR-12.3%

scPharmaceuticals Inc. held $40.8M in cash against $51.2M in long-term debt as of Q2 2025.

Shares Outstanding
53M
YoY+6.5%
QoQ+1.0%
5Y CAGR+14.3%

scPharmaceuticals Inc. had 53M shares outstanding in Q2 2025. This represents an increase of 6.5% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 1.0%.

Free Cash Flow

Not reported for Q2 2025.

Dividends Per Share

Not reported for Q2 2025.

Margins & Returns

Gross Margin
68.8%
YoY-2.7pp
QoQ-1.7pp

scPharmaceuticals Inc.'s gross margin was 68.8% in Q2 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is down 2.7 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 1.7 percentage points.

Operating Margin
-89.1%

scPharmaceuticals Inc.'s operating margin was -89.1% in Q2 2025, reflecting core business profitability. No change is given against Q2 2024: its reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.

Net Margin

Not shown for Q2 2025: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.

Return on Equity

Not reported for Q2 2025.

Capital Allocation

R&D Spending
$4.1M
YoY+53.1%
QoQ-11.5%

scPharmaceuticals Inc. invested $4.1M in research and development in Q2 2025. This represents an increase of 53.1% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 11.5%.

Share Buybacks

Not reported for Q2 2025.

Capital Expenditures

Not reported for Q2 2025.

SCPH Income Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SCPH quarterly income statement
MetricQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-QQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-KQ3'2310-Q
Revenue$16.0M+99.2%$11.8M+92.6%$12.2M+99.3%$10.0M+164.1%$8.1M+391.7%$6.1M+195.8%$6.1M$3.8M
Cost of Revenue$5.0M+117.9%$3.5M+94.5%$4.0M+123.6%$3.3M+206.9%$2.3M+549.7%$1.8M+195.0%$1.8M$1.1M
Gross Profit$11.0M+91.7%$8.3M+91.8%$8.2M+89.3%$6.7M+147.1%$5.8M+348.1%$4.3M+196.1%$4.3M$2.7M
R&D Expenses$4.1M+53.1%$4.6M+69.9%$3.2M-5.5%$3.5M+3.5%$2.7M-8.8%$2.7M+28.8%$3.3M$3.4M-8.0%
SG&A Expenses$21.2M+21.2%$21.4M+22.7%$21.4M+31.6%$21.3M+50.8%$17.5M+44.7%$17.4M+60.1%$16.2M$14.1M+125.2%
Operating Income-$14.3M+0.9%-$17.8M-12.0%-$16.3M-7.1%-$18.1M-22.3%-$14.4M-5.0%-$15.9M-37.2%-$15.3M-$14.8M-48.5%
EBITDA-$14.3M+0.9%-$17.8M-12.0%-$16.3M-7.1%-$18.1M-22.3%-$14.4M-5.0%-$15.8M-37.3%-$15.3M-$14.8M-48.6%
Interest Expense$1.4M-34.3%$1.4M-34.1%$1.5M-29.0%$1.9M-10.2%$2.1M+6.2%$2.1M+7.1%$2.1M$2.1M+446.4%
Net Income-$18.0M-5.5%-$19.7M-39.9%-$18.8M-36.4%-$35.1M-124.5%-$17.1M-20.7%-$14.1M-25.9%-$13.8M-$15.6M-53.8%
EPS (Basic)-$0.34+22.7%-$0.37-2.8%-$0.31+11.4%-$0.75-82.9%-$0.44-22.2%-$0.36-20.0%-$0.35-20.7%-$0.41-10.8%
EPS (Diluted)-$0.34+22.7%-$0.37-2.8%-$0.31-$0.75-82.9%-$0.44-22.2%-$0.36-20.0%-$0.35-20.7%-$0.41-10.8%
Diluted Shares (Avg)54M+37.8%54M+37.8%N/A47M+20.1%39M+0.8%39M+3.0%N/A39M+41.5%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Income Tax.

SCPH Balance Sheet

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SCPH quarterly balance sheet
MetricQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-QQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-KQ3'2310-Q
Total Assets$80.3M+22.6%$91.0M+15.9%$107.5M+13.8%$125.1M+17.9%$65.5M-42.7%$78.5M-38.4%$94.5M-23.9%$106.1M+119.2%
Current Assets$78.7M+25.7%$89.4M+16.8%$105.8M+13.9%$123.3M+18.2%$62.6M-44.9%$76.5M-39.6%$92.9M-24.6%$104.3M+121.2%
Cash & Equivalents$40.8M+6.0%$57.5M-1.5%$75.7M+61.6%$91.5M+161.1%$38.5M-46.0%$58.4M-22.5%$46.8M-34.1%$35.0M-15.1%
Short-Term Investments$0$0$0-100.0%$0-100.0%$0-100.0%$0-100.0%$29.2M-38.0%$55.2M+1315.3%
Inventory$14.6M-4.8%$14.1M+47.7%$13.9M+57.3%$18.1M+154.2%$15.3M+162.5%$9.6M+164.3%$8.8M+618.7%$7.1M
Accounts Receivable$19.4M+217.3%$13.9M+140.0%$11.7M+161.1%$9.2M+120.8%$6.1M+279.9%$5.8M+92.1%$4.5M$4.2M
Long-Term Investments$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0
Total Liabilities$101.6M+80.7%$96.1M+78.3%$94.2M+64.5%$94.4M+65.7%$56.2M+10.8%$53.9M+4.5%$57.3M+10.6%$57.0M+229.4%
Current Liabilities$20.4M+58.0%$16.3M+32.4%$14.9M+13.3%$15.3M+39.4%$12.9M+94.9%$12.3M+59.3%$13.1M+77.1%$11.0M-36.2%
Non-Current Liabilities$81.1M+87.5%$79.8M+91.9%$79.3M+79.8%$79.1M+71.9%$43.3M-1.9%$41.6M-5.2%$44.1M-0.5%$46.0M+40254.4%
Long-Term Debt$51.2M+28.0%$51.0M+29.6%$51.4M+32.3%$51.1M+33.6%$40.0M+6.0%$39.4M+5.7%$38.8M+5.5%$38.3M
Total Equity-$21.3M-330.4%-$5.1M-120.9%$13.3M-64.2%$30.7M-37.5%$9.3M-85.4%$24.6M-67.6%$37.2M-48.6%$49.1M+58.0%
Retained Earnings-$404.3M-29.3%-$386.2M-30.7%-$366.5M-30.3%-$347.6M-29.9%-$312.5M-24.1%-$295.5M-24.3%-$281.3M-24.2%-$267.5M-23.1%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Goodwill.

SCPH Cash Flow Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SCPH quarterly cash flow statement
MetricQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-QQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-KQ3'2310-Q
Operating Cash Flow-$16.1M+20.3%-$17.1M+3.2%-$15.2M-0.2%-$17.4M-29.5%-$20.2M-43.0%-$17.7M-7.3%-$15.2M-28.1%-$13.5M-64.1%
Depreciation & Amortization$4K-20.0%$4K-33.3%$4K-33.3%$5K-16.7%$5K-16.7%$6K0.0%$6K-33.3%$6K-40.0%
Stock-Based Compensation$1.5M+1.9%$1.3M-10.1%N/A$1.2M-4.2%$1.5M+26.5%$1.4M+46.9%N/A$1.3M+63.2%
Capital ExpendituresN/AN/A$12K-67.6%N/AN/AN/A$37K$0-100.0%
Free Cash FlowN/AN/A-$15.2M0.0%N/AN/AN/A-$15.2M-28.4%-$13.5M-63.8%
Investing Cash FlowN/AN/A-$12K-100.0%-$9K+100.0%$1K-100.0%$29.3M+318.8%$26.5M+161.6%-$22.9M-312.6%
Financing Cash Flow-$624K-320.5%-$972K-6580.0%-$631K-235.1%$70.4M+103448.5%$283K-53.7%$15K-99.9%$467K-99.4%$68K+102.7%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Dividends Paid, Share Buybacks.

SCPH Financial Ratios

Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SCPH quarterly financial ratios
MetricQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-QQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-KQ3'2310-Q
Gross Margin68.8%-2.7pp70.5%-0.3pp67.4%-3.6pp67.0%-4.6pp71.4%-7.0pp70.8%+0.1pp70.9%71.6%
Operating Margin-89.1%-151.1%-134.5%-181.0%-179.2%-259.9%-250.3%-390.9%
Net Margin-112.4%-168.0%-155.1%-350.1%-212.2%-231.2%-226.6%-411.9%
Return on EquityN/AN/A-141.5%-104.4pp-114.3%-82.5pp-184.8%-162.4pp-57.4%-42.6pp-37.1%-31.8%+0.9pp
Return on Assets-22.5%+3.7pp-21.7%-3.7pp-17.5%-2.9pp-28.1%-13.3pp-26.1%-13.7pp-18.0%-9.2pp-14.6%-14.7%+6.3pp
Current Ratio3.85-1.0x5.48-0.7x7.120.0x8.08-1.4x4.84-12.3x6.21-10.2x7.08-9.6x9.53+6.8x
Debt-to-EquityN/AN/A3.86+2.8x1.66+0.9x4.32+3.7x1.60+1.1x1.04+0.5x0.78+0.2x
Asset Turnover0.20+0.1x0.13+0.1x0.110.0x0.080.0x0.12+0.1x0.08+0.1x0.060.04
FCF MarginN/AN/A-125.1%N/AN/AN/A-249.3%-354.3%

Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Operating Margin, Net Margin, FCF Margin.

Similar Companies

Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.

Company Fiscal year Revenue Net income Net margin Market cap Health score
scPharmaceuticals Inc. SCPH FY2024 $36.3M -$85.1M N/A $304.4M 45/100
enGene Therapeutics Inc. ENGN FY2025 N/A -$117.3M N/A $118.6M
Assembly Biosciences, Inc ASMB FY2025 $72.3M -$6.1M -8.5% $620.2M 61/100
MBX Biosciences, Inc. MBX FY2025 N/A -$87.0M N/A $2.9B
4D Molecular Therapeutics, Inc. FDMT FY2025 $85.2M -$140.1M N/A $745.2M 72/100
Rocket Pharmaceuticals, Inc. RCKT FY2025 $0 -$223.1M N/A $382.0M

Frequently Asked Questions

What is scPharmaceuticals Inc.'s annual revenue?

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) reported $36.3M in total revenue for fiscal year 2024. This represents a 167.3% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.

How fast is scPharmaceuticals Inc.'s revenue growing?

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) revenue grew by 167.3% year-over-year, from $13.6M to $36.3M in fiscal year 2024.

Is scPharmaceuticals Inc. profitable?

No, scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) reported a net income of -$85.1M in fiscal year 2024.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) reported diluted earnings per share of -$1.91 for fiscal year 2024. This represents a -34.5% change compared to the previous fiscal year. EPS represents the portion of a company's net income allocated to each outstanding share of common stock and is widely used to evaluate profitability on a per-share basis.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) had EBITDA of -$64.8M in fiscal year 2024, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.

As of fiscal year 2024, scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) had $75.7M in cash and equivalents against $51.4M in long-term debt.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) had a gross margin of 68.7% in fiscal year 2024, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) has a return on equity of -639.3% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) recorded an outflow of $70.6M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2024. This represents a -19.0% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) recorded an outflow of $70.5M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2024, representing cash used by core business activities.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) had $107.5M in total assets as of fiscal year 2024, including both current and long-term assets.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) invested $21K in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2024, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) invested $12.1M in research and development during fiscal year 2024.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) had 50M shares outstanding as of fiscal year 2024.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) had a current ratio of 7.12 as of fiscal year 2024, which is generally considered healthy.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 3.86 as of fiscal year 2024, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) had a return on assets of -79.2% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.

At the end of fiscal year 2024, scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) held $75.7M in cash, cash equivalents and investments, and reported an operating cash outflow of $70.5M over that year. Dividing the one by the other, the reported balance equals about 13 months of the outflow reported that year. This is arithmetic over figures already filed, not a projection: it assumes nothing about future spending, financing or operations.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) has an Altman Z-Score of -3.47, placing it in the Distress Zone (elevated bankruptcy risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) has a Piotroski F-Score of 3 out of 9, indicating weak financial health. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) reported a net loss of $85.1M while operations used $70.5M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) reported an operating loss of $64.8M against $7.6M in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

scPharmaceuticals Inc. (SCPH) scores 45 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating moderate standing within its emerging companies peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Cash Runway, Dilution, R&D Intensity, Revenue Progress, Burn Trend, Balance Sheet), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Back to top