A multiple compares the market's price with a filed figure; it says what the market pays, not how the business is doing. The market capitalization is the vendor's as of Sep 14, 2026; every other figure is from the SEC filings on this page. Not financial advice.
Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Aug 6, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the PRTA SEC filings page.
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) reported $54.5M in revenue over the twelve months to Jun 30, 2026, up 427.3% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
Prothena operates as a development-stage business, where R&D spending and operating cash use remain far ahead of commercial revenue.
Revenue contracted sharply into FY2025, yet$135M of R&D was still about 14x reported revenue; this mismatch means the business’s economics were being set by development spending, not commercial scale. FY2025 operating cash flow was-$164M versus a-$244M net loss; the smaller cash loss means accounting charges materially widened the reported loss without an equal-period cash effect.
The balance sheet remained comparatively lightly burdened: FY2025 liabilities were
R&D fell from
Financial Health Signals
Scored against emerging companies for FY2025. Each of the six dimensions is a percentile rank within that peer group; the overall is their average, with missing dimensions counted as zero out of six. A high score means strong standing among peers, not absolute cross-industry strength. How this score is calculated →
Health score ≠ stock price. This rates the quality of Prothena Corporation plc's business: profitability, growth, balance sheet strength. It doesn't tell you whether the stock is a good buy at today's price. Not financial advice. Use it alongside valuation analysis and your own research.
Prothena Corporation plc held $307.5M in cash, cash equivalents and investments at the end of fiscal year 2025, and its operations used $163.6M of cash that year. Cash Runway ranks emerging companies on the size of that balance against the outflow behind it, and Prothena Corporation plc scores 47/100 among other emerging companies.
Prothena Corporation plc had 54M shares outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, against 54M in fiscal year 2024. Dilution ranks emerging companies on how fast that count has grown over three years, where a slower rise is the better one, and Prothena Corporation plc scores 73/100 among other emerging companies.
Prothena Corporation plc spent $134.9M on research and development in fiscal year 2025, which was 60.1% of its operating costs that year. R&D Intensity ranks emerging companies on the share of operating costs that goes into research, and Prothena Corporation plc scores 83/100 among other emerging companies.
Prothena Corporation plc reported revenue of $9.7M in fiscal year 2025, against $135.2M in fiscal year 2024. Revenue Progress ranks emerging companies on the three-year path of that line, and Prothena Corporation plc scores 1/100 among other emerging companies.
Prothena Corporation plc's operations used $163.6M of cash in fiscal year 2025, against $150.1M used in fiscal year 2024. Burn Trend ranks emerging companies on which way that figure has moved over three years, and Prothena Corporation plc scores 34/100 among other emerging companies.
Prothena Corporation plc's cash, cash equivalents and investments came to $307.5M at the end of fiscal year 2025, against $46.3M of total liabilities. Balance Sheet ranks emerging companies on that comparison, and Prothena Corporation plc scores 92/100 among other emerging companies.
Prothena Corporation plc scores -1.01, below the 1.81 distress threshold. The score is driven primarily by a large market capitalization ($454.8M) relative to total liabilities ($46.3M). This indicates elevated financial distress risk and warrants close attention to liquidity and debt levels.
Distress-screening estimate for non-financial companies. Not computed for banks or insurers, where the Altman model does not apply.
Prothena Corporation plc passes 1 of 7 computable financial strength tests (2 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 1 of 4 profitability signals pass, no leverage/liquidity signals pass (rising debt, declining liquidity, or share dilution), neither operating efficiency signal passes.
Prothena Corporation plc reported a net loss of $244.1M while operations used $163.6M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
Prothena Corporation plc reported an operating loss of $214.6M against $14.1M in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Prothena Corporation plc generated $1.0M in revenue in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 77.1% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 98.0%.
Prothena Corporation plc's EBITDA was -$20.9M in Q2 2026, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. This represents an increase of 75.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 169.2%.
Prothena Corporation plc reported -$18.6M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 85.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 156.8%.
Prothena Corporation plc earned -$0.36 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. This represents an increase of 84.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 160.0%.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Prothena Corporation plc held $288.2M in cash as of Q2 2026; long-term debt is not reported for that period.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Margins & Returns
Prothena Corporation plc's ROE was -6.5% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is up 32.3 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 16.9 percentage points.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not shown for Q2 2026: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.
Not shown for Q2 2026: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.
Capital Allocation
Prothena Corporation plc invested $8.8M in research and development in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 78.3% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 30.3%.
Prothena Corporation plc spent $15.6M on share buybacks in Q2 2026, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding. Against the prior quarter it is up 124.1%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
PRTA Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $1.0M-77.1% | $51.1M+1706.4% | $21K-99.0% | $2.4M+149.0% | $4.4M-96.7% | $2.8M+5556.0% | $2.1M+571.8% | $970K-98.9% |
| R&D Expenses | $8.8M-78.3% | $12.6M-75.1% | $14.6M-70.9% | $28.9M-42.9% | $40.5M-29.5% | $50.8M-20.7% | $50.2M-18.9% | $50.7M-12.4% |
| SG&A Expenses | $10.9M-31.5% | $12.7M-28.0% | $12.6M-24.9% | $13.2M-21.0% | $15.9M-1.3% | $17.6M+0.8% | $16.8M-0.5% | $16.8M+0.7% |
| Operating Income | -$21.1M+75.1% | $30.0M+145.8% | -$24.2M+62.7% | -$40.2M+39.5% | -$84.6M-244.9% | -$65.6M+19.6% | -$64.9M+17.3% | -$66.5M-745.3% |
| EBITDA | -$20.9M+75.2% | $30.2M+146.2% | -$23.9M+63.0% | -$40.0M+39.6% | -$84.4M-244.1% | -$65.4M+19.6% | -$64.6M+17.4% | -$66.3M-731.1% |
| Interest Expense | $2.6M-32.7% | $2.4M-44.4% | $2.6M-50.9% | $3.4M-50.3% | $3.8M-41.8% | $4.3M-39.3% | $5.4M-33.5% | $6.7M-20.9% |
| Income Tax | $2K-100.0% | $1K+100.1% | $10K+100.6% | -$371K+55.6% | $44.8M+2297.3% | -$1.2M+46.5% | -$1.5M+50.8% | -$835K+73.0% |
| Net Income | -$18.6M+85.2% | $32.7M+154.4% | -$21.6M+62.7% | -$36.5M+38.1% | -$125.8M-288.0% | -$60.2M+16.7% | -$58.0M+14.1% | -$59.0M-369.3% |
| EPS (Basic) | -$0.36+84.6% | $0.61+154.5% | -$0.40+62.6% | -$0.68+38.2% | -$2.34-288.7% | -$1.12+16.4% | -$1.07+15.1% | -$1.10-368.3% |
| EPS (Diluted) | -$0.36+84.6% | $0.60+153.6% | -$0.40+62.6% | -$0.68+38.2% | -$2.34-291.8% | -$1.12+16.4% | -$1.07+15.1% | -$1.10-389.5% |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 52M-3.1% | 54M+0.5% | N/A | 54M+0.1% | 54M-2.2% | 54M+0.2% | N/A | 54M-7.3% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit.
PRTA Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $302.6M-24.2% | $349.9M-29.4% | $326.8M-40.3% | $352.6M-40.8% | $399.1M-38.2% | $495.3M-20.5% | $547.1M-21.4% | $595.3M-20.3% |
| Current Assets | $292.0M-24.2% | $339.2M-22.2% | $315.2M-35.1% | $340.0M-36.5% | $385.5M-34.2% | $436.2M-22.9% | $485.4M-24.1% | $535.0M-22.5% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $288.2M-22.4% | $329.5M-21.2% | $307.5M-34.8% | $330.8M-36.3% | $371.4M-34.2% | $417.9M-23.5% | $471.4M-23.8% | $519.3M-22.6% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Accounts Receivable | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $0-100.0% | $0-100.0% |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Total Liabilities | $15.7M-79.0% | $37.3M-35.3% | $46.3M-23.0% | $57.6M-5.3% | $74.7M+17.4% | $57.7M-52.3% | $60.2M-55.4% | $60.9M-53.0% |
| Current Liabilities | $11.7M-82.8% | $32.5M-32.9% | $40.8M-15.8% | $51.4M+10.8% | $67.8M+45.1% | $48.5M+12.0% | $48.5M-14.7% | $46.4M-13.0% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $4.0M-41.8% | $4.8M-48.2% | $5.5M-53.0% | $6.2M-57.1% | $6.9M-59.0% | $9.2M-88.1% | $11.7M-85.0% | $14.5M-81.0% |
| Total Equity | $286.9M-11.5% | $312.6M-28.6% | $280.5M-42.4% | $295.0M-44.8% | $324.3M-44.3% | $437.7M-12.9% | $486.9M-13.3% | $534.4M-13.4% |
| Retained Earnings | -$1.3B-3.4% | -$1.3B-13.0% | -$1.3B-22.1% | -$1.3B-26.9% | -$1.3B-30.7% | -$1.2B-10.5% | -$1.1B-12.5% | -$1.0B-14.4% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Inventory, Goodwill, Long-Term Debt.
PRTA Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | -$25.0M+45.9% | $28.9M+154.1% | -$23.3M+51.2% | -$40.6M+10.2% | -$46.3M-390.4% | -$53.4M+27.0% | -$47.8M+6.4% | -$45.2M-574.8% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $200K0.0% | $184K-17.5% | $218K-1.4% | $200K0.0% | $200K0.0% | $223K+3.7% | $221K-19.9% | $200K0.0% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | $7.9M-36.6% | $6.9M-36.8% | N/A | $7.2M-34.7% | $12.4M+3.1% | $10.9M-11.6% | N/A | $11.0M+0.7% |
| Investing Cash Flow | -$652K-658.1% | $0+100.0% | $0+100.0% | -$10K-11.1% | -$86K+39.9% | -$42K+59.2% | -$43K+97.2% | -$9K+98.0% |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$15.6M-20937.8% | -$6.9M-14370.8% | $0+100.0% | -$17K-105.1% | -$74K-116.7% | -$48K-105.7% | -$59K-112.2% | $333K-87.7% |
| Share Buybacks | $15.6M | $6.9M | N/A | N/A | $0 | $0 | N/A | N/A |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow, Dividends Paid.
PRTA Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Margin | -2089.2% | 58.8% | -115252.4% | -1666.3% | -1914.4% | -2319.0% | -3056.8% | -6857.0% |
| Net Margin | -1839.9% | 64.0% | -102804.8% | -1513.1% | -2845.4% | -2128.5% | -2729.9% | -6082.6% |
| Return on Equity | -6.5%+32.3pp | 10.5%+24.2pp | -7.7%+4.2pp | -12.4%-1.3pp | -38.8%-50.3pp | -13.8%+0.6pp | -11.9%+0.1pp | -11.0%-14.6pp |
| Return on Assets | -6.1%+25.4pp | 9.3%+21.5pp | -6.6%+4.0pp | -10.4%-0.5pp | -31.5%-41.9pp | -12.2%-0.6pp | -10.6%-0.9pp | -9.9%-12.8pp |
| Current Ratio | 25.05+19.4x | 10.43+1.4x | 7.72-2.3x | 6.61-4.9x | 5.68-6.9x | 9.00-4.1x | 10.01-1.2x | 11.52-1.4x |
| Debt-to-Equity | 0.05-0.2x | 0.120.0x | 0.170.0x | 0.20+0.1x | 0.23+0.1x | 0.13-0.1x | 0.12-0.1x | 0.11-0.1x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.000.0x | 0.15+0.1x | 0.000.0x | 0.010.0x | 0.01-0.2x | 0.010.0x | 0.000.0x | 0.00-0.1x |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, FCF Margin.
Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Operating Margin, Net Margin.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prothena Corporation plc PRTA | FY2025 | $9.7M | -$244.1M | N/A | $454.8M | 55/100 |
| Astria Therapeutics, Inc. ATXS | FY2024 | N/A | -$94.3M | N/A | $718.1M | — |
| Corvus Pharmaceuticals, Inc. CRVS | FY2025 | N/A | -$15.3M | N/A | $1.1B | — |
| Zevra Therapeutics, Inc. ZVRA | FY2025 | $106.5M | $83.2M | 78.2% | $713.2M | 52/100 |
| aTyr Pharma, Inc. ATYR | FY2025 | $190K | -$74.1M | N/A | $42.2M | — |
| Erasca, Inc. ERAS | FY2025 | N/A | -$124.5M | N/A | $5.6B | — |
Where Prothena Corporation plc Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Prothena Corporation plc's annual revenue?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) reported $9.7M in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a -92.8% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is Prothena Corporation plc's revenue growing?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) revenue declined by 92.8% year-over-year, from $135.2M to $9.7M in fiscal year 2025.
Is Prothena Corporation plc profitable?
No, Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) reported a net income of -$244.1M in fiscal year 2025.
What is Prothena Corporation plc's EBITDA?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) had EBITDA of -$213.7M in fiscal year 2025, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
What is Prothena Corporation plc's return on equity (ROE)?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) has a return on equity of -87.0% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Prothena Corporation plc's operating cash flow?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) recorded an outflow of $163.6M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash used by core business activities.
What are Prothena Corporation plc's total assets?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) had $326.8M in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
How much does Prothena Corporation plc spend on research and development?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) invested $134.9M in research and development during fiscal year 2025.
What is Prothena Corporation plc's current ratio?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) had a current ratio of 7.72 as of fiscal year 2025, which is generally considered healthy.
What is Prothena Corporation plc's debt-to-equity ratio?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.17 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Prothena Corporation plc's return on assets (ROA)?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) had a return on assets of -74.7% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is Prothena Corporation plc's P/E ratio?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) has no price-to-earnings ratio at the moment: net loss, so no earnings multiple (trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026). The market capitalization is $454.8M as of Sep 14, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Prothena Corporation plc's price-to-sales ratio?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) trades at 8.3x sales, its market capitalization divided by revenue of $54.5M revenue, trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026. The market capitalization is $454.8M as of Sep 14, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
How does Prothena Corporation plc's liquidity compare with its operating cash outflow?
At the end of fiscal year 2025, Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) held $307.5M in cash, cash equivalents and investments, and reported an operating cash outflow of $163.6M over that year. Dividing the one by the other, the reported balance equals about 23 months of the outflow reported that year. This is arithmetic over figures already filed, not a projection: it assumes nothing about future spending, financing or operations.
What is Prothena Corporation plc's Altman Z-Score?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) has an Altman Z-Score of -1.01, placing it in the Distress Zone (elevated bankruptcy risk). The Z-Score combines five financial ratios (working capital, retained earnings, EBIT, market capitalization, and revenue relative to total assets) to predict the likelihood of bankruptcy. Scores above 2.99 indicate financial safety while scores below 1.81 suggest financial distress. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
What is Prothena Corporation plc's Piotroski F-Score?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) has a Piotroski F-Score of 1 out of 7 computable signals; 2 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Prothena Corporation plc's earnings high quality?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) reported a net loss of $244.1M while operations used $163.6M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Can Prothena Corporation plc cover its interest payments?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) reported an operating loss of $214.6M against $14.1M in interest expense. There is no operating profit to cover interest, so interest must be met from cash reserves or from financing rather than from operations. This ratio divides operating income by interest expense. Ratios above 5x indicate strong debt-servicing ability, while ratios below 2x suggest the company may face difficulty meeting interest payments if earnings decline. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
How financially healthy is Prothena Corporation plc?
Prothena Corporation plc (PRTA) scores 55 out of 100 on our Financial Health Score, indicating moderate standing within its emerging companies peer group. The score is a 0-100 composite of six dimensions (Cash Runway, Dilution, R&D Intensity, Revenue Progress, Burn Trend, Balance Sheet), each ranked as a percentile relative to companies in the same scoring family (banks against banks, REITs against REITs, and so on) rather than across all industries. It rates the quality of the business, not whether the stock is fairly priced, and is not financial advice. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.