STOCK TITAN

Mereo Biopharma Financials

MREO
FY2025 annual
Revenue $500K YoY not available
Net Income $41.9M -3.2% YoY
EPS (Diluted) -$0.05 +16.7% YoY
Free Cash Flow -$31.0M +5.6% YoY
Market Cap $44.2M as of Sep 2, 2026
Price / Sales 88.4x on $500K revenue, FY2025
Price / Earnings 1.1x on $41.9M net income, FY2025
Price / Book 1.5x on $28.7M equity, Q2 FY2026

A multiple compares the market's price with a filed figure; it says what the market pays, not how the business is doing. The market capitalization is the vendor's as of Sep 2, 2026; every other figure is from the SEC filings on this page. Not financial advice.

Source SEC Filings (10-K/10-Q) Latest period Q2 FY2026, ended Jun 30, 2026 Reported Currency USD FYE December

Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Aug 11, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the MREO SEC filings page.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) reported $500K in revenue for fiscal year 2025. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 4 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).

Rhea AI MREO FY2025

Mereo’s development-led model consumes operating cash while non-operating items convert losses into accounting profits.

The same mismatch appears in FY2023 and FY2025: operating income was negative while net income was positive, so reported profit is not reflecting core operations. In FY2025, a -$40.1M operating loss coexisted with $41.9M of net income, indicating that below-the-line items—not the development business—produced the accounting gain.

Development spending dominates the economics: FY2025 research and development was $17.8M against just $500K of revenue, so commercial revenue currently does not fund the research platform. Operating cash flow of -$31.0M nearly matched free cash flow of -$31.0M, showing that cash consumption is primarily operating rather than capital-investment driven.

Debt-to-equity fell from 0.3x in FY2023 to 0.1x in FY2025, showing less reliance on liabilities relative to equity. The FY2025 current ratio was 10.5x, while reported liquidity equaled 15.9 months of the latest annual operating outflow; that combination describes substantial current-asset coverage of obligations, not operating self-sufficiency.

[ NOT FINANCIAL ADVICE ]

Financial Health Signals

Financial health score pending refresh

We are recalculating Mereo Biopharma's peer-relative financial health score against the latest fiscal year. It will appear here once the refresh completes. The signals and metrics below are current.

Altman Z-Score Distress
-11.78

Mereo Biopharma scores -11.78, below the 1.81 distress threshold. The score is driven primarily by a large market capitalization ($44.2M) relative to total liabilities ($5.0M). This indicates elevated financial distress risk and warrants close attention to liquidity and debt levels.

Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.

Piotroski F-Score Partial
4/7

Mereo Biopharma passes 4 of 7 computable financial strength tests (2 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 2 leverage/liquidity signals pass, both operating efficiency signals pass.

Earnings Quality No Cash Backing

For every $1 of reported earnings, Mereo Biopharma used $0.74 of operating cash (-$31.0M OCF vs $41.9M net income). Earnings that no cash stands behind rest on accounting accruals, which cannot be repeated indefinitely.

Interest Coverage At Risk
N/A

Mereo Biopharma reported an operating loss of $40.1M against $255K in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations.

Key Financial Metrics

Export CSV

Earnings & Revenue

Revenue
$0
YoY-100.0%

Mereo Biopharma generated $0 in revenue in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 100.0% from the same quarter a year earlier.

EBITDA
-$6.9M
YoY+33.6%
QoQ+20.1%

Mereo Biopharma's EBITDA was -$6.9M in Q2 2026, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents an increase of 33.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 20.1%.

Net Income
-$7.0M
YoY+52.1%
QoQ-4.3%

Mereo Biopharma reported -$7.0M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 52.1% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 4.3%.

EPS (Diluted)
-$0.01
YoY+50.0%
QoQ0.0%

Mereo Biopharma earned -$0.01 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 50.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.

Cash & Balance Sheet

Free Cash Flow
-$6.0M
YoY+21.0%
QoQ-40.1%

Mereo Biopharma recorded an outflow of $6.0M in free cash flow in Q2 2026, representing a cash shortfall after capex. This represents an increase of 21.0% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 40.1%.

Cash & Debt
$30.1M
YoY-46.3%
QoQ+0.1%

Mereo Biopharma held $30.1M in cash as of Q2 2026; long-term debt is not reported for that period.

Shares Outstanding
798M
YoY+0.4%
QoQ0.0%

Mereo Biopharma had 798M shares outstanding in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 0.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.

Dividends Per Share

Not reported for Q2 2026.

Margins & Returns

Return on Equity
-24.4%
YoY+2.5pp
QoQ-4.7pp

Mereo Biopharma's ROE was -24.4% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 2.5 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 4.7 percentage points.

Gross Margin

Not reported for Q2 2026.

Operating Margin

Not reported for Q2 2026.

Net Margin

Not reported for Q2 2026.

Capital Allocation

R&D Spending
$1.8M
YoY-66.4%
QoQ-61.9%

Mereo Biopharma invested $1.8M in research and development in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 66.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 61.9%.

Capital Expenditures
$0

Mereo Biopharma reported no capital expenditure in Q2 2026.

Share Buybacks

Not reported for Q2 2026.

MREO Income Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

MREO quarterly income statement
MetricQ2'2610-QQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-Q
Revenue$0-100.0%N/AN/A$0$500KN/AN/A$0
R&D Expenses$1.8M-66.4%$4.7M+20.8%N/A$4.3M+34.7%$5.4M+8.6%$3.9M-1.6%N/A$3.2M-11.8%
SG&A Expenses$5.2M-5.0%$4.0M-44.7%N/A$6.0M-2.5%$5.5M-30.2%$7.3M+23.1%N/A$6.2M+8.7%
Operating Income-$7.0M+33.0%-$8.8M+21.7%N/A-$10.0M-6.8%-$10.5M+18.1%-$11.2M-13.2%N/A-$9.4M-3.4%
EBITDA-$6.9M+33.6%-$8.6M+22.3%N/A-$10.2M-10.9%-$10.3M+18.0%-$11.1M-13.4%N/A-$9.2M-3.4%
Interest Expense$16K-33.3%$20K-88.9%N/A$28K-92.1%$24K-92.7%$180K-41.9%N/A$353K-49.6%
Income Tax$0$0N/A$0$0$0N/A$0
Net Income-$7.0M+52.1%-$6.7M+47.9%N/A-$7.0M+53.2%-$14.6M-19.3%-$12.9M-44.0%N/A-$15.0M-129.7%
EPS (Basic)-$0.01+50.0%-$0.01+50.0%-$0.010.0%-$0.01+50.0%-$0.020.0%-$0.02-100.0%-$0.010.0%-$0.02-100.0%
EPS (Diluted)-$0.01+50.0%-$0.01+50.0%-$0.010.0%-$0.01+50.0%-$0.020.0%-$0.02-100.0%-$0.010.0%-$0.02-100.0%
Diluted Shares (Avg)804M+0.5%802M+2.2%N/A800M+3.9%799M+3.8%784M+12.0%N/A770M+12.4%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit.

MREO Balance Sheet

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

MREO quarterly balance sheet
MetricQ2'2610-QQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-Q
Total Assets$34.7M-44.6%$40.6M-40.6%$45.9M-39.9%$53.6M-39.6%$62.6M-34.8%$68.3M+22.1%$76.4M+14.9%$88.7M
Current Assets$33.4M-45.6%$40.0M-40.2%$45.0M-39.8%$52.4M-39.6%$61.4M-34.6%$66.9M+25.1%$74.8M+17.3%$86.7M
Cash & Equivalents$30.1M-46.3%$30.1M-51.8%$41.0M-41.3%$48.7M-39.5%$56.1M-35.8%$62.5M+28.4%$69.8M+21.6%$80.5M
Short-Term Investments$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0
Long-Term Investments$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0
Total Liabilities$6.1M-28.3%$6.6M-20.4%$5.0M-67.6%$7.0M-95.7%$8.5M-51.6%$8.2M-37.1%$15.4M-3.4%$161.3M
Current Liabilities$5.7M-24.9%$6.2M-17.6%$4.3M-68.9%$6.0M-57.7%$7.6M-51.1%$7.5M-31.9%$13.8M+46.0%$14.2M
Non-Current Liabilities$385K-57.1%$383K-48.5%$699K-55.6%$988K-99.3%$897K-55.4%$744K-64.5%$1.6M-75.7%$147.1M
Total Equity$28.7M-47.1%$34.1M-43.3%$40.9M-32.9%$46.6M+164.2%$54.2M-31.1%$60.1M+40.3%$61.0M+20.6%-$72.5M-232.6%
Retained Earnings-$514.5M-5.7%-$507.5M-7.5%-$501.0M-8.2%-$493.7M-8.3%-$486.6M-10.4%-$472.0M-10.1%-$462.9M-10.3%-$455.8M

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Goodwill, Long-Term Debt.

MREO Cash Flow Statement

Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

MREO quarterly cash flow statement
MetricQ2'2610-QQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-Q
Operating Cash Flow-$6.0M+21.0%-$4.3M+48.2%-$7.7M+18.5%-$7.3M+2.8%-$7.7M+3.2%-$8.3M-4.2%-$9.4M-38.8%-$7.5M-382.8%
Depreciation & Amortization$165K+1.9%$171K+18.8%$460K+210.8%-$144K-167.9%$162K-22.1%$144K-3.4%$148K-5.7%$212K+1.4%
Stock-Based CompensationN/A$1.6M-29.5%N/AN/AN/A$2.3M+11.1%N/AN/A
Capital Expenditures$0$0-100.0%$0$0$0$20K$0$0
Free Cash Flow-$6.0M+21.0%-$4.3M+48.4%-$7.7M+18.5%-$7.3M+2.8%-$7.7M+3.2%-$8.3M-4.5%-$9.4M-$7.5M
Investing Cash Flow$0-$300K+6.3%$0$300K$0-100.0%-$320K+54.3%$0$0
Financing Cash Flow$0+100.0%$0-100.0%$39K+197.5%$0+100.0%-$134K-100.3%$422K-$40K-$594K-107.5%

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Dividends Paid, Share Buybacks.

MREO Financial Ratios

Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.

MREO quarterly financial ratios
MetricQ2'2610-QQ1'2610-QQ4'2510-QQ3'2510-QQ2'2510-QQ1'2510-QQ4'2410-KQ3'2410-Q
Operating MarginN/AN/AN/AN/A-2099.8%N/AN/AN/A
Net MarginN/AN/AN/AN/A-2923.2%N/AN/AN/A
Return on Equity-24.4%+2.5pp-19.7%+1.7ppN/A-15.1%-27.0%-11.4pp-21.4%-0.6ppN/AN/A
Return on Assets-20.2%+3.2pp-16.5%+2.3ppN/A-13.1%+3.8pp-23.3%-10.6pp-18.9%-2.9ppN/A-16.9%
Current Ratio5.88-2.2x6.48-2.4x10.46+5.1x8.71+2.6x8.13+2.1x8.92+4.1x5.40-1.3x6.10
Debt-to-Equity0.21+0.1x0.19+0.1x0.12-0.1x0.150.16-0.1x0.14-0.2x0.25-0.1xN/A
Asset Turnover0.000.0xN/AN/A0.000.0x0.010.0xN/AN/A0.00
FCF MarginN/AN/AN/AN/A-1530.2%N/AN/AN/A

Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin.

Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Operating Margin, Net Margin, FCF Margin.

Similar Companies

Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.

Company Fiscal year Revenue Net income Net margin Market cap Health score
Mereo Biopharma MREO FY2025 $500K $41.9M N/A $44.2M
Omeros OMER FY2025 N/A N/A N/A $1.4B
Foghorn Therapeutics Inc. FHTX FY2025 $30.9M -$74.3M N/A $340.9M 48/100
Annexon, Inc. ANNX FY2025 N/A -$206.7M N/A $936.5M
Lexeo Therapeutics Inc LXEO FY2025 N/A -$100.0M N/A $390.5M
Lineage Cell The LCTX FY2025 $14.6M -$63.5M N/A $278.2M 59/100

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Mereo Biopharma's annual revenue?

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) reported $500K in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.

Is Mereo Biopharma profitable?

Yes, Mereo Biopharma (MREO) reported a net income of $41.9M in fiscal year 2025.

What is Mereo Biopharma's earnings per share (EPS)?

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) reported diluted earnings per share of -$0.05 for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 16.7% change compared to the previous fiscal year. EPS represents the portion of a company's net income allocated to each outstanding share of common stock and is widely used to evaluate profitability on a per-share basis.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) had EBITDA of -$39.5M in fiscal year 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) has a return on equity of 102.4% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) recorded an outflow of $31.0M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2025. This represents a 5.6% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) recorded an outflow of $31.0M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash used by core business activities.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) had $45.9M in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) invested $20K in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2025, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) invested $17.8M in research and development during fiscal year 2025.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) had 798M shares outstanding as of fiscal year 2025.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) had a current ratio of 10.46 as of fiscal year 2025, which is generally considered healthy.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.12 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) had a return on assets of 91.2% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) trades at 1.1x earnings, its market capitalization divided by net income of $41.9M net income, FY2025. The market capitalization is $44.2M as of Sep 2, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) trades at 88.4x sales, its market capitalization divided by revenue of $500K revenue, FY2025. The market capitalization is $44.2M as of Sep 2, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.

At the end of fiscal year 2025, Mereo Biopharma (MREO) held $41.0M in cash, cash equivalents and investments, and reported an operating cash outflow of $31.0M over that year. Dividing the one by the other, the reported balance equals about 16 months of the outflow reported that year. This is arithmetic over figures already filed, not a projection: it assumes nothing about future spending, financing or operations.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) has an Altman Z-Score of -11.78, placing it in the Distress Zone (elevated bankruptcy risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) has a Piotroski F-Score of 4 out of 7 computable signals; 2 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

For every $1 of reported earnings, Mereo Biopharma (MREO) used $0.74 of operating cash (-$31.0M OCF vs $41.9M net income). Earnings that no cash stands behind rest on accounting accruals, which cannot be repeated indefinitely. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Mereo Biopharma (MREO) reported an operating loss of $40.1M against $255K in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.

Back to top