STOCK TITAN

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) Financials

CTRA
Trailing 12 months to March 31, 2026
Revenue $7.7B +29.7% YoY
Net Income $1.7B +29.7% YoY
EPS (Diluted) $2.18 +27.5% YoY
Operating Cash Flow $4.5B +46.7% YoY
Source SEC Filings (10-K/10-Q) Latest period Q1 FY2026, ended Mar 31, 2026 Reported Currency USD FYE December

Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q1 FY2026, filed May 6, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the CTRA SEC filings page.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) reported $7.7B in revenue over the twelve months to Mar 31, 2026, up 29.7% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).

Rhea AI CTRA FY2025

Coterra’s business is shaped by volatile revenue and heavy reinvestment, with profitability recovering but not back to peak levels.

Revenue volatility remains central: FY2025 revenue was up 40.1% from FY2024 but still 15.9% below FY2022’s peak, indicating a rebound rather than steady expansion. Operating margin recovered to 32.1% from 25.5% in FY2024, yet remained far below FY2022’s 57.6%, so higher revenue did not restore the earlier profit structure.

FY2025 operating cash flow of $4.0B exceeded net income of $1.7B, but the gap is closely associated with depreciation and amortization of $2.4B. That relationship points to an asset-heavy earnings model: accounting profit benefits from large noncash charges, while maintaining the asset base still requires substantial reinvestment.

FY2025 investing cash outflow reached $5.6B against operating cash flow of $4.0B, so reinvestment exceeded internally generated operating inflows. The short-term liquidity cushion narrowed as the current ratio fell from 2.9x in FY2024 to 1.2x in FY2025, even though the business remained profitable.

[ NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE ]

Financial Health Signals

Profitability Growth Leverage Liquidity CashFlow Returns 53 / 100
Financial Health Score 53/100
Scored as: Energy peer group

Scored against energy companies for FY2025. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →

Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Coterra Energy Inc's business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.

Profitability
82

Coterra Energy Inc has an operating margin of 32.1%, meaning the company retains $32 of operating profit per $100 of revenue. This strong profitability earns a score of 82/100, reflecting efficient cost management and pricing power. This is up from 25.4% the prior year.

Growth
76

Coterra Energy Inc's revenue surged 40.1% year-over-year to $7.6B, reflecting rapid business expansion. This strong growth earns a score of 76/100.

Leverage
56

Coterra Energy Inc has a moderate D/E ratio of 0.24. This balance of debt and equity financing earns a leverage score of 56/100.

Liquidity
43

Coterra Energy Inc's current ratio of 1.19 indicates adequate short-term liquidity, earning a score of 43/100. The company can meet its near-term obligations, though with limited headroom.

Cash Flow
0

Not available for Coterra Energy Inc, and counted as zero in the overall score.

Returns
63

Coterra Energy Inc's ROE of 11.6% shows moderate profitability relative to equity, earning a score of 63/100. This is up from 8.5% the prior year.

Altman Z-Score Grey Zone
2.66

Coterra Energy Inc scores 2.66, placing it in the grey zone between 1.81 and 2.99. The score is driven primarily by a large market capitalization ($25.0B) relative to total liabilities ($9.4B). This signals moderate financial risk that warrants monitoring.

Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.

Piotroski F-Score Partial
7/8

Coterra Energy Inc passes 7 of 8 computable financial strength tests (1 of the nine could not be computed from available data). All 4 profitability signals pass (positive income, cash flow, and earnings quality), 2 of 3 leverage/liquidity signals pass, both operating efficiency signals pass.

Earnings Quality Cash-Backed
2.34x

For every $1 of reported earnings, Coterra Energy Inc generates $2.34 in operating cash flow ($4.0B OCF vs $1.7B net income). This indicates profits are well-supported by actual cash generation, not accounting adjustments.

Interest Coverage Safe
11.96x

Coterra Energy Inc earns $11.96 in operating income for every $1 of interest expense ($2.5B vs $205.0M). This wide margin provides strong safety for debt servicing, even if earnings decline temporarily.

Key Financial Metrics

Export CSV

Earnings & Revenue

Revenue
$1.9B
YoY+2.3%
QoQ-0.6%
5Y CAGR+33.5%
10Y CAGR+21.3%

Coterra Energy Inc generated $1.9B in revenue in Q1 2026. This represents an increase of 2.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 0.6%.

EBITDA
$1.2B
YoY-0.6%
QoQ-2.9%
5Y CAGR+34.9%
10Y CAGR+27.4%

Coterra Energy Inc's EBITDA was $1.2B in Q1 2026, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents a decrease of 0.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 2.9%.

Net Income
$466.0M
YoY-9.7%
QoQ+26.6%
5Y CAGR+29.9%

Coterra Energy Inc reported $466.0M in net income in Q1 2026. This represents a decrease of 9.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 26.6%.

EPS (Diluted)
$0.61
YoY-10.3%
QoQ+27.1%
5Y CAGR+14.5%

Coterra Energy Inc earned $0.61 per diluted share (EPS) in Q1 2026. This represents a decrease of 10.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 27.1%.

Cash & Balance Sheet

Cash & Debt
$485.0M
YoY+160.8%
QoQ+325.4%
5Y CAGR+22.8%
10Y CAGR-1.8%

Coterra Energy Inc held $485.0M in cash against $3.3B in long-term debt as of Q1 2026.

Dividends Per Share
$0.22
YoY0.0%
QoQ0.0%
5Y CAGR+17.1%

Coterra Energy Inc paid $0.22 per share in dividends in Q1 2026. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.

Shares Outstanding
759M
YoY-0.5%
QoQ0.0%
5Y CAGR+13.7%
10Y CAGR+5.0%

Coterra Energy Inc had 759M shares outstanding in Q1 2026. This represents a decrease of 0.5% from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.

Free Cash Flow

Not reported for Q1 2026.

Margins & Returns

Operating Margin
33.2%
YoY-3.7pp
QoQ+4.0pp
5Y CAGR-4.9pp
10Y CAGR+52.7pp

Coterra Energy Inc's operating margin was 33.2% in Q1 2026, reflecting core business profitability. This is down 3.7 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 4.0 percentage points.

Net Margin
23.9%
YoY-3.2pp
QoQ+5.1pp
5Y CAGR-3.5pp
10Y CAGR+42.1pp

Coterra Energy Inc's net profit margin was 23.9% in Q1 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 3.2 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 5.1 percentage points.

Return on Equity
3.1%
YoY-0.5pp
QoQ+0.6pp
5Y CAGR-2.4pp
10Y CAGR+4.8pp

Coterra Energy Inc's ROE was 3.1% in Q1 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 0.5 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 0.6 percentage points.

Gross Margin

Not reported for Q1 2026.

Capital Allocation

Share Buybacks
$35.0M
YoY+45.8%
QoQ-61.1%

Coterra Energy Inc spent $35.0M on share buybacks in Q1 2026, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding. This represents an increase of 45.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 61.1%.

R&D Spending

Not reported for Q1 2026.

Capital Expenditures

Not reported for Q1 2026.

CTRA Income Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

CTRA quarterly income statement
MetricQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-Q
Revenue$1.9B+2.3%$2.0B+40.4%$1.8B+33.7%$2.0B+54.6%$1.9B+32.9%$1.4B-12.6%$1.4B+0.2%$1.3B+7.3%
SG&A Expenses$79.0M-14.1%$64.0M-23.8%$83.0M+10.7%$84.0M+23.5%$92.0M+22.7%$84.0M+7.7%$75.0M-5.1%$68.0M+17.2%
Operating Income$646.0M-8.0%$571.0M+75.2%$471.0M+44.0%$708.0M+139.2%$702.0M+59.5%$326.0M-43.5%$327.0M-22.9%$296.0M+7.2%
EBITDA$1.2B-0.6%$1.2B+52.3%$1.1B+35.9%$1.3B+73.2%$1.2B+38.5%$812.0M-21.4%$802.0M-5.1%$743.0M+10.7%
Interest Expense$46.0M-13.2%$49.0M+69.0%$50.0M+108.3%$53.0M+55.9%$53.0M+178.9%$29.0M+26.1%$24.0M+41.2%$34.0M+112.5%
Income Tax$137.0M-2.8%$157.0M+1327.3%$101.0M+50.7%$147.0M+141.0%$141.0M+65.9%$11.0M-92.8%$67.0M-28.7%$61.0M0.0%
Net Income$466.0M-9.7%$368.0M+23.9%$322.0M+27.8%$511.0M+132.3%$516.0M+46.6%$297.0M-28.6%$252.0M-22.0%$220.0M+5.3%
EPS (Basic)$0.61-10.3%$0.48+20.0%$0.42+23.5%$0.67+123.3%$0.68+44.7%$0.40-27.3%$0.34-20.9%$0.30+7.1%
EPS (Diluted)$0.61-10.3%$0.48+20.0%$0.42+23.5%$0.67+131.0%$0.68+44.7%$0.40-27.3%$0.34-19.0%$0.29+7.4%
Diluted Shares (Avg)763M+0.3%N/A767M+3.1%767M+2.5%761M+0.8%N/A744M-1.8%748M-1.6%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses.

CTRA Balance Sheet

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

CTRA quarterly balance sheet
MetricQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-Q
Total Assets$24.6B+2.8%$24.2B+12.1%$24.0B+19.3%$24.0B+15.5%$24.0B+14.3%$21.6B+5.9%$20.1B+0.1%$20.8B+4.5%
Current Assets$2.0B+36.1%$1.8B-44.3%$1.5B-12.0%$1.5B-34.9%$1.4B-43.3%$3.3B+64.8%$1.7B+1.3%$2.3B+42.5%
Cash & Equivalents$485.0M+160.8%$114.0M-94.4%$98.0M-88.4%$192.0M-82.1%$186.0M-85.6%$2.0B+113.2%$843.0M-0.5%$1.1B+27.2%
Short-Term Investments$0$0$0$0-100.0%$0-100.0%$0$0$250.0M
Inventory$38.0M-33.3%$48.0M+4.3%$61.0M+32.6%$57.0M+26.7%$57.0M+9.6%$46.0M-22.0%$46.0M-28.1%$45.0M-30.8%
Accounts Receivable$1.3B+10.5%$1.2B+27.0%$1.0B+32.5%$1.1B+22.6%$1.1B+29.7%$951.0M+12.8%$764.0M+5.1%$857.0M+41.9%
Long-Term Investments$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0
Total Liabilities$9.5B-2.1%$9.4B+10.6%$9.3B+31.0%$9.4B+21.9%$9.7B+23.7%$8.5B+15.3%$7.1B-3.0%$7.7B+7.1%
Current Liabilities$2.0B+21.8%$1.6B+37.1%$1.5B+37.9%$1.4B-18.8%$1.6B-5.9%$1.1B-31.6%$1.1B-34.1%$1.7B+76.9%
Non-Current Liabilities$7.6B-6.9%$7.8B+6.5%$7.8B+29.8%$8.1B+33.1%$8.1B+32.0%$7.4B+28.9%$6.0B+6.0%$6.1B-3.3%
Long-Term Debt$3.3B-23.8%$3.6B+0.9%$3.7B+77.7%$4.2B+101.6%$4.3B+106.2%$3.5B+122.9%$2.1B+29.8%$2.1B-4.6%
Total Equity$15.1B+6.2%$14.8B+13.1%$14.7B+12.9%$14.6B+11.7%$14.2B+8.7%$13.1B+0.6%$13.0B+1.9%$13.0B+2.9%
Retained Earnings$7.2B+16.0%$6.9B+17.7%$6.7B+17.1%$6.5B+16.4%$6.2B+11.6%$5.9B+9.2%$5.7B+12.1%$5.6B+14.0%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Goodwill.

CTRA Cash Flow Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

CTRA quarterly cash flow statement
MetricQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-Q
Operating Cash Flow$1.6B+43.9%$970.0M+55.0%$971.0M+28.6%$936.0M+67.7%$1.1B+33.6%$626.0M-17.6%$755.0M-0.4%$558.0M-13.6%
Depreciation & Amortization$555.0M+9.7%$666.0M+37.0%$619.0M+30.3%$579.0M+29.5%$506.0M+17.1%$486.0M+6.6%$475.0M+12.8%$447.0M+13.2%
Stock-Based Compensation$19.0M+18.8%N/A$13.0M-7.1%$14.0M-12.5%$16.0M+23.1%N/A$14.0M-33.3%$16.0M+128.6%
Investing Cash Flow-$756.0M+79.7%-$595.0M-36.8%-$663.0M-377.0%-$642.0M-33.8%-$3.7B-426.6%-$435.0M+7.4%-$139.0M+74.3%-$480.0M+15.6%
Financing Cash Flow-$519.0M-198.3%-$359.0M-129.0%-$421.0M+50.3%-$299.0M-0.7%$528.0M+185.4%$1.2B+784.0%-$847.0M-301.4%-$297.0M-41.4%
Dividends Paid$169.0M-0.6%$170.0M+9.0%$170.0M+9.0%$170.0M+7.6%$170.0M+6.3%$156.0M+3.3%$156.0M+2.0%$158.0M+3.3%
Share Buybacks$35.0M+45.8%$90.0M+66.7%$4.0M-96.4%$23.0M-83.6%$24.0M-84.0%$54.0M+170.0%$111.0M+85.0%$140.0M+145.6%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow.

CTRA Financial Ratios

Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

CTRA quarterly financial ratios
MetricQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-Q
Operating Margin33.2%-3.7pp29.1%+5.8pp25.9%+1.9pp36.0%+12.7pp36.9%+6.2pp23.4%-12.8pp24.1%-7.2pp23.3%0.0pp
Net Margin23.9%-3.2pp18.8%-2.5pp17.7%-0.8pp26.0%+8.7pp27.1%+2.5pp21.3%-4.8pp18.5%-5.3pp17.3%-0.3pp
Return on Equity3.1%-0.5pp2.5%+0.2pp2.2%+0.3pp3.5%+1.8pp3.6%+0.9pp2.3%-0.9pp1.9%-0.6pp1.7%0.0pp
Return on Assets1.9%-0.3pp1.5%+0.1pp1.3%+0.1pp2.1%+1.1pp2.1%+0.5pp1.4%-0.7pp1.3%-0.4pp1.1%0.0pp
Current Ratio1.01+0.1x1.19-1.7x1.02-0.6x1.13-0.3x0.90-0.6x2.92+1.7x1.61+0.6x1.40-0.3x
Debt-to-Equity0.22-0.1x0.240.0x0.25+0.1x0.29+0.1x0.30+0.1x0.27+0.1x0.160.0x0.160.0x
Asset Turnover0.080.0x0.080.0x0.080.0x0.080.0x0.080.0x0.060.0x0.070.0x0.060.0x

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, FCF Margin.

Similar Companies

Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.

Company Fiscal year Revenue Net income Net margin Market cap Health score
Coterra Energy Inc CTRA FY2025 $7.6B $1.7B 22.5% $25.0B 53/100
Devon Energy Corp DVN FY2025 $17.2B $2.6B 15.4% $53.9B 40/100
Expand Energy EXE FY2025 $12.1B $1.8B 15.0% $23.1B 55/100
Texas Pacific Ld TPL FY2025 $798.2M $481.4M 60.3% $25.5B 73/100
Permian Resources Corp PR FY2025 $5.1B $1.1M 0.0% $19.9B 57/100
Ovintiv Inc OVV FY2025 $8.9B $1.2B 13.9% $18.4B 45/100

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Coterra Energy Inc's annual revenue?

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) reported $7.6B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 40.1% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.

How fast is Coterra Energy Inc's revenue growing?

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) revenue grew by 40.1% year-over-year, from $5.5B to $7.6B in fiscal year 2025.

Is Coterra Energy Inc profitable?

Yes, Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) reported a net income of $1.7B in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 22.5%.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) reported diluted earnings per share of $2.24 for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 49.3% change compared to the previous fiscal year. EPS represents the portion of a company's net income allocated to each outstanding share of common stock and is widely used to evaluate profitability on a per-share basis.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) had EBITDA of $4.8B in fiscal year 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.

As of fiscal year 2025, Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) had $114.0M in cash and equivalents against $3.6B in long-term debt.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) had an operating margin of 32.1% in fiscal year 2025, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) had a net profit margin of 22.5% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.

Yes, Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) paid $0.88 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) has a return on equity of 11.6% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) generated $4.0B in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) had $24.2B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.

Yes, Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) spent $141.0M on share buybacks during fiscal year 2025, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) had 759M shares outstanding as of fiscal year 2025.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) had a current ratio of 1.19 as of fiscal year 2025, which is considered adequate.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.24 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) had a return on assets of 7.1% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) has an Altman Z-Score of 2.66, placing it in the Grey Zone (moderate risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) has a Piotroski F-Score of 7 out of 8 computable signals; 1 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) has an earnings quality ratio of 2.34x, considered cash-backed (high quality). This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) has an interest coverage ratio of 11.96x, meaning it can comfortably cover its interest obligations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Coterra Energy Inc (CTRA) scores 53 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating moderate standing within its energy companies peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Profitability, Growth, Leverage, Liquidity, Cash Flow, Returns), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Back to top