Newest figures come from the 10-K for FY2023, filed Apr 16, 2024. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from.
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) reported $13K in revenue for fiscal year 2023, down 98.1% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Ayala shows development-stage economics: research spending remains large while revenue has nearly disappeared and liabilities exceed assets.
Revenue was only$13K in FY2023, while R&D was$24.1M ; the cost base therefore reflects ongoing development rather than a scaled commercial operation. R&D was lower than FY2022’s$27.9M , but not proportionate to the collapse in revenue.
In FY2023, the net loss of
The balance-sheet structure is heavily strained: liabilities of
Financial Health Signals
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC scores -24.76, below the 1.81 distress threshold. The score is driven primarily by a large market capitalization ($25.7M) relative to total liabilities ($41.0M). This indicates elevated financial distress risk and warrants close attention to liquidity and debt levels.
Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC passes 2 of 8 computable financial strength tests (1 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution), neither operating efficiency signal passes.
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC reported a net loss of $48.1M while operations used $29.5M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Not reported for Q4 2023.
Not reported for Q4 2023.
Not reported for Q4 2023.
Cash & Balance Sheet
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC held $4.9M in cash as of Q4 2023; long-term debt is not reported for that period.
Not reported for Q4 2023.
Not reported for Q4 2023.
Margins & Returns
None of these metrics is reported for Q4 2023.
Capital Allocation
None of these metrics is reported for Q4 2023.
ADXS Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K | Q3'2210-Q | Q2'2210-Q | Q1'2210-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | N/A | N/A | $9K-76.3% | $4K-99.1% | $105K | $91K-63.6% | $38K-97.2% | $458K-71.6% |
| Cost of Revenue | N/A | N/A | $9K-76.3% | $4K-98.9% | $105K | $91K | $38K | $368K |
| Gross Profit | N/A | N/A | $0 | $0-100.0% | $0 | $0 | $0 | $90K |
| R&D Expenses | N/A | $5.7M-21.1% | $5.7M+2.6% | $7.3M-3.2% | $7.6M+289.2% | $7.2M+322.7% | $5.6M+28.5% | $7.5M+191.9% |
| SG&A Expenses | N/A | $1.4M-49.7% | $2.8M+21.6% | $4.6M+89.2% | $2.2M-11.1% | $2.9M+7.6% | $2.3M-32.2% | $2.4M-19.1% |
| Operating Income | N/A | -$7.1M+29.3% | -$8.5M-8.1% | -$11.9M-20.5% | -$9.7M-122.5% | -$10.1M-144.0% | -$7.9M-24.2% | -$9.8M-148.4% |
| EBITDA | N/A | -$7.1M+29.3% | -$8.4M-8.5% | -$11.8M-21.3% | -$9.8M-129.2% | -$10.0M-149.6% | -$7.8M-26.8% | -$9.7M-163.1% |
| Income Tax | N/A | $65K-38.7% | $127K-40.7% | -$4.2M-2325.9% | $75K | $106K+112.0% | $214K | $189K |
| Net Income | N/A | -$7.3M+27.9% | -$8.7M-7.3% | -$7.4M+26.0% | -$9.8M-79.4% | -$10.2M-205.5% | -$8.1M-58.8% | -$10.0M-150.3% |
| EPS (Basic) | -$2.96+10.8% | -$1.53+56.4% | -$1.82+35.7% | -$1.67+51.9% | -$3.32-9.6% | -$3.51-91.8% | -$2.83+14.8% | -$3.47 |
| EPS (Diluted) | -$2.96 | -$1.53 | -$1.82 | N/A | -$3.32 | -$3.51 | -$2.83 | N/A |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | N/A | 5M | 5M | N/A | N/A | 3M | 3M | N/A |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Interest Expense.
ADXS Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K | Q3'2210-Q | Q2'2210-Q | Q1'2210-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $16.6M+113.4% | $7.0M-73.1% | $12.2M-59.6% | $21.0M-44.0% | $7.8M-83.4% | $25.9M-49.2% | $30.1M-46.0% | $37.5M-18.3% |
| Current Assets | $7.5M+136.1% | $4.6M-82.3% | $9.6M-68.0% | $18.3M-46.6% | $3.2M-92.6% | $25.8M-45.7% | $29.8M-42.8% | $34.2M-3.8% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $4.9M+102.7% | $2.1M-81.0% | $7.1M-64.7% | $16.8M-37.7% | $2.4M-94.2% | $11.2M-75.3% | $20.1M-58.3% | $27.1M-18.8% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0-100.0% | $102K | $106K | $108K | $110K | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Goodwill | $4.5M | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Total Liabilities | $41.0M+362.3% | $13.2M-24.8% | $11.1M-11.3% | $11.3M-10.3% | $8.9M+12.4% | $17.6M+160.8% | $12.6M+52.8% | $12.6M+50.8% |
| Current Liabilities | $25.0M+303.5% | $8.5M+270.3% | $8.4M+342.1% | $9.8M+315.4% | $6.2M-21.3% | $2.3M-65.9% | $1.9M-76.8% | $2.4M-33.8% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $16.0M+499.1% | $4.7M-69.3% | $2.7M-74.5% | $1.5M-85.5% | $2.7M+22125.0% | $15.3M | $10.7M | $10.3M+114.0% |
| Total Equity | -$24.4M-2121.7% | -$6.2M-174.9% | $1.0M-94.2% | $9.7M-61.1% | -$1.1M-102.8% | $8.3M-81.2% | $17.5M-63.1% | $24.9M-33.8% |
| Retained Earnings | -$197.2M-32.2% | -$172.6M+61.0% | -$165.2M+62.3% | -$156.5M+63.7% | -$149.2M+65.2% | -$443.0M-4.7% | -$438.4M-4.4% | -$431.4M-4.0% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Long-Term Debt.
ADXS Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K | Q3'2210-Q | Q2'2210-Q | Q1'2210-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | -$7.2M+11.8% | -$7.0M+25.2% | -$8.6M-122.3% | -$6.7M+32.5% | -$8.2M-118.6% | -$9.3M-233.0% | -$3.9M+37.0% | -$10.0M-258.4% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | N/A | $44K-30.2% | $55K-33.7% | $44K-56.0% | -$84K-192.3% | $63K-46.6% | $83K-56.8% | $100K-61.4% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | N/A | N/A | N/A | $1.2M+84.4% | N/A | N/A | $25K-88.4% | $643K+172.5% |
| Investing Cash Flow | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | -$66K-142.3% | -$77K+63.3% |
| Financing Cash Flow | $4.0M+750.4% | $2.0M+327.4% | -$1.2M-6566.7% | $21.2M+48084.1% | -$615K | $468K | -$18K-100.1% | $44K-99.6% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow, Dividends Paid, Share Buybacks.
ADXS Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K | Q3'2210-Q | Q2'2210-Q | Q1'2210-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | N/A | N/A | 0.0%0.0pp | 0.0%-19.7pp | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 19.7% |
| Operating Margin | N/A | N/A | -94288.9% | -296725.0% | -9261.9% | -11076.9% | -20663.2% | -2149.8% |
| Net Margin | N/A | N/A | -96655.6% | -184025.0% | -9301.9% | -11192.3% | -21336.8% | -2173.1% |
| Return on Equity | N/A | N/A | -862.1%-815.9pp | -76.1%-36.1pp | N/A | -122.2%-114.6pp | -46.2%-35.5pp | -40.0%-29.4pp |
| Return on Assets | N/A | -105.1%-65.8pp | -71.6%-44.6pp | -35.1%-8.5pp | -125.7%-114.1pp | -39.3%-32.8pp | -26.9%-17.8pp | -26.5%-17.9pp |
| Current Ratio | 0.30-0.2x | 0.53-10.7x | 1.13-14.5x | 1.86-12.6x | 0.51-5.0x | 11.19+4.2x | 15.64+9.3x | 14.44+4.5x |
| Debt-to-Equity | N/A | N/A | 11.04+10.3x | 1.17+0.7x | N/A | 2.11+2.0x | 0.72+0.5x | 0.51+0.3x |
| Asset Turnover | N/A | N/A | 0.000.0x | 0.000.0x | 0.010.0x | 0.000.0x | 0.000.0x | 0.010.0x |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: FCF Margin.
Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Operating Margin, Net Margin.
Note: Shareholder equity is negative (-$24.4M), which causes debt-to-equity and return on equity ratios to appear negative or not meaningful. This can occur from accumulated losses or large share buyback programs.
Note: The current ratio is below 1.0 (0.30), indicating current liabilities exceed current assets, which may suggest potential short-term liquidity concerns.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC ADXS | FY2023 | $13K | -$48.1M | N/A | $25.7M | — |
| OCEAN BIOMEDICAL INC OCEA | FY2024 | N/A | N/A | N/A | $6.8M | — |
| GALERA THERAPEUTICS INC GRTX | FY2025 | N/A | N/A | N/A | $6.5M | — |
| REGEN BIOPHARMA PFD A RGBPP | FY2025 | $237K | -$1.3M | N/A | N/A | — |
| VACCINEX INC VCNX | FY2024 | $601K | N/A | N/A | $2.8M | — |
Where AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's annual revenue?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) reported $13K in total revenue for fiscal year 2023. This represents a -98.1% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's revenue growing?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) revenue declined by 98.1% year-over-year, from $692K to $13K in fiscal year 2023.
Is AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC profitable?
No, AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) reported a net income of -$48.1M in fiscal year 2023.
What is AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's EBITDA?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) had EBITDA of -$35.9M in fiscal year 2023, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
What is AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's gross margin?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) had a gross margin of 0.0% in fiscal year 2023, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.
What is AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's operating cash flow?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) recorded an outflow of $29.5M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2023, representing cash used by core business activities.
What are AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's total assets?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) had $16.6M in total assets as of fiscal year 2023, including both current and long-term assets.
How much does AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC spend on research and development?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) invested $24.1M in research and development during fiscal year 2023.
What is AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's current ratio?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) had a current ratio of 0.30 as of fiscal year 2023, which is below 1.0, which may suggest potential liquidity concerns.
What is AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's return on assets (ROA)?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) had a return on assets of -290.0% for fiscal year 2023, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
How does AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's liquidity compare with its operating cash outflow?
At the end of fiscal year 2023, AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) held $4.9M in cash, cash equivalents and investments, and reported an operating cash outflow of $29.5M over that year. Dividing the one by the other, the reported balance equals about 2 months of the outflow reported that year. This is arithmetic over figures already filed, not a projection: it assumes nothing about future spending, financing or operations.
Why is AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's debt-to-equity ratio negative or not reported?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) has negative shareholder equity of -$24.4M as of fiscal year 2023, so no debt-to-equity ratio is reported: dividing debt by equity that is not positive produces a number that cannot be read as leverage. This can occur when accumulated losses exceed invested capital, or after large share buyback programs. Other solvency metrics like the current ratio or interest coverage may be more informative.
What is AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's Altman Z-Score?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) has an Altman Z-Score of -24.76, placing it in the Distress Zone (elevated bankruptcy risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
What is AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's Piotroski F-Score?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) has a Piotroski F-Score of 2 out of 8 computable signals; 1 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC's earnings high quality?
AYALA PHARMACEUTICALS INC (ADXS) reported a net loss of $48.1M while operations used $29.5M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.