STOCK TITAN

S&W SEED CO (SANW) Financials

SANW
Trailing 12 months to March 31, 2025
Revenue $55.0M +6.9% YoY
Net Income -$32.2M -28.3% YoY
EPS (Diluted) -$21.66 YoY not available
Free Cash Flow -$1.9M +79.5% YoY
Source SEC Filings (10-K/10-Q) Latest period Q3 FY2025, ended Mar 31, 2025 Reported Currency USD FYE June

Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q3 FY2025, filed May 15, 2025. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the SANW SEC filings page.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) reported $55.0M in revenue over the twelve months to Mar 31, 2025, up 6.9% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 14 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).

Rhea AI SANW FY2024

Improved gross margins have not overcome persistent operating losses, while short-term obligations now exceed current assets.

FY2023 paired a net profit of $14.4M with operating cash flow of -$19.0M, separating accounting earnings from cash generation. In FY2024, a net loss of $30.0M coincided with operating cash flow of -$5.6M, so cash usage improved even as profitability deteriorated.

Gross margin rose from 8.9% in FY2022 to 26.2% in FY2024 despite lower sales, pointing to a product or cost mix shift rather than scale-driven expansion. But FY2024’s operating margin was -29.3%, showing that overhead still consumed more than the gross profit generated.

The balance sheet is lightly debt-funded but increasingly reliant on short-term financing: debt-to-equity was 0.1x, while the current ratio slipped to 0.9x in FY2024. The reported liquidity measure was 0.6 months of latest annual operating outflow, indicating that near-term funding capacity is more constrained than long-term debt leverage.

[ NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE ]

Financial Health Signals

Financial health score not available

S&W SEED CO does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.

Piotroski F-Score Neutral
4/9

S&W SEED CO passes 4 of 9 financial strength tests. 1 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 3 leverage/liquidity signals pass, both operating efficiency signals pass.

Earnings Quality No Cash Backing
N/A

S&W SEED CO reported a net loss of $30.0M while operations used $5.6M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.

Interest Coverage At Risk
N/A

S&W SEED CO reported an operating loss of $17.7M against $5.5M in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations.

Key Financial Metrics

Export CSV

Earnings & Revenue

Revenue
$9.6M
YoY+2.0%
QoQ+88.2%
5Y CAGR-20.0%
10Y CAGR-11.0%

S&W SEED CO generated $9.6M in revenue in Q3 2025. This represents an increase of 2.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 88.2%.

EBITDA
-$85K
YoY+96.5%
QoQ+97.7%

S&W SEED CO's EBITDA was -$85K in Q3 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents an increase of 96.5% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 97.7%.

Net Income
-$2.2M
YoY+59.3%
QoQ-34.6%

S&W SEED CO reported -$2.2M in net income in Q3 2025. This represents an increase of 59.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 34.6%.

EPS (Diluted)
-$1.04
QoQ-44.4%

S&W SEED CO earned -$1.04 per diluted share (EPS) in Q3 2025. Against the prior quarter it is down 44.4%.

Cash & Balance Sheet

Free Cash Flow
-$3.1M
YoY+63.6%
QoQ-192.9%

S&W SEED CO recorded an outflow of $3.1M in free cash flow in Q3 2025, representing a cash shortfall after capex. This represents an increase of 63.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 192.9%.

Cash & Debt
$354K
YoY+107.3%
QoQ-74.6%
5Y CAGR-47.0%
10Y CAGR-18.2%

S&W SEED CO held $354K in cash against $4.5M in long-term debt as of Q3 2025.

Shares Outstanding
2M
QoQ+0.1%
5Y CAGR-42.2%
10Y CAGR-16.7%

S&W SEED CO had 2M shares outstanding in Q3 2025. Against the prior quarter it is up 0.1%.

Dividends Per Share

Not reported for Q3 2025.

Margins & Returns

Gross Margin
37.7%
YoY+13.1pp
QoQ+0.7pp
5Y change+15.7pp
10Y change+14.4pp

S&W SEED CO's gross margin was 37.7% in Q3 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is up 13.1 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 0.7 percentage points.

Operating Margin
-6.9%
YoY+27.6pp
QoQ+78.6pp
5Y change+2.4pp
10Y change-18.9pp

S&W SEED CO's operating margin was -6.9% in Q3 2025, reflecting core business profitability. This is up 27.6 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 78.6 percentage points.

Net Margin
-23.4%
YoY+35.3pp
QoQ+9.3pp
5Y change-12.1pp
10Y change-21.9pp

S&W SEED CO's net profit margin was -23.4% in Q3 2025, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is up 35.3 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 9.3 percentage points.

Return on Equity
-8.3%
YoY+2.4pp
QoQ-2.6pp
5Y change-4.5pp
10Y change-7.4pp

S&W SEED CO's ROE was -8.3% in Q3 2025, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 2.4 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 2.6 percentage points.

Capital Allocation

R&D Spending
$735K
YoY-4.3%
QoQ-11.8%
5Y CAGR-18.5%
10Y CAGR+1.8%

S&W SEED CO invested $735K in research and development in Q3 2025. This represents a decrease of 4.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 11.8%.

Share Buybacks
$0

S&W SEED CO repurchased no shares in Q3 2025.

Capital Expenditures
$13K
YoY-76.4%
QoQ-77.4%
5Y CAGR-47.2%
10Y CAGR-27.9%

S&W SEED CO invested $13K in capex in Q3 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure. This represents a decrease of 76.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 77.4%.

SANW Income Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SANW quarterly income statement
MetricQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-QQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-K
Revenue$9.6M+2.0%$5.1M-38.5%$8.3M-22.8%$32.1M+39.0%$9.4M-47.0%$8.3M-36.1%$10.8M-45.9%$23.1M+15.3%
Cost of Revenue$5.9M-15.8%$3.2M-32.4%$7.0M-13.2%$24.8M+22.8%$7.1M-46.6%$4.7M-53.6%$8.0M-47.7%$20.2M-4.4%
Gross Profit$3.6M+56.4%$1.9M-46.7%$1.3M-51.0%$7.2M+153.9%$2.3M-48.0%$3.5M+28.5%$2.7M-39.5%$2.9M+350.9%
R&D Expenses$735K-4.3%$833K+15.1%$742K-4.8%$1.8M+77.3%$767K-36.5%$724K-51.9%$779K-48.6%$1.0M-40.6%
SG&A Expenses$3.0M-25.4%$4.7M+10.5%$4.0M-3.6%$9.4M+82.2%$4.0M-33.9%$4.2M-32.0%$4.2M-17.9%$5.1M-17.4%
Operating Income-$663K+79.5%-$4.3M-97.1%-$4.2M-41.5%-$9.3M-111.2%-$3.2M+17.2%-$2.2M+64.7%-$3.0M+12.0%-$4.4M+63.3%
EBITDA-$85K+96.5%-$3.6M-163.3%-$3.4M-56.5%-$7.4M-123.8%-$2.4M+13.7%-$1.4M+72.3%-$2.2M-5.9%-$3.3M+68.6%
Interest Expense$657K-11.3%$830K+16.6%$762K-19.7%$3.1M+173.3%$740K-36.4%$712K-34.8%$949K+20.6%$1.1M+80.5%
Income Tax$4K+122.7%$2K-15.4%$1K+109.3%$505K+319.3%$2K+100.3%$2K+100.6%-$12K+87.9%$120K+10037.2%
Net Income-$2.2M+59.3%-$1.7M+74.3%-$16.2M-172.8%-$12.1M-67.9%-$5.5M-117.1%-$6.5M-8.1%-$5.9M-32.0%-$7.2M+44.1%
EPS (Basic)-$1.04+56.8%-$0.72+74.7%-$7.11-170.3%-$12.79-7893.7%-$2.41-421.3%-$2.85-1935.7%-$2.63-2290.9%-$0.16+48.4%
EPS (Diluted)-$1.04-$0.72-$7.11-$12.79-$2.41-$2.85-$2.63-$0.16+48.4%
Diluted Shares (Avg)2M2M2MN/A2M2M2MN/A

SANW Balance Sheet

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SANW quarterly balance sheet
MetricQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-QQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-K
Total Assets$69.6M-47.7%$73.3M-49.0%$96.6M-35.1%$120.7M-20.6%$133.2M-15.9%$143.7M+7.0%$148.8M+10.0%$152.0M+13.6%
Current Assets$31.5M-54.2%$34.2M-55.6%$46.6M-43.3%$63.4M-24.6%$68.7M-22.3%$77.1M-5.6%$82.1M+1.8%$84.1M+8.9%
Cash & Equivalents$354K+107.3%$1.4M+25.0%$480K-51.4%$287K-91.6%$171K-89.1%$1.1M-16.1%$987K-19.4%$3.4M+65.3%
Short-Term Investments$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0
Inventory$16.9M-61.2%$21.0M-54.3%$26.5M-38.2%$22.6M-49.8%$43.5M-21.9%$46.0M-13.1%$42.9M-13.8%$45.1M-17.3%
Accounts Receivable$11.4M-49.2%$8.4M-58.1%$16.6M-40.6%$14.6M-40.6%$22.5M+10.0%$20.0M-17.1%$27.9M+0.9%$24.6M+29.2%
Long-Term Investments$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0
Total Liabilities$36.6M-52.0%$38.3M-52.9%$60.2M-25.3%$75.7M-2.8%$76.4M-1.6%$81.4M-6.6%$80.6M-3.7%$77.9M+0.4%
Current Liabilities$31.4M-54.9%$33.2M-55.5%$54.9M-25.3%$69.2M-2.9%$69.7M-2.4%$74.4M-7.0%$73.4M-4.0%$71.3M+47.6%
Non-Current Liabilities$5.2M-21.7%$5.2M-25.3%$5.3M-25.9%$6.5M-2.3%$6.7M+7.2%$6.9M-2.0%$7.2M-0.8%$6.6M-77.5%
Long-Term Debt$4.5M-6.7%$4.6M-5.6%$4.7M-2.8%$4.7M+4.9%$4.9M+33.3%$4.9M+30.3%$4.8M+27.0%$4.5M+12.7%
Total Equity$26.8M-47.6%$29.0M-49.0%$30.5M-51.4%$39.3M-43.0%$51.2M-32.4%$56.8M+35.0%$62.8M+34.7%$68.8M+33.9%
Retained Earnings-$142.6M-29.8%-$140.2M-34.1%-$138.4M-41.3%-$122.1M-32.8%-$109.9M-29.9%-$104.6M+10.3%-$98.0M+11.3%-$91.9M+13.2%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Goodwill.

SANW Cash Flow Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SANW quarterly cash flow statement
MetricQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-QQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-K
Operating Cash Flow-$3.0M+63.5%$3.3M+71.0%-$650K-181.8%-$55K+98.2%-$8.3M-11.3%$2.0M+291.6%$795K+110.9%-$3.1M-758.9%
Depreciation & Amortization$578K-29.1%$696K-14.9%$814K+0.9%$1.8M+72.4%$816K-26.3%$819K-34.7%$807K-39.6%$1.1M-22.1%
Stock-Based Compensation$200K-33.3%$300K0.0%$244K-40.8%N/A$300K-50.0%$300K-1.9%$412K-9.7%N/A
Capital Expenditures$13K-76.4%$57K-51.7%$138K+18.6%$1.3M+1716.7%$55K-92.9%$118K+3160.4%$116K-23.1%-$69K-85.0%
Free Cash Flow-$3.1M+63.6%$3.3M+78.9%-$788K-216.2%-$1.3M+59.3%-$8.4M-1.5%$1.8M+279.4%$678K+109.1%-$3.2M-288.9%
Investing Cash Flow-$13K-100.2%-$43K+94.9%-$87K+40.5%$81K+624.9%$6.8M+10.2%-$858K-136.7%-$147K+0.6%$11K+103.3%
Financing Cash Flow$4.5M+323.2%-$4.9M-391.9%$931K+130.0%$97K-98.2%-$2.0M-279.4%$1.7M+270.6%-$3.1M-148.3%$5.4M+807.7%
Share Buybacks$0N/AN/AN/A$0N/AN/AN/A

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Dividends Paid.

SANW Financial Ratios

Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

SANW quarterly financial ratios
MetricQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-QQ3'2410-QQ2'2410-QQ1'2410-QQ4'2310-K
Gross Margin37.7%+13.1pp37.1%-5.7pp16.1%-9.3pp22.6%+10.2pp24.6%-0.5pp42.8%+21.5pp25.3%+2.7pp12.4%+18.1pp
Operating Margin-6.9%+27.6pp-85.6%-58.9pp-50.9%-23.1pp-28.9%-9.9pp-34.6%-12.4pp-26.7%+21.6pp-27.8%-10.7pp-19.0%+40.6pp
Net Margin-23.4%+35.3pp-32.7%+45.6pp-195.3%-37.8%-6.5pp-58.7%-78.3%-32.0pp-55.3%-32.6pp-31.3%+33.2pp
Return on Equity-8.3%+2.4pp-5.7%+5.7pp-53.2%-43.7pp-30.8%-20.4pp-10.7%-53.2pp-11.4%+2.8pp-9.5%+0.2pp-10.5%+14.6pp
Return on Assets-3.2%+0.9pp-2.3%+2.2pp-16.8%-12.8pp-10.0%-5.3pp-4.1%-24.4pp-4.5%0.0pp-4.0%-0.7pp-4.8%+4.9pp
Current Ratio1.000.0x1.030.0x0.85-0.3x0.92-0.3x0.99-0.3x1.040.0x1.12+0.1x1.18-0.4x
Debt-to-Equity0.17+0.1x0.16+0.1x0.15+0.1x0.12+0.1x0.100.0x0.090.0x0.080.0x0.070.0x
Asset Turnover0.14+0.1x0.070.0x0.090.0x0.27+0.1x0.070.0x0.060.0x0.07-0.1x0.150.0x
FCF Margin-32.0%+57.6pp64.7%+42.5pp-9.5%-15.8pp-4.1%+9.9pp-89.5%-42.8pp22.2%+30.2pp6.3%+43.9pp-14.0%-9.8pp

Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Net Margin.

Note: The current ratio is below 1.0 (0.92), indicating current liabilities exceed current assets, which may suggest potential short-term liquidity concerns.

Similar Companies

Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.

Company Fiscal year Revenue Net income Net margin Market cap Health score
S&W SEED CO SANW FY2024 $60.4M -$30.0M -49.7% N/A —
Origin Agritech Limited SEED FY2025 $12.8M -$7.5M -58.4% $9.7M 7/100
N2OFF, Inc. NITO FY2025 N/A -$4.0M N/A $3.3M —
ENLIGHTIFY INC ENFY FY2025 $75.3M -$15.6M -20.7% $5.8M —
Bioceres Crop Solutions Corp. BIOX FY2025 $335.1M -$58.8M -17.6% $21.7M 28/100

Frequently Asked Questions

What is S&W SEED CO's annual revenue?

S&W SEED CO (SANW) reported $60.4M in total revenue for fiscal year 2024. This represents a -17.8% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.

How fast is S&W SEED CO's revenue growing?

S&W SEED CO (SANW) revenue declined by 17.8% year-over-year, from $73.5M to $60.4M in fiscal year 2024.

Is S&W SEED CO profitable?

No, S&W SEED CO (SANW) reported a net income of -$30.0M in fiscal year 2024, with a net profit margin of -49.7%.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) reported diluted earnings per share of -$13.21 for fiscal year 2024. EPS represents the portion of a company's net income allocated to each outstanding share of common stock and is widely used to evaluate profitability on a per-share basis.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) had EBITDA of -$13.4M in fiscal year 2024, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.

As of fiscal year 2024, S&W SEED CO (SANW) had $287K in cash and equivalents against $4.7M in long-term debt.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) had a gross margin of 26.2% in fiscal year 2024, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) had an operating margin of -29.3% in fiscal year 2024, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) had a net profit margin of -49.7% in fiscal year 2024, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) has a return on equity of -76.5% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) recorded an outflow of $7.2M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2024. This represents a 63.8% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) recorded an outflow of $5.6M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2024, representing cash used by core business activities.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) had $120.7M in total assets as of fiscal year 2024, including both current and long-term assets.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) invested $1.5M in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2024, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) invested $4.1M in research and development during fiscal year 2024.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) had 2M shares outstanding as of fiscal year 2024.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) had a current ratio of 0.92 as of fiscal year 2024, which is below 1.0, which may suggest potential liquidity concerns.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.12 as of fiscal year 2024, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) had a return on assets of -24.9% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.

At the end of fiscal year 2024, S&W SEED CO (SANW) held $287K in cash, cash equivalents and investments, and reported an operating cash outflow of $5.6M over that year. Dividing the one by the other, the reported balance equals about 1 month of the outflow reported that year. This is arithmetic over figures already filed, not a projection: it assumes nothing about future spending, financing or operations.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 9, indicating neutral financial health. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) reported a net loss of $30.0M while operations used $5.6M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

S&W SEED CO (SANW) reported an operating loss of $17.7M against $5.5M in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Back to top