Newest figures come from the 10-Q for Q3 FY2024, filed Nov 14, 2024. Each column of the statement tables below links to the filing it was taken from, and every filing is listed on the TTOO SEC filings page.
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) reported $7.2M in revenue for fiscal year 2023, down 67.8% from the prior fiscal year. This page shows its income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, and key financial ratios. View 12 years of annual fundamentals and quarterly data, with year-over-year growth rates and compound annual growth rates (CAGR). All figures are derived from SEC filings (10-K and 10-Q reports).
T2 Biosystems operates with development-stage spending and a largely fixed cash burden, while financing supplies the funds operations consume.
Revenue contracted from$22.3M in FY2022 to$7.2M in FY2023. Operating cash flow stayed near$50.6M of outflow in FY2022 and$48.1M in FY2023, showing that the cost base did not shrink alongside sales.
In FY2023, R&D spending was
Current liabilities of
Financial Health Signals
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC does not currently provide enough eligible data for a peer-relative financial health score, so none is published. The signals and metrics below are current.
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC passes 3 of 7 computable financial strength tests (2 of the nine could not be computed from available data). 2 of 4 profitability signals pass, 1 of 2 leverage/liquidity signals pass, the one computable operating efficiency signal (asset turnover improving) does not pass.
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC reported a net loss of $50.1M while operations used $48.1M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal.
Key Financial Metrics
Earnings & Revenue
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC generated $2.0M in revenue in Q3 2024. This represents an increase of 34.9% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is up 1.7%.
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's EBITDA was -$10.1M in Q3 2024, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization. The change from the same quarter a year earlier is not meaningful, because that figure was zero or negative. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC reported a net loss of $10.1M in Q3 2024. The change from the same quarter a year earlier is not meaningful, because that figure was zero or negative. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC earned -$0.57 per diluted share (EPS) in Q3 2024. The change from the prior quarter is not meaningful, because that quarter’s figure was zero or negative.
Cash & Balance Sheet
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC held $2.1M in cash as of Q3 2024; no long-term debt figure is on record for that period.
Not reported for Q3 2024.
Not reported for Q3 2024.
Margins & Returns
Not reported for Q3 2024.
Not shown for Q3 2024: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.
Not shown for Q3 2024: the reported ratio is below -100.0% of revenue, so it does not read as a share of revenue.
Not reported for Q3 2024.
Capital Allocation
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC invested $2.7M in research and development in Q3 2024. This represents an increase of 0.2% from the same quarter a year earlier. Against the prior quarter it is down 20.6%.
Not reported for Q3 2024.
Not reported for Q3 2024.
TTOO Income Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $2.0M+34.9% | $2.0M-0.6% | $2.1M-0.8% | $1.7M-69.4% | $1.5M-60.0% | $2.0M-66.8% | $2.1M-71.3% | $5.5M-21.4% |
| R&D Expenses | $2.7M+0.2% | $3.4M-12.7% | $3.7M-16.8% | $3.2M-32.0% | $2.7M-58.2% | $3.9M-52.0% | $4.5M-32.8% | $4.7M-13.0% |
| SG&A Expenses | $5.4M-10.1% | $5.5M-13.1% | $6.7M-7.7% | $5.3M-19.8% | $6.0M-14.8% | $6.3M-19.5% | $7.3M-20.9% | $6.6M+0.2% |
| Operating Income | -$10.2Mn/m | -$9.6Mn/m | -$12.6Mn/m | -$9.3Mn/m | -$13.6Mn/m | -$13.1Mn/m | -$13.7Mn/m | -$9.5Mn/m |
| EBITDA | -$10.1Mn/m | -$9.5Mn/m | -$12.5Mn/m | -$8.9Mn/m | -$13.5Mn/m | -$13.0Mn/m | -$13.4Mn/m | -$9.3Mn/m |
| Interest Expense | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | $1.1M-28.3% | $1.5M+14.5% | $1.5M-7.8% | $1.5M-45.1% |
| Net Income | -$10.1Mn/m | -$9.0Mn/m | -$13.5Mn/m | -$10.3Mn/m | -$15.4Mn/m | -$6.3Mn/m | -$18.0Mn/m | -$10.1Mn/m |
| EPS (Basic) | -$0.57 | -$0.64 | -$2.66 | $2.60n/m | -$3.45 | -$7.84 | -$131.77 | -$0.14 |
| EPS (Diluted) | -$0.57 | -$0.64 | -$2.66 | $2.60n/m | -$3.45 | -$7.84 | -$131.77 | -$0.14 |
| Diluted Shares (Avg) | 18M | 14M | 5M | N/A | 4M | 809,168 | 136,333 | N/A |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Cost of Revenue, Gross Profit, Income Tax.
TTOO Balance Sheet
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $18.1M-58.2% | $21.7M-41.5% | $24.8M-24.4% | $34.8M+1.4% | $43.3M-1.5% | $37.1M-6.2% | $32.7M-33.3% | $34.3M-43.3% |
| Current Assets | $9.8M-70.2% | $13.0M-45.6% | $15.6M-17.8% | $25.2M+30.1% | $32.9M+13.9% | $23.9M-3.4% | $18.9M-43.5% | $19.4M-56.4% |
| Cash & Equivalents | $2.1M-91.4% | $4.2M-73.6% | $6.2M-38.6% | $15.7M+51.9% | $24.3M+19.4% | $16.1M+21.7% | $10.1M+7.7% | $10.3M-53.6% |
| Short-Term Investments | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0-100.0% | $0-100.0% |
| Inventory | $3.8M-10.7% | $5.2M+19.2% | $4.7M-5.4% | $4.8M+12.5% | $4.3M+0.9% | $4.3M-23.6% | $4.9M-4.6% | $4.3M+9.6% |
| Accounts Receivable | $2.0M+78.5% | $1.3M-3.9% | $1.6M+20.0% | $1.4M-34.4% | $1.1M-27.8% | $1.3M-50.4% | $1.3M-69.7% | $2.2M-57.9% |
| Long-Term Investments | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m | $0n/m |
| Total Liabilities | $29.8M-52.3% | $27.6M-62.5% | $62.5M-24.3% | $62.8M-15.1% | $62.5M-17.3% | $73.6M-4.6% | $82.6M+10.6% | $74.0M+0.7% |
| Current Liabilities | $24.4M-55.9% | $21.8M-67.0% | $56.3M+215.5% | $56.2M+454.4% | $55.5M+406.8% | $66.1M+400.7% | $17.8M+40.7% | $10.1M-13.3% |
| Non-Current Liabilities | $5.4M-24.1% | $5.8M-22.4% | $6.3M-90.3% | $6.7M-89.5% | $7.1M-89.1% | $7.5M-88.3% | $64.8M+4.5% | $63.9M+3.4% |
| Total Equity | -$11.7Mn/m | -$5.9Mn/m | -$37.8Mn/m | -$28.0Mn/m | -$19.2Mn/m | -$36.4Mn/m | -$49.9Mn/m | -$39.7Mn/m |
| Retained Earnings | -$616.9Mn/m | -$606.8Mn/m | -$597.8Mn/m | -$584.3Mn/m | -$574.0Mn/m | -$558.5Mn/m | -$552.2Mn/m | -$534.2Mn/m |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Goodwill, Long-Term Debt.
TTOO Cash Flow Statement
Figures in USD, abbreviated K (thousand), M (million), B (billion), T (trillion). Negative values carry a minus sign and red type. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Cash Flow | -$6.3Mn/m | -$9.2Mn/m | -$11.7Mn/m | -$9.4Mn/m | -$13.4Mn/m | -$12.4Mn/m | -$12.9Mn/m | -$10.3Mn/m |
| Depreciation & Amortization | $100K0.0% | $100K0.0% | $64K-75.0% | $74K-71.0% | $100K-66.7% | $100K-50.0% | $256K-10.5% | $255K-5.6% |
| Stock-Based Compensation | $215K-75.4% | $196K-78.4% | $1.6M-13.0% | N/A | $875K-35.4% | $907K-40.4% | $1.8M-28.2% | N/A |
| Capital Expenditures | N/A | N/A | N/A | $26K-27.8% | $13K-89.7% | $33K-77.7% | $120K+313.8% | $36K-81.9% |
| Free Cash Flow | N/A | N/A | N/A | -$9.4Mn/m | -$13.4Mn/m | -$12.4Mn/m | -$13.1Mn/m | -$10.4Mn/m |
| Investing Cash Flow | N/A | N/A | N/A | -$26Kn/m | -$13Kn/m | -$33K-100.3% | -$120Kn/m | -$36K-100.4% |
| Financing Cash Flow | $4.1M-81.1% | $7.3M-60.4% | $2.2M-81.4% | $812K+8.6% | $21.6M-6.7% | $18.4M+368.9% | $11.8M+885.7% | $748K+213.0% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Dividends Paid, Share Buybacks.
TTOO Financial Ratios
Margins and returns are percentages; the remaining ratios are unitless multiples. Each change compares the year with the year before it, and each quarter with the same quarter a year earlier.
| Metric | Q3'2410-Q | Q2'2410-Q | Q1'2410-Q | Q4'2310-K | Q3'2310-Q | Q2'2310-Q | Q1'2310-Q | Q4'2210-K |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating Margin | -511.9% | -490.5% | -611.4% | -555.0% | -924.4% | -664.5% | -658.7% | -173.6% |
| Net Margin | -509.7% | -459.2% | -656.7% | -615.8% | -1047.9% | -323.2% | -864.5% | -184.2% |
| Return on Assets | -56.0%-20.3pp | -41.3%-24.2pp | -54.7%+0.2pp | -29.7%-0.3pp | -35.6%+3.9pp | -17.1%+28.4pp | -54.9%-21.3pp | -29.4%-9.4pp |
| Current Ratio | 0.40-0.2x | 0.60+0.2x | 0.28-0.8x | 0.45-1.5x | 0.59-2.0x | 0.36-1.5x | 1.06-1.6x | 1.91-1.9x |
| Asset Turnover | 0.11+0.1x | 0.090.0x | 0.080.0x | 0.05-0.1x | 0.030.0x | 0.05-0.1x | 0.06-0.1x | 0.160.0x |
| FCF Margin | N/A | N/A | N/A | -562.4% | -910.7% | -632.4% | -628.5% | -189.0% |
Not reported in any period shown, so not listed: Gross Margin, Return on Equity, Debt-to-Equity, Liabilities-to-Equity.
Reported as filed but not readable as a share of revenue in the periods where the ratio runs further from zero than a revenue base allows; no change figure is given where either compared period is one of those: Operating Margin, Net Margin, FCF Margin.
Note: Shareholder equity is negative (-$28.0M), which causes the debt-to-equity, liabilities-to-equity and return on equity ratios to appear negative or not meaningful. This can occur from accumulated losses or large share buyback programs.
Note: The current ratio is below 1.0 (0.45), indicating current liabilities exceed current assets, which may suggest potential short-term liquidity concerns.
Similar Companies
Newest fiscal year on record for each company. The health score is the peer-relative Financial Health Score for that year; a dash means no score is published for it.
| Company | Fiscal year | Revenue | Net income | Net margin | Market cap | Health score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC TTOO | FY2023 | $7.2M | -$50.1M | N/A | N/A | — |
| INTERPACE BIOSCIENCES NEW IDXG | FY2025 | $38.7M | $24.6M | 63.5% | $38.4M | — |
Where T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC Ranks
Frequently Asked Questions
What is T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's annual revenue?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) reported $7.2M in total revenue for fiscal year 2023. This represents a -67.8% change compared to the previous fiscal year. Revenue measures the total income earned from the company's primary business operations before any expenses are deducted.
How fast is T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's revenue growing?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) revenue declined by 67.8% year-over-year, from $22.3M to $7.2M in fiscal year 2023.
Is T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC profitable?
No, T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) reported a net loss of $50.1M in fiscal year 2023.
What is T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's EBITDA?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) had EBITDA of -$48.8M in fiscal year 2023, measuring earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization.
What is T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's free cash flow?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) recorded an outflow of $48.3M in free cash flow during fiscal year 2023. The change from the previous fiscal year is not meaningful, because that year’s figure was zero or negative. Free cash flow represents the cash a company generates after accounting for capital expenditures, and is widely used to assess financial flexibility and shareholder value.
What is T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's operating cash flow?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) recorded an outflow of $48.1M in operating cash flow during fiscal year 2023, representing cash used by core business activities.
What are T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's total assets?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) had $34.8M in total assets as of fiscal year 2023, including both current and long-term assets.
What are T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's capital expenditures?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) invested $192K in capital expenditures during fiscal year 2023, funding long-term assets and infrastructure.
How much does T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC spend on research and development?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) invested $14.2M in research and development during fiscal year 2023.
What is T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's current ratio?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) had a current ratio of 0.45 as of fiscal year 2023, which is below 1.0, which may suggest potential liquidity concerns.
What is T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's return on assets (ROA)?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) had a return on assets of -143.9% for fiscal year 2023, measuring how efficiently the company uses its assets to generate profit.
How does T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's liquidity compare with its operating cash outflow?
At the end of fiscal year 2023, T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) held $15.7M in cash, cash equivalents and investments, and reported an operating cash outflow of $48.1M over that year. Dividing the one by the other, the reported balance equals about 4 months of the outflow reported that year. This is arithmetic over figures already filed, not a projection: it assumes nothing about future spending, financing or operations.
Why is T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's debt-to-equity ratio negative or not reported?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) has negative shareholder equity of -$28.0M as of fiscal year 2023, so no debt-to-equity or liabilities-to-equity ratio is reported: dividing debt by equity that is not positive produces a number that cannot be read as leverage. This can occur when accumulated losses exceed invested capital, or after large share buyback programs. Other solvency metrics like the current ratio or interest coverage may be more informative.
What is T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's Piotroski F-Score?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) has a Piotroski F-Score of 3 out of 7 computable signals; 2 of the nine could not be computed from available data, so the full-scale strength rating is not shown. The F-Score evaluates nine binary signals across profitability (positive ROA, positive cash flow, improving ROA, earnings quality), leverage (decreasing debt, improving liquidity, no share dilution), and operating efficiency (improving gross margin, improving asset turnover). Scores of 7 to 9 indicate strong and improving fundamentals. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.
Are T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC's earnings high quality?
T2 BIOSYSTEMS INC (TTOO) reported a net loss of $50.1M while operations used $48.1M of cash. With neither figure positive, the ratio between the two carries no quality signal. This ratio compares operating cash flow to net income. A ratio above 1.0x means the company generates more cash than its reported earnings, indicating sustainable, cash-backed profits. Ratios below 1.0x suggest earnings rely on accounting accruals rather than actual cash generation. Learn more in our complete guide to financial health indicators.