Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed May 15, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the APDN SEC filings page.
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) reported $2.1M in revenue for fiscal year 2025, up 1.1% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Applied DNA’s dominant mechanic is development-stage spending: product investment remains far larger than the sales base.
The key mismatch is that R&D exceeded revenue in FY2025, at$6.0M versus$2.1M , while operating cash flow was-$12.2M . Together, those figures indicate a business still funding development at a scale its current commercial activity does not support, making cash conversion the central operating constraint.
FY2025 gross-margin compression to
The current ratio fell from 3.4x in FY2024 to 0.9x in FY2025, indicating current liabilities slightly exceeded current assets. Reported liquidity equaled 1.6 months of the latest annual operating outflow, reinforcing the balance sheet’s tighter short-term position.
Financial Health Signals
Scored against emerging companies for FY2025. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →
Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Applied Dna Scie's business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.
Applied Dna Scie held $1.7M in cash, cash equivalents and investments at the end of fiscal year 2025, and its operations used $12.2M of cash that year. Cash Runway ranks emerging companies on the size of that balance against the outflow behind it, and Applied Dna Scie scores 7/100 among other emerging companies.
Applied Dna Scie had 2M shares outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025. Dilution ranks emerging companies on how fast that count has grown over three years, where a slower rise is the better one, and Applied Dna Scie scores 18/100 among other emerging companies.
Applied Dna Scie spent $6.0M on research and development in fiscal year 2025, which was 33.1% of its operating costs that year. R&D Intensity ranks emerging companies on the share of operating costs that goes into research, and Applied Dna Scie scores 65/100 among other emerging companies.
Applied Dna Scie reported revenue of $2.1M in fiscal year 2025, against $2.1M in fiscal year 2024. Revenue Progress ranks emerging companies on the three-year path of that line, and Applied Dna Scie scores 2/100 among other emerging companies.
Applied Dna Scie's operations used $12.2M of cash in fiscal year 2025, against $13.7M used in fiscal year 2024. Burn Trend ranks emerging companies on which way that figure has moved over three years, and Applied Dna Scie scores 19/100 among other emerging companies.
Applied Dna Scie's cash, cash equivalents and investments came to $1.7M at the end of fiscal year 2025, against $2.5M of total liabilities. Balance Sheet ranks emerging companies on that comparison, and Applied Dna Scie scores 49/100 among other emerging companies.
Applied Dna Scie scores -130.35, below the 1.81 distress threshold. The score is driven primarily by a large market capitalization ($3.3M) relative to total liabilities ($2.5M). This indicates elevated financial distress risk and warrants close attention to liquidity and debt levels.
Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.
Applied Dna Scie passes 2 of 8 computable financial strength tests (1 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 1 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution), 1 of 2 efficiency signals pass.
Applied Dna Scie reported a net loss of $15.2M while operations used $12.2M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
Applied Dna Scie reported an operating loss of $16.0M against $193K in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Applied Dna Scie generated $1.0M in revenue in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 34.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 81.1%.
Applied Dna Scie reported -$6.7M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 101.7% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 64.2%.
Applied Dna Scie earned -$0.68 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. Against the prior quarter it is up 67.3%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Applied Dna Scie held $949K in cash as of Q2 2026; long-term debt is not reported for that period.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Margins & Returns
Applied Dna Scie's gross margin was 80.7% in Q2 2026, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs. This is up 28.9 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 25.0 percentage points.
Applied Dna Scie's ROE was -53.3% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 21.7 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 45.4 percentage points.
Not shown for Q2 2026: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.
Not shown for Q2 2026: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.
Capital Allocation
Applied Dna Scie invested $372K in research and development in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 56.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 18.8%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
APDN Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $1.0M+34.3% | $565K-35.0% | $199K | $304K-35.6% | $763K-17.9% | $870K-2.3% | N/A | $473K-83.8% |
| Cost of Revenue | $197K-46.3% | $250K-5.3% | $367K | $299K+30.0% | $367K-42.1% | $264K-60.0% | N/A | $230K-86.0% |
| Gross Profit | $827K+109.0% | $315K-48.0% | -$168K | $5K-97.9% | $396K+33.8% | $606K+162.3% | N/A | $243K-80.9% |
| R&D Expenses | $372K-56.2% | $459K-54.8% | $3.4M | $769K-15.8% | $849K-7.0% | $1.0M+8.5% | N/A | $913K+9.2% |
| SG&A Expenses | $2.6M-11.4% | $13.3M+419.5% | $2.4M | $2.9M+11.2% | $2.9M-2.5% | $2.6M-16.7% | N/A | $2.6M-19.9% |
| Operating Income | -$6.8M-99.9% | -$18.7M-528.2% | -$6.0M | -$3.7M-11.7% | -$3.4M+6.6% | -$3.0M+21.4% | N/A | -$3.3M-15.6% |
| EBITDA | N/A | -$18.7M-534.0% | N/A | N/A | N/A | -$2.9M+15.7% | N/A | N/A |
| Interest Expense | $4K-93.8% | $9K-87.2% | $21K | $40K+10.9% | $60K+293.0% | $71K+114.4% | N/A | $36K+35.5% |
| Net Income | -$6.7M-101.7% | -$18.6M-604.5% | -$5.3M | -$3.9M-309.9% | -$3.3M+26.1% | -$2.6M-138.8% | N/A | $1.9M+160.6% |
| EPS (Basic) | -$0.68+99.7% | -$2.08+99.5% | N/A | -$34.00-102.9% | -$230.30+13.2% | -$417.53-24034.7% | N/A | $1170.48+24485.0% |
| EPS (Diluted) | -$0.68 | -$2.08 | N/A | -$34.00 | -$230.30 | -$417.53 | N/A | $1170.48 |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 10M | 9M | N/A | 572,018 | 118,206 | 42,025 | N/A | 1,606 |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Income Tax.
APDN Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $13.6M+4.6% | $20.7M+29.6% | $4.4M-65.3% | $9.9M-40.5% | $13.0M+42.1% | $16.0M+61.1% | $12.8M-6.3% | $16.7M+5.7% |
| Current Assets | $2.7M-68.2% | $5.1M-54.7% | $2.2M-72.2% | $5.6M-52.5% | $8.4M+93.1% | $11.3M+145.7% | $8.0M-1.0% | $11.8M-3.3% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $949K-86.1% | $2.5M-73.6% | $1.7M-71.5% | $4.7M-54.7% | $6.8M+116.6% | $9.3M+176.7% | $5.9M-18.2% | $10.4M-2.9% |
| Inventory | $115K-66.9% | $90K-80.8% | $84K-80.6% | $339K-27.9% | $349K+3.8% | $469K+24.2% | $433K+31.1% | $470K+70.0% |
| Accounts Receivable | $303K-56.0% | $547K-40.0% | $237K-27.7% | $199K-61.3% | $690K+68.7% | $912K+102.2% | $328K+28.5% | $514K-24.7% |
| Total Liabilities | $1.5M-46.5% | $2.2M-34.6% | $2.5M-34.7% | $2.9M-33.9% | $2.8M-69.9% | $3.4M-40.9% | $3.8M-56.5% | $4.5M-48.2% |
| Current Liabilities | $1.5M-22.2% | $2.2M-7.6% | $2.5M+2.7% | $2.0M-32.7% | $1.9M-27.8% | $2.4M-7.8% | $2.4M-15.7% | $3.0M+4.6% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $31K-96.6% | $31K-97.0% | $32K-97.8% | $911K-36.3% | $917K-86.4% | $1.0M-67.6% | $1.4M-76.0% | $1.4M-74.9% |
| Total Equity | $12.5M+19.6% | $18.8M+47.7% | $2.3M-74.8% | $7.3M-41.4% | $10.5M+21824.7% | $12.8M+201.3% | $9.1M+84.7% | $12.4M+70.9% |
| Retained Earnings | -$404.5M-14.1% | -$397.8M-21.6% | -$379.2M-22.4% | -$373.9M-22.0% | -$354.4M-15.0% | -$327.2M-7.8% | -$309.7M-2.4% | -$306.4M-2.5% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Short-Term Investments, Long-Term Investments, Goodwill, Long-Term Debt.
APDN Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | -$2.0M+36.2% | -$5.5M-66.7% | -$3.1M+8.5% | -$2.6M+22.4% | -$3.2M-0.1% | -$3.3M+11.5% | -$3.4M-26.4% | -$3.4M-145.1% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | N/A | $49K+39.6% | N/A | N/A | N/A | $35K-88.3% | N/A | N/A |
| Stock-Based Compensation | $335K | $633K+2085.2% | N/A | N/A | N/A | $29K-91.5% | N/A | N/A |
| Capital Expenditures | N/A | N/A | $0-100.0% | $11K-50.0% | $185K | $117K | $371K+426624.1% | $22K-9.8% |
| Free Cash Flow | N/A | N/A | -$3.1M+17.5% | -$2.6M+22.6% | -$3.4M | -$3.4M | -$3.8M-40.3% | -$3.4M-142.4% |
| Investing Cash Flow | $0+100.0% | -$3.0M-2461.2% | N/A | N/A | -$185K | -$117K | -$371K+59.9% | -$22K+86.5% |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$203K-122.6% | $9.3M+47.7% | $126K+132.2% | $723K-93.3% | $899K-70.2% | $6.3M+18078.7% | -$391K | $10.8M |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Dividends Paid, Share Buybacks.
APDN Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 80.7%+28.9pp | 55.8%-13.9pp | -84.2% | 1.7%-49.6pp | 51.8%+20.0pp | 69.7%+43.7pp | N/A | 51.3%+7.8pp |
| Operating Margin | -659.2% | -3308.9% | -3007.1% | -1213.6% | -442.8% | -342.2% | N/A | -699.3% |
| Net Margin | -650.8% | -3288.6% | -2643.4% | -1296.1% | -433.2% | -303.3% | N/A | 397.6% |
| Return on Equity | -53.3%-21.7pp | -98.7%-78.0pp | -228.7% | -54.3%-69.5pp | -31.6% | -20.7%+5.4pp | N/A | 15.2%+57.9pp |
| Return on Assets | -48.9%-23.5pp | -89.8%-73.3pp | -118.8% | -39.7%-51.0pp | -25.4%+23.4pp | -16.5%-5.4pp | N/A | 11.3%+30.9pp |
| Current Ratio | 1.82-2.6x | 2.32-2.4x | 0.91-2.4x | 2.76-1.1x | 4.45+2.8x | 4.72+3.0x | 3.36+0.5x | 3.91-0.3x |
| Debt-to-Equity | 0.12-0.1x | 0.12-0.1x | 1.08+0.7x | 0.410.0x | 0.27 | 0.27-1.1x | 0.42-1.4x | 0.36-0.8x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.080.0x | 0.030.0x | 0.04 | 0.030.0x | 0.060.0x | 0.050.0x | N/A | 0.03-0.2x |
| FCF Margin | N/A | N/A | -1554.9% | -858.6% | -445.5% | -395.6% | N/A | -714.4% |
Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Operating Margin, Net Margin, FCF Margin.
Note: The current ratio is below 1.0 (0.91), indicating current liabilities exceed current assets, which may suggest potential short-term liquidity concerns.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied Dna Scie APDN | FY2025 | $2.1M | -$15.2M | N/A | $3.3M | 27/100 |
| Endra Life Sciences Inc NDRA | FY2025 | N/A | -$7.0M | N/A | $7.5M | — |
| Check Cap CHEK | FY2025 | N/A | $4.1M | N/A | $9.4M | — |
| XWELL Inc XWEL | FY2025 | $29.2M | -$17.0M | -58.2% | $7.8M | 27/100 |
| Mainz Biomed NV MYNZ | FY2025 | $537K | -$16.2M | N/A | $10.6M | — |
| bioAffinity Tech BIAF | FY2025 | $6.2M | -$14.9M | N/A | $2.7M | 44/100 |
Where Applied Dna Scie Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Applied Dna Scie's annual revenue?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) reported $2.1M in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 1.1% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is Applied Dna Scie's revenue growing?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) revenue grew by 1.1% year-over-year, from $2.1M to $2.1M in fiscal year 2025.
Is Applied Dna Scie profitable?
No, Applied Dna Scie (APDN) reported a net income of -$15.2M in fiscal year 2025.
What is Applied Dna Scie's EBITDA?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) had EBITDA of -$15.7M in fiscal year 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
What is Applied Dna Scie's gross margin?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) had a gross margin of 39.3% in fiscal year 2025, indicating the percentage of revenue retained after direct costs of goods sold.
What is Applied Dna Scie's return on equity (ROE)?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) has a return on equity of -657.8% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Applied Dna Scie's free cash flow?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) recorded an outflow of $12.6M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2025. This represents a 11.1% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
What is Applied Dna Scie's operating cash flow?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) recorded an outflow of $12.2M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash used by core business activities.
What are Applied Dna Scie's total assets?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) had $4.4M in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What are Applied Dna Scie's capital expenditures?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) invested $313K in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
How much does Applied Dna Scie spend on research and development?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) invested $6.0M in research and development during fiscal year 2025.
What is Applied Dna Scie's current ratio?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) had a current ratio of 0.91 as of fiscal year 2025, which is below 1.0, which may suggest potential liquidity concerns.
What is Applied Dna Scie's debt-to-equity ratio?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 1.08 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Applied Dna Scie's return on assets (ROA)?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) had a return on assets of -341.7% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
How does Applied Dna Scie's liquidity compare with its operating cash outflow?
At the end of fiscal year 2025, Applied Dna Scie (APDN) held $1.7M in cash, cash equivalents and investments, and reported an operating cash outflow of $12.2M over that year. Dividing the one by the other, the reported balance equals about 2 months of the outflow reported that year. This is arithmetic over figures already filed, not a projection: it assumes nothing about future spending, financing or operations.
What is Applied Dna Scie's Altman Z-Score?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) has an Altman Z-Score of -130.35, placing it in the Distress Zone (elevated bankruptcy risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
What is Applied Dna Scie's Piotroski F-Score?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) has a Piotroski F-Score of 2 out of 8 computable signals; 1 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Applied Dna Scie's earnings high quality?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) reported a net loss of $15.2M while operations used $12.2M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Can Applied Dna Scie cover its interest payments?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) reported an operating loss of $16.0M against $193K in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
How financially healthy is Applied Dna Scie?
Applied Dna Scie (APDN) scores 27 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating weak standing within its emerging companies peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Cash Runway, Dilution, R&D Intensity, Revenue Progress, Burn Trend, Balance Sheet), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.