A multiple compares the market's price with a filed figure; it says what the market pays, not how the business is doing. The market capitalization is the vendor's as of Sep 11, 2026; every other figure is from the SEC filings on this page. Not financial advice.
Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Aug 3, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the NMFC SEC filings page.
This page shows NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) financial statements, including the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 6 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Volatile cash generation accompanies a shrinking asset base, while leverage remains broadly stable.
In FY2025, net income fell to$16.5M while operating cash flow surged to$379.0M , reversing FY2024's weak conversion. That gap suggests reported cash generation is being shaped more by balance-sheet movements than by period earnings. Debt declined to$1.67B as assets fell to$2.90B , leaving debt-to-equity near 1.4x; deleveraging therefore occurred alongside contraction rather than a clearly larger capital cushion.
Return measures weakened sharply in FY2025: ROA fell to
Operating cash flow has been unusually uneven, moving from
Financial Health Signals
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION passes 4 of 6 computable financial strength tests (3 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 3 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 2 leverage/liquidity signals pass.
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION reported $16.5M of net income while generating $379.0M in operating cash flow. The ratio between the two is outside the range this page publishes as a per-dollar figure, so both figures are given instead.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION reported $17.3M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 122.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 133.9%.
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION earned $0.18 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 157.1% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 135.3%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Cash & Balance Sheet
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION held $64.8M in cash against $1.3B in long-term debt as of Q2 2026.
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION paid $0.25 per share in dividends in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 21.9% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 21.9%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Margins & Returns
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION's ROE was 1.7% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 1.1 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 6.6 percentage points.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Capital Allocation
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION spent $9.0M on share buybacks in Q2 2026, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding. This represents a decrease of 7.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 84.2%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
NMFC Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Interest Expense | $22.5M-27.9% | $27.5M-12.3% | N/A | $31.7M-15.8% | $31.1M-6.0% | $31.4M+1.2% | N/A | $37.7M+19.8% |
| Income Tax | -$40K-237.9% | -$83K-2866.7% | N/A | $54K-95.3% | $29K-92.0% | $3K-99.5% | N/A | $1.2M+225.8% |
| Net Income | $17.3M+122.0% | -$50.9M-317.5% | N/A | $12.2M-49.0% | $7.8M-77.4% | $23.4M-14.6% | N/A | $23.9M-16.8% |
| EPS (Basic) | $0.18+157.1% | -$0.51-331.8% | -$0.24-196.0% | $0.11-50.0% | $0.07-78.1% | $0.22-15.4% | $0.25-7.4% | $0.22-21.4% |
| EPS (Diluted) | $0.18+157.1% | -$0.51-331.8% | -$0.24-196.0% | $0.11-50.0% | $0.07-77.4% | $0.22-15.4% | $0.25-3.8% | $0.22-18.5% |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 95M-25.4% | 100M-20.8% | N/A | 125M-1.4% | 127M+0.8% | 127M+3.6% | N/A | 127M+2.9% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Revenue, Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses, SG&A Expenses, Operating Income, EBITDA.
NMFC Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $2.4B-23.6% | $2.4B-24.1% | $2.9B-10.6% | $3.1B-9.5% | $3.2B-7.7% | $3.2B-1.8% | $3.2B+2.8% | $3.4B+4.1% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $64.8M+12.9% | $51.1M-40.2% | $80.7M+0.5% | $63.7M+2.8% | $57.4M-52.0% | $85.5M-20.4% | $80.3M+14.6% | $61.9M-25.6% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Total Liabilities | $1.4B-25.3% | $1.4B-25.5% | $1.7B-9.2% | $1.8B-10.8% | $1.8B-9.3% | $1.8B-2.0% | $1.9B+3.3% | $2.0B+5.3% |
| Long-Term Debt | $1.3B-23.8% | $1.3B-25.6% | $1.7B-9.0% | $1.8B-11.4% | $1.8B-8.7% | $1.8B+2.1% | $1.8B+2.9% | $2.0B+5.5% |
| Total Equity | $1.0B-21.3% | $1.0B-22.3% | $1.2B-12.6% | $1.3B-7.7% | $1.3B-5.0% | $1.3B-1.1% | $1.4B+2.5% | $1.4B+2.7% |
| Retained Earnings | -$210.1M-308.6% | -$203.8M-725.2% | -$121.7M-795.2% | -$73.0M-91.3% | -$51.4M-102.4% | -$24.7M-6.4% | -$13.6M-10.1% | -$38.2M-427.7% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Current Assets, Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Goodwill, Current Liabilities, Non-Current Liabilities.
NMFC Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $24.4M-39.5% | $401.4M+286.3% | $161.6M-17.2% | $73.1M+218.8% | $40.3M+125.2% | $103.9M+52.2% | $195.2M+55.3% | -$61.6M-170.7% |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$10.7M+84.4% | -$431.0M-337.1% | -$144.5M+18.0% | -$66.8M-1759.9% | -$68.8M-140.1% | -$98.6M-220.1% | -$176.3M-26.9% | $4.0M+108.1% |
| Dividends Paid | $23.6M-31.6% | $31.1M-9.7% | $32.9M-7.7% | $33.8M-7.8% | $34.5M-5.9% | $34.5M-9.8% | $35.6M-23.9% | $36.7M+0.9% |
| Share Buybacks | $9.0M-7.0% | $56.6M | $14.7M | $27.6M | $9.6M | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Depreciation & Amortization, Stock-Based Compensation, Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow, Investing Cash Flow.
NMFC Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Return on Equity | 1.7%+1.1pp | -4.9%-6.6pp | N/A | 1.0%-0.8pp | 0.6%-1.9pp | 1.7%-0.3pp | N/A | 1.8%-0.4pp |
| Return on Assets | 0.7%+0.5pp | -2.1%-2.8pp | N/A | 0.4%-0.3pp | 0.3%-0.8pp | 0.7%-0.1pp | N/A | 0.7%-0.2pp |
| Debt-to-Equity | 1.310.0x | 1.27-0.1x | 1.41+0.1x | 1.40-0.1x | 1.35-0.1x | 1.330.0x | 1.360.0x | 1.460.0x |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, Operating Margin, Net Margin, Current Ratio, Asset Turnover, FCF Margin.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION NMFC | FY2025 | N/A | $16.5M | N/A | $683.8M | — |
| Kayne Anderson BDC, Inc. KBDC | FY2025 | N/A | $93.7M | N/A | $855.9M | — |
| MidCap Financial Investment Corporation MFIC | FY2025 | N/A | $63.2M | N/A | $745.5M | — |
| PennantPark Floating Rate Capital Ltd. PFLT | FY2025 | N/A | $66.4M | N/A | $702.5M | — |
Where NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
Is NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION profitable?
Yes, NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) reported a net income of $16.5M in fiscal year 2025.
How much debt does NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION have?
As of fiscal year 2025, NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) had $80.7M in cash and equivalents against $1.7B in long-term debt.
Does NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION pay dividends?
Yes, NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) paid $1.28 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.
What is NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION's return on equity (ROE)?
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) has a return on equity of 1.4% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION's operating cash flow?
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) generated $379.0M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION's total assets?
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) had $2.9B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What is NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION's debt-to-equity ratio?
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 1.41 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION's return on assets (ROA)?
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) had a return on assets of 0.6% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION's P/E ratio?
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) trades at 41.5x earnings, its market capitalization divided by net income of $16.5M net income, FY2025. The market capitalization is $683.8M as of Sep 11, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION's price-to-sales ratio?
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) has no price-to-sales ratio at the moment: no revenue reported. The market capitalization is $683.8M as of Sep 11, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION's Piotroski F-Score?
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 6 computable signals; 3 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION's earnings high quality?
NEW MOUNTAIN FINANCE CORPORATION (NMFC) reported $16.5M of net income while generating $379.0M in operating cash flow. The ratio between the two is outside the range this page publishes as a per-dollar figure, so both figures are given instead. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.