A multiple compares the market's price with a filed figure; it says what the market pays, not how the business is doing. The market capitalization is the vendor's as of Sep 9, 2026; every other figure is from the SEC filings on this page. Not financial advice.
Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q2 FY2026, filed Jul 23, 2026. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the SLM SEC filings page.
Slm Corp (SLM) reported $2.0B in revenue over the twelve months to Jun 30, 2026, up 11.5% from the prior twelve months. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 15 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
SLM’s reported profits are expanding while operating cash stays negative, making funding structure more informative than margin analysis.
In FY2025, net income of$744.8M coexisted with operating cash flow of-$398.6M ; earnings therefore did not convert into cash in the same period. The same mismatch appeared in FY2023 and FY2024, indicating a recurring feature of the reported economics rather than a one-period swing.
The balance sheet is liability-heavy: FY2025 total liabilities were
From FY2024 to FY2025, revenue rose 7.3% while net profit margin reached 37.5%, showing profitability improved faster than the top line rather than merely tracking volume. Shares outstanding also fell from 210.4M to 198.2M, so the stronger per-share result reflects both higher earnings and a smaller share base.
Financial Health Signals
Slm Corp does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.
Slm Corp passes 5 of 7 computable financial strength tests (2 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, all 2 leverage/liquidity signals pass, both operating efficiency signals pass.
For every $1 of reported earnings, Slm Corp used $0.54 of operating cash (-$398.6M OCF vs $744.8M net income). Earnings that no cash stands behind rest on accounting accruals, which cannot be repeated indefinitely.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
Slm Corp generated $401.1M in revenue in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 0.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 28.4%.
Slm Corp reported $58.5M in net income in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 17.9% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 81.0%.
Slm Corp earned $0.29 per diluted share (EPS) in Q2 2026. This represents a decrease of 9.4% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 81.2%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Cash & Balance Sheet
Slm Corp held $4.6B in cash against $5.8B in long-term debt as of Q2 2026.
Slm Corp paid $0.13 per share in dividends in Q2 2026. That is unchanged from the same quarter a year earlier. It is unchanged from the prior quarter.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Margins & Returns
Slm Corp's net profit margin was 14.6% in Q2 2026, showing the share of revenue converted to profit. This is down 3.1 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 40.4 percentage points.
Slm Corp's ROE was 2.4% in Q2 2026, measuring profit generated per dollar of shareholder equity. This is down 0.6 percentage points from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 10.3 percentage points.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Capital Allocation
Slm Corp spent $3.1M on share buybacks in Q2 2026, returning capital to shareholders by reducing shares outstanding. This represents a decrease of 95.6% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 98.9%.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
Not reported for Q2 2026.
SLM Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $401.1M-0.6% | $560.0M-3.6% | $454.1M+16.4% | $545.7M+42.1% | $403.6M-21.5% | $581.0M+3.5% | $390.0M-12.0% | $383.9M-6.1% |
| SG&A Expenses | $100.3M+18.1% | $103.4M+13.9% | $86.4M+7.9% | $83.7M-4.5% | $84.9M-0.4% | $90.8M-5.9% | $80.1M+3.9% | $87.6M+4.8% |
| Interest Expense | $269.2M-3.8% | $273.9M-2.6% | $279.8M-6.5% | $284.6M-2.9% | $279.9M+3.9% | $281.1M+1.7% | $299.2M+5.8% | $293.2M+9.6% |
| Income Tax | $21.9M+34.1% | $92.4M-6.3% | $82.8M+301.7% | $50.0M+446.7% | $16.4M-81.1% | $98.6M+1.1% | $20.6M-63.7% | -$14.4M-228.2% |
| Net Income | $58.5M-17.9% | $308.0M+1.1% | $233.1M+109.0% | $135.8M+400.9% | $71.3M-71.7% | $304.5M+5.0% | $111.6M-33.8% | -$45.2M-253.8% |
| EPS (Basic) | $0.29-9.4% | $1.56+9.1% | $1.13+117.3% | $0.64+378.3% | $0.32-71.7% | $1.43+10.9% | $0.52-28.8% | -$0.23-309.1% |
| EPS (Diluted) | $0.29-9.4% | $1.54+10.0% | $1.11+122.0% | $0.63+373.9% | $0.32-71.2% | $1.40+10.2% | $0.50-30.6% | -$0.23-309.1% |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 190M-10.7% | 198M-8.0% | N/A | 211M-2.0% | 213M-4.2% | 215M-4.0% | N/A | 215M-6.1% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, R&D Expenses, Operating Income, EBITDA.
SLM Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $28.6B-3.5% | $29.4B+1.8% | $29.7B-1.1% | $29.6B-1.4% | $29.6B+2.9% | $28.9B+2.2% | $30.1B+3.1% | $30.0B+2.5% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $4.6B+12.1% | $5.2B+39.6% | $4.2B-9.8% | $3.5B-21.2% | $4.1B-22.2% | $3.7B+3.1% | $4.7B+13.3% | $4.5B+26.5% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Long-Term Investments | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Goodwill | $56.0M0.0% | $56.0M0.0% | $56.0M0.0% | $56.0M0.0% | $56.0M0.0% | $56.0M0.0% | $56.0M0.0% | $56.0M0.0% |
| Total Liabilities | $26.1B-4.1% | $27.0B+1.8% | $27.3B-2.2% | $27.3B-2.2% | $27.2B+2.8% | $26.5B+1.3% | $27.9B+2.3% | $27.9B+1.5% |
| Long-Term Debt | $5.8B-8.8% | $5.7B-7.8% | $5.4B-16.7% | $6.8B+13.3% | $6.4B+18.7% | $6.1B+23.5% | $6.4B+23.2% | $6.0B+9.4% |
| Total Equity | $2.5B+4.2% | $2.4B+1.5% | $2.5B+13.5% | $2.3B+9.7% | $2.4B+4.0% | $2.4B+13.6% | $2.2B+14.8% | $2.1B+18.6% |
| Retained Earnings | $5.0B+13.9% | $5.0B+14.2% | $4.7B+15.1% | $4.5B+12.3% | $4.4B+7.7% | $4.4B+12.9% | $4.1B+13.5% | $4.0B+15.8% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Current Assets, Inventory, Accounts Receivable, Current Liabilities, Non-Current Liabilities.
SLM Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | -$134.8M+2.8% | -$76.0M+48.0% | -$64.5M-1520.2% | -$49.3M+56.5% | -$138.7M+3.5% | -$146.1M-90.4% | $4.5M+116.7% | -$113.4M-91.1% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $5.1M+2.6% | $5.3M+7.6% | $5.2M+1.0% | $5.0M-3.6% | $5.0M-10.7% | $5.0M-13.2% | $5.2M-26.8% | $5.2M-26.4% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | N/A | $14.8M+11.5% | N/A | N/A | N/A | $13.3M-3.8% | N/A | N/A |
| Investing Cash Flow | $540.2M+1643.6% | $1.6B+219.8% | $838.6M+212.1% | -$253.8M+86.0% | -$35.0M-102.1% | $496.9M-13.2% | $268.7M-70.9% | -$1.8B-7.0% |
| Financing Cash Flow | -$991.7M-276.7% | -$550.4M+59.4% | -$88.1M-48.1% | -$220.6M-118.6% | $561.4M+235.2% | -$1.4B-27.6% | -$59.5M+81.4% | $1.2B-18.5% |
| Dividends Paid | $200.0M+112.8% | $25.6M-6.8% | $26.2M-4.3% | $100.0M-13.8% | $94.0M-31.9% | $27.5M+13.1% | $27.3M+12.0% | $116.0M+16.0% |
| Share Buybacks | $3.1M-95.6% | $290.7M+878.8% | $123.8M+163.0% | $143.5M+25.5% | $71.7M+17.5% | $29.7M+16.7% | $47.1M-48.2% | $114.4M |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Capital Expenditures, Free Cash Flow.
SLM Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q2'2610-Q | Q1'2610-Q | Q4'2510-Q | Q3'2510-Q | Q2'2510-Q | Q1'2510-Q | Q4'2410-K | Q3'2410-Q |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net Margin | 14.6%-3.1pp | 55.0%+2.6pp | 51.3%+22.7pp | 24.9%+36.7pp | 17.7%-31.4pp | 52.4%+0.7pp | 28.6%-9.4pp | -11.8%-18.9pp |
| Return on Equity | 2.4%-0.6pp | 12.6%-0.1pp | 9.5%+4.4pp | 5.8%+7.9pp | 3.0%-8.0pp | 12.7%-1.0pp | 5.2%-3.8pp | -2.1%-3.8pp |
| Return on Assets | 0.2%0.0pp | 1.1%0.0pp | 0.8%+0.4pp | 0.5%+0.6pp | 0.2%-0.6pp | 1.1%0.0pp | 0.4%-0.2pp | -0.1%-0.3pp |
| Debt-to-Equity | 2.36-0.3x | 2.33-0.2x | 2.19-0.8x | 2.92+0.1x | 2.70+0.3x | 2.56+0.2x | 2.98+0.2x | 2.83-0.2x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.010.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.010.0x | 0.020.0x | 0.010.0x | 0.010.0x |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, Operating Margin, Current Ratio, FCF Margin.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Slm Corp SLM | FY2025 | $2.0B | $744.8M | 37.5% | $4.9B | — |
| Onemain Hldgs Inc OMF | FY2025 | $4.9B | $783.0M | 16.0% | $7.3B | 11/100 |
| Firstcash Holdings Inc FCFS | FY2025 | $3.7B | $330.4M | 9.0% | $9.8B | 46/100 |
| Upstart Holdings, Inc. UPST | FY2025 | $1.0B | $53.6M | 5.1% | $2.6B | 26/100 |
| Credit Accep Corp Mich CACC | FY2025 | $2.3B | $424 | 0.0% | $6.2B | 30/100 |
| Nelnet NNI | FY2025 | $851.5M | $428.5M | 50.3% | $4.5B | 23/100 |
Where Slm Corp Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Slm Corp's annual revenue?
Slm Corp (SLM) reported $2.0B in total revenue for fiscal year 2025. This represents a 7.3% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is Slm Corp's revenue growing?
Slm Corp (SLM) revenue grew by 7.3% year-over-year, from $1.8B to $2.0B in fiscal year 2025.
Is Slm Corp profitable?
Yes, Slm Corp (SLM) reported a net income of $744.8M in fiscal year 2025, with a net profit margin of 37.5%.
How much debt does Slm Corp have?
As of fiscal year 2025, Slm Corp (SLM) had $4.2B in cash and equivalents against $5.4B in long-term debt.
What is Slm Corp's net profit margin?
Slm Corp (SLM) had a net profit margin of 37.5% in fiscal year 2025, representing the share of revenue converted into profit after all expenses.
Does Slm Corp pay dividends?
Yes, Slm Corp (SLM) paid $0.52 per share in dividends during fiscal year 2025.
What is Slm Corp's return on equity (ROE)?
Slm Corp (SLM) has a return on equity of 30.4% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company generates profit from shareholder equity.
What is Slm Corp's operating cash flow?
Slm Corp (SLM) recorded an outflow of $398.6M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2025, representing cash used by core business activities.
What are Slm Corp's total assets?
Slm Corp (SLM) had $29.7B in total assets as of fiscal year 2025, including both current and long-term assets.
What is Slm Corp's debt-to-equity ratio?
Slm Corp (SLM) had a debt-to-equity ratio of 2.19 as of fiscal year 2025, measuring the company's financial leverage by comparing total debt to shareholder equity.
What is Slm Corp's return on assets (ROA)?
Slm Corp (SLM) had a return on assets of 2.5% for fiscal year 2025, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
What is Slm Corp's P/E ratio?
Slm Corp (SLM) trades at 6.7x earnings, its market capitalization divided by net income of $735.5M net income, trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026. The market capitalization is $4.9B as of Sep 9, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Slm Corp's price-to-sales ratio?
Slm Corp (SLM) trades at 2.5x sales, its market capitalization divided by revenue of $2.0B revenue, trailing 12 months to June 30, 2026. The market capitalization is $4.9B as of Sep 9, 2026; a multiple compares that price with a filed figure and says nothing about the quality of the business.
What is Slm Corp's Piotroski F-Score?
Slm Corp (SLM) has a Piotroski F-Score of 5 out of 7 computable signals; 2 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are Slm Corp's earnings high quality?
For every $1 of reported earnings, Slm Corp (SLM) used $0.54 of operating cash (-$398.6M OCF vs $744.8M net income). Earnings that no cash stands behind rest on accounting accruals, which cannot be repeated indefinitely. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.