Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q3 FY2025, filed Oct 30, 2025. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the ZEUS SEC filings page.
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) reported $1.9B in revenue over the twelve months to Sep 30, 2025, down 5.6% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Olympic Steel's short-term coverage remains ample, but weaker margins and cash conversion show less efficient operations as sales contract.
From FY2022 to FY2024, net income fell74.7% while operating cash flow fell81.9% , indicating that reported earnings became less dependable as a cash source. Free cash flow then dropped from$153.8M to$4.2M as reinvestment rose, leaving almost none of the year's operating cash after capital spending.
Sales fell
The current ratio rose to 4.4x even as debt-to-equity increased to 0.5x in FY2024. That contrast means better short-term coverage does not by itself indicate a stronger overall financing position.
Financial Health Signals
Scored against operating companies for FY2024. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →
Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Olympic Steel, Inc.'s business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.
Olympic Steel, Inc. has an operating margin of 2.5%, meaning the company retains $2 of operating profit per $100 of revenue. This results in a moderate score of 49/100, indicating healthy but not exceptional operating efficiency. This is down from 3.6% the prior year.
Olympic Steel, Inc.'s revenue declined 10.0% year-over-year, from $2.2B to $1.9B. This contraction results in a growth score of 7/100.
Olympic Steel, Inc. has elevated debt relative to equity (D/E of 0.47), meaning the company relies heavily on borrowed funds. This high leverage results in a low score of 19/100, reflecting increased financial risk.
With a current ratio of 4.38, Olympic Steel, Inc. holds $4.38 in current assets for every $1 of short-term obligations. This comfortable liquidity earns a score of 89/100.
While Olympic Steel, Inc. generated $33.7M in operating cash flow, capex of $29.5M consumed most of it, leaving $4.2M in free cash flow. This results in a low score of 38/100, reflecting heavy capital investment rather than weak cash generation.
Olympic Steel, Inc.'s ROE of 4.0% shows moderate profitability relative to equity, earning a score of 61/100. This is down from 8.0% the prior year.
Olympic Steel, Inc. scores 3.80, well above the 2.99 safe threshold. This indicates low bankruptcy risk based on profitability, leverage, and asset efficiency.
Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.
Olympic Steel, Inc. passes 4 of 8 computable financial strength tests (1 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 3 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 3 leverage/liquidity signals pass, neither operating efficiency signal passes.
For every $1 of reported earnings, Olympic Steel, Inc. generates $1.47 in operating cash flow ($33.7M OCF vs $23.0M net income). This indicates profits are well-supported by actual cash generation, not accounting adjustments.
Olympic Steel, Inc. earns $2.91 in operating income for every $1 of interest expense ($47.9M vs $16.5M). This adequate coverage means the company can meet its interest obligations, but has limited cushion if earnings fall.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Olympic Steel, Inc. generated $490.7M in revenue in Q3 2025. This represents an increase of 4.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 1.2%.
Olympic Steel, Inc.'s EBITDA was $15.2M in Q3 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents an increase of 1.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 23.1%.
Olympic Steel, Inc. reported $2.2M in net income in Q3 2025. This represents a decrease of 21.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 58.9%.
Olympic Steel, Inc. earned $0.18 per diluted share (EPS) in Q3 2025. This represents a decrease of 21.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 60.0%.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Olympic Steel, Inc. recorded an outflow of $12.9M in free cash flow in Q3 2025, representing a cash shortfall after capex. This represents a decrease of 182.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 288.7%.
Olympic Steel, Inc. held $7.5M in cash against $240.9M in long-term debt as of Q3 2025.
Olympic Steel, Inc. paid $0.16 per share in dividends in Q3 2025. This represents an increase of 6.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.
Margins & Returns
Olympic Steel, Inc.'s operating margin was 1.5% in Q3 2025, reflecting core business profitability. This is down 0.2 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 0.8 percentage points.
Olympic Steel, Inc.'s net profit margin was 0.4% in Q3 2025, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 0.1 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 0.6 percentage points.
Olympic Steel, Inc.'s ROE was 0.4% in Q3 2025, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 0.1 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 0.5 percentage points.
Not reported for Q3 2025.
Capital Allocation
Olympic Steel, Inc. invested $7.5M in capex in Q3 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents a decrease of 17.5% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 13.9%.
Not reported for Q3 2025.
Not reported for Q3 2025.
ZEUS Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $490.7M+4.4% | $496.5M-5.7% | $492.9M-6.4% | $418.8M-14.4% | $470.0M-10.7% | $526.3M-7.6% | $526.6M-8.1% | $489.4M-5.9% |
| SG&A Expenses | $31.1M+10.3% | $31.3M+7.2% | $31.4M+4.1% | $25.5M-18.3% | $28.2M+7.8% | $29.2M-7.9% | $30.2M-9.1% | $31.2M+22.4% |
| Operating Income | $7.3M-7.0% | $11.4M-24.7% | $7.8M-51.1% | $9.0M-32.3% | $7.8M-62.6% | $15.1M-41.4% | $15.9M-10.1% | $13.3M+73.2% |
| EBITDA | $15.2M+1.2% | $19.8M-11.3% | $16.1M-30.8% | $18.1M-16.1% | $15.0M-44.4% | $22.3M-30.7% | $23.3M-2.7% | $21.6M+62.6% |
| Interest Expense | $4.1M+6.8% | $4.0M-9.9% | $4.2M+4.3% | $4.2M+15.2% | $3.9M-1.8% | $4.4M+4.5% | $4.0M-5.0% | $3.6M+29.4% |
| Income Tax | $952K-18.6% | $2.2M-29.1% | $1.1M-66.3% | $908K-59.6% | $1.2M-75.0% | $3.0M-53.4% | $3.2M-11.2% | $2.2M+148.3% |
| Net Income | $2.2M-21.2% | $5.2M-31.6% | $2.5M-71.2% | $3.9M-47.5% | $2.7M-77.6% | $7.7M-49.0% | $8.7M-11.9% | $7.4M+87.1% |
| EPS (Basic) | $0.18-21.7% | $0.45-31.8% | $0.21-72.0% | $0.33-48.4% | $0.23-78.3% | $0.66-49.2% | $0.75-11.8% | $0.64+88.2% |
| EPS (Diluted) | $0.18-21.7% | $0.45-31.8% | $0.21-72.0% | $0.33-48.4% | $0.23-78.3% | $0.66-49.2% | $0.75-11.8% | $0.64+88.2% |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 12M+0.6% | 12M+0.9% | 12M+0.8% | N/A | 12M+0.9% | 12M+0.8% | 12M+0.8% | N/A |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses.
ZEUS Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1.1B+7.7% | $1.1B+6.8% | $1.1B+5.2% | $1.0B+6.1% | $1.0B+1.9% | $1.0B-0.8% | $1.0B+2.7% | $984.8M+10.5% |
| Current Assets | $614.7M-1.2% | $596.8M-4.2% | $595.6M-5.8% | $580.6M-3.7% | $622.4M-3.0% | $623.1M-5.7% | $632.0M-5.6% | $603.2M-8.3% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $7.5M-32.1% | $14.8M+56.9% | $13.3M+28.3% | $11.9M-9.9% | $11.1M+22.3% | $9.4M-37.8% | $10.3M-43.8% | $13.2M+8.5% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Inventory | $383.9M-3.9% | $368.0M-4.7% | $360.1M-9.4% | $390.6M+1.1% | $399.4M+1.8% | $386.2M-4.9% | $397.6M-2.6% | $386.5M-7.3% |
| Accounts Receivable | $209.7M+6.1% | $203.7M-6.0% | $212.5M-1.0% | $166.1M-13.1% | $197.6M-13.3% | $216.7M-5.0% | $214.8M-9.3% | $191.1M-13.0% |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Goodwill | $83.8M+60.9% | $83.8M+60.9% | $83.8M+60.9% | $83.8M+60.9% | $52.1M+19.2% | $52.1M+19.2% | $52.1M+19.2% | $52.1M+396.3% |
| Total Liabilities | $510.9M+15.8% | $496.7M+13.7% | $490.5M+9.3% | $470.6M+9.6% | $441.4M-0.5% | $436.8M-8.1% | $448.8M-10.6% | $429.4M+14.3% |
| Current Liabilities | $196.9M+11.3% | $194.3M+17.6% | $188.5M-2.3% | $132.6M-26.4% | $176.9M-5.1% | $165.3M-7.5% | $193.0M+2.6% | $180.2M+9.4% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $314.0M+18.7% | $302.4M+11.4% | $302.1M+18.1% | $337.9M+35.7% | $264.5M+2.9% | $271.5M-8.5% | $255.8M-18.6% | $249.1M+18.1% |
| Long-Term Debt | $240.9M+22.1% | $233.2M+11.5% | $235.4M+19.6% | $272.5M+43.2% | $197.3M+0.4% | $209.2M-12.2% | $196.8M+3.5% | $190.2M+14.8% |
| Total Equity | $579.1M+1.5% | $578.2M+1.5% | $574.2M+2.0% | $573.9M+3.3% | $570.6M+3.9% | $569.5M+5.8% | $563.0M+7.3% | $555.5M+7.7% |
| Retained Earnings | $439.7M+1.6% | $439.4M+1.7% | $435.9M+2.3% | $435.2M+3.9% | $433.0M+4.9% | $431.9M+7.4% | $425.9M+9.7% | $418.9M+10.3% |
ZEUS Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | -$5.4M-121.9% | $15.5M+634.0% | $49.4M+1994.9% | $14.6M-73.1% | $24.6M-41.1% | -$2.9M-110.9% | -$2.6M-105.0% | $54.2M-38.1% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $8.0M+10.0% | $8.4M+16.6% | $8.3M+13.5% | $9.1M+9.6% | $7.2M+17.0% | $7.2M+11.6% | $7.3M+18.3% | $8.3M+48.2% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | N/A | N/A | -$252K-148.3% | N/A | N/A | N/A | $522K+28.3% | N/A |
| Capital Expenditures | $7.5M-17.5% | $8.7M+3.1% | $8.8M+83.3% | $7.2M+307.4% | $9.1M+103.9% | $8.4M+9.4% | $4.8M-35.0% | $1.8M-70.1% |
| Free Cash Flow | -$12.9M-182.7% | $6.8M+160.2% | $40.6M+646.6% | $7.4M-85.9% | $15.6M-58.3% | -$11.3M-159.4% | -$7.4M-116.5% | $52.4M-35.8% |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$7.4M+18.0% | -$8.6M-2.9% | -$8.8M-83.3% | -$87.2M-107.9% | -$9.0M-103.5% | -$8.4M-9.0% | -$4.8M+96.5% | -$41.9M-611.8% |
| Financing Cash Flow | $5.5M+139.9% | -$5.3M-151.2% | -$39.2M-963.9% | $73.4M+1006.8% | -$13.9M+68.0% | $10.4M+146.6% | $4.5M-95.0% | -$8.1M+89.8% |
| Dividends Paid | $1.8M+7.4% | $1.8M+7.2% | $1.8M+6.9% | $1.7M+20.1% | $1.7M+19.8% | $1.7M+20.1% | $1.7M+20.0% | $1.4M+38.8% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Share Buybacks.
ZEUS Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Margin | 1.5%-0.2pp | 2.3%-0.6pp | 1.6%-1.4pp | 2.1%-0.6pp | 1.7%-2.3pp | 2.9%-1.7pp | 3.0%-0.1pp | 2.7%+1.2pp |
| Net Margin | 0.4%-0.1pp | 1.1%-0.4pp | 0.5%-1.1pp | 0.9%-0.6pp | 0.6%-1.7pp | 1.5%-1.2pp | 1.7%-0.1pp | 1.5%+0.8pp |
| Return on Equity | 0.4%-0.1pp | 0.9%-0.4pp | 0.4%-1.1pp | 0.7%-0.7pp | 0.5%-1.8pp | 1.4%-1.4pp | 1.5%-0.3pp | 1.3%+0.6pp |
| Return on Assets | 0.2%-0.1pp | 0.5%-0.3pp | 0.2%-0.6pp | 0.4%-0.4pp | 0.3%-1.0pp | 0.8%-0.7pp | 0.9%-0.1pp | 0.8%+0.3pp |
| Current Ratio | 3.12-0.4x | 3.07-0.7x | 3.16-0.1x | 4.38+1.0x | 3.52+0.1x | 3.77+0.1x | 3.28-0.3x | 3.35-0.6x |
| Debt-to-Equity | 0.42+0.1x | 0.400.0x | 0.41+0.1x | 0.47+0.1x | 0.350.0x | 0.37-0.1x | 0.350.0x | 0.340.0x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.450.0x | 0.46-0.1x | 0.46-0.1x | 0.40-0.1x | 0.46-0.1x | 0.520.0x | 0.52-0.1x | 0.50-0.1x |
| FCF Margin | -2.6%-5.9pp | 1.4%+3.5pp | 8.2%+9.6pp | 1.8%-8.9pp | 3.3%-3.8pp | -2.1%-5.5pp | -1.4%-9.3pp | 10.7%-5.0pp |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Olympic Steel, Inc. ZEUS | FY2024 | $1.9B | $23.0M | 1.2% | $539.0M | 44/100 |
| Luda Technology Group Limited LUD | FY2025 | $33.5M | $557K | 1.7% | $82.8M | 38/100 |
| NWPX Infrastructure, Inc. NWPX | FY2025 | $526.0M | $35.4M | 6.7% | $958.2M | 71/100 |
| Algoma Steel Group Inc. ASTL | FY2025 | N/A | -$984.9M | N/A | $453.3M | — |
| Mesabi Trust MSB | FY2025 | $98.6M | $93.3M | 94.6% | $232.7M | 20/100 |
| Metallus Inc. MTUS | FY2025 | $1.2B | -$1.2M | -0.1% | $852.2M | 20/100 |
Where Olympic Steel, Inc. Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s annual revenue?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) reported $1.9B in total revenue for fiscal year 2024. This represents a -10.0% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s revenue growing?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) revenue declined by 10.0% year-over-year, from $2.2B to $1.9B in fiscal year 2024.
Is Olympic Steel, Inc. profitable?
Yes, Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) reported a net income of $23.0M in fiscal year 2024, with a net profit margin of 1.2%.
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s EBITDA?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) had EBITDA of $78.8M in fiscal year 2024, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
How much debt does Olympic Steel, Inc. have?
As of fiscal year 2024, Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) had $11.9M in cash and equivalents against $272.5M in long-term debt.
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s operating margin?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) had an operating margin of 2.5% in fiscal year 2024, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s net profit margin?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) had a net profit margin of 1.2% in fiscal year 2024, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
Does Olympic Steel, Inc. pay dividends?
Yes, Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) paid $0.60 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2024.
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s return on equity (ROE)?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) has a return on equity of 4.0% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s free cash flow?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) generated $4.2M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2024. This represents a -97.3% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s operating cash flow?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) generated $33.7M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2024, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are Olympic Steel, Inc.'s total assets?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) had $1.0B in total assets as of fiscal year 2024, including both current and long-term assets.
What are Olympic Steel, Inc.'s capital expenditures?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) invested $29.5M in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2024, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s current ratio?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) had a current ratio of 4.38 as of fiscal year 2024, which is generally considered healthy.
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s debt-to-equity ratio?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.47 as of fiscal year 2024, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s return on assets (ROA)?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) had a return on assets of 2.2% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s Altman Z-Score?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) has an Altman Z-Score of 3.80, placing it in the Safe Zone (low bankruptcy risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
What is Olympic Steel, Inc.'s Piotroski F-Score?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 8 computable signals; 1 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Olympic Steel, Inc.'s earnings high quality?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) has an earnings quality ratio of 1.47x, considered cash-backed (high quality). This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Can Olympic Steel, Inc. cover its interest payments?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) has an interest coverage ratio of 2.91x, meaning it can adequately cover its interest obligations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
How financially healthy is Olympic Steel, Inc.?
Olympic Steel, Inc. (ZEUS) scores 44 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating moderate standing within its operating companies peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Profitability, Growth, Leverage, Liquidity, Cash Flow, Returns), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.