Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q3 FY2025, filed Nov 3, 2025. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the VTLE SEC filings page.
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) reported $1.9B in revenue over the twelve months to Sep 30, 2025, up 1.9% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Vital Energy’s cash-conversion model funds operations, but heavy reinvestment and rising leverage absorb cash while earnings reverse.
FY2024 operating cash flow reached$1.00B even as net income was-$174M , so accounting earnings and cash generation pointed in opposite directions. Depreciation and amortization was$742M while operating income was-$23M , indicating that cash generation was materially supported by noncash expense recognition rather than current-period operating profit alone.
Revenue recovered to
Investing cash outflows reached
Financial Health Signals
Scored against energy companies for FY2024. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →
Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Vital Energy Inc's business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.
Vital Energy Inc has an operating margin of -1.2%, meaning the company loses $1 on every $100 of revenue. This results in a profitability score of 64/100. This is down from 36.2% the prior year.
Vital Energy Inc's revenue surged 26.2% year-over-year to $2.0B, reflecting rapid business expansion. This strong growth earns a score of 48/100.
Vital Energy Inc has elevated debt relative to equity (D/E of 0.91), meaning the company relies heavily on borrowed funds. This high leverage results in a low score of 20/100, reflecting increased financial risk.
Vital Energy Inc's current ratio of 0.78 is below the typical benchmark, resulting in a score of 20/100. This tight liquidity could limit financial flexibility if cash inflows slow.
Not available for Vital Energy Inc, and counted as zero in the overall score.
Vital Energy Inc posts a -6.4% return on equity (ROE), meaning it loses $6 for every $100 of shareholders' equity. This results in a returns score of 70/100. This is down from 25.0% the prior year.
Vital Energy Inc scores 0.16, below the 1.81 distress threshold. The score is driven primarily by a large market capitalization ($693.4M) relative to total liabilities ($3.2B). This indicates elevated financial distress risk and warrants close attention to liquidity and debt levels.
Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.
Vital Energy Inc passes 4 of 8 computable financial strength tests (1 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 3 leverage/liquidity signals pass, both operating efficiency signals pass.
Vital Energy Inc reported a net loss of $173.5M while generating $1.0B in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
Vital Energy Inc reported an operating loss of $22.6M against $177.8M in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Vital Energy Inc generated $420.8M in revenue in Q3 2025. This represents a decrease of 8.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 2.0%.
Vital Energy Inc's EBITDA was -$181.9M in Q3 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents a decrease of 166.1% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 2.8%.
Vital Energy Inc reported -$353.5M in net income in Q3 2025. This represents a decrease of 264.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 39.3%.
Vital Energy Inc earned -$9.35 per diluted share (EPS) in Q3 2025. This represents a decrease of 263.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 39.4%.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Vital Energy Inc held $14.7M in cash against $2.3B in long-term debt as of Q3 2025.
Not reported for Q3 2025.
Not reported for Q3 2025.
Margins & Returns
Vital Energy Inc's operating margin was -86.1% in Q3 2025, reflecting core business profitability. This is down 105.3 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 1.5 percentage points.
Vital Energy Inc's net profit margin was -84.0% in Q3 2025, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 130.9 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier.
Vital Energy Inc's ROE was -20.1% in Q3 2025, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 27.2 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 7.5 percentage points.
Not reported for Q3 2025.
Capital Allocation
None of these metrics is reported for Q3 2025.
VTLE Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $420.8M-8.4% | $429.6M-9.8% | $512.2M+6.2% | $534.4M+20.2% | $459.2M+5.4% | $476.4M+42.2% | $482.3M+45.1% | $444.5M+22.1% |
| SG&A Expenses | $25.0M+13.8% | $23.8M+0.9% | $22.7M-22.7% | $26.6M-16.1% | $22.0M-23.2% | $23.6M+27.5% | $29.4M+13.2% | $31.8M+83.8% |
| Operating Income | -$362.4M-512.1% | -$363.4M-408.4% | -$14.0M-110.2% | -$365.8M-370.4% | $87.9M-51.2% | $117.8M-3.0% | $137.4M+12.0% | $135.3M-14.0% |
| EBITDA | -$181.9M-166.1% | -$177.0M-160.6% | $175.9M-42.1% | -$151.3M-152.5% | $275.0M-8.5% | $292.1M+30.0% | $303.5M+44.9% | $287.9M+18.8% |
| Interest Expense | $50.0M+24.6% | $49.9M+22.5% | $50.4M+16.0% | $53.6M+6.2% | $40.1M+2.1% | $40.7M+29.1% | $43.4M+52.1% | $50.4M+74.7% |
| Income Tax | -$1.8M-102.9% | $239.2M+2197.7% | -$1.0M+93.3% | -$102.7M-397.6% | $60.3M+2442.1% | $10.4M+104.7% | -$15.7M-1080.0% | $34.5M+1029.8% |
| Net Income | -$353.5M-264.2% | -$582.6M-1687.3% | -$18.8M+71.5% | -$359.4M-227.7% | $215.3M+4300.2% | $36.7M-87.6% | -$66.1M-158.0% | $281.4M+138.1% |
| EPS (Basic) | -$9.35-262.6% | -$15.43-1643.0% | -$0.50+73.3% | -$9.82-190.4% | $5.75+2029.6% | $1.00-93.9% | -$1.87-127.0% | $10.86+50.0% |
| EPS (Diluted) | -$9.35-263.2% | -$15.43-1674.5% | -$0.50+73.3% | -$9.71-195.9% | $5.73 | $0.98 | -$1.87 | $10.12 |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 38M+0.6% | 38M+0.4% | 38M+5.7% | N/A | 38M | 38M | 36M | N/A |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses.
VTLE Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $4.7B-24.5% | $5.1B-3.1% | $5.7B+0.9% | $5.9B+14.2% | $6.3B+41.2% | $5.3B+37.9% | $5.7B+92.4% | $5.1B+88.9% |
| Current Assets | $421.1M+0.4% | $430.4M+37.7% | $408.2M-45.3% | $466.6M+25.8% | $419.3M-48.5% | $312.5M+28.6% | $745.9M+224.8% | $370.9M+50.9% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $14.7M-33.8% | $30.2M-46.6% | $28.6M-93.2% | $40.2M+185.7% | $22.2M-96.2% | $56.6M-21.1% | $423.3M+1429.2% | $14.1M-68.4% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Inventory | N/A | N/A | N/A | $17.3M+26.0% | N/A | N/A | N/A | $13.7M+126.1% |
| Accounts Receivable | $227.7M+1.2% | $243.0M+7.9% | $254.3M-12.4% | $299.7M+25.5% | $225.0M+12.6% | $225.1M+56.7% | $290.2M+97.4% | $238.8M+46.2% |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Total Liabilities | $3.0B-7.3% | $3.0B+23.4% | $3.0B+5.8% | $3.2B+34.4% | $3.2B+20.4% | $2.4B+9.7% | $2.9B+66.7% | $2.4B+46.4% |
| Current Liabilities | $541.5M-13.5% | $545.5M-11.6% | $607.7M-0.3% | $601.1M+0.9% | $626.3M+9.6% | $617.4M+42.3% | $609.3M+55.6% | $595.6M+43.4% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $2.4B-5.8% | $2.4B+35.3% | $2.4B+7.4% | $2.6B+45.7% | $2.6B+23.4% | $1.8B+1.8% | $2.3B+69.9% | $1.8B+47.4% |
| Long-Term Debt | $2.3B-6.2% | $2.3B+39.6% | $2.3B+10.2% | $2.5B+52.5% | $2.4B+26.3% | $1.7B+2.6% | $2.1B+80.2% | $1.6B+44.6% |
| Total Equity | $1.8B-42.5% | $2.1B-25.8% | $2.7B-4.2% | $2.7B-3.0% | $3.1B+72.3% | $2.8B+76.8% | $2.8B+128.4% | $2.8B+150.8% |
| Retained Earnings | -$2.1B-172.1% | -$1.7B-76.2% | -$1.1B-12.5% | -$1.1B-18.4% | -$763.7M+37.9% | -$979.0M+20.7% | -$1.0B+33.6% | -$948.9M+42.3% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Goodwill.
VTLE Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | $286.6M+16.4% | $252.3M-25.4% | $351.0M+121.3% | $257.2M+10.0% | $246.2M+14.9% | $338.4M+36.0% | $158.6M+36.6% | $233.7M+114.6% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $180.5M-3.5% | $186.4M+7.0% | $189.9M+14.3% | $214.5M+40.5% | $187.1M+55.2% | $174.3M+68.7% | $166.1M+91.4% | $152.6M+79.4% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | $3.5M+2.5% | $3.1M-29.2% | $3.6M+2.9% | N/A | $3.4M-37.5% | $4.4M+9.6% | $3.5M+36.1% | N/A |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$260.5M+75.1% | -$259.3M-14.4% | -$212.1M-3.1% | -$257.4M+45.8% | -$1.0B-544.3% | -$226.7M+66.4% | -$205.7M-25.7% | -$474.7M-1361.6% |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$41.6M-105.4% | $8.5M+101.8% | -$150.4M-133.0% | $18.2M+105.4% | $767.3M+64.5% | -$478.5M-205.4% | $456.3M+869.9% | -$334.7M-308.4% |
| Share Buybacks | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0-100.0% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow, Dividends Paid.
VTLE Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-Q | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Margin | -86.1%-105.3pp | -84.6%-109.3pp | -2.7%-31.2pp | -68.5%-98.9pp | 19.1%-22.2pp | 24.7%-11.5pp | 28.5%-8.4pp | 30.4%-12.8pp |
| Net Margin | -84.0%-130.9pp | -135.6% | -3.7%+10.0pp | -67.3%-130.6pp | 46.9%+45.8pp | 7.7%-80.3pp | -13.7%-48.0pp | 63.3%+30.8pp |
| Return on Equity | -20.1%-27.2pp | -27.7%-29.0pp | -0.7%+1.7pp | -13.3%-23.4pp | 7.0%+6.8pp | 1.3%-17.1pp | -2.4%-11.7pp | 10.1%-0.5pp |
| Return on Assets | -7.5%-10.9pp | -11.4%-12.1pp | -0.3%+0.8pp | -6.1%-11.6pp | 3.4%+3.3pp | 0.7%-7.0pp | -1.2%-5.0pp | 5.5%+1.1pp |
| Current Ratio | 0.78+0.1x | 0.79+0.3x | 0.67-0.6x | 0.78+0.2x | 0.67-0.8x | 0.51-0.1x | 1.22+0.6x | 0.620.0x |
| Debt-to-Equity | 1.30+0.5x | 1.10+0.5x | 0.86+0.1x | 0.91+0.3x | 0.80-0.3x | 0.59-0.4x | 0.75-0.2x | 0.58-0.4x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.090.0x | 0.080.0x | 0.090.0x | 0.090.0x | 0.070.0x | 0.090.0x | 0.090.0x | 0.090.0x |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, FCF Margin.
Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Net Margin.
Note: The current ratio is below 1.0 (0.78), indicating current liabilities exceed current assets, which may suggest potential short-term liquidity concerns.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vital Energy Inc VTLE | FY2024 | $2.0B | -$173.5M | -8.9% | $693.4M | 37/100 |
| Riley Exploration Permian Inc. REPX | FY2025 | $392.0M | $160.8M | 41.0% | $948.8M | 44/100 |
| Txo Partners TXO | FY2025 | $401.0M | -$21.6M | -5.4% | $836.7M | 17/100 |
| Granite Ridge Resources Inc GRNT | FY2025 | $450.3M | $24.4M | 5.4% | $672.7M | 45/100 |
| Highpeak Energy,Inc HPK | FY2025 | $863.4M | N/A | N/A | $1.0B | 37/100 |
| Vaalco Energy Inc EGY | FY2025 | $359.3M | -$41.4M | -11.5% | $639.6M | 38/100 |
Where Vital Energy Inc Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Vital Energy Inc's annual revenue?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) reported $2.0B in total revenue for fiscal year 2024. This represents a 26.2% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is Vital Energy Inc's revenue growing?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) revenue grew by 26.2% year-over-year, from $1.5B to $2.0B in fiscal year 2024.
Is Vital Energy Inc profitable?
No, Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) reported a net income of -$173.5M in fiscal year 2024, with a net profit margin of -8.9%.
What is Vital Energy Inc's EBITDA?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) had EBITDA of $719.4M in fiscal year 2024, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
How much debt does Vital Energy Inc have?
As of fiscal year 2024, Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) had $40.2M in cash and equivalents against $2.5B in long-term debt.
What is Vital Energy Inc's operating margin?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) had an operating margin of -1.2% in fiscal year 2024, reflecting the profitability of core business operations before interest and taxes.
What is Vital Energy Inc's net profit margin?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) had a net profit margin of -8.9% in fiscal year 2024, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
What is Vital Energy Inc's return on equity (ROE)?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) has a return on equity of -6.4% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Vital Energy Inc's operating cash flow?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) generated $1.0B in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2024, representing cash generated from core business activities.
What are Vital Energy Inc's total assets?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) had $5.9B in total assets as of fiscal year 2024, including both current and long-term assets.
What is Vital Energy Inc's current ratio?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) had a current ratio of 0.78 as of fiscal year 2024, which is below 1.0, which may suggest potential liquidity concerns.
What is Vital Energy Inc's debt-to-equity ratio?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.91 as of fiscal year 2024, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Vital Energy Inc's return on assets (ROA)?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) had a return on assets of -2.9% for fiscal year 2024, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is Vital Energy Inc's Altman Z-Score?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) has an Altman Z-Score of 0.16, placing it in the Distress Zone (elevated bankruptcy risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
What is Vital Energy Inc's Piotroski F-Score?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 8 computable signals; 1 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Vital Energy Inc's earnings high quality?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) reported a net loss of $173.5M while generating $1.0B in operating cash flow. Operations generated cash despite the loss, but with no positive earnings behind it, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Can Vital Energy Inc cover its interest payments?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) reported an operating loss of $22.6M against $177.8M in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
How financially healthy is Vital Energy Inc?
Vital Energy Inc (VTLE) scores 37 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating weak standing within its energy companies peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Profitability, Growth, Leverage, Liquidity, Cash Flow, Returns), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.