A multiple compares the market's price with a filed figure; it says what the market pays, not how the business is doing. The market capitalization is the vendor's as of Sep 3, 2026; every other figure is from the SEC filings on this page. Not financial advice.
Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Aug 5, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the PRU SEC filings page.
Prudential Finl (PRU) reported $64.8B in revenue over the twelve months to Jun 30, 2026, up 9.4% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Earnings recovered while cash conversion softened within a liability-heavy balance sheet financed more through obligations than traditional debt.
FY2025 net income rose to$3.576B even as operating cash flow fell to$6.271B , so reported earnings improved faster than cash generation. That gap reduced cash conversion from 3.1x in FY2024 to 1.8x in FY2025, a meaningful shift in earnings quality rather than merely a stronger profit year.
Debt-to-equity eased from 0.7x to 0.6x while long-term debt remained broadly stable, so the improved ratio reflects balance-sheet equity growth more than debt reduction. Liabilities still dominate the funding structure, making the business’s economics more dependent on managing obligations than on conventional corporate borrowing.
Shares outstanding fell from 376M in FY2021 to 348M in FY2025, so per-share results benefited from a smaller denominator. Dividends per share increased from
Financial Health Signals
Scored against insurers for FY2025. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →
Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Prudential Finl's business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.
Loss Ratio measures the claims an insurer paid out against the premiums it earned, so a lower ratio leaves more of every premium dollar with the company. Prudential Finl scores 6/100 on it among other insurers.
Not available for Prudential Finl, and counted as zero in the overall score.
Prudential Finl funded 4.2% of its assets with shareholders' equity at the end of fiscal year 2025, holding $32.4B of equity against $773.7B of assets. Capital ranks insurers on that cushion, and Prudential Finl scores 12/100 among other insurers.
Not available for Prudential Finl, and counted as zero in the overall score.
Combined Ratio puts claims and running costs together against premiums earned, and a figure under 100% means the underwriting made money before any investment income was counted. Prudential Finl scores 15/100 on it among other insurers.
Prudential Finl reported net income of $3.6B in fiscal year 2025, against $2.7B in fiscal year 2024. Stability ranks insurers on how steady net income has been across five years, and Prudential Finl scores 33/100 among other insurers.
Prudential Finl passes 6 of 7 computable financial strength tests (2 of the nine could not be computed from available data). All 4 profitability signals pass (positive income, cash flow, and earnings quality), all 2 leverage/liquidity signals pass, neither operating efficiency signal passes.
For every $1 of reported earnings, Prudential Finl generates $1.75 in operating cash flow ($6.3B OCF vs $3.6B net income). This indicates profits are well-supported by actual cash generation, not accounting adjustments.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Prudential Finl generated $15.7B in revenue in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 14.1% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 0.9%.
Prudential Finl reported $985.0M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 84.8% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 65.0%.
Prudential Finl earned $2.80 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 89.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 66.7%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Prudential Finl held $15.2B in cash against $19.7B in long-term debt as of Q2 2026.
Prudential Finl paid $1.40 per share in dividends in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 3.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Margins & Returns
Prudential Finl's net profit margin was 6.3% in Q2 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is up 2.4 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 2.4 percentage points.
Prudential Finl's ROE was 3.1% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 1.4 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 1.2 percentage points.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Capital Allocation
Prudential Finl spent $250.0M on share buybacks in Q2 2026, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 1.6%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
PRU Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $15.7B+14.1% | $15.5B+15.3% | $15.7B+25.3% | $17.9B-8.2% | $13.7B-7.8% | $13.5B-42.7% | $12.5B-17.0% | $19.5B+133.4% |
| SG&A Expenses | $3.3B+5.1% | $3.5B+12.5% | $3.5B+5.0% | $3.3B-1.0% | $3.2B+1.6% | $3.1B-14.2% | $3.3B | $3.3B+8.0% |
| Income Tax | $218.0M+11.8% | $129.0M-37.7% | $269.0M+244.6% | $382.0M+172.9% | $195.0M-26.1% | $207.0M-28.4% | -$186.0M | $140.0M+155.8% |
| Net Income | $985.0M+84.8% | $597.0M-15.6% | $905.0M+1687.7% | $1.4B+219.4% | $533.0M-55.5% | $707.0M-37.9% | -$57.0M-104.3% | $448.0M+155.9% |
| EPS (Basic) | $2.81+88.6% | $1.69-14.2% | $2.57+1935.7% | $4.03+225.0% | $1.49-54.8% | $1.97-37.1% | -$0.14-103.9% | $1.24+155.6% |
| EPS (Diluted) | $2.80+89.2% | $1.68-14.3% | $2.55+1921.4% | $4.01+223.4% | $1.48-54.9% | $1.96-37.2% | -$0.14-103.9% | $1.24+155.6% |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 348M-1.9% | 349M-1.9% | N/A | 353M-1.6% | 355M-1.6% | 356M-1.2% | N/A | 359M-1.1% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses, Operating Income, EBITDA, Interest Expense.
PRU Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $783.6B+3.2% | $765.4B+3.5% | $773.7B+5.2% | $776.3B+2.1% | $759.0B+6.1% | $739.3B+1.9% | $735.6B+2.0% | $760.3B+11.6% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $15.2B-8.9% | $15.9B-0.8% | $19.7B+6.6% | $17.5B-13.5% | $16.6B-2.8% | $16.1B-14.3% | $18.5B-4.7% | $20.2B+19.6% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Goodwill | N/A | N/A | $1.1B+3.5% | N/A | N/A | N/A | $1.1B-1.7% | N/A |
| Total Liabilities | $749.0B+3.2% | $730.5B+3.3% | $738.2B+4.6% | $741.5B+1.9% | $725.8B+5.9% | $707.0B+1.5% | $705.5B+2.0% | $727.7B+11.2% |
| Long-Term Debt | $19.7B+5.4% | $18.9B-3.4% | $18.9B-1.7% | $18.8B-1.5% | $18.7B-3.6% | $19.5B+0.9% | $19.2B+1.6% | $19.1B+1.1% |
| Total Equity | $31.6B+3.3% | $32.0B+7.0% | $32.4B+16.4% | $32.1B+5.5% | $30.6B+9.2% | $29.9B+9.8% | $27.9B+0.2% | $30.4B+17.8% |
| Retained Earnings | $35.4B+5.9% | $34.9B+4.6% | $34.8B+5.0% | $34.4B+2.1% | $33.5B-0.8% | $33.4B+1.2% | $33.2B+2.6% | $33.7B+7.1% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Current Assets, Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Current Liabilities, Non-Current Liabilities.
PRU Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $2.3B+101.9% | $1.0B+140.2% | $3.3B+42.9% | $4.3B+288.8% | $1.2B+895.9% | -$2.5B-148.0% | $2.3B+110.5% | $1.1B-61.1% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | -$110.0M | $143.0M | -$49.0M-192.5% | -$144.0M-251.2% | N/A | N/A | $53.0M | -$41.0M+8.9% |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$7.3B-24.8% | -$10.2B-86.2% | -$5.4B+26.6% | -$9.2B-62.1% | -$5.8B-9.1% | -$5.5B+46.7% | -$7.3B-135.7% | -$5.7B-97.8% |
| Financing Cash Flow | $4.2B-18.5% | $5.4B-1.1% | $4.4B+28.6% | $5.7B-22.9% | $5.1B+28.7% | $5.5B+21.0% | $3.4B-19.9% | $7.4B+215.7% |
| Dividends Paid | $490.0M+1.9% | $502.0M+2.2% | $475.0M+1.7% | $479.0M+2.1% | $481.0M+1.9% | $491.0M+1.7% | $467.0M+2.6% | $469.0M+2.4% |
| Share Buybacks | $250.0M0.0% | $246.0M0.0% | $254.0M0.0% | $250.0M-1.2% | $250.0M-0.4% | $246.0M+1.7% | $254.0M-1.6% | $253.0M+1.2% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Stock-Based Compensation, Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow.
PRU Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net Margin | 6.3%+2.4pp | 3.9%-1.4pp | 5.8%+6.2pp | 8.0%+5.7pp | 3.9%-4.2pp | 5.3%+0.4pp | -0.5%-9.2pp | 2.3%+11.9pp |
| Return on Equity | 3.1%+1.4pp | 1.9%-0.5pp | 2.8%+3.0pp | 4.5%+3.0pp | 1.7%-2.5pp | 2.4%-1.8pp | -0.2%-4.9pp | 1.5%+4.6pp |
| Return on Assets | 0.1%+0.1pp | 0.1%0.0pp | 0.1%+0.1pp | 0.2%+0.1pp | 0.1%-0.1pp | 0.1%-0.1pp | 0.0%-0.2pp | 0.1%+0.2pp |
| Debt-to-Equity | 0.620.0x | 0.59-0.1x | 0.58-0.1x | 0.590.0x | 0.61-0.1x | 0.65-0.1x | 0.690.0x | 0.63-0.1x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.020.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.030.0x |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, Operating Margin, Current Ratio, FCF Margin.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prudential Finl PRU | FY2025 | $60.8B | $3.6B | 5.9% | $42.5B | 11/100 |
| MetLife MET | FY2025 | $77.1B | $3.2B | 4.1% | $61.3B | 17/100 |
| Aflac Inc AFL | FY2025 | $17.2B | $3.6B | 21.2% | $58.8B | 48/100 |
| Unum UNM | FY2025 | $13.1B | $738.5M | 5.7% | $14.7B | 29/100 |
| Globe Life Inc GL | FY2025 | $6.0B | $1.2B | 19.4% | $13.3B | 43/100 |
Where Prudential Finl Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Prudential Finl's annual revenue?
Prudential Finl (PRU) reported $60.8B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a -13.7% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is Prudential Finl's revenue growing?
Prudential Finl (PRU) revenue declined by 13.7% year-over-year, from $70.4B to $60.8B in fiscal year 2025.
Is Prudential Finl profitable?
Yes, Prudential Finl (PRU) reported a net income of $3.6B in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 5.9%.
How much debt does Prudential Finl have?
As of fiscal year 2025, Prudential Finl (PRU) had $19.7B in cash and equivalents against $18.9B in long-term debt.
What is Prudential Finl's net profit margin?
Prudential Finl (PRU) had a net profit margin of 5.9% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
Does Prudential Finl pay dividends?
Yes, Prudential Finl (PRU) paid $5.40 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.
What is Prudential Finl's return on equity (ROE)?
Prudential Finl (PRU) has a return on equity of 11.0% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Prudential Finl's operating cash flow?
Prudential Finl (PRU) generated $6.3B in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are Prudential Finl's total assets?
Prudential Finl (PRU) had $773.7B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What is Prudential Finl's debt-to-equity ratio?
Prudential Finl (PRU) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.58 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Prudential Finl's return on assets (ROA)?
Prudential Finl (PRU) had a return on assets of 0.5% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is Prudential Finl's P/E ratio?
Prudential Finl (PRU) trades at 10.8x earnings, its market capitalization divided by net income of $3.9B net income, trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026. The market capitalization is $42.5B as of Sep 3, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Prudential Finl's price-to-sales ratio?
Prudential Finl (PRU) trades at 0.7x sales, its market capitalization divided by revenue of $64.8B revenue, trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026. The market capitalization is $42.5B as of Sep 3, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Prudential Finl's Piotroski F-Score?
Prudential Finl (PRU) has a Piotroski F-Score of 6 out of 7 computable signals; 2 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Prudential Finl's earnings high quality?
Prudential Finl (PRU) has an earnings quality ratio of 1.75x, considered cash-backed (high quality). This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
How financially healthy is Prudential Finl?
Prudential Finl (PRU) scores 11 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating weak standing within its insurers peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Loss Ratio, Premium Growth, Capital, Investment Yield, Combined Ratio, Stability), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.