A multiple compares the market's price with a filed figure; it says what the market pays, not how the business is doing. The market capitalization is the vendor's as of Sep 9, 2026; every other figure is from the SEC filings on this page. Not financial advice.
Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Aug 5, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the GECC SEC filings page.
This page shows Great Elm Capital Corp (GECC) financial statements, including the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 6 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Balance-sheet leverage and distribution funding now matter more than reported earnings for understanding Great Elm's operating mechanics.
Earnings quality is highly volatile: FY2025 recorded a net loss of-$31.8M , while operating cash flow was only-$2.8M . That gap suggests accounting or portfolio-value movements drove much of the reported loss, rather than an equivalent cash drain, so net income alone is an incomplete view of the year's economics.
The balance sheet moved in a less conservative direction: debt-to-equity rose from
Cash generation has not followed a stable pattern: operating cash flow was
Financial Health Signals
Great Elm Capital Corp does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.
Great Elm Capital Corp passes 1 of 5 computable financial strength tests (4 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 1 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution).
Great Elm Capital Corp reported a net loss of $31.8M while operations used $2.8M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Great Elm Capital Corp reported $6.4M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 45.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 962.4%.
Great Elm Capital Corp earned $0.46 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 54.9% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 1020.0%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Great Elm Capital Corp held $1.7M in cash as of Q2 2026; long-term debt is not reported for that period.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Margins & Returns
Great Elm Capital Corp's ROE was 5.8% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 2.6 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 6.5 percentage points.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Capital Allocation
None of these metrics is reported for Q2 2026.
GECC Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $12.5M+40.3% | $9.1M-0.3% | $11.7M+26.4% |
| Interest Expense | $3.9M-10.4% | $4.3M+0.1% | N/A | $5.5M+30.3% | $4.3M+24.3% | $4.3M+51.4% | $4.4M+56.4% | $4.2M+25.9% |
| Net Income | $6.4M-45.3% | -$745K-264.5% | N/A | -$22.0M-733.6% | $11.7M+985.6% | $453K+198.9% | $1.9M-55.8% | $3.5M-55.2% |
| EPS (Basic) | $0.46-54.9% | -$0.05-225.0% | -$1.74-1066.7% | -$1.79-642.4% | $1.02+828.6% | $0.04+180.0% | $0.18-67.9% | $0.33-67.6% |
| EPS (Diluted) | $0.46-54.9% | -$0.05-225.0% | -$1.74-1066.7% | -$1.79-642.4% | $1.02+828.6% | $0.04+180.0% | $0.18-67.9% | $0.33-67.6% |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 14M+20.2% | 14M+21.1% | N/A | 12M+17.9% | 12M+21.0% | 12M+33.3% | N/A | 10M+37.5% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses, SG&A Expenses, Operating Income, EBITDA, Income Tax.
GECC Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $280.0M-31.6% | $282.8M-19.4% | $340.8M-0.4% | $420.0M-1.6% | $409.3M+25.4% | $350.8M+25.7% | $342.0M+38.6% | $427.0M+73.4% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $1.7M+73.9% | N/A | $1.8M | N/A | $960K-62.7% | $1.3M+281.1% | $0-100.0% | $305K-82.9% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | N/A | $0 | N/A | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | N/A | $0 | N/A | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Total Liabilities | $169.6M-37.0% | $175.3M-19.8% | $227.8M+10.6% | $280.0M-7.1% | $269.3M+34.3% | $218.5M+36.3% | $205.9M+39.1% | $301.2M+103.0% |
| Total Equity | $110.4M-21.1% | $107.5M-18.8% | $112.9M-17.0% | $140.1M+11.3% | $140.0M+11.1% | $132.3M+11.4% | $136.1M+37.9% | $125.8M+28.5% |
| Retained Earnings | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $14.9M+30.6% | N/A |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Current Assets, Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Goodwill, Current Liabilities, Non-Current Liabilities, Long-Term Debt.
GECC Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $13.2M+35.7% | $23.5M+500.3% | $18.6M-40.8% | -$25.2M+53.6% | $9.7M+128.2% | -$5.9M+76.9% | $31.4M+1396.0% | -$54.4M-618.3% |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$11.5M-14.7% | -$25.3M-454.6% | -$16.8M+47.2% | $24.3M-53.4% | -$10.0M-127.4% | $7.1M-71.1% | -$31.7M-983.9% | $52.1M+532.0% |
| Dividends Paid | $3.5M-18.9% | $4.2M-13.4% | $5.2M+28.2% | $4.9M+34.9% | $4.3M+29.4% | $4.8M+19.2% | $4.0M+51.9% | $3.7M+37.4% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Depreciation & Amortization, Stock-Based Compensation, Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow, Investing Cash Flow, Share Buybacks.
GECC Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net Margin | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | 3.6%+8.8pp | 20.4%-25.6pp | 29.6%-54.0pp |
| Return on Equity | 5.8%-2.6pp | -0.7%-1.0pp | N/A | -15.7%-18.5pp | 8.4%+9.4pp | 0.3%+0.7pp | 1.4%-2.9pp | 2.8%-5.2pp |
| Return on Assets | 2.3%-0.6pp | -0.3%-0.4pp | N/A | -5.2%-6.0pp | 2.9%+3.3pp | 0.1%+0.3pp | 0.5%-1.2pp | 0.8%-2.3pp |
| Debt-to-Equity | 1.54-0.4x | 1.630.0x | 2.02+0.5x | 2.00-0.4x | 1.92+0.3x | 1.65+0.3x | 1.510.0x | 2.39+0.9x |
| Asset Turnover | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | 0.040.0x | 0.030.0x | 0.030.0x |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, Operating Margin, Current Ratio, FCF Margin.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Great Elm Capital Corp GECC | FY2025 | N/A | -$31.8M | N/A | $83.5M | — |
| Monroe Capital MRCC | FY2025 | N/A | -$5.1M | N/A | $110.1M | — |
Where Great Elm Capital Corp Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Great Elm Capital Corp profitable?
No, Great Elm Capital Corp (GECC) reported a net income of -$31.8M in fiscal year 2025.
What is Great Elm Capital Corp's return on equity (ROE)?
Great Elm Capital Corp (GECC) has a return on equity of -28.1% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Great Elm Capital Corp's operating cash flow?
Great Elm Capital Corp (GECC) recorded an outflow of $2.8M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash used by core business activities.
What are Great Elm Capital Corp's total assets?
Great Elm Capital Corp (GECC) had $340.8M in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What is Great Elm Capital Corp's debt-to-equity ratio?
Great Elm Capital Corp (GECC) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 2.02 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Great Elm Capital Corp's return on assets (ROA)?
Great Elm Capital Corp (GECC) had a return on assets of -9.3% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is Great Elm Capital Corp's P/E ratio?
Great Elm Capital Corp (GECC) has no price-to-earnings ratio at the moment: net loss, so no earnings multiple (FY2025). The market capitalization is $83.5M as of Sep 9, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Great Elm Capital Corp's price-to-sales ratio?
Great Elm Capital Corp (GECC) has no price-to-sales ratio at the moment: no revenue reported. The market capitalization is $83.5M as of Sep 9, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Great Elm Capital Corp's Piotroski F-Score?
Great Elm Capital Corp (GECC) has a Piotroski F-Score of 1 out of 5 computable signals; 4 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Great Elm Capital Corp's earnings high quality?
Great Elm Capital Corp (GECC) reported a net loss of $31.8M while operations used $2.8M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.